Baby dies after head cut during C-section

greggle71

Re: Baby dies after head cut during C-section

Postby greggle71 » March 6th, 2014, 12:23 pm

Very sad what happened to this newborn. The thing is, these things shouldn't happen but it did which is another issue. More scary to me is the response on attempting cremate the body, that sounds like two or more came together and hatched a plan of some sort because that cannot be the normal procedure.

carmelo

Postby carmelo » March 6th, 2014, 1:57 pm

healthcare in mt mt hope is a nightmare my grandmother died last yr due to a suspected infection while being treated for blood thining on account to gross negligence and lack of proper care and attention. imagine she was admitted to hospital in critical condition due to a heart condition the nurses refused to take an ECG reading stating it was not thier job, even worse my grandmother in pain and it took a day in ICU before she saw a doctor . when we started to ask question the nurses and the jr doctors giving attitude. the senior doctor who my grandmother see in the clinic there never once came to see the patient i know this because i have litterally spent the entire 2 days in ICU while my grandmother was there before she was warded. the doctors could not give an account of what happen what casued her condition to worsen and i suspect they were giving her medication which is known to cause the side effects which can lead to death. i saw my grandmother died right in front of me . it was very traumatic . i am fully aware of the mentality of these ppl and the shoddy treatment . why do we have to endure that and worse we are paying taxes for this it often angers me when i have to deal with ppl in that institution call mt hope . i pray no one in family or friend never have to endure that . i feel for the family the pain and suffering they had to endure due to negligence of doctors and express my condolences to the loss of their child.

Toilet Cleaner

Postby Toilet Cleaner » March 6th, 2014, 2:23 pm

In about 7 days it will all be forgotten.

hottgirl

Postby hottgirl » March 6th, 2014, 2:38 pm

i just cannot imagine how the parents must be feeling. I suspect this will be settled quietly without anyone being held accountable. No amount of $$ though, will bring back their child or heal their emotional scars. :cry:

Postby RBphoto » March 6th, 2014, 3:38 pm

How on earth does that happen?

zcarz

Postby zcarz » March 6th, 2014, 3:41 pm

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Last edited by zcarz on March 12th, 2014, 3:07 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby pioneer » March 6th, 2014, 7:02 pm

pioneer wrote:I'm guessing you collected this data from all hospitals and went through all employee attendance files etc etc?

???

Postby *KRONIK* » March 6th, 2014, 7:26 pm

FYI

1) dont believe everything u read in the papers if u werent there to see/hear it urself...cuz most if the time....is 1 man version of the story...not what actually happened....and the news does always carry the most controversial version
2) jr doctors are not allowed to do any c-sections
3) the mother was being a pain/troublesome to hospital staff before and after the c-section and more than likely the baby got cut due to her lack of co-operation...and this is coming from persons who were there that night...

So carry on....talk a set of $hit allyuh eh know bout...blame everybody....
And yes...the way it was handled was very improper....
But allyuh need to stop judging ppl if allyuh eh know the whole story...

Postby pioneer » March 6th, 2014, 7:31 pm

Goaaar *KRONIK* de ched de goin good.

I now put ah pot ah channa to boil an all.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 6th, 2014, 8:16 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:FYI

1) dont believe everything u read in the papers if u werent there to see/hear it urself...cuz most if the time....is 1 man version of the story...not what actually happened....and the news does always carry the most controversial version
3) the mother was being a pain/troublesome to hospital staff before and after the c-section and more than likely the baby got cut due to her lack of co-operation...and this is coming from persons who were there that night...

a doctor I aint, but HOW can this happen?
Ent C section requires the use of anaesthesia?

Postby nemisis » March 6th, 2014, 8:22 pm

^^^ don't mean they need to knock the person out

Postby pugboy » March 6th, 2014, 10:01 pm

The senior "consultant" doc was probably delivering a baby at his private practice

Postby nervewrecker » March 6th, 2014, 10:48 pm

Toilet Cleaner wrote:In about 7 days it will all be forgotten.

Anyone remmeber the kid raped and killed? Was 5 year old or something ent....

What about the ackbar trace massacre.... No?

Ok

Postby K74T » March 7th, 2014, 7:11 am

Should change the name to No Hope.

Postby brams112 » March 7th, 2014, 7:19 am

vtec-ghost wrote:stueps wtf dred

that sheit needs to stop
they need to set a precedent and severely deal with those at fault
so subsequently ppl will know that if they mess up, there will be consequences

Union done organizing,waiting to protect these bastards from jail.That is just pure nasty.

Postby SmokeyGTi » March 7th, 2014, 7:37 am

this making sense. Although it's difficult to even discern what the mother could have been doing so that the child's head would have ben cut during the c-section.

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 7th, 2014, 8:22 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

a doctor I aint, but HOW can this happen?
Ent C section requires the use of anaesthesia?

No matter how bad I get on.. how difficult a patient I am..
There are ways to deal with me to make sure I am safe and my baby is safe.

Anaesthesia/epidural.. for lack of the real medical term, when applied for C-section usually only numb the mother from waist down and she is still conscious correct me if I'm wrong.

Postby pete » March 7th, 2014, 8:46 am

That's how it was for my wife's c-section. Not sure if you can request general anesthetic but I think it's better to be awake so that you can also hold the baby against you after it's delivered.

