Weight Management

Re: Weight Management

Postby desifemlove » April 8th, 2014, 9:33 am

dogg wrote:This is unsustainable. Someone trying to do that will be miserable. There's no reason to completely cut off these types of food. One needs to enjoy life's simple pleasures.

Don't cut off these carb-rich foods, simply reduce the servings. Instead of 3 or 4 doubles have one or two or a cup of channa instead on occasion. Have water or diet soda with it. Have more veges or meat with your roti, instead of a whole sada, have a 1/4 and more veges.

You don't need to exercise to lose weight, it helps a little, but reducing calories is all that's necessary.

An easy first step in limiting calories is by reducing or removing excess sugar intake.

MonsterPower wrote:Lifestyle change is the key. No doubles,bake and shark and Chinese.basically cut out all rice and roti and replace it with veggies and salads.
I dropped 27lbs in 4 months.light exercise included.

exercise help reduce calories and improves metabolism. as for good taste, eh, who says fried food better tasting?

dogg

Postby dogg » April 8th, 2014, 9:42 am

desifemlove wrote:
dogg wrote:This is unsustainable. Someone trying to do that will be miserable. There's no reason to completely cut off these types of food. One needs to enjoy life's simple pleasures.

Don't cut off these carb-rich foods, simply reduce the servings. Instead of 3 or 4 doubles have one or two or a cup of channa instead on occasion. Have water or diet soda with it. Have more veges or meat with your roti, instead of a whole sada, have a 1/4 and more veges.

You don't need to exercise to lose weight, it helps a little, but reducing calories is all that's necessary.

An easy first step in limiting calories is by reducing or removing excess sugar intake.

MonsterPower wrote:Lifestyle change is the key. No doubles,bake and shark and Chinese.basically cut out all rice and roti and replace it with veggies and salads.

exercise help reduce calories and improves metabolism. as for good taste, eh, who says fried food better tasting?

Exercise is beneficial in many ways, and should always be done whether you're trying to lose weight or not. Exercise in itself is NOT a requirement for weight loss. A caloric deficit is all that's necessary.

Fried foods taste great to me. Everyone has different tastes when it comes to food. You can't force people to like or dislike according to individual taste.

I find caviar looks and smells like goat crap, but others think its the most exquisite food.

Postby desifemlove » April 8th, 2014, 9:53 am

dogg wrote:
desifemlove wrote:

Exercise is beneficial in many ways, and should always be done whether you're trying to lose weight or not. Exercise in itself is NOT a requirement for weight loss. A caloric deficit is all that's necessary.

Fried foods taste great to me. Everyone has different tastes when it comes to food. You can't force people to like or dislike according to individual taste.

I find caviar looks and smells like goat crap, but others think its the most exquisite food.

i like it too, but to say as the many do it's de best tasting food known to man for all-times ent true (well to me at least :D)

Postby AllTrac » April 8th, 2014, 11:20 am

desifemlove wrote:
AllTrac wrote:

cut out all No doubles,bake and shark and Chinese, rice and roti? why? LAWL :lol: :lol:

er...so you saying doubles, bake and shark and chinese food and roti healthy?

What universe you living in, the one where fried food good for yuh? :wink:

Doesn't matter if dat's we standard fare, everyting comes with a cost dude.. :D

I indulge in these things weekly, i recently did my medical inclusive of blood work for my job and everything came back fine including cholesterol. Let me tell you, moderation is the key. I eat 80% whole foods and 20% lovely fatty sugary sheit. I also exercise alot and stay hydrated. Stop underestimating your body it has a digestion system and toxin management system that has millions of years of evolution behind it, it could more than handle some processed sheit ever so often. i never said eat it every day, feed your body right most of the times and it will handle you right when you cant. Once again, nothing is wrong with those stuff, just eat in moderation.

Anyone who believes that they need to eat "clean" foods to stay healthy and lose weight needs to stop being a bro

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 8th, 2014, 11:30 am

Trac I hear you, but a big part of the battle is your mind.

I recognized that I was a fat fvck who used to stuff my face with too much garbage and ballooned to 255lbs. For me to lose weight, I needed to cut that shvit out, cause what happened with me is that I tried portion reduction and being the fat greedy fvck that I was, it often ended in failure. Multiple times.

I reprogrammed myself to eat differently, started a halfassed exercise regime and lost 80 lbs over 3 years (slooooow) and can now handle the occasional indulgence.

Some people work differently.

