Students with beards sent home.....WAYYYY!!

silent_riot

Re: Students with beards sent home.....WAYYYY!!

Postby silent_riot » February 4th, 2013, 8:02 am

Old enough to gutz out principal...

Postby 16 cycles » February 4th, 2013, 8:03 am

Trinity must be a pretty good school if students with beards is such a big problem compared with other schools...

Postby dougla_boy » February 4th, 2013, 8:06 am

she on sheit........when i went in form 1, man come first day ah school wit a blade trying to neaten a full face ah beard........

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » February 4th, 2013, 8:13 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:
X2 wrote:They damn right... have them chirren hush dey kant. THe only rights a chile should have is to not get buggered.

School significantly relies on discipline and children should not be sporting facial hair... clean shaven, presentable and stfu silent.

If you a non conformist and feel the kids shouldn't shave... fine.... GTFO... let the parents home school them.

Exactly, but as we have seen and it seems to be a continuing trend around the world that a certain religious movement feels that they have the right to invade establishments and wear and carry them selves according to their religion and NOT to that of the establishment that they wish to partake in.

Those form 6 students should find another school that caters specifically to their religious beliefs and shut their complaining.

don't turn it into a religious thing, quoting the muslim students was just one angle the article took. This started with non muslim students, just anybody with facial hair. The article should have posted ALL her requirements (in no way a policy of the school) such as forcing the boys to mark their eyebrows............sounds silly but it is true

Strauss

Postby Strauss » February 4th, 2013, 9:04 am

eitech

Postby eitech » February 4th, 2013, 9:26 am

Lol. Dem sounding like my employer.

Postby pioneer » February 4th, 2013, 9:35 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
pioneer wrote:If it's school policy then they should abide by it, if not feel free to attend another school where you can grow your beard to follow your prophet.

thats the problem right there...

its NOT in the school rules....
therefore its not WRITTEN law but, insinuated law, which doesnt stand!

back in my days, it was against my high school rules to have "cane rows" and afros and even hair over a certain length.
but this was written in the rules and was re-iterated to parents before registration.

yet many rebels were sent home, parents called in, and 1 guy even left, cuz nhe wanted to keep and afro and couldnt.

Ahmmm dumbass a policy of an institution doesn't need to be written anywhere.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » February 4th, 2013, 9:35 am

Strauss wrote:Image

bwahahah............ironic considering it is an Anglican school and the previous archdeacon had a serious beard!!

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » February 4th, 2013, 9:35 am

Strauss wrote:Image

bwahahah............ironic considering it is an Anglican school and the previous archdeacon had a serious beard!!

Postby RBphoto » February 4th, 2013, 9:39 am

De Dragon wrote:I remember pipsin' some scraggly hair on meh chin and a small 'stache in school, and yuh couldns get me tuh shave it fun nun!

Ent :lol:

Postby pioneer » February 4th, 2013, 9:44 am

allyuh have internet in school now?

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 4th, 2013, 9:49 am

Tuner legal team yes..

X2Board

Postby X2Board » February 4th, 2013, 9:59 am

read the play nah man ..

Joan Mason throw waist on a beardman in a fete on saturday nite .. musbe real grind up an ting ...
Come to school Monday to see him in crips ironed uniform sittin dong front and centre in assembly smiling at she..
(licking he lips too,.. if he's a duttyman)

Postby Chimera » February 4th, 2013, 10:12 am

X2Board wrote:read the play nah man ..

Joan Mason throw waist on a beardman in a fete on saturday nite .. musbe real grind up an ting ...
Come to school Monday to see him in crips ironed uniform sittin dong front and centre in assembly smiling at she..
(licking he lips too,.. if he's a duttyman)

Postby BrotherHood » February 4th, 2013, 10:17 am

Why are we only talking about the muslim students? Doesn't the school have students of all religions? Why has the thread turned to targeting only the muslim students? It was just one aspect mentioned in the original post.

What condition were the students facial hairs to begin with that they are so disturbing to make a teacher want them shaved or go home?

Postby Hook » February 4th, 2013, 10:22 am

BrotherHood wrote:Why are we only talking about the muslim students? Doesn't the school have students of all religions? Why has the thread turned to targeting only the muslim students? It was just one aspect mentioned in the original post.

What condition were the students facial hairs to begin with that they are so disturbing to make a teacher want them shaved or go home?

:| really jed? really? :roll:

akintl0 wrote:Students with beards sent home
http://newsday.co.tt/news/0,172407.html
By JANELLE DE SOUZA

Several male students of Trinity College East Sixth Form were sent home on Monday by the head of Form 6, Joan Mason, for having facial hair.

According to reports, Mason sent home approximately 30 Form Six students, giving them two hours to remove their beards before returning to the school. Some however, did not return on Monday, as they were told not to do so, unless they were clean-shaven.

An official at the school noted that Mason had told the boys about their facial hair “on countless occasions” and she expressed that they needed to have clean faces.

She said they were eventually told they would be sent home if they did not remove the hair, which was what happened on Monday, along with a letter to their parents stating why they were sent home.

When asked if clean-shaven faces were part of the official school rules, the official said, “Not everything goes in the book.”

Asked about infringement on the rights of Muslim students, the official said she “knew all about the Muslim religion,” and facial hair was not a requirement.

She added that she even knew some Imams who shaved their beards, because it was not written in the Koran.

However, one follower of Islam stated that, while some Muslims believed growing a beard was a choice, and not a requirement, males practising the religion to the letter would follow the Prophet Muhammad, and grow one.

It was also noted that while some of the boys returned to the school yesterday “because they did not want a confrontation,” others did not return at all. It was also reported that one Muslim student brought his parents to speak to Mason about the situation.

