Why 2 lanes on CRH westbound in front GB?

cornfused

Re: Why 2 lanes on CRH westbound in front GB?

Postby cornfused » December 9th, 2013, 12:22 pm

Hold on padnas

I spoke to Mr. Ramsingh he was very receptive to my call . Very very amicable and open to suggestions .

He divulged the following :

This is a trial , the lane merge is too far east but it should be pass the intersection . They do vehicle mapping as in time travel for vehicles coming into Port of Spain .

The lights at the intersection should be removed by this Thursday . The lane merge is to facilitate a better merging of East West and South West at "goer" as he termed it .

Tonight to tomorrow this merging area should be adjusted closer to the now intersection .

We don't understand why the right lanes need to come to a stop after the interchange . It seems as those coming from the east wanting to go to Aranguez don't know how to merge.

Aranguez south traffic has increased exponentially with many new businesses.

On an afternoon 52% of the traffic coming out of Aranguez is heading to the south ramp , an additional lane is to be created for this traffic to access this ramp directly.

Regards

Postby teems1 » December 9th, 2013, 12:24 pm

src1983 wrote:What about ppl in the east that lane was developed to ease congestion coming from the east.

It all comes down to simple logic once the data collection was done.

The numbers show that there are enough commuters from the UBH to justify use of 2 lanes heading into POS.

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » December 9th, 2013, 12:26 pm

X_Factor wrote:its a dumb move, even if the lights are removed

commute time increased by at least 15 mins this morning....

i cant see how reverting to two lanes will help

New_SPECIES wrote:
SR wrote:Stupid decision added an addtional 15 minutes to my commute time this morning ......what a waste of paved road

That extra 15 mins was due to a man who “shut down” on beetham and police was around him.... people jus slow down to maco!
After I passed that scene this morning... the highway was “flying”...

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » December 9th, 2013, 12:30 pm

src1983 wrote:What about ppl in the east that lane was developed to ease congestion coming from the east.

Of course it helped the people from the East...

Before the south drivers were forced to merge in front of the East traffic causing them to back up.
Now, no one merges in front the East traffic so there is a better flow.

You prefer (3) lanes with endless cars merging in front you or (2) lanes of continuous traffic flow?

Postby X_Factor » December 9th, 2013, 1:39 pm

New_SPECIES wrote:

SR wrote:Stupid decision added an addtional 15 minutes to my commute time this morning ......what a waste of paved road

That extra 15 mins was due to a man who “shut down” on beetham and police was around him.... people jus slow down to maco!

shouldnt put this here
but i left home at 815

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » December 9th, 2013, 1:44 pm

X_Factor wrote:
New_SPECIES wrote:

shouldnt put this here
but i left home at 815

You serious! 8:15am on a Monday... and you complaining bout traffic?

:wtf:

Postby cinco » December 9th, 2013, 1:51 pm

ah yes
sucks to be living in the arm pit of the country up the east where no one cares about you all

#centrallife

Postby pioneer » December 9th, 2013, 2:06 pm

New species enough about the beetham shutdown nah geez

Clearly you didn't see the chaos taking place by the VALPARK intersection.

People from north valsayn trying to head west, the usual west bound traffic, the bamboo u-turners and people exiting from south valsayn all trying to head west at the same time.

Further compounded by the fact the light was turnin red in less than 15 seconds.

I think we all know by now someone shutdown on the beetham, but that's not the issue.

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » December 9th, 2013, 2:30 pm

pioneer wrote:New species enough about the beetham shutdown nah geez

Clearly you didn't see the chaos taking place by the VALPARK intersection.

People from north valsayn trying to head west, the usual west bound traffic, the bamboo u-turners and people exiting from south valsayn all trying to head west at the same time.

Further compounded by the fact the light was turnin red in less than 15 seconds.

I think we all know by now someone shutdown on the beetham, but that's not the issue.

Sorry eh boss...

I passed this way (right in front of Kaydonna - Valpark etc) on many occasions before in the midst of the early morning rush and I did not experience the "traffic" that you are referring to.
On these occasions I actually changed my route from passing on the UBH and used the CRH due to the Lack of Traffic and the faster pace of vehicular movement through the Grand Bazaar intersection.

