*OFFICIAL* Cycling Training & Racing

Re: *OFFICIAL* Cycling Training & Racing

Postby pugboy » January 22nd, 2013, 7:25 pm

My 20min is probably around 220-230 now, it might have been around 235-245 last year.
Unfortunately I don't have anywhere to do 2x20's during the week.

I use training peaks wko+ software

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 22nd, 2013, 7:54 pm

Great thread.
So anybody hitting the trail ride down Arbetoreum on Sunday?

TG7788

Postby TG7788 » January 22nd, 2013, 8:38 pm

I recently re-started road cycling after about 10-12 years. My normal route on mornings would be Princes Town to Palmyra via the Main Road and back to Princes Town via Ste. Madeline and Manahambre. It's about 20KM. Try my best to do this 3-4 times a week however it's real difficult to get out of bed in the morning lol.

Postby rfari » January 22nd, 2013, 8:41 pm

Nice ched OP

Postby zoom rader » January 23rd, 2013, 3:08 am

pugboy wrote:My 20min is probably around 220-230 now, it might have been around 235-245 last year.
Unfortunately I don't have anywhere to do 2x20's during the week.

I use training peaks wko+ software

Hey if you cant do 2x20min, then you can break it up into 6 x 5min with 3min rest or untill ur heart gets back down to normal.
Keep the Watts around 240-260 push it up. I know a masters 60+ in south thats doing 300w @ 5min x 4.

Do it twice a week, Tue & thur. After about 3 weeks doing this you should see your 20min wattage improve
Last edited by zoom rader on January 23rd, 2013, 5:31 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby zoom rader » January 23rd, 2013, 3:13 am

TG7788 wrote:I recently re-started road cycling after about 10-12 years. My normal route on mornings would be Princes Town to Palmyra via the Main Road and back to Princes Town via Ste. Madeline and Manahambre. It's about 20KM. Try my best to do this 3-4 times a week however it's real difficult to get out of bed in the morning lol.

3-4 rides a wk is not bad. Cant ride on morings? then ride on eveings 4-6pm
Increase the milage go on to Garth road on to williamsville then to reform road and back on the Palmayra Main rd. This should add an extra 3miles. Remember keep spining and stay away from big gears
Last edited by zoom rader on January 23rd, 2013, 5:27 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby zoom rader » January 23rd, 2013, 3:19 am

shogun wrote:Where allyuh getting that kinda time?

Think i go riding maybe 2wice a week, if i get a lil extra free time.

A training racing cyclist day starts at 4.30am, by 5am hes on the road training and by 7am he back home for a shower , change then off to his desk job. Its not easy being a racing cyclist.

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 23rd, 2013, 7:31 am

Amit wrote:good info.
i usually ride 4-5 days a week, any riders from central?

im thinking of starting to ride before and after work i work in camden

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 23rd, 2013, 7:33 am

TG7788 wrote:I recently re-started road cycling after about 10-12 years. My normal route on mornings would be Princes Town to Palmyra via the Main Road and back to Princes Town via Ste. Madeline and Manahambre. It's about 20KM. Try my best to do this 3-4 times a week however it's real difficult to get out of bed in the morning lol.

Increase the milage go on to Garth road on to williamsville then to reform road and back on the Palmayra Main rd. This should add an extra 3miles. Remember keep spining and stay away from big gears

whats wrong with the big gears? i ride mtb btw

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 23rd, 2013, 7:35 am

PapaC wrote:Great thread.

ill come along havent done that trsil since november my number is 3881133 well link
who say tuner bike lime

zaria

Postby zaria » January 23rd, 2013, 7:51 am

Aquarius wrote:He, nice thread....i have a mountain bike, i'm 5'7" and riding a 26" frame. but i cant find the comfortable height to adjust my bike seat. does it have to be lower that the handle or higher?? it hurt my butt.

Do u use a padded cycling shorts??it makes a big difference.
Call 678-7080 for the shorts and lights too if ur night riding,he has the best light in Trinidad right now.

zaria

Postby zaria » January 23rd, 2013, 7:56 am

I'm from central,we mostly ride at nights,call me if ur interested,i think tonight we will be riding.
But you will need to have the basic safety gear(helmet,front light,red back light)
Were not a big group,but we welcome any new member(casual cyclist)
call me 310-2738.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 23rd, 2013, 9:03 am

jm3 wrote:
PapaC wrote:Great thread.

ill come along havent done that trsil since november my number is 3881133 well link
who say tuner bike lime

Unfortunately i cant make it. I did the Mus Sweat and Gears last year, and with limited training, i really rammed my body into the ground in that one.
but i will prepare for it fro this year, its in September i believe.
Wish i could have come on Sunday, but i found out late and already had plans.

