NEW RBC CREDIT CARD FEE FOR FOREIGN PURCHASES?!?!?!

NR8

Re: NEW RBC CREDIT CARD FEE FOR FOREIGN PURCHASES?!?!?!

Postby NR8 » October 6th, 2012, 10:14 pm

^^ Question wrt the VTM card, can an American (skybox) address be added to the card the way it can be added to a cc account? I tried asking a csr @ Republic but she keep telling "it can be used to make purchases online" :|
Reason I'm asking is because sometimes the card is not accepted by some online merchants unless the American address is added to the account

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » October 7th, 2012, 6:43 pm

crazychinee wrote:
biggy82 wrote:
White CZ4A wrote:If I had to rate now I would say Scotia, then RBL then RBC.

agreed 100%

no problems organizing flights with Scotia aero rewards card....even in high season

rbl USD CC with AAdvantage rewards is great for online shopping....and MasterCard security is top-of-the-line

RBC cud go suck an egg......

I would disagree with top of the line security. I had a Gold masterCard with RBL and would of literally found myself stranded in Edinburgh a few years ago if not for my measly Scotia Card. Someone made a large fraudulent transaction, and RBL 3 of their CSR and 2 supervisors in a 24 hour period could do nothing to help me but 'launch an investigation'.
It took several weeks for them to reactivate my account.

that was a few years ago. recently i had my details compromised. purchases were flying left and right. within 1 day MC put a hold on the account and RBL contacted me. i advised them to go ahead and cancel the card. they issued me a new card in 3 days time and all i had to do was go into the branch, identify which transactions were fraudulent and all the money was credited back within 1 week

that is the kinda security i can trust

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » October 7th, 2012, 6:46 pm

NR8 wrote:^^ Question wrt the VTM card, can an American (skybox) address be added to the card the way it can be added to a cc account? I tried asking a csr @ Republic but she keep telling "it can be used to make purchases online" :|
Reason I'm asking is because sometimes the card is not accepted by some online merchants unless the American address is added to the account

yes it can. however, like all T&T CCs, if the site you are shopping on requires primary address confirmation, they still may still not accept your CC. this mostly happens with designer websites (Calvin Klein, True Religion etc)

Postby Chimera » October 7th, 2012, 6:49 pm

anyone here has RBL AA advantage master card gold?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » October 7th, 2012, 6:51 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:anyone here has RBL AA advantage master card gold?

yep

Postby Chimera » October 7th, 2012, 6:53 pm

you use it alot biggy? thinking of applying for one this week, i travel often with AA and more or less looking to use it to replace my visa gold as my main card

Postby pugboy » October 7th, 2012, 6:54 pm

Does RBC offer auto rental insurance when you rent cars abroad with their credit cards ?

Postby Chimera » October 7th, 2012, 6:56 pm

pugboy wrote:Does RBC offer auto rental insurance when you rent cars abroad with their credit cards ?

this is for their gold card

FREE Auto Rental Insurance Coverage for coverage of the rental vehicle, up to 31 days (not occupants or third party vehicles/occupants) in the USA (excludes Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands) and Canada. The customer must book and pay for the rental in full with this card. The Gold cardholder must decline the Collision Damage Waiver or similar coverage; all drivers must be included in the rental agreement.

more info here

http://www.rbtt.com/tt/personal/everyda ... 25687.html

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » October 7th, 2012, 6:57 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:you use it alot biggy? thinking of applying for one this week, i travel often with AA and more or less looking to use it to replace my visa gold as my main card

yes i do. you get 1 mile per USD 1 you spend. makes sense if you spend alot AND travel alot

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » October 7th, 2012, 6:59 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
pugboy wrote:Does RBC offer auto rental insurance when you rent cars abroad with their credit cards ?

this is for their gold card

FREE Auto Rental Insurance Coverage for coverage of the rental vehicle, up to 31 days (not occupants or third party vehicles/occupants) in the USA (excludes Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands) and Canada. The customer must book and pay for the rental in full with this card. The Gold cardholder must decline the Collision Damage Waiver or similar coverage; all drivers must be included in the rental agreement.

more info here

http://www.rbtt.com/tt/personal/everyda ... 25687.html

MasterCard also gives you free insurance once you use their CC to rent the vehicle

Postby Chimera » October 7th, 2012, 7:00 pm

biggy82 wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:you use it alot biggy? thinking of applying for one this week, i travel often with AA and more or less looking to use it to replace my visa gold as my main card

yes i do. you get 1 mile per USD 1 you spend. makes sense if you spend alot AND travel alot

yup..i spend alot and travel alot... somehow with the visa points..i just doh see the use of it lol....