Contacted yesterday, neither Mason nor members of the Parents’ Council would speak with Newsday.

Also, Trinidad and Tobago Unified Teachers Association (TTUTA) First Vice-President, Davanand Sinanan and National Parent Teacher Association president, Zena Ramatali, said they were not aware of the situation, and therefore could not comment.

I thought u does get sen home for doin wrong ting........ :shock:

wha goin on in dis place!

I've never seen rules on beard in any school rules though. It's always been one of those unwritten policies. There are rules on proper grooming as pertains to the hairstyles, but not beards.
Amend the rules to include facial hair and THEN she'll have a case.

thermaltake

Postby thermaltake » February 4th, 2013, 10:23 am

when you went to school like it was a policy to cut out your manhood?

Postby Chimera » February 4th, 2013, 10:39 am

damn masons always trying to control everything

Postby S_2NR » February 4th, 2013, 10:57 am

Don't see the big deal. When I was in secondary school and was told to cut my hair or whatever, I listened. These students disobeyed their principal so take suspension. Cutting hair is a small price to pay for education. They would have to cut beard when they start working anyway. So why not start from now?

But maybe they gonna turn out to be labourers so who knows :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » February 4th, 2013, 11:10 am

As a yute, I woulda grow one big stink beard FOR SPITE.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » February 4th, 2013, 11:27 am

S_2NR wrote:Don't see the big deal. When I was in secondary school and was told to cut my hair or whatever, I listened. These students disobeyed their principal so take suspension. Cutting hair is a small price to pay for education. They would have to cut beard when they start working anyway. So why not start from now?

But maybe they gonna turn out to be labourers so who knows :lol:

LOL.

But no.. no they won't have to cut their beards when they start to work. They just need to be well groomed for most jobs.

Especially for Form 5, upper six 6 and UWI students I say leave them the hell alone. Their future paths to take is within months and their hair and beards should be the last of their worries.

Now if it was WRITTEN in the rules, then yes, they will need to conform since they would have to accept these rules when they joined the school.

But if it's not written down anywhere, then it's an illegal suspension and actions should be taken to discipline Joan Manson - she of all persons should know better. What kind of careless message/example is she sending to the younger folks?
Last edited by Strauss on February 4th, 2013, 11:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby dougla_boy » February 4th, 2013, 11:27 am

crazybalhead wrote:As a yute, I woulda grow one big stink beard FOR SPITE.

grow yuh hair for spite nah :| :| :|

Strauss

Postby Strauss » February 4th, 2013, 11:41 am

Postby Sky » February 4th, 2013, 11:59 am

Hmm...
Not sure which side to take here, as I really don't care...
She can't make a statement like that about not going by the book though...
And as Strauss said, if they had their beards well groomed, most work places would accept them.
And her action would actually be an attack on the male sex itself.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 4th, 2013, 12:13 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:

back in my days, it was against my high school rules to have "cane rows" and afros and even hair over a certain length.
but this was written in the rules and was re-iterated to parents before registration.

yet many rebels were sent home, parents called in, and 1 guy even left, cuz nhe wanted to keep and afro and couldnt.

well dummfukk!
shut ur dotish prejudiced @$shole, everybody here know u doh like muslims....so stop being so myopic...and look at things from an outside standpoint.

im trying to make a simple point, if it wasnt written in the school rules, then it cannot automatically be assumed that it a rule,
i went to a catholic secondary school, and dresscode, hairstyle and maintenance were clearly stated in the rules....as well as conduct and respect, and church times.
everything was included!

on the other side of things...
if these schools are "board" schools, they would have their rules, and the rules are such, then the boys are out of place!
but if is a government institution, then everyone, can practice their religious views as long as it corresponds with the school rules!
there is no discrimination!
i am not taking sides...
rules are rules!
prejudice is unfair!

everyone else... carry on!

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » February 4th, 2013, 12:15 pm

BrotherHood wrote:Why are we only talking about the muslim students? Doesn't the school have students of all religions? Why has the thread turned to targeting only the muslim students? It was just one aspect mentioned in the original post.

to clear this up, it is not about the neatness of the facial hair. She just has her personal idea on how males should look and believe that facial hair should be removed. As you correctly said it is not about muslims, the media choose that angle.........

She is on an ego trip

Postby Chimera » February 4th, 2013, 12:34 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:

well dummfukk!
shut ur dotish prejudiced @$shole, everybody here know u doh like muslims....so stop being so myopic...and look at things from an outside standpoint.

yuh know pioneer is a muslim right?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » February 4th, 2013, 12:36 pm

*$kїđž![TRADE MARK SIGN] wrote:This Mason really lookng to get herself in trouble for real stupidness.....

All those young fellas these days have so much beard they looka s though they are 35 years old when really they are just hitting on 18/19....

She really should avoid conflict and leave them be....as sit is not stated in the school rules.....

If she goes to an ASJA school what she gonna do there?....

Yeah some fellas claim to be muslims and grow a beard but I personally know tha dont mean sheit cause I have some muslim partners with beards who claim they following the prophet.....but I highly doubth the prophet used to drink and smoke and cuss as much as they do......

Actually he probably did a lot worse

Postby crazybalhead » February 4th, 2013, 12:39 pm

Dougla bhai, i did at the time. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby *KRONIK* » February 4th, 2013, 12:56 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

well dummfukk!

yuh know pioneer is a muslim right?

i know he is from a muslim home, but disapproves of islam and its teachings as stated by him on the countless anti-islam/ muslim threads here!

and why is it important that u ask me if i know this?
myofb!