SIRI said "I'm not one of them baddis in your contacts"crazybalhead wrote:Duane, yuh ever arks siri if she want to zami with another phone? Ask and tell me what she say nah?
boods1234 wrote:stev wrote:OP didnt tell us what he usually does with a smartphone or what he plans on using it for.
that's the deciding factor.
Just day to day use making calls and sending msgs i guess. and well to check facebook and my mail. thats about it ..
But i hateeeeee blackberry will never buy one again...
and this is useful in this context how?stev wrote:if u wanted / like to customize a phone beyond recognition and willing to make / use custom operating systems for yourself then u would be on android's turf.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:SIRI said "I'm not one of them baddis in your contacts"crazybalhead wrote:Duane, yuh ever arks siri if she want to zami with another phone? Ask and tell me what she say nah?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:and this is useful in this context how?stev wrote:if u wanted / like to customize a phone beyond recognition and willing to make / use custom operating systems for yourself then u would be on android's turf.
he can jailbreak his iPhone but that's not necessary IMO
Spitfir3 wrote:its a real shame lumia never came with android
stev wrote:boods1234 wrote:stev wrote:OP didnt tell us what he usually does with a smartphone or what he plans on using it for.
that's the deciding factor.
Just day to day use making calls and sending msgs i guess. and well to check facebook and my mail. thats about it ..
But i hateeeeee blackberry will never buy one again...
then buy an iphone...
if u wanted / like to customize a phone beyond recognition and willing to make / use custom operating systems for yourself then u would be on android's turf.
dont be so quick to bash blackberry, the Z10 and Q10 are a big improvement and both are impressive to a point.
edit: u already have an ipad which means u are familiar with IOS and the syncing is easier....iphone is looking better for u.
...and at the end of the day, its up to u to do your own research and spend your own money...
just a thought: if thats all u gonna do with your phone then the iphone 5 and GS3/4 is a complete overkill. lol
consider buying a low end android phone....might cost u about $1000.
ismithx wrote:nah.... nokia + android would be a force to be reckoned with... dunno why it hasn't happened
original_lollybob wrote:OP digicel has the Lumia 620 for $600 frickin dollars!
i challenge u to find a better deal on a smartphone at that price
edit: i see ppl telling you to buy a cheap android... seriously no.. check out the Lumia 620
dont take my word of course.. do thorough online reviews
sound boy 64 wrote:Link? Is 600$ you say there
RASC wrote:original_lollybob wrote:OP digicel has the Lumia 620 for $600 frickin dollars!
edit: i see ppl telling you to buy a cheap android... seriously no.. check out the Lumia 620
This is post or pre paid?
kurpal_v2 wrote:RASC wrote:original_lollybob wrote:OP digicel has the Lumia 620 for $600 frickin dollars!
This is post or pre paid?
Postpaid with data plan
$1700 iirc prepaid
original_lollybob wrote:sauce
Red_Man wrote:
if you plug an iPhone into a PC it comes up as a drive allowing you to copy all your photos and videos to your hard drive - iTunes is not needed for thispseudorandom wrote:For me the answer is simple. iPhone places many severe restrictions on what you can do with your own phone. Look at how many restrictions iPhone has (those that come to the top of my head at the moment. There are much more).
You cannot plug it into your computer and access the phone's storage like a flash drive.
if you plug an iPhone into a PC it comes up as a drive allowing you to copy all your photos and videos to your hard drive - iTunes is not needed for thispseudorandom wrote:You cannot use alternate forms of file copy to your computer except via iTunes e.g. via wi-fi directly to your computer on the same network (imagine if you have a 4GB video on your phone what trouble that would be over iTunes).
jailbreaking allows for this, however I've been using iPhone since 2007 and never had the need for this when there are cloud based storage like dropbox and icloud that do allow for this.pseudorandom wrote:You cannot directly browse the phone's file system, making it difficult or impossible to transfer files between certain apps.
jailbreaking allows for this - however mp3, mov, are used natively.pseudorandom wrote:Restrictions of the types of multimedia files allowed.
that's a carrier restriction and not an iPhone restrictionpseudorandom wrote:Restricted ability to tether your phone's Internet to other devices.
iCloud or any other cloud based storage can be used to expand storage. If you lose your device or it gets damaged you don't lose any data!pseudorandom wrote:Inability to swap in a microSD card to either expand storage or quickly transfer files (you have to buy a more expensive iPhone for more storage).
never had this happen, but I'm sure it doespseudorandom wrote:When your battery can no longer take charge, you have to replace your phone instead of just buying and swapping in a new battery.
cloud based storagepseudorandom wrote:Does not have full USB OTG functionality that allows you to plug in a flash drive directly into the phone and access any file you want or do a direct copy from the flash drive to the phone.
jailbreaking allows you to run apps that are not in the app store.pseudorandom wrote:You can only run apps that are approved by Apple. Apple controls what you use and can do. You can only get apps from Apple controlled app store.
there is Google Chrome and Gmail native apps for iPhone, long time now.pseudorandom wrote:You are forced to used some apps that Apple wants you to use, like email and browser, with no alternative available from the Apple controlled app store.
the good things about iOS though is that most apps work on earlier versions of the OS, so these latest updates are often not necessary. Most iPhone users today don't even bother to jailbreak becasue it is not necessary.pseudorandom wrote:You can say these things may be possible if you jailbreak the phone, but you have to wait for people to develop this hack. The latest release of iOS currenlty has no jailbreak available. Why should people have to go through that trouble in the first place?
it seems that an Android device suits you since these are requirements you have for a phone.pseudorandom wrote:Android can do all these things right out of the box without the need to root the phone. Your customization options are immense. You can make the phone YOUR phone, the way you want it, to do what you want it to do, to suit your own personality and needs. If I spend money on something, I want to be able to do whatever I want with it and not have someone tell me what to do with it.