got $1000 dollars in points last quarter though

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 7th, 2012, 8:33 pm

biggy82 wrote:
NR8 wrote:^^ Question wrt the VTM card, can an American (skybox) address be added to the card the way it can be added to a cc account? I tried asking a csr @ Republic but she keep telling "it can be used to make purchases online" :|

yes it can. however, like all T&T CCs, if the site you are shopping on requires primary address confirmation, they still may still not accept your CC. this mostly happens with designer websites (Calvin Klein, True Religion etc)

thanks man

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 7th, 2012, 9:46 pm

biggy82 wrote:
crazychinee wrote:
biggy82 wrote:

agreed 100%

no problems organizing flights with Scotia aero rewards card....even in high season

rbl USD CC with AAdvantage rewards is great for online shopping....and MasterCard security is top-of-the-line

I would disagree with top of the line security. I had a Gold masterCard with RBL and would of literally found myself stranded in Edinburgh a few years ago if not for my measly Scotia Card. Someone made a large fraudulent transaction, and RBL 3 of their CSR and 2 supervisors in a 24 hour period could do nothing to help me but 'launch an investigation'.

that was a few years ago. recently i had my details compromised. purchases were flying left and right. within 1 day MC put a hold on the account and RBL contacted me. i advised them to go ahead and cancel the card. they issued me a new card in 3 days time and all i had to do was go into the branch, identify which transactions were fraudulent and all the money was credited back within 1 week

I've been having issues with republic and security up till Jan 2010.

I know someone who had their card compromised a week ago. The bank called, he told them it's not him to block it, it still went through :roll:
Now it's a 3 month investigation. Not sure if he got it credited or not.

That's security I cant trust. I think my biggest beef with them now, is when I do transactions with some merchants, they not only charge either the US/TT side, but hold the funds twice. So if I make a 3000USD transaction, 18,000 get's held on the TT side and I'm unable to use it...so that's 36,000 I'm out.

I use the AA Mastercard gold for most purchases, the points add up fast. THey're changing their point schedule sometime next year, february I think. Used to be 40,000 to the UK I think it's going up.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 7th, 2012, 9:48 pm

When you sign up make sure and give the AA #.
Also double check it on your first statement. When I got my card upgraded a while back some Einstein created a new AA # for me even thought I listed my old one. All the points were racking up on another account that I didn't have access to.

Postby Sky » October 7th, 2012, 10:03 pm

Hmm. My RBC card broke months ago and it didn't affect me because I use it for only online buying. Gotta change CC banks yes.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » October 8th, 2012, 12:17 am

crazychinee wrote:
biggy82 wrote:
crazychinee wrote:
biggy82 wrote:

agreed 100%

I've been having issues with republic and security up till Jan 2010.

I know someone who had their card compromised a week ago. The bank called, he told them it's not him to block it, it still went through :roll:
Now it's a 3 month investigation. Not sure if he got it credited or not.

That's security I cant trust. I think my biggest beef with them now, is when I do transactions with some merchants, they not only charge either the US/TT side, but hold the funds twice. So if I make a 3000USD transaction, 18,000 get's held on the TT side and I'm unable to use it...so that's 36,000 I'm out.

I use the AA Mastercard gold for most purchases, the points add up fast. THey're changing their point schedule sometime next year, february I think. Used to be 40,000 to the UK I think it's going up.

am, your limit is quoted in US or TT dollars eh. so for example, if you have a USD 10K limit, it shows up on your statement as USD 10K / TTD 64K. this does not mean that you have double the limit. your TOTAL limit is EITHER USD 10K OR TTD 64K.

evolution91

Postby evolution91 » October 8th, 2012, 1:28 am

anyone heard of the VTM card republic bank offers?

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 8th, 2012, 8:04 am

^^ you can't be serious :|

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 8th, 2012, 9:54 am

Conversation with a friend working in RBL:

Me: I looking to get a RBL cc.....

