can i put talapias with big kois and sharks NEW PICS NOW

Re: can i put talapias with big kois and sharks NEW PICS NOW

Postby stev » June 8th, 2012, 3:15 pm

rollingstock wrote:If those fish are properly fed they will outgrow that tank in no time, butttttttt keeping them in an undersize enclosure will stunt their growth.

yup...gotta change dat tank or put them elsewhere if u want them to get as big as they cud.

Re: can i put talapias with big kois and sharks

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 8th, 2012, 6:23 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:looks like this thread may be the advice thread.
btw thanks mg man...I have huge tank full of Kois but I don't like to mix,like to see one variety.but Kois are "drain" fish in certain parts of the world,only in Trinidad people take them for something big.

@OP,if I was you I would put the talapias in a tank by themselves,let them multiply,then go sell it..

What!

I exported an 18" koi to a breeder in the US, he paid $1100US for it and i was later advised that i could have gotten more. To me it didn't seem as any special fish however they are pond fish and are intended to be seen from on to not the side and certain colourations/markings are highly desirable.

in China they are referred to as canal fish,and they are usually cooked at restaurants.quoted from the people who own the big arse fish farm in Piarco.would agree that they do sell for quite a bit though..However,in Japan they are worshipped and well respected.

Postby rollingstock » June 8th, 2012, 8:18 pm

^ well they are a breed of carp, so eating them is feasible.

Postby MG Man » June 8th, 2012, 8:19 pm

that tank is ridiculously overcrowded......those tilapia are not going to last long :(

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 8th, 2012, 9:09 pm

same thing I'm saying.^ they would do well alone.

Yodins

Postby Yodins » June 8th, 2012, 11:45 pm

put tilapia in a large tank away from the koi. tank looks over crowded dan

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 9th, 2012, 2:48 am

OP the word is Tilapia.....

and the tank is too small....

napster16

Postby napster16 » June 9th, 2012, 2:09 pm

Besides the tank being too smalll.... dem Tilapia going to barber your koi fins.... playing you doh like to listen! 3-|

Yodins

Postby Yodins » June 9th, 2012, 6:11 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:look for the thread mentioned above,but why do people mix totally different fishes in one tank?

it's called a community tank, and it can be done within reason.

do share reason/s,would really like to know why.

PM the OP dem reasons dan cuz he WAAAY out of it (no offence). de man mix kois, tilapis & tetras in de same tank

headunit

Postby headunit » June 9th, 2012, 9:10 pm

headunit wrote:you can mix them but i would advise you not to mix them bcuz with in that tank the water will get black in 1 week

true dat.........dem buggers does poo like rain

i had tilapias in a tank and in two days time the water was black
Last edited by ~Vēġó~ on June 10th, 2012, 1:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Because the word is TILAPIA and NOT fkn talapia!!!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 9th, 2012, 9:23 pm

normal thing dey^

heavy rollers

Postby heavy rollers » June 10th, 2012, 12:09 am

Poor fish......... should have left them in the river. As for compatibility I feel if given enough space they would not bother one another. That tank clearly don't have enough space. Just repeating what the above posts saying.

lickshot

Postby lickshot » June 10th, 2012, 11:01 am

am like i said the tank jus looks small in my pictures now measure it and the tanks is 6 ft x 4 ft x 3.5 ft and up til this mornin no body is bein bothered all fishes swimmin great together and for those who think water wud be black i hav 2 heavy duty filters keeps my water clean and bubbly which allows me to remove and refill all water every 6 months cus i can also remove and wash filters ever 1-2 weeks.and for the guy who said i doh no wat i doin well its not my first fish tank of multi species fishes

napster16

Postby napster16 » June 10th, 2012, 2:10 pm

Those who doh hear does feel eh..... You might 'see' nothing is wrong or rather think so....but obviously you can't see growth being stunted overnight. Eventually they won't fit the tank.... It already looks overcrowded man

heavy rollers

Postby heavy rollers » June 10th, 2012, 6:38 pm

6' x 4' x 3.5' still to small. Also try and shade d tank nah. You eh see how yellow d water is? Partial water changes and activated carbon. Simple stuff to do. Doh be lazy. Eventually hair algae will start to grow in your tank if you leave it exposed to so much light and don't do water changes and that is a rell pain in d ass. As napster16 say who doh hear does feel. Anyways, all d best with yuh fish.