Whats the deal with builders / contractors in this country?

Re: Whats the deal with builders / contractors in this coun

Postby Ted_v2 » November 26th, 2013, 5:18 pm

basically its as duane said
1. fast
2. cheap
3. good
But you can only pick two options

my grandparents recently did some work, i was around helping them out for a couple days.
they workers were well paid, they worked from 8-4 and work was completed a week before time.
costed quite a coin but work was well done and they moved swift

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » November 26th, 2013, 5:25 pm

Contractors nowadays running a ponzi scheme with people money. They take your dollars to start another project and wait until payment comes in from other projects to start yours! all the while they still trying to skim off the top!

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » November 26th, 2013, 5:32 pm

ad man wrote:could somebody tell me if there are any genuine and honest builders out there any more?????
there are but you need to hire a reputable contracting company. Most people want to cut corners and go with the cheap estimate which only ends up costing them more in the long run or not getting quality work in a timely manner.

with construction you can get it
1. fast
2. cheap
3. good

So fast n cheap or cheap n good den...if only twas so ....if only

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 26th, 2013, 6:08 pm

Please see the attached link for a copy of The Handyman Service Contract. You can use this as a guide when preparing your own contract with your contractor(s).

http://share.pdfonline.com/c665edf9d630 ... ntract.htm

What I would suggest one adds to the contract is a "delay damages" clause. If the contractor does not finish the work within the specified period, taking into account any extensions of time granted for changes in scope of work, adverse weather conditions, and the like, then the contractor will pay the employer $X per day up to a maximum of, as per the construction industry standard, 5 per cent of the total contract sum. This should motivate the contractor to get the job completed on time.

Postby pete » November 27th, 2013, 5:32 am

Pretty sure the majority would not sign that and even if they did, how you going to get them to pay? Send lawyer letters?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 27th, 2013, 8:10 am

most pple (including me at a point) did not want to pay the top dollar quoted by professionals but instead went with people who had no formal training or understanding of the work to be done . this usually leads to cost overruns,materials shortage or excess and shoddy work .

as was said before a plan of work as well as a budget will go a long way even if its a simple renovation.

Just yesterday i had a licensed plumber visit my house to do some work and he pointed out the bad work done by the previous plumber, he even described some of the problems i was getting without seeing it . might cost more but i will gladly pay it to not have problems

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » November 27th, 2013, 8:30 am

EXODUS wrote:
ad man wrote:could somebody tell me if there are any genuine and honest builders out there any more?????
there are but you need to hire a reputable contracting company. Most people want to cut corners and go with the cheap estimate which only ends up costing them more in the long run or not getting quality work in a timely manner.

1. fast
2. cheap
3. good

I was wondering about this when Duane said it... but I just thought he may have made an error somewhere.

Since there's no way for anyone to get either "fast n cheap" or "cheap n good"..

Postby sharkman121 » November 27th, 2013, 8:55 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Please see the attached link for a copy of The Handyman Service Contract. You can use this as a guide when preparing your own contract with your contractor(s).

http://share.pdfonline.com/c665edf9d630 ... ntract.htm

What I would suggest one adds to the contract is a "delay damages" clause. If the contractor does not finish the work within the specified period, taking into account any extensions of time granted for changes in scope of work, adverse weather conditions, and the like, then the contractor will pay the employer $X per day up to a maximum of, as per the construction industry standard, 5 per cent of the total contract sum. This should motivate the contractor to get the job completed on time.

good info.. nice

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 27th, 2013, 9:14 am

New_SPECIES wrote:
EXODUS wrote:

1. fast
2. cheap
3. good

I was wondering about this when Duane said it... but I just thought he may have made an error somewhere.

Since there's no way for anyone to get either "fast n cheap" or "cheap n good"..
no error

You can get fast and cheap but it won't be good.

You can also get cheap and good but it will not be fast. It might take a year to build a 10x10 room if you do it yourself on weekends.

Postby pete » November 27th, 2013, 10:24 am

You only spending 1-2 hours a weekend building that room or what? :lol:

Postby black start » November 27th, 2013, 5:41 pm

cinco wrote:I duz only hyah rainman he have a bess crew ah mexicans.

refer to my pic.... :lol:

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » November 27th, 2013, 5:49 pm

New_SPECIES wrote:
EXODUS wrote:

1. fast
2. cheap
3. good

no error

You can get fast and cheap but it won't be good.

You can also get cheap and good but it will not be fast. It might take a year to build a 10x10 room if you do it yourself on weekends.

Ooorr... ah now understand wat u was getting at!

Postby pugboy » November 27th, 2013, 5:53 pm

I wouldn't put the majority of the blame on owners being cheap as the cause of headache.

The reality is in this country skilled workmen are far and few and everybody says they can do the job but have no clue. You hardly ever find a workman saying he can't and they are quick to call themselves contractors or say they can get the job done and know another person who can do parts they can't.
Inexperienced home owners will fall prey to this.

So the reality is you are left with hiring the more expensive contractors who end up costing a lot more to do small jobs too since it would not be worth their while.

This is just another example of the effects of the fast growing size of the uneducated labour population.

ad man

Postby ad man » November 28th, 2013, 9:12 am

so after 6 months of waiting for a 1 month job to be completed i have concluded that this builder is hiding and not coming back... so there it is... the search is on for another yet again!!!

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » November 28th, 2013, 2:52 pm

^
his name is Barrow or wah... he hiding from me bout 6 months now

kerwin1968

Postby kerwin1968 » November 28th, 2013, 3:05 pm

My contractor started out ok but in the end he had to pay me back so much money by force, one piece of advice i can give you do up written contracts and if its a house you are building get the price for each portion it saves you from paying by the day after he finishes each portion to your satisfaction he gets paid, you could probably give a small downpayment that way if he slacks off you dont loose

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » November 29th, 2013, 9:25 am

for months during your works, you cant get them on their cell phones, they always have no money on their pre paid calling phones, they in tobago doing ah wuk, or their vehicle constantly breaks down.

Yes the day they finish , some how the next day they miracoulously have a phone ot call you to get paid, their vehicle never worked sooo good before so they can come to you to get paid, they would always answer their phone after that day when they need to get paid.
Thats when payback is a biartch and finiding faults and getting them fixed and corrected properly before a cent is paid is done................

DONT ever pay your contractor the full balance until you are completely satisfied with the job.......