Friend: Dont waste your time check RBC

Me: :cry:

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 8th, 2012, 6:04 pm

Think you miss what I'm trying to say. Lets say my limit is 24,000TT or 4,000USD. SOmetimes when I do transactions they take the money twice. eg:
1000 Pounds. I would see a deduction on the TT side of 10,000TT, and 1000E holding in the equivalent USD. I then am left with only about 4000TT or 6XXUSd available. It has happened quite a few times, and the excuse is always it "takes a few days to drop off the system, sorry".
Hasn't happened this year so far, but I haven't really been tracking it as before.
Twice I had the unfortunate pleasure of paying my credit card, and a 'glitch' in their system not crediting the money. When i call 2 days later they then say "oh, sorry there is a glitch we are working on it".

ras_elmo

Postby ras_elmo » October 8th, 2012, 8:09 pm

crazychinee wrote:Think you miss what I'm trying to say. Lets say my limit is 24,000TT or 4,000USD. SOmetimes when I do transactions they take the money twice. eg:
1000 Pounds. I would see a deduction on the TT side of 10,000TT, and 1000E holding in the equivalent USD. I then am left with only about 4000TT or 6XXUSd available. It has happened quite a few times, and the excuse is always it "takes a few days to drop off the system, sorry".
Hasn't happened this year so far, but I haven't really been tracking it as before.
Twice I had the unfortunate pleasure of paying my credit card, and a 'glitch' in their system not crediting the money. When i call 2 days later they then say "oh, sorry there is a glitch we are working on it".

They talkin crap....the hold is only for the value of the transaction and goes away once it is charged to your card. You sure its not the merchant? CAL did me that one time....4 plane tickets hit my account twice...and I had to wait the 5 working days for it to fall off. Meanwhile the bank turn around and try to charge me an "overlimit fee" even though it wasn't my fault. Had to call them three times and go into the branch to get that sheit sorted out.

chevy3k

Postby chevy3k » October 10th, 2012, 10:14 am

they have decided to rescind this implemented charge.
the foreign transaction fee no longer applies.
Last edited by chevy3k on October 11th, 2012, 9:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kevcam

Postby kevcam » October 10th, 2012, 10:16 am

chevy3k wrote:they have decided to rescind this implemented charge.
the foreign transaction fee no longer applies.

Now going to post this as well.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 10th, 2012, 10:35 am

Still looking at other banks.

Anyone have a FCB cc?

siner69

Postby siner69 » October 10th, 2012, 9:32 pm

They called me in a hurry as well,not sure if it was overwhelming protest from customers, but they cancelled it....glad to see some action brings a response. Aldoh, I've learnt that FCB offers the flyer miles for $165 with any airline to any destination probably anytime too, while RBC offers it for $275 with Caribbean Airlines only, and I'm sure they have restrictions....I feel I'm moving to FCB....

Postby ronsin1 » October 10th, 2012, 10:09 pm

ZeroOne wrote:Still looking at other banks.

Anyone have a FCB cc?

I have the FCB visa Card and do a lot of traveling with it no issue so far. Been using it for the past two years

I used the Scoita Bank Magna Master Card before that. but Since I got the FCB I rarely use the Scoita card.

I am nor actually thinking of either getting the Scoita Aero or the RBL AA Advantage card but have not decided yet.
The Aero gives you miles on any airline while the RBL only gives you for AA

However I can vouch for the security procedures of RBL they vary Anal about breaches.
We had in incident about one of our branches and with in hours it was resolved.

W2J

Postby W2J » October 11th, 2012, 1:44 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/RBC_reverses_credit_card_fee-173628571.html

RBC reverses credit card fee
Story Created: Oct 10, 2012 at 11:53 PM ECT
Story Updated: Oct 10, 2012 at 11:53 PM ECT
RBC Royal Bank has withdrawn its proposal to implement a one per cent fee on foreign currency credit card transactions.
The bank had intended to impose the fee from October 22 and had informed customers via a pamphlet inserted with credit card statements in the mail from last month.
But due to the negative customer reaction, RBC, in an advertisement today, said it will not move forward with its plans.
"We have listened closely to all the feedback and recognise the concern," the bank said.
RBC reiterated that it was not currently charging the fee.
The Express understands that the one per cent fee is what is charged to the bank by international credit card companies for processing, which it already absorbs. This move would have seen the bank passing on that fee to the customer.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 11th, 2012, 3:14 pm

Ill be doing alot of online shopping, FCB sounds good so far.

Postby hydroep » October 11th, 2012, 6:46 pm

Yep, they bowed to pressure and reversed it. TSTT/bMobile recently reverted to its old top up bonus policy for prepaid accounts as well, citing negative customer reaction as the reason for its decision.

Slowly but surely the people of this country are realizing the power they possess as customers.

Well done folks... 8-)

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » October 11th, 2012, 8:48 pm

Very nice to hear... were it not for the amount of money I have to pay back on my card, I'd have cancelled it already!