WTK: Best Smartphone 2012

slickrick777

Re: WTK: Best Smartphone 2012

Postby slickrick777 » April 16th, 2012, 9:42 am

can't wait that long for the i5...think that might be released in october, by that time i would be ready to change phone again...lol

Postby tr1ad » April 16th, 2012, 9:53 am

so what exactly you want this smart phone to do besides look hip and happening

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » April 16th, 2012, 11:58 am

lol...well fast, multitask..look good...samsung infuse sold today so ah think i'll try the htc one x!

Postby tr1ad » April 16th, 2012, 12:18 pm

my last dealing with iPhone, they weren't so great at the multitasking, but you still haven't narrowed it down to specifics

good luck with your choosing

Postby S_2NR » April 16th, 2012, 12:27 pm

slickrick777 wrote:lol...well fast, multitask..look good...samsung infuse sold today so ah think i'll try the htc one x!

How much u got for it?

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » April 16th, 2012, 3:10 pm

$2000

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » April 16th, 2012, 3:13 pm

bro got an i4...thing is there's lots of apps for this but the damn screen so small...i'm accustomed with bigger screens...had d hd2, then d samsung infuse, d htc one x looks like the choice for now...jus the screen ah lil too big!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 16th, 2012, 4:21 pm

slickrick777 wrote:well in the process of buying a new smartphone...what would be the best choice?...checking out the htc one x, iphone 4s, xperia s, etc...ne suggestions?

Best right now is HTC one x. But I feel the s3 will be better

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 16th, 2012, 4:25 pm

slickrick777 wrote:bro got an i4...thing is there's lots of apps for this but the damn screen so small...i'm accustomed with bigger screens...had d hd2, then d samsung infuse, d htc one x looks like the choice for now...jus the screen ah lil too big!

Yeah the iPhone wins in apps and more mature is. But at the end of the day with that tiny screen what's the point. You can't use that so its useless for me. With options like super amoled screen and a whole inch bigger it just is so much better than a iphone

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 16th, 2012, 8:08 pm

tr1ad wrote:my last dealing with iPhone, they weren't so great at the multitasking, but you still haven't narrowed it down to specifics

Hmmm. I was actually considering an iPhone 4 or 4s. Could you give some more details on this? Does it lag when multitasking?

JWT

Postby JWT » April 16th, 2012, 11:03 pm

NR8 wrote:
tr1ad wrote:my last dealing with iPhone, they weren't so great at the multitasking, but you still haven't narrowed it down to specifics

Hmmm. I was actually considering an iPhone 4 or 4s. Could you give some more details on this? Does it lag when multitasking?

the 4S does not lag when multitasking. I run all my apps everyday and i use it at work via vnc and my other apps and to date no probs
factory unlocked not jailbroken

infact i even upgraded to the ipad3 just to allow for a bigger screen.

i used the sgs2 and i found it laggy especially in fluency

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » April 16th, 2012, 11:37 pm

so dual core processing eh good enuf? n i dus tink my neo single core dus wuk bess. oh well, hadda get ah quad core now :(. buh OP i4s is bess or maybe ah 41MegaPixel nokia pureview fone!!!

yunno wayzz 41 freakin MP on ah thing as small as a credit card???

Postby Trini Hookah » April 16th, 2012, 11:45 pm

Thread needs more Strauss.

Postby sharkman121 » April 17th, 2012, 12:19 am

JWT wrote:
NR8 wrote:

the 4S does not lag when multitasking. I run all my apps everyday and i use it at work via vnc and my other apps and to date no probs
factory unlocked not jailbroken

infact i even upgraded to the ipad3 just to allow for a bigger screen.

i used the sgs2 and i found it laggy especially in fluency

my s2 doesnt lag at all.... especially with the custom rom i have. Battery life 2-3 days with moderate to heavy use.

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » April 17th, 2012, 9:10 am

that's the nokia 808...rather big and bulky...not too sure if i'll need 41megapixels...lol...d htc one x has quad core processing as well as an additional processor for the camera standalone...making this ting a serious powerhouse...5 cores in all...from the reviews on youtube looks worthy way past the i5!

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » April 17th, 2012, 9:16 am

that's the nokia 808...rather big and bulky...not too sure if i'll need 41megapixels...lol...d htc one x has quad core processing as well as an additional processor for the camera standalone...making this ting a serious powerhouse...5 cores in all...from the reviews on youtube looks worthy & way past the i5!

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » April 17th, 2012, 9:23 am

Im an Android man so I will say The Samsung Galaxy Nexus 4G LTE or any other android phone running on the Android 4.0 platform known as Ice Cream Sandwich.........
but the next best thing is the I Phone 4S, super responsive touch screen and great 3D graphics performance

Bottom line is....droid or drink the apple kool-aid

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » April 17th, 2012, 9:39 am

checkoit out d galaxy s3...alot slimmer than the one x...should i wait or go with the one x...galaxy s 3 release date may 3rd, 2012!

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » April 17th, 2012, 9:50 am

seeing alot of different spec...

