Social Welfare Questions

Re: Social Welfare Questions

Postby pioneer » September 17th, 2014, 7:06 am

Not to detract but I think the state should do mandatory drug testing for people seeking any kind of welfare.

No sense in tax payers money paying for people addictions.

HSA

Postby HSA » September 17th, 2014, 7:14 am

pioneer wrote:Not to detract but I think the state should do mandatory drug testing for people seeking any kind of welfare.

No sense in tax payers money paying for people addictions.

true..but remember before anyone gets money, proper investigation must be made by the respective welfare officer. as the officer is under oath, anything to the contrary written in the report, the officer will be responsible. if someone is a drug addict and they are receiving a grant, you could write a letter with formal headings and address it to the supervisor of your welfare division. go in person and drop it off. do not put it in an envelope as it is not allowed and ensure that the supervisor receives it.

Postby pioneer » September 17th, 2014, 7:15 am

welfare officers are poorly paid public servants...you think dem really go anywhere to investigate anything?

Their investigation is askin your neighbour if you live there.

HSA

Postby HSA » September 17th, 2014, 7:22 am

pioneer wrote:welfare officers are poorly paid public servants...you think dem really go anywhere to investigate anything?

Their investigation is askin your neighbour if you live there.

not really poorly paid tho...base salary of 6500 plus travelling which is tax free which can range from 2000-4000...well thats while i was there.... and i believe you were a welfare officer before??? since you know how they conduct "proper" investigations?? you must not believe any and everything you hear from the grapevine...always verify...although your statement may fall in some gardens...the key word is some....not all are the same...

138bob

Postby 138bob » January 7th, 2015, 8:57 pm

Is there a 1800 social care grant ? Where the government pays the money to get assistance to care for an old person?

jerry2008

Postby jerry2008 » January 8th, 2015, 8:19 pm

If married with one child and one of the parents passed away. Can you get any money/grant for that

HSA

Postby HSA » January 9th, 2015, 6:57 am

jerry2008 wrote:If married with one child and one of the parents passed away. Can you get any money/grant for that

If the breadwinner passed away and the other party isnt working because of a physical disability or mental condition then yes you may be entitled to financial assistance such as public assistance.

jerry2008

Postby jerry2008 » January 9th, 2015, 7:22 am

Thanks

Postby desifemlove » January 9th, 2015, 7:44 am

who eligible to get pension?

is it any TT citizen, or yuh mus have made NIS payments?

Postby zoom rader » January 9th, 2015, 12:13 pm

desifemlove wrote:who eligible to get pension?

is it any TT citizen, or yuh mus have made NIS payments?

1. Must have the legal right to work in trini. Citizenship, legal resident or work permit.
2. Must make over 750 NIS contributions (52 contribution in a yr)
3. You can get an old age grant, which is not a pension. That's for citizens that don't have anything in their name.

HSA

Postby HSA » March 2nd, 2015, 11:35 am

Senior Citizens Grant aka old age pension could be accessed by any trini or tobago national who spent at least 50 years in trinidad, 65 years and over, monthly INCOME not exceeding 4k..... nis contributions are not necessary as ZR stated....nis is needed if one is to apply for NIB pension not social welfare pension....

138bob

Postby 138bob » November 12th, 2015, 10:10 pm

How long it takes to get first cheque after getting aproved

HSA

Postby HSA » December 7th, 2015, 9:27 am

138bob wrote:How long it takes to get first cheque after getting aproved

from your date of application, welfare officers have 90 days to complete their investigation. after that anywhere between 1-3 mths for your first cheque. but you should get compensated from the month after your application...average time for cheque is 3mths