Postby zoom rader » January 23rd, 2013, 10:13 am

jm3 wrote:

whats wrong with the big gears? i ride mtb btw

Cycling is about learning to ride/spin on small gearing and slowly build yourself till you are able to pedal large gears (takes years to learn).
Watch any tour de france or local race and you will see pros spining at 90 revs/min on what ever gear they choose.
The pros take years to learn to pedal large gears. When you train to pedal on light gear your muscles, heart and lungs adapt. Thats the point in training for your muscles, heart and lungs to adapt to the new level of stress placed apon it with rest.
One other reason not to training on lager gears it could damage your knees.

Postby wagon r » January 23rd, 2013, 11:45 am

^....interesting and noted.

..would also like to ask, my team of 4 are goin to attempt the Brasso to Paria trail, looking at July and we are tryin to condition ourselves from now for the ride.

Now we could only meet on w/e to ride trails in Chag. but try to do individual road riding in the week to supplement (stray dogs are always my biggest problem).

Any advice on what we could do from now to prep....

Postby zoom rader » January 23rd, 2013, 12:06 pm

^^^ For stray dogs you ride with a whistle around ur neck and keep it there if you forsee dogs coming up, just blow and they run.

Mt bike riding again is all about aerobic endurance and the abillty to spin up trails/hills. Best way to train on the road for this is to ride some hills on gears that have you spining with a slight leg strain on the muscles. This will help build some endurance power. If you want to climb faster then you are going to need to do some intervals on the hills, but thats if you racing. if its a fun trial ride then work on you muclular endurance, you must not feel any deep pain on legs for this. Its more like your are riding and you cant talk for long on the ride, this is how you know that you are training your muscular endurance systerm. try 3-5 short 1 hr rides for this on hilly courses.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 23rd, 2013, 1:28 pm

I was riding Chancellor after work a day, and a older guy there was telling me to try riding up on the bigger gear wheels, whats your advice for riding these hills? Big gear or what?

W2J

Postby W2J » January 23rd, 2013, 2:10 pm

yesterday, average mph low because of cool down.

Postby wagon r » January 23rd, 2013, 2:24 pm

...thanks.

Postby zoom rader » January 23rd, 2013, 4:21 pm

PapaC wrote:I was riding Chancellor after work a day, and a older guy there was telling me to try riding up on the bigger gear wheels, whats your advice for riding these hills? Big gear or what?

look at any tour de france mountain stage and u will see that pros use light gears to go up hills. When u use lighter gears it puts less strain on your muscles and you will be able to ride further up the the hill, Use a big gear and in twos twos u will be under pain , riding slower and cant pedal further.

You may see racing cyclist using large gears up hill, what they are doing is interval training to build power for races up hill. This type of training is for seasoned racing cyclist. Dont try this unless u are fit, u could get knee problems.

Postby zoom rader » January 23rd, 2013, 4:28 pm

W2J wrote:Image

yesterday, average mph low because of cool down.

dont worry about mph, keep spining but feel a slight muscular force on the pedals. This will build you aerobic endurance by developing ur heart, muscles and lungs for greater fittnes.

Postby nervewrecker » January 23rd, 2013, 9:30 pm

zaria wrote:

I'm from central,we mostly ride at nights,call me if ur interested,i think tonight we will be riding.
But you will need to have the basic safety gear(helmet,front light,red back light)
call me 310-2738.

that safe? just asking.

I have no one to ride with even if I had the time :( (south).

If there was a functioning bathroom at work I would have taken a morning ride everyday and then shower for work.

mtb also, 18 and 27 speed.

Saw what looked like riders macqueripe side on friday evening.

Amit

Postby Amit » January 23rd, 2013, 9:43 pm

zaria wrote:

call me 310-2738.

where in central u all ride

Postby zoom rader » January 24th, 2013, 4:21 am

We in 2013 and this was in 1988, only now they asking about drugs?
What people dont understand is that Pro cycling is a business its not a sport.
Very hard to get EPO in US/UK, very easy to get here and works like a super drug.

Report: seven out of eight PDM riders doped at 1988 Tour de France
By: Cycling NewsPublished: January 23, 16:08, Updated: January 23, 16:04Edition:First Edition Cycling News, Wednesday, January 23, 2013Do you like this? Tweet
Steven Rooks in the polka dot jersey at the 1988 Tour de France. Next to Rooks is Dutch PDM teammate Gert-Jan Theunisse and yellow jersey Pedro...

view thumbnail gallery
Volksrant uncovers former soigneur's notebook

A Dutch newspaper has alleged that seven of the eight riders on the PDM team at the 1988 Tour de France were using banned substances. Volksrant has published extracts from the notebook used by soigneur Bertus Fok during the race, in which he details the substances administered to the riders.

According to Volksrant, Fok confirmed the authenticity of the ring-bound, team-branded notebook during an interview at his home recently. Fok, who began his career as a soigneur with Peter Post’s TI-Raleigh team, joined PDM in 1986.

Volksrant alleges that Fok was “directly responsible for the medical policy – the doctors did not make their appearance until some years later in cycling.”