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_i9300_g ... i-4238.php

..then here have a different set of specs...

some saying 1.8ghz processor, 9mm thick

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » April 17th, 2012, 10:04 am

seeing alot of different spec...

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_i9300_g ... i-4238.php

..then here have a different set of specs...

some saying 1.8ghz processor, 9mm thick

Postby crazybalhead » April 17th, 2012, 10:07 am

My BB 9700 working good still.

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » April 17th, 2012, 10:34 am

iphone cud be running better but that screen size sucks!...d htc one x running ics as well...also the galaxy s3 gonna be running this too...thing is which one would be the better of the 2?

Postby RBphoto » April 17th, 2012, 2:13 pm

The two things I ever wanted in a smartphone, dedicated media player buttons (so I don't need to keep my IPOd wth me all the time) and connectivity to a computer so I could type long arse texts, and access my adress book and call logs was best implemented in the Nokia 5700 with symbian. No phone to date has ever suited my needs that well. And WTF... all of these phones are just black bricks now!!!... no style at all. My E51, while not the best media player, had more going for it than most phones these days as my workhorse.... except the small screen.

Postby crazybalhead » April 17th, 2012, 2:17 pm

Indeed, big black bricks.

*You read that wrong*

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 17th, 2012, 2:19 pm

crossdrilled wrote:The two things I ever wanted in a smartphone, dedicated media player buttons (so I don't need to keep my IPOd wth me all the time) and connectivity to a computer so I could type long arse texts, and access my adress book and call logs was best implemented in the Nokia 5700 with symbian. No phone to date has ever suited my needs that well. And WTF... all of these phones are just black bricks now!!!... no style at all. My E51, while not the best media player, had more going for it than most phones these days as my workhorse.... except the small screen.

You could still get new Nokia E71/E72 which can do what you want. I am happy with my white E71, which coincidentally, is connected to my computer right now for the same reasons you stated.

Postby RBphoto » April 17th, 2012, 3:21 pm

That's great and all, but I want some other modern featurs as well, such as better performance, and modern apps, touchscreen etc. I was also considering the nokia N8 as my secondary phone to my BB because of the great camera it has, has symbian so can do what I want, and well... it's a nokia, so should be hard as nails. Still holding out a while to see if any new phone comes out with the computer connectivity I need.

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » April 17th, 2012, 5:56 pm

well d nokia lumina and sony experia s have alot going on for them...looks sleek!

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » April 19th, 2012, 8:52 am

well getting the one x tomorrow...will upload some pics and some reviews on it when i get it...screen quality, speed, etc!

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 19th, 2012, 2:29 pm

after checking gsm arena, the top phones out there (in terms of features/technology content) are:

apple iphone 4s
samsung galaxy note
nokia lumia 800
sony ericsson experia arc s
htc titan 11
blackberry torch 9860
huawei ascend d1
asus padfone
dell streak pro d43
sharp aquos sh80f
toshiba windows phone is12t
pantech vega lte ex im-a820l
zte era
vertu constellation

VERDICT:

Besides Apple's iPhone 4s; Blackberry's Torch 9860 and the Nokia Lumia 800/Toshiba Windows Phone IS12T for their individual OS greatness (iOS, BB OS7 and MS Windows Phone 7), the real competitive war for Technical greatness lies with an Andriod phone.

The Samsung Galaxy line is hard to beat. If the Note is too big then the S11 line is impressive in features/performance. The Sony Ericsson Experia Arc S is another impressive device rated alongside the Galaxy.

Smartphone OS market share:

47.3% - Google Andriod
29.6% - Apple
16% - Research In Motion
4.7% - Microsoft
1.4% - Symbian
Source: comScore (February 2012)

Smartphone device market share:

26.6% - All other brands
23.5% - Apple
22.8% - Samsung
12.4% - Nokia
10.8% - HTC
6.5% - RIM/BB
Source: IDC (February 2012)

With Nokia practically ditching Symbian for Microsoft, RIM's very dark future of constant sales declines. It seems the market would more look like Apple vs Andriod or Apple vs Samsung or Sony since HTC does not have the resources to remotely target Samsung or topple them.

Quicksilver

Postby Quicksilver » April 19th, 2012, 7:22 pm

30hz wrote:http://www.gsmarena.com/stats.php3

see what on the list you can source locally

That list has been in a horrible mess for quite some time due to fanboys placing thousands of high votes for their favorites and 'downvoting' the competition.

crossdrilled wrote: ...all of these phones are just black bricks now!!!... no style at all. My E51, while not the best media player, had more going for it than most phones these days as my workhorse.... except the small screen.

nah man how could you say that..... the iphone comes in white too :lol:

note to fanboys: Im just kidding, I have a 4s in front of me at the moment next to a Nexus S and a N8 so theres no hate, each has its strengths and weaknesses and I simply cant put one above the rest.

seriously though newer devices have a lot more to offer, I agree that the E51 is a very capable old phone but I replaced mine with a N8 and never looked back, its leagues ahead and I even dare say that the Belle OS is pretty much on par with Android and IOS.