RBC FIRES ALL THEIR STAFF??

Re: RBC FIRES ALL THEIR STAFF??

Postby 1UZFE » March 17th, 2013, 8:55 pm

Trade Unions aren't sounding so bad now...

Postby Country_Bookie » March 17th, 2013, 10:23 pm

1UZFE wrote:Trade Unions aren't sounding so bad now...

RBTT has always been hostile to trade unions. I don't think the workers are represented by BIGWU. They will wish they were though.

Postby pioneer » March 17th, 2013, 10:26 pm

web_phantom

Postby web_phantom » March 17th, 2013, 11:15 pm

RBC has a software migration issues which they are trying to come to terms with. That is why their lines are so long.....

Postby SmokeyGTi » March 17th, 2013, 11:26 pm

people in permanent positions losing their jobs?

wow..

Postby Bizzare » March 17th, 2013, 11:29 pm

......which is why that cannot be possible. The OP said "ALL their staff"

Postby Stephon. » March 18th, 2013, 3:46 am

web_phantom wrote:RBC has a software migration issues which they are trying to come to terms with. That is why their lines are so long.....

..... for the past 5 years?

Postby pioneer » March 18th, 2013, 5:59 am

They all deserve to be fired

Let's say there are 7 teller posts in trincity mall for eg.

On any given day 2-3 of those posts are empty especially on a month end.

Dem srs?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 18th, 2013, 6:33 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:people in permanent positions losing their jobs?

wow..

There is no such thing as a "permanent position" in employment, not even in the Government service.

Postby pugboy » March 18th, 2013, 7:03 am

permanent secretaries are very permanent

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 18th, 2013, 8:01 am

RBC is adopting a similar structure to Scotiabank. Scotiabank has always been a very conservative/lean structured organization. They may not have the assets/branch network like the other 3 major competitors but they have strong credit risk policies and a solid client base. Yes their salaries have been generally lower than the other 3 major players but it is monitored for review every so often.

Scotia has a system where anyone in the Teller line can do:
1) bill payments
2) forex
3) wire transfer
4) certified cheques
5) deposits
6) withdrawals
7) c/card payments
8 ) loan payments
9) balance information
etc etc

I separated points 7 and 8 which can be included into point 5 for a reason. Those tellers have a system where they can see all of the clients info on the CIF and can transact any line of business with them. In the other banks this is not so. With RBL, the teller does not have c/card info access on their dated program.

Scotia lines may be long but its a one stop shop. Scotia tellers can even give you your loan balances! The paper-less product introduced in this bank has been in exisence since 2004. This year will make it 9yrs since the "green screen" took a back seat.

The other banks always had a wide structure with a thick executive/senior management presence. It's about time to cut-back and create a leaner/meaner machine.

I am for this. Hopefully they will import more technology into their operations too.

Postby nemisis » March 18th, 2013, 9:15 am

^^^^ scotia is one of the worst places to deal with it sickening, the lines always long usually 3 tellers at most, to add to that they don't focus on the task at hand when it have lots of people. They get points for mangers checking the line occasionally when it long too try and speed things up but none for wasting time. If you in a line 10 minutes and when you reach by the teller you digging in your purse looking for letter, envelopes Id etc they should tell you stand aside and deal with the next person in line, I'm sure by the time they finish with that person the original unorganized individual would be ready and the overall wait would be shorter.

What is the point of me giving you an account number to deposit into if you have to ask which branch the account belongs too??

Postby Sky » March 18th, 2013, 10:07 am

^^ Nah I feel dey eh like you. Since I dealing with Scotia it was a breeze.
Walked in the branch on St. John road a day and had about 8 tellers staring at me with empty lines, makin me feel guilty to choose n sheit.
Btw, telling someone to stand aside isn't good customer service.

Postby nemisis » March 18th, 2013, 10:11 am

It will train better individuals, it's like going to order Fast food and it have a long line yet people wait till they reach the counter too look at the menu to decide what to order, Wtf

Postby Stephon. » March 18th, 2013, 10:32 am

Scotia lines always long. I hardly ever go Scotia in general but even when the lines are short, you're faced with a wait.

I'll say this again. None of them other banks could ever touch republic.

Postby Chimera » March 18th, 2013, 10:49 am

republic is great

their "one card" line real bess

i does feel sorry for the pensioners that have to stand up so long though, with only one teller for pensioners

but you seee royal freaking muddac**t bank....them is the slowest worst bank.
them could hull dey mc

Postby Sky » March 18th, 2013, 11:03 am

Each person has their experiences.
Like Me and republic.
Had a small loan with them and had my salary going directly to my account with them.
Switched banks for the salary and they tote.
When I withdraw form Royal and deposit with them through the ATM on the 25th, on the 5th I getting letter about pate payments.
Went in and show them the ATM receipt, they take two months to put back the late fee.
This went on for months, so I clear out my $$ with them.
I stop getting letters, but kept my receipts. Turns out they hit me late fee and take the fee out of the payment $$ I was putting in. I was late for 3 months straight.
Taking a loan from Royal for car, the loans officer run a credit check and see republic plasterd all over my record. She call them to ask wtf, they say I never pay on time. I show her the atm receipts and she rough them up and said she's ignoring their records in my credit check.

