uwi eng

Re: uwi eng

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 9th, 2014, 8:08 am

RBphoto wrote:UTT>UWI. But really, ask yourself, "Do I really want to be an Engineer?" Also "Will the Engineering profession fulfill my financial and Self actualization needs?"

It is not for everyone. If you have an artistic of vocational side, explore that as well and don't be burdened with expectations of your teachers and your family. Do what you want to do, explore your options and find happiness. Too many people follow dreams of others and only hear faint echos of their dreams in the Autumn of their existence.

I will have to agree with you on UTT being good I did not go UWI so I cannot say for sure if its better than UWI but the teachers in UTT especially the Math teacher I have is a really dedicated person. They tend to treat you more like a high school student and give you extra help so if you do fail in UTT its usually on your own account. My friend who passed his Electrical and Computer Engineering Bsc in UWI is now going UTT and doing Electrical Engineering Bsc and he says his experience is far better than at UWI.

Our networking teacher is a UWI Computer Science graduate, he was saying the other day Engineering is not for everyone you must really like things like maths and have to desire to dedicated most of your life to learning these kind of things otherwise you would never be an Engineer you would just be someone with a piece of paper saying Bsc in X Engineering.

With that said he mentioned a few UTT students who were not accepted into UWI due to lower grades but graduated and are currently successful Engineers today making over $30,000 a month.
So I guess if OP really wants to do this badly and is willing to change his entire mentality he could end up doing well. If however one is complaining about this and that being too hard etc etc then Engineering really isn't for that person at all. The mentality one should portray is "nah this eh hard enough this needs to be harder, gimme rocket science"

OP think about it like this, there is absolutely no reason for you to score under 80% in anything today, because with things like internet access and computers/smartphones and tablets you have information just floating around just to grab. Imagine how hard it was for UWI students in the 90's when it didn't have this kind of internet access to stream youtube videos on maths etc. Check out KhanAcademy and PatrickJMT they have really good stuff. MIT opencourseware, there is no excuse for failure even if you are not good at Math.

And don't listen to the couple rude people on this thread, once you want something badly enough you will get it. You simply need a little adjustment on your mentality about math and science is all, learn to like it and you would be successful. Best of luck!!!

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 9th, 2014, 8:23 am

i went to both uwi and utt

UWI - classes are more demanding and time consuming , better quality of education / higer level

UTT- classes are slower less demanding u can miss and entire week of year 1 engineering in utt and still catch up not with UWI miss 2 days and u lost as fack

eg . UTT has this course call engineering Graphics Year 1 the normal student will think this is drawing ( orthographic projection etc ) when in true and fact it is free hand drawing of objects a standard 1 student can do not even cxc level
wher as UWI year 1 drawing is way more advance and difficult with 4 hrs drawing classes which u have to finish otherwise u get 0 no excuses
ask Hookah and black start we all went tru the system , i wouldnt even start with courses like Dynamics , Machines , Vibrations etc and these are year 1 courses that must be passed or u automatically have to spend 4-5 years in uwi due to theses courses are pre requisites , compared to utt year 1

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 9th, 2014, 8:59 am

^ which degree was that you had to do Engineering Graphics? The only free hand drawing I know off in UTT is in Animation Diploma.

Other than that is mostly Computer Science modules and Electrical Engineering in the Computer Engineering.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 9th, 2014, 9:02 am

nick639 wrote:So what's the end answer? Which would you choose/recommend for a student? Utt or uwi..

Forgive my bad attitude but choose one

I think all other modules in UTT would be much easier than UWI as Project JDM said, however there is a module in UTT called Signals and Systems I am not sure which specific degrees you have to do it in but I am certain its in Computer Engineering and its literally as hard as you can imagine. Its on the same level as say MIT Engineering and has a 90% failure rate. I even had a math teacher who is quite a fan of UWI that teaches in UTT, and even a UWI fan like him has compared some of these modules to what you would find in top US universities so there would be modules in UTT thats easier but its not true for all. Because you would find others as difficult as you would find in UWI etc.

With that said I don't think its going to be as easy as people think at UTT, ever since they have been accredited with the same UK bodies like UWI, their degrees at UTT has become a lot harder. A lot of people go in there with the attitude that you don't have to study and they end up failing. Only a very very few actually graduate. Just because its easier to get into UTT does not necessarily mean its equally as easy to pass, if you don't study hard for any Engineering you will never pass. Perhaps years ago it was all easy stuff but today it isn't. Can't get international accreditation if it is.