Postby AllTrac » April 8th, 2014, 11:49 am

sorry, i dont agree, its all about calories in vs calories out.I too was a fat fcuk, 260lbs.
The reason why you would still feel hungry or binge if eating processed food is because processed food are caloric dense, meaning you get less food with a high amount of calories, making you hungry cause you are not full. A 4" pancake is 85cals. Its pretty small and you almost racked up 100 cals. Try eating 85 cals in broccoli :lol: you will have for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

So cutting out the pancake and switching for rice or broc means you get more food for less cals and feel fuller faster hence reducing your total caloric intake which when add exercise your energy expended would be more than maintenance making your body dip into fat stores.
Weight loss is simply calories in vs calories out. How you choose to consume those calories would make the difference of you going to sleep hungry or you going to sleep full.
Me? i partition my calories during the day to eat high fiber foods which is more fulling and last longer in my system. When im about to go to bed i have myself a nice sugary snack that doesnt exceed my caloric allotment for the day, just to keep me sane. That way I wont binge and wont crave.
When it comes to body composition thats a different story as i go tot he macro specific side of things by hitting protein requirements etc.

You cant argue with science.
http://www.today.com/health/man-loses-5 ... 2D79329158

http://healthland.time.com/2012/04/24/h ... e/nothing/

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 8th, 2014, 11:55 am

AllTrac wrote:sorry, i dont agree, its all about calories in vs calories out.I too was a fat fcuk, 260lbs.
The reason why you would still feel hungry or binge if eating processed food is because processed food are caloric dense, meaning you get less food with a high amount of calories, making you hungry cause you are not full. A 4" pancake is 85cals. Its pretty small and you almost racked up 100 cals. Try eating 85 cals in broccoli :lol: you will have for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

So cutting out the pancake and switching for rice or broc means you get more food for less cals and feel fuller faster hence reducing your total caloric intake which when add exercise your energy expended would be more than maintenance making your body dip into fat stores.
Weight loss is simply calories in vs calories out. How you choose to consume those calories would make the difference of you going to sleep hungry or you going to sleep full.
Me? i partition my calories during the day to eat high fiber foods which is more fulling and last longer in my system. When im about to go to bed i have myself a nice sugary snack that doesnt exceed my caloric allotment for the day, just to keep me sane. That way I wont binge and wont crave.
When it comes to body composition thats a different story as i go tot he macro specific side of things by hitting protein requirements etc.

You cant argue with science.
http://www.today.com/health/man-loses-5 ... 2D79329158

http://healthland.time.com/2012/04/24/h ... e/nothing/

uncle mamoo we saying the same thing. I agree with the calories in vs out - three years of trial and error have taught me that - but your mind/self control is a HUGE part.

trinihub

Postby trinihub » April 8th, 2014, 11:56 am

^Good post Glen

Postby AllTrac » April 8th, 2014, 11:58 am

its hard to diet, no lie, its frustrating, especially when you hit a plateau, but i look forward to my dreamer bulk in august, hopefully ill cut in time for carnival.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 8th, 2014, 12:00 pm

It's only frustrating in the beginning. Make it a lifestyle change and it's much easier.
The plateau thing tho - is the WORSTESTESTEST.

Postby AllTrac » April 8th, 2014, 12:02 pm

VexXx Dogg, i had the issue to, the self control part, but when i started IIFYM, i get to have myself something nice daily thats out of the regular bro foods, this help tremendously with cravings and self control.
Today i want a snicker bar, I already set my food up for the day so i have about 350cals left after dinner, ill have me my mutherfcuking snicker bar

Postby dougla_boy » April 8th, 2014, 12:03 pm

lolol

Postby AllTrac » April 8th, 2014, 12:06 pm

so this lifestyle change, when you go out with family or friends and they all having pizza and ice cream or some beastly cold beers with some wings, roast pork or lots of potato chips , you gonna be that guy?
you know the one friend who you have to order a salad and lite cranberry juice for him making him socially awkward and cant enjoy a good food with good friend and good music? :lol:
I dont let diet control my life, I a social person, if i had a diet that made me hermit and banned me from certian foods, then fcuk that sheit, bitchtits for lyfe!!!

Postby AllTrac » April 8th, 2014, 12:15 pm

reason i asked is because I have a friend who made his announcement about his divine "life style change" of cutting out all carbs and eating paleo and he believe that is how humans supposed to eat. So i just laughed it off, late last year me and couple friends, him included went on a friday binge drinking session, as after it ended we all stale drunk, pardnah order ah pizza, pizza reach we clean forget about his no carbs paleo lifestyle, man face tun up i tell him well eat de cheese off de pizza alone thats paleo, i tell him eat what you want, its just one day in the week, we will work it off tomorrow. I see him sit down in ah corner eating ah tin ah vienna sausage, no ketchup cause its not paleo :lol: dat guy. :lol:

#datlyfestylechange

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 8th, 2014, 12:17 pm

I aint that guy nah.
If I eat crap one day - I'll damn well make up for it.

You didnt get fat overnight, so one cheat day or session won't break you. If you cheat everyday, well this is why you're a fat fvck

Postby AllTrac » April 8th, 2014, 12:20 pm

aint that the truth, you didnt get fat in one night and you wont get thing in one night either.