But this morning I saw the increase in traffic and then came up upon the "Beetham Shutdown" (as u put it), afterwhich the highway was clear, hence my reminders of the incident.

I actually left home today later than usual and spent less than (2) minutes through this same area that u refer to.
I did saw a bit of build up there but it was moving and when the Grand Bazaar light changed once.. I was able to pass comfortably through.

Maybe u should "lock off" d tapatalk wen d night come, so u cud wake up on time and leave home earlier instead of diving head first into peak hour traffic and then complaining.

Because u cud reach to work for 9:30am and sign for 7:30am doh mean that u should put yuhself in that traffic at that hour everyday. 8-)

Scene?

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 9th, 2013, 2:33 pm

I think new species and the rest underestimates the amount of traffic that flows from the east

Postby pioneer » December 9th, 2013, 2:44 pm

I guess everyone except new species noticed 4 lanes of traffic being crammed into two lanes, with one set trying to merge all the way to the left and the chaos that ensued.

Yeah man, there's no big change...what people experienced was just an illusion

one neckbeard's opionion>the masses

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » December 9th, 2013, 3:28 pm

pioneer wrote:I guess everyone except new species noticed 4 lanes of traffic being crammed into two lanes, with one set trying to merge all the way to the left and the chaos that ensued.

Yeah man, there's no big change...what people experienced was just an illusion

one neckbeard's opionion>the masses

Dividing (4) lanes of highway into (2) x (2) is a bottle neck?
I think a bottle neck is what happens by the East bound Trincity Bridge and the West bound Aranguez walkover!

Yes they took away one lane (before Grand Bazaar) but that same lane was given to the south drivers to prevent the merging confusion that causes the traffic there.

What I saw was (4) lanes eventually being separated into:
(2) lanes heading west (into POS) - to the right
And
(2) lanes heading south (UBH etc) - to the left

The confusion is due to the fact that people are still not accustomed to the new arrangements and therefore (wit their dotish a$$) wait till the reach right up to the last point then scuffle to get into their correct lane.... causing the traffic.

Although this same sheit is seen at NP flyover, especially wit dem women drivers, trying to merge to go up the ramp at the last minute causing all sorts of chaos...

This is also why a line of Concrete Barrications are placed waay before the Grand Bazaar intersection.. this to force drivers to get into their lane early.

But I guess no matter what is done and probably no matter how long arrangements are in existence... idiots will always wait till they reach the last point before they get into their correct lane.

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » December 9th, 2013, 3:45 pm

I did some sketches to show what was happening before (as if it wasn’t obvious) and what is happening now...

So allyuh prefer this:

^^You have yuh three lanes from the East but always “bottlenecked” due to the desperate attempts of the south drivers to merge in front of the East traffic.
And these drivers coming from East are held back in a line of traffic due this confusion after the Grand Bazaar intersection..

Or this:

^^Where you have only two lanes coming from East, but continue with a “freer flow” of traffic without the disturbance of the South drivers.

Postby S_2NR » December 9th, 2013, 4:51 pm

even around midday had more than usual traffic on the westbound by valsayn.. traffic back up to kaydonna.

fcuking lovely

Postby pete » December 9th, 2013, 6:26 pm

What's stopping the south drivers from merging into the lanes the people coming from the east are in for that perfect scenario to work?

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » December 9th, 2013, 6:31 pm

pete wrote:What's stopping the south drivers from merging into the lanes the people coming from the east are in for that perfect scenario to work?

The first pic shows where drivers are forced to merge the second shows where there is no need to merge... what has to be "so perfect" for it to work the way the sketch displays?
If the plan will fail due to the idiotic trini driving habits then there's really no solution for that problem.

Crazydriver

Postby Crazydriver » December 9th, 2013, 6:37 pm

endure it for a couple weeks. in a while they will remove the traffic lights and there should be only a slowing of traffic//no stopping

Postby pioneer » December 9th, 2013, 6:39 pm

Why would westbound drivers coming from the east merge if someone is trying to merge infront them? :?

The obvious choice is either blow ur horn and deny the merge or slow down and let the person merge...as it was before and it caused no problem.