Consider this, a Diploma with B score or up from UTT will grant you straight entry into a Bsc in Engineering program at UWI without the need for A levels or pre engineering. So if UTT is as easy as others have said, then UWI would never have recognized them. UWI does not recognize standard 1 as acceptable entry requirements for their degree. LOL

Postby Trini Hookah » September 9th, 2014, 9:24 am

Project-JDM wrote:i went to both uwi and utt

UWI - classes are more demanding and time consuming , better quality of education / higer level

UTT- classes are slower less demanding u can miss and entire week of year 1 engineering in utt and still catch up not with UWI miss 2 days and u lost as fack

eg . UTT has this course call engineering Graphics Year 1 the normal student will think this is drawing ( orthographic projection etc ) when in true and fact it is free hand drawing of objects a standard 1 student can do not even cxc level
wher as UWI year 1 drawing is way more advance and difficult with 4 hrs drawing classes which u have to finish otherwise u get 0 no excuses
ask Hookah and black start we all went tru the system , i wouldnt even start with courses like Dynamics , Machines , Vibrations etc and these are year 1 courses that must be passed or u automatically have to spend 4-5 years in uwi due to theses courses are pre requisites , compared to utt year 1

Well said...but dont talk about controls nah :skurry:

It aint a walk in the park, but once OP stay on top of his work he'll make it through. And the pre-eng programme is a good base to start.

Postby RBphoto » September 9th, 2014, 11:02 am

Trini Hookah wrote:Well said...but dont talk about controls nah :skurry:

It is worth it... trust me 8-)

Nobody has any idea what you do on a project except that the whole plant can't start without your stuff working.

rickker

Postby rickker » September 9th, 2014, 11:10 am

you can also do an undergrad degree at UTT and then advance to your Msc at UWI in engineering, that's what im doing right now and they're accredited by UK IMECHE.

Postby black start » September 9th, 2014, 11:22 am

rickker wrote:you can also do an undergrad degree at UTT and then advance to your Msc at UWI in engineering, that's what im doing right now and they're accredited by UK IMECHE.

Post proof of degree accreditation.

As far as I know, its only the master accredited and hence utt's integrated master's where you are somewhat forced to do the master's as soon as you finish your degree or else you end up with just that un-accredited (sp?) Bachelor's Degree and can't do the masters after....

Postby Trini Hookah » September 9th, 2014, 11:26 am

That said only UTT offers a postgrad programme im interested in so far.

rickker

Postby rickker » September 9th, 2014, 11:33 am

Its really up to you if you want to advance to the integrated masters at UTT, however in my case i chose to retain the bachelor's degree and advance to UWI masters of which im currently enrolled in. UTT process engineering is accredited by ICHEMe http://u.tt/index.php?articles=1&articl ... ncements=1 and other programmes may be soon accredited as well, which is the same as UWI's accredition

Postby black start » September 9th, 2014, 11:58 am

Was speaking with respect to mechanical eng....but yes I think the chemical and petroleum at utt is now accredited

Postby S_2NR » September 9th, 2014, 12:29 pm

Project-JDM wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:Op learn a trade or sell doubles yes

you for one shouldn't talk failing courses like wow and playing big man on tuner ^^^^ at least d man trying Dan one day he coukd be ya boss

Wtf. You want a prize or something?
Just because someone having some trouble with tertiary education doesn't mean you have to make them out so. People does have financial problems, problems at home etc.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 9th, 2014, 1:28 pm

All engineering BSc degrees at UTT is accredited by the same UK boards that UWI is accredited by. With 1 exception which is computer engineering however its due to be accredited this December.

I don't see how anyone could claim its vastly inferior or anything like that. Sounds silly or those people are not with current times and are talking past experience. I fail to see how UTT isn't recognized by UWI when UWI clearly states they fully accept UTT diplomas as entry into UWI BSc programs as a substitution for A levels.

I see no reason to believe they won't allow you to pursue a masters at UWI with a UTT BSc aswell

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 9th, 2014, 7:11 pm

S_2NR wrote:
Project-JDM wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:Op learn a trade or sell doubles yes

you for one shouldn't talk failing courses like wow and playing big man on tuner ^^^^ at least d man trying Dan one day he coukd be ya boss

Wtf. You want a prize or something?
Just because someone having some trouble with tertiary education doesn't mean you have to make them out so. People does have financial problems, problems at home etc.

you real out ah timing bro this done gone and finish with stick to the topic for op to make a good choice , na geez ,all allya yute like a set small talk and chatter , like if u wearing Victoria secret , me and hookah know wa we talking bout stay d FACK out :!:

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ which degree was that you had to do Engineering Graphics? The only free hand drawing I know off in UTT is in Animation Diploma.