#teamGlennR

Postby desifemlove » April 8th, 2014, 1:14 pm

AllTrac wrote:
desifemlove wrote:
AllTrac wrote:

cut out all No doubles,bake and shark and Chinese, rice and roti? why? LAWL :lol: :lol:

er...so you saying doubles, bake and shark and chinese food and roti healthy?

What universe you living in, the one where fried food good for yuh? :wink:

Doesn't matter if dat's we standard fare, everyting comes with a cost dude.. :D

I indulge in these things weekly, i recently did my medical inclusive of blood work for my job and everything came back fine including cholesterol. Let me tell you, moderation is the key. I eat 80% whole foods and 20% lovely fatty sugary sheit. I also exercise alot and stay hydrated. Stop underestimating your body it has a digestion system and toxin management system that has millions of years of evolution behind it, it could more than handle some processed sheit ever so often. i never said eat it every day, feed your body right most of the times and it will handle you right when you cant. Once again, nothing is wrong with those stuff, just eat in moderation.

Anyone who believes that they need to eat "clean" foods to stay healthy and lose weight needs to stop being a bro

I said prior in moderation like once a week OK.

But then most in dis country can't handle once a week, hence hypertension, type 1/2 diabetes, stroke, heart, etc. all high. As for evolution, it cos of that we have these issues, we're not built for diets of 200g of fat a day. I bet many eat dat regularly in this country.

Postby pete » April 8th, 2014, 1:24 pm

Where's the best place to buy broccoli?

W2J

Postby W2J » April 8th, 2014, 1:59 pm

pete wrote:Where's the best place to buy broccoli?

Grocery

dogg

Postby dogg » April 8th, 2014, 2:29 pm

I said prior in moderation like once a week OK.

But then most in dis country can't handle once a week, hence hypertension, type 1/2 diabetes, stroke, heart, etc. all high. As for evolution, it cos of that we have these issues, we're not built for diets of 200g of fat a day. I bet many eat dat regularly in this country.

Its commendable that you are careful with your diet, but there's no need for the average person to stop enjoying the foods they like. You can eat anything you want daily, just keep the calories to a reasonable level.

Also limiting Carbohydrates is a more efficient way to lose excess weight than by limiting fat.

Postby A172 » April 8th, 2014, 3:04 pm

lift heavy and take a multi

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 8th, 2014, 4:07 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I aint that guy nah.
If I eat crap one day - I'll damn well make up for it.

You didnt get fat overnight, so one cheat day or session won't break you. If you cheat everyday, well this is why you're a fat fvck

traccos and vexx both talking sense. Yes i changed my eating habits.. i am not on a diet just watching what i eat now. I do get to eat in moderation when i go out with friends and family.. Just no more Whole dhallpurri and plate ah duck .. Instead quarter dhallpurri salad and pieces of duck.

I am wearing clothes i bought 4 yrs ago and never fit me .. and i i am damn proud of what i did .

Trac if it working for me i will continue to do it because its me the doctor gonna have to face if i have a health problem and nooone else.

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » April 8th, 2014, 4:56 pm

Real sense being spoken here. I myself went from 270 to 180 lbs in the space of about two years simply by eating less of all the same things I usually eat and doing chancellor hardcore 3-4 times a week. Roti, fries, sooooo many snacks I still eat but almost completely cut out the sugary and floury ones. That's all there is to it really and ever since I've maintained by doing the exact same thing, but make no mistake, its a SERIOUS piece of lifelong discipline you have to adopt. Depending on your body, just reducing intake vs input without exercise would yield results at a different rate and is ok if all you want to do is loose weight...BUT exercise is also very important. There is such a thing as being light but unhealthy.

avidipsingh

Postby avidipsingh » April 8th, 2014, 5:13 pm

How bout losing weight and indulging yourself ,,,local distributer for this product,,for more info ,,,www.avidipsingh.myls360.com,,,or contact 684 6322
1396991420638.jpg

Postby eliteauto » April 8th, 2014, 6:37 pm

^^^^ Outside with dat

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 8th, 2014, 7:57 pm

dafuq is that sheit

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 8th, 2014, 7:59 pm

nevermind it another pyramid scheme victim, alyuh forgive the man.

Postby Rainman » April 8th, 2014, 8:32 pm

But but but ........my organo gold stocks are gonna make me rich. B15 cya dun

moti

Postby moti » April 9th, 2014, 10:56 am

So who knows the calories 1 doubles has?
For some reason the wrapper does not have a nutrition facts printed on it :?

Postby pete » April 9th, 2014, 10:59 am

Doubles supposed to be 345. But I guess it'd vary from vendor to vendor. Still tho, 2 doubles and an apple j at 850 calories is a lot.