Those south people are still goin to try to dart all the way from the left to the right lane into POS...they always hog the right lane for some stupid reason....jus check what they do on evenings...the exact opposite.

This plan is full of flaws and once again the ministry duncee heads didn't really think it through.

I hope people start driving on that "closed" off lane just for spite.

No offense to new species if you're one of those ministry duncee heads.

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 9th, 2013, 6:46 pm

pioneer wrote:Why would westbound drivers coming from the east merge if someone is trying to merge infront them? :?

The obvious choice is either blow ur horn and deny the merge or slow down and let the person merge...as it was before and it caused no problem.

Those south people are still goin to try to dart all the way from the left to the right lane into POS...they always hog the right lane for some stupid reason....jus check what they do on evenings...the exact opposite.

This plan is full of flaws and once again the ministry duncee heads didn't really think it through.

That happening tomorrow brisk brisk

Postby pugboy » December 9th, 2013, 7:08 pm

a person from south heading west should try to get across rightmost as quick as possible to avoid the people coming from the east who are trying to get left lane to go aranguez
otherwise that 1/2 mile or so between the junction and the aranguez turnoff is confusion.

the problems are very similar on both sides
- people from POS mix/merge with the southbound ramp and aranquez exiters
larger portion going south

- people from East and South mix/merge to go aranguez
larger portion going aranguez/san juan/el Socorro

If it was possible it might have made more sense to spend a the several million extra to buy what ever land was needed to do a conventional clover leaf style

pioneer wrote:Why would westbound drivers coming from the east merge if someone is trying to merge infront them? :?

Postby M_2NR » December 9th, 2013, 7:39 pm

cornfused wrote:
an additional lane is to be created for this traffic to access this ramp directly.

why didn't they do that chit _before_ this? :|

Side Note: I can't wait to see the craziness that is going to unfold with Bamboo #2 traffic when the final "scheme" is unveiled and enforced. I really hope that light they put on the bridge isn't really gonna manage bamboo #2 exiting traffic or else it would be back to square one.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 10th, 2013, 8:18 am

So as of this morning the filter lane under the overpass is now the 3rd lane.
I took EMR up till Champs Fleurs and that was much faster than the CRH yesterday.

jsr

Postby jsr » December 10th, 2013, 8:35 am

have you all seen the new traffic plan for north to west effective Dec 11th?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » December 10th, 2013, 8:41 am

Lines painted over this morning.
Lane removed lower down like a little after the GB CRH entrance.

So who got the contract to paint and repaint lines?

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1386679248.320972.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1386679273.342919.jpg

Postby pioneer » December 10th, 2013, 9:26 am

Severe chokepoint at gb

The valsayn westbound lights turns green for 7 seconds

But hey prolly some guy got a flat on the beetham

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » December 10th, 2013, 9:37 am

Why do they continue to test these theories, when schools have started closing and the traffic patterns change.

Postby DFC » December 10th, 2013, 10:11 am

living south.
working Central.

Fork allyuh.

Postby pioneer » December 10th, 2013, 10:35 am

kg494EJ-1 wrote:Why do they continue to test these theories, when schools have started closing and the traffic patterns change.

Ministry staff tryin to look bright

When they have no idea of the real life situation taking place

Ah man in traffic tell me this is politically motivated, the govt punishing the east people because of all the election cutass they got in the last few months

cornfused

Postby cornfused » December 10th, 2013, 10:36 am

The time for testing is now that the traffic flows seem not to be that heavy . This has caused quite some backing up of traffic in the east. After the intersection it flows . Unsure how this pans out for the eastern traffic , but I think some underestimation of the eastern volumes occurred .

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » December 10th, 2013, 11:22 am

Change is part of development. Some people claim that they want 1st world status and development but think with a third world mentality. You can't expect things to change and improve without having any disruption. It is obvious that the best time to do any testing of traffic flow is when school closes. Yes there will be less traffic but this will be taken into consideration when making a decision. The mentality of most is don't inconvenience me because I am selfish and I want everything to work in my favour. I from the East and I don't care about the South people. Let them suffer. Don't inconvenience me. If you need to reach earlier then wake up earlier. South people didn't complain when the traffic got worse in the morning because the East traffic was coming at a faster rate.