Other than that is mostly Computer Science modules and Electrical Engineering in the Computer Engineering.

manu and design its a year 1 course for all engineering and bio med students

nick639 wrote:
Project-JDM wrote:i went to both uwi and utt

So what's the end answer? Which would you choose/recommend for a student? Utt or uwi..

Forgive my bad attitude but choose one

UTT is less time spent and a easier degree like me i work and go to school so its better for me , utt is more flexible for the working class

UWI - is a bit harder and alot more time needs to be spent , if your working and have a demanding life style its not for u IMO ,

Postby S_2NR » September 9th, 2014, 7:16 pm

wait...this guy is sti7? srs
hard to believe it would have two people knocking hookah so about uwi

Postby black start » September 9th, 2014, 7:23 pm

I wonder if any of the tuner trolls finish they eng degree yet? :lol:

Postby S_2NR » September 9th, 2014, 7:36 pm

in my experience in school, its always the biggest dunces who does be all over running their mouth.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 9th, 2014, 7:36 pm

black start wrote:I wonder if any of the tuner trolls finish they eng degree yet? :lol:

lol not me dropped that sheit , opened a business and going utt 8-)

u ever been in a room with Professor Ekwee and Dr bridge alone giving you academic advising :skurry: very scary i nearly piss my pants :oops:

mite consider to start it over when i finish utt

Postby black start » September 9th, 2014, 7:38 pm

In my defence, I was a dunce before I start bussing up my mouth on the forums....

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 9th, 2014, 7:38 pm

S_2NR wrote:in my experience in school, its always the biggest dunces who does be all over running their mouth.

well u on tuner running your mouth non stop :| hmmmm your statement makes sense :lol:

make a positive contribution to op post na and stop going off topic :!:

Postby black start » September 9th, 2014, 7:39 pm

Oh goar, can't we all be friends? :lol:

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 9th, 2014, 7:40 pm

black start wrote:Oh goar, can't we all be friends? :lol:

GATE BOYS tomorrow evening i buying :drinking:

Postby black start » September 9th, 2014, 7:41 pm

U doh drink fadda.....

Postby S_2NR » September 9th, 2014, 7:42 pm

sti7 confirmed.
hopefully my phone dont start ringing with empty threats tonight.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 9th, 2014, 7:44 pm

S_2NR wrote:sti7 confirmed.
hopefully my phone dont start ringing with empty threats tonight.

Victoria stuck very tite up boi weee

grow up little boi :!:

Postby black start » September 9th, 2014, 7:47 pm

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 9th, 2014, 7:56 pm

black start wrote:

Victoria secret behaviour causing dat :lol:

TurtleOfDeath

Postby TurtleOfDeath » September 10th, 2014, 1:53 pm

With regards to the discussion concerning the rigor of UTT's engineering programs, its interesting to note that the University of Bristol, one of the top schools in the UK, accepts applicants from both UWI and UTT for admission to their postgraduate programs:

Entry requirements for postgraduate programmes

You can apply online for all our postgraduate programmes.

The standard requirement for entry to a taught masters programme at Bristol is an undergraduate (Bachelor) degree that is equivalent to a UK Upper Second Class degree (also known as a 2:1).

Applicants holding a Bachelor degree (from the University of the West Indies or the University of Trinidad and Tobago) with very high grades may be considered for postgraduate study.

Applicants holding a Masters degree or MPhil may be considered for PhD study.

http://www.bristol.ac.uk/international/ ... obago.html

AJP20

Postby AJP20 » November 5th, 2016, 4:12 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

So all in all its usually best to get good grades in A levels or a NETD from UTT which UWI also accepts as entry to do their Engineering degrees.

All the Engineering degrees at UTT is also recognized by the UK bodies that UWI also uses. Except Computer Engineering but it will be by December this year from IET UK.

Can someone from UTT's Pet Engineering NETD get into UWI's Geoscience programme ? since both are focused on the Petroleum industry and not pure Geology per say.

baigan

Postby baigan » November 5th, 2016, 4:20 pm

AJP20 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

So all in all its usually best to get good grades in A levels or a NETD from UTT which UWI also accepts as entry to do their Engineering degrees.

All the Engineering degrees at UTT is also recognized by the UK bodies that UWI also uses. Except Computer Engineering but it will be by December this year from IET UK.

Can someone from UTT's Pet Engineering NETD get into UWI's Geoscience programme ? since both are focused on the Petroleum industry and not pure Geology per say.

Yep