Postby 88sins » March 7th, 2014, 8:52 am

usually they use an epidural block, basically numbing from 2"-3" below the last ribs so the mother can't feel anything & can remain conscious.
Unless there are other medical issues, (mother is hypertensive, has clotting issues, etc) then they use general anesthesia.

but allyuh hadda keep in mind dis is a 3rd world green fig republic, where everyting is usually anyting & nuttin @ d same time

ADONI

Postby ADONI » March 7th, 2014, 9:05 am

pugboy wrote:The senior "consultant" doc was probably delivering a baby at his private practice

Correct!

Postby pioneer » March 7th, 2014, 9:18 am

Didn't know chuna have so many lawyers, doctors and CSI all in one place.

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 7th, 2014, 10:40 am

C News Live
Fuad: Probe will find any negligence in baby’s death: A preliminary autopsy report has found the head of a baby was cut, pen-etrating the brain and damaging tissue during a Caesarean section at the Mt Hope Women’s Hospital. Emil Millington had pleaded for answers as to how his son, whom he would have named Simeon, died during the C-section.

Millington’s wife, Quelly Ann Cottle, 38, went to the Mt Hope Women’s Hospital last Saturday to have the surgery performed, and she was later told by nurses her baby died and there was a cut to his head, from ear to ear. Chairman of the North-Central Regional Health Authority (NCRHA) Dr Shehenaz Mohammed had reques¬ted a preliminary report into the matter. That report was delivered yesterday, and Mohammed immediately launched an independent investigation.

A release issued by the NCRHA yesterday stated the preliminary autopsy report found laceration to right parietal lobe of brain, penetrating injury to right parietal bone, iatrogenic laceration to scalp and severe prematurity. A doctor who preferred anonymity told the Express this meant the surgeon would have cut into the baby’s head near the ear area and pene¬trated the brain. “The knife would have cut straight through and injured the brain of the baby, the lobe and tissue,” said the doctor.

The NCRHA stated a prompt decision has been made by the board to conduct an independent investigation and a full report would be immediately forwarded to Health Min¬ister Dr Fuad Khan. The release added counselling has been provided to the parents, and the board and management reaffirmed their commitment to continue to provide this support. The NCRHA board and management also extended its condolences to the parents and relatives over the death of the baby boy.

Speaking to the Express by phone, Mohammed said the matter would not be swept under the carpet. “We make a commitment to the parents and the public that an independent investigation will take place, and we remain committed to the fa¬mily to provide whatever support they need,” she said. Khan told the Express he received a copy of the preliminary autopsy report and has requested further information from Mohammed.

Khan questioned why was an elective Cesarean performed on a Carnival Saturday and where was the consultant and senior staff. “I will be reporting to the medical board if I do find any form of negligence,” said Khan. He said there was a question of both administrative and medical ne¬gligence and this will be determined by the investigation.
Khan said papers have been written about lacerations during a Caesarean section, which range from moderate, mild and severe.

He noted this was a case where the baby was very premature. “I am not going to absolve anybo¬dy right now, I want to know who was the consultant in charge and why was this case done as an elective surgery on Carnival Saturday,” said Khan.
Millington told the Express he and his wife were overwhelmed when the autopsy report was given to them yesterday at Mt Hope. “I really don’t know what to think or say. I told the counsellor at the time I didn’t need counselling; I need to go to an anger-management course and then maybe deal with the counselling part,” said Millington.

He said he hopes whoever was responsible would be held accountable. Millington said his baby’s body was now at a funeral home, and a decision will be taken as to when a funeral will be held. Read More: http://ow.ly/uljpI

Xplode

Postby Xplode » March 7th, 2014, 11:00 am

A doctor who preferred anonymity told the Express this meant the surgeon would have cut into the baby’s head near the ear area and pene¬trated the brain. “The knife would have cut straight through and injured the brain of the baby, the lobe and tissue,” said the doctor.

WTF..... what kind of force that doc was cutting with ,when you are train i'm sure the tip of the scalpel is used for this procedure,cutting away tissue one at a time ,look's like he just stab and cut away .

QuietGiant

Postby QuietGiant » March 7th, 2014, 4:00 pm

Mt. Hope gettin' REL outta hand lately. Ppl dying from little or no injuries cuz of their slackness. Next ting u know u go to buy a drink & dey kill u too yes :$

Postby Trini Hookah » March 7th, 2014, 4:28 pm

QuietGiant wrote:Mt. Hope gettin' REL outta hand lately. Ppl dying from little or no injuries cuz of their slackness. Next ting u know u go to buy a drink & dey kill u too yes :$

QuietGiant
QuietGiant
QuietGiant
QuietGiant

Take a hint from yuh name na bai :|

Postby De Dragon » March 7th, 2014, 8:06 pm

Inb4 worksux101 and the other apologists

Postby De Dragon » March 7th, 2014, 8:06 pm

Inb4 worksux101 and the other apologists

joey12385

Postby joey12385 » March 7th, 2014, 8:11 pm

WTF!!!DOC GETS SUSPENDED WITH PAY

antlind

Postby antlind » March 7th, 2014, 8:15 pm

This is trinidad. It's a wonder they even suspend him. What a shame.

Postby Ted_v2 » March 7th, 2014, 8:17 pm

pioneer wrote:Didn't know chuna have so many lawyers, doctors and CSI all in one place.

3ne2nr Best thing since slice bread