Filming police in T&T

Computerman

Re: Filming police in T&T

Postby Computerman » June 19th, 2013, 11:08 am

toyota2nr wrote:I was liming on Maraval Road one night when the police pull up and start to wreck cars. I took out my phone and start to film when one officer walk up to me and shouted, "who the f..k you feel you filming? I will take that phone from you."
I just looked at him and walked off without saying a word.
That is why I use some form of 'instant upload' on web enabled devices, as well as some form of 'quick lock'.

RedTiger wrote:It is not illegal. You can do it. However TTPS have a phobia with the filming. The same reason why 99.9% of TNT do not trust the TTPS.
No criminal wants to be filmed in public!

nemisis wrote:I have seen police grab men phone and try to delete videos while threatening them..... Film at own risk
True, filming always has an element of 'risk'. Take precautions if possible and remember it's always better to have as many persons filming as possible. When you are liming with friends, make a plan 'in the event of'. :D

Don't just look for the 'bad' when filming! Also try looking for the 'good'!

RedTiger

Postby RedTiger » June 21st, 2013, 9:33 am

Computerman wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:I was liming on Maraval Road one night when the police pull up and start to wreck cars. I took out my phone and start to film when one officer walk up to me and shouted, "who the f..k you feel you filming? I will take that phone from you."
I just looked at him and walked off without saying a word.
That is why I use some form of 'instant upload' on web enabled devices, as well as some form of 'quick lock'.

RedTiger wrote:It is not illegal. You can do it. However TTPS have a phobia with the filming. The same reason why 99.9% of TNT do not trust the TTPS.
No criminal wants to be filmed in public!

nemisis wrote:I have seen police grab men phone and try to delete videos while threatening them..... Film at own risk
True, filming always has an element of 'risk'. Take precautions if possible and remember it's always better to have as many persons filming as possible. When you are liming with friends, make a plan 'in the event of'. :D

Don't just look for the 'bad' when filming! Also try looking for the 'good'!

CMan good talk. Take a win ! You film and have a back person film you. You see when TTPS stop accepting applicants with 2-3 passes and the whole family in the TTPS (nepotism) then maybe crime would slow. At the Sea Lots slaughter, not even Gillian L can find a video from TTPS.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 21st, 2013, 9:39 am

pete wrote:If you try to use your phone you'll probably get another ticket for that and piss the officer off more.

I've found that being polite usually makes any traffic stop go smoothly.

Thebreed now is different..
I was asked recently by one..." you reall tink is ah good evenin? wha make your day so much better than mine? Yuh want make mek yuh wait in d hut son like me hole evenin?"

I simply said " Im sorry officer".....and took my documents

Computerman

Postby Computerman » June 21st, 2013, 11:09 am

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:"Yuh want make mek yuh wait in d hut son like me hole evenin?"
My response, "Am I being detained or am I free to leave?" :|

..... another weekend spent in jail! :(

Computerman

Postby Computerman » November 28th, 2013, 7:40 pm

Cops ticket movie crew for parking in square
Derek Achong wrote:The crew also claimed when lighting engineer Selwyn Henry began taking pictures of the lawmen, the officers arrested him and took him to City Police headquarters, Knox Street. Henry was eventually released and production resumed. When a news team from the T&T Guardian visited the scene, the lawmen, led by ASP Charles, were seen issuing the tickets to the filmmakers.

Police officers have no more expectation to privacy in public than any other person, regardless if they wear an official uniform and badge or not! Police can be recorded (audio and video) as long as you don’t interfere with their official duties!

General guidelines for filming the police:
1. Do stand far enough away from the officer to allow him or her to feel safe.
2. Do not run at or stand close to an officer who is performing their duties.
3. Do be respectful.
4. If they ask what you are doing, let them know that you are exercising your right to audio and video record. If they "feel" you are a threat, alter any perceived behavior, to make them feel safe in the performance of their duties, short of you not exercising your right to record them!

Postby shogun » November 28th, 2013, 7:59 pm

Will do. I don't give a fcuk. i'm filming once i'm not impeding the officer from carrying out his duties. They could do what they want after.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » November 29th, 2013, 7:18 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ The media films police, fire and ambulance as well as other public service personnel in action all the time, most times without getting their permission first.

Technically once you are in a public space, anyone can film or record you and you cannot do anything about it other than try to avoid being recorded by moving away - they are not obligated to stop recording at your request.

remember this video?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ssRRKFV4ymE

times like that dont ya wish wish wish that the police would have listened to the requests of the youths and just went haywire and shot all of them, trinidad would have had alot less watless ignorant bandit youth today........