Postby nemisis » March 18th, 2013, 12:32 pm

Sky wrote:Each person has their experiences.
Like Me and republic.
Had a small loan with them and had my salary going directly to my account with them.
Switched banks for the salary and they tote.
When I withdraw form Royal and deposit with them through the ATM on the 25th, on the 5th I getting letter about pate payments.
Went in and show them the ATM receipt, they take two months to put back the late fee.
This went on for months, so I clear out my $$ with them.
I stop getting letters, but kept my receipts. Turns out they hit me late fee and take the fee out of the payment $$ I was putting in. I was late for 3 months straight.
Taking a loan from Royal for car, the loans officer run a credit check and see republic plasterd all over my record. She call them to ask wtf, they say I never pay on time. I show her the atm receipts and she rough them up and said she's ignoring their records in my credit check.

who branch manager gyul you get catch with Dan

Postby pugboy » March 18th, 2013, 3:45 pm

I deal with both scotia and republic,
scotia is way better and as mentioned their tellers can do almost everything
whilst other banks they have to run to somebody else to handle this and that

republic also puts one or two tellers to handle pensioners the first week of the month which just causes even more lines.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » March 18th, 2013, 6:01 pm

All banks, local and foreign, have one thing in common, service is all about perception. The quality of service is dependant upon how you perceive it to be. There are going to be idiots, as I have experienced, but they are not representative of the organization as a whole.

I get cuss out from a branch manager for transferring my mortgage, but the rest of his staff still treat me really good. He is just a Kakahole, that all!

But is this RBC firing all staff issue true?

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » March 18th, 2013, 7:30 pm

pioneer wrote:RBL has improved alot and they beatup when they see long lines and try to cut it down

Senior staff pretty helpful and go the extra mile to sort out problems

RBC is worse than KFC, actually RBC can be compared to a typical govt ministry

RBL all the way.

Postby SR » March 18th, 2013, 7:52 pm

no bank in this country understands what true customer service is..............

had to do a transaction in a bank in florida and while waiting we were offered coffee tea and light snacks. i needed to use a sink to wash my hands to remove one of my contact lenses and the manager escorted me to thier washrooms (door to the public is coded)

manager greeted every single customer that walked in thru the door once she wasnt busy and even if she was she made sure and said hello
manager's office was just like the other officers open partition not a closed office door

banks here could learn a lot espcially senior staff in branches about tru customer service and not hide behind juinior staff

Postby r3iXmann » March 18th, 2013, 8:01 pm

nemisis wrote:^^^^ scotia is one of the worst places to deal with it sickening, the lines always long usually 3 tellers at most, to add to that they don't focus on the task at hand when it have lots of people. They get points for mangers checking the line occasionally when it long too try and speed things up but none for wasting time. If you in a line 10 minutes and when you reach by the teller you digging in your purse looking for letter, envelopes Id etc they should tell you stand aside and deal with the next person in line, I'm sure by the time they finish with that person the original unorganized individual would be ready and the overall wait would be shorter.

What is the point of me giving you an account number to deposit into if you have to ask which branch the account belongs too??

ent. a company i used to work for used to pay me via scotia cheques...never had one pleasant experience with scotia :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

Postby X2 » March 18th, 2013, 9:30 pm

Let the firings begin...

src1983

Postby src1983 » March 18th, 2013, 9:39 pm

Went Scotia Marabella last week Friday, not one teller knew what a RTGS was.... [FLUSHED FACE]

Postby sharkman121 » March 18th, 2013, 9:47 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:

RBTT has always been hostile to trade unions. I don't think the workers are represented by BIGWU. They will wish they were though.

+
This is an easy case for any trade union or labour officer, the bank cant just fire workers. Theres something called the retrenchment benefit and severance act. You must make redundancy payments to employees if they are deemed surplus to requirements, even if you are restructuring to hire back.

This is illegal, OP read the industrial relations act 1972.

Let me know if you need additional info.

Postby bluefete » March 18th, 2013, 9:50 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
Country_Bookie wrote:

+
This is an easy case for any trade union or labour officer, the bank cant just fire workers. Theres something called the retrenchment benefit and severance act. You must make redundancy payments to employees if they are deemed surplus to requirements, even if you are restructuring to hire back.

This is illegal, OP read the industrial relations act 1972.

Let me know if you need additional info.

Obviously, these Canadians know know to get around the IRA. Make your job redundant and you have no job.

They are using a very intricate system to avoid paying the redundant workers.

Postby sharkman121 » March 18th, 2013, 9:59 pm

There is no getting around it, You still cant just fire all your staff unless they have broken rules without going thru the correct procedure.

Postby pioneer » March 18th, 2013, 10:01 pm

What makes you think they not following "proper procedure"

btw justice is for those who can afford it, the industrial court is an easy bribe

Postby X2 » March 18th, 2013, 10:02 pm

You can fire them if you are willing to pay the severance...