Fok’s notebook, photographs of which are published on the Volksrant website, provides details of the substances he administered to his riders during the Tour. The substances and practices used by PDM riders on the race allegedly include testosterone, corticosteroids and blood transfusions. It remains unclear whether EPO was in use in the peloton as early as 1988, but Fok said that he did not administer it at PDM.

“I never occupied myself with EPO. That was too much for me,” Fok said.

PDM’s best finisher in the 1988 Tour was Steven Rooks, who came second overall behind Pedro Delgado, won on l’Alpe d’Huez and claimed the king of the mountains title. Rooks confessed to doping throughout his career in 1999.

Gert-Jan Theunisse - who had finished second behind Rooks at l’Alpe d’Huez - tested positive for testosterone during the 1988 Tour and was handed a ten-minute penalty, which relegated him from 4th to 11th place overall. In 1999, Theunisse confessed to using corticosteroids during his career but denied that he had used testosterone during the 1988 Tour.

Fok explained that Theunisse held a medical certificate to use corticosteroids. “Not everything could be detected then,” Fok said.

The PDM team, which operated between 1986 and 1992, was also embroiled in controversy during the 1991 Tour, when the entire team abandoned the race during the opening week, citing illness. A bacterial infection was initially blamed for the so-called "Intralipid Affair" and, later, the use of the fat emulsion intralipid, although speculation concerning the team’s use of doping products has always been rife. Speaking of the affair in 1997, then manager Manfred Krikke said, “The one rule imposed from the PDM directors was that there was to be ‘no drug affairs’ rather than ‘no drug taking.’

Postby pugboy » January 24th, 2013, 7:14 am

my usual training ride is 3 chancellors of some sort and return home over long circular hill.

I usually do them around 13 mins and change.
First one was normalized avg of 243w and second 238,
third was 220. I used to be able to do 3 all at 245 and feel like it was routine
max ever was 255, 12min.

As I said before 13mins is kinda short for a real aerobic workout but I am looking at your suggestion but I think it would burn a lot less calories which is another thing I want to make sure I do when I ride for a certain amount of time.
two.jpg
one.jpg

Postby zoom rader » January 24th, 2013, 7:41 am

^^^ Well you sure have some fittnes, those figures you have will have you lasting in criteriums and flat road races.
However if you want to win and go on breaks you need to get up to 280+ watts.
Best is do 3min to 5 min intervals really hard with about 3min rest. Get at least 5 done, I know its really hard but over time it will get easy for you. You will be able to last in any attack and go on breaks.
Aslo after a hard day of intervals, you gonna need to do a rest ride so just spin out for 1.5 hrs nothing hard.

As for far buring, Intervals burns alot of fat as it is high intensity workouts.

Aslo your decline in the intervals of 243 . 238 and 220 shows you still need some muscular endurance rides. Best to do these for 1.5 hrs at full tempo rides, get in the ranges around 190-220.
Spend about 20 min warm up and 1 hr in the 190-220 range, get about 2-3 rides a wk like this.

Always remember its the guys with highest wattage and their ability to repeat after an attack normally wins the race.

You got 230 watts it will get you to stay in the race but to win you got to pump out more watts.
Most local cyclist pumps around 300 watts for a criterium, The pros pump 380+

Postby pugboy » January 24th, 2013, 7:53 am

yeah I think I am ok for a self trained recreational cyclist,
I have the "racing and training with a powermeter" book

i entered a couple races a couple years ago, one road and the other a king george crit.
I have a video of it with the power data

zaria

Postby zaria » January 24th, 2013, 8:12 am

Amit wrote:
zaria wrote:

call me 310-2738.

where in central u all ride

from munroe rd to chin chin and all the back roads there,or to longdenville and all the back roads there
or to the sandpit,last night we got someone to drop us off the lights after the racetrack in santarosa and we rode home through carapo/chin chin.
We are riding again Friday night,MTB though,i'm not the group leader,so not sure of where he destination is,but was told alot of offoad,might be abt 10 riders.
call or pm if interested.

Postby zoom rader » January 24th, 2013, 9:18 am

pugboy wrote:yeah I think I am ok for a self trained recreational cyclist,
I have the "racing and training with a powermeter" book

i entered a couple races a couple years ago, one road and the other a king george crit.
I have a video of it with the power data

Hey with your figures you should up ur training and become a regular racing cyclist. Work on some goals like placing in the top 10 this year. You will surpise to know alot of cyclist are around your level, but they train the "old fasion way" with lots of usless junk miles that leads to no where.
What you have is gold, using a powermeter takes all the guess work out of training.
When I raced i used to train 8-12hrs a week while other guys trained 18-22 hrs. I was far better that those 22hr a wk guys.
With 8-12hrs training I was able to win on 320 watts for two national titles, whiles the others were overtrained with junk miles
Keep doing tempo rides, join a club and dig in and race.

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 24th, 2013, 1:07 pm

What is the furthest distance an average cyclist can cover?