Re: NASA: we will find alien life by 2025

Postby pioneer » April 15th, 2015, 5:43 pm

Postby meccalli » April 15th, 2015, 6:26 pm

Newton's response, whenever Edmond Halley would say anything disrespectful of religion. As quoted in: The Life of Sir Isaac Newton (1831) by Sir David Brewster

“I have studied these things — you have not.”
―Isaac Newton

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 15th, 2015, 7:08 pm

16 cycles wrote:universe too large ....gotta have some other life form out there....odds of us being the only planet to support life is astronomical....
habit7 disagrees with your logic

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » April 15th, 2015, 7:11 pm

Hope I'm alive when this happens 0X

Postby zoom rader » April 15th, 2015, 7:52 pm

Habit7 wrote:We waiting for how you will negatively implicate PNM in this.

PNM does a fine job of implicating themselves, after all they are a christian party..
Awaits the day when they hold an opening puja for their laventille, beetham and San do east seats meetings .

Postby Habit7 » April 15th, 2015, 8:02 pm

16 cycles wrote:universe too large ....gotta have some other life form out there....odds of us being the only planet to support life is astronomical....

Habit7 lacks material evidence.

Postby pioneer » April 15th, 2015, 8:04 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 15th, 2015, 11:13 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Habit7 lacks material evidence.
for aliens, God or both?

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » April 16th, 2015, 1:27 am

Hypocrite much habit7?

DTAC

Postby DTAC » April 16th, 2015, 2:57 am

Nowhere in the Bible does it say anything about God only creating life on Earth.

God the supposed creator of the Universe with around 30,000,000,000,000,000,000,000 stars that we know of only bothered with to put life on 1 of them?!

If God truly does exist, then that is way more far fetched than there being no life at all outside of here.

I feel sorry for believers like Habit7 who make God into such a small being.

It's human arrogance and self importance more than God or anything else that makes believers think that the only life in the Universe is on Earth. If God seeded his own Universe with life then it wouldn't make them feel so important would it.

Postby Habit7 » April 16th, 2015, 5:20 am

If anyone brings you material evidence for God, run them. God is the creator of matter, therefore He cannot consist of it. Evidences for God are immaterial and based on logical conclusions.

Any evidence for aliens has to be material, lack of this material evidence will have to be hoped for by faith, of which I lack faith for the existence of aliens.

I am not saying the exists or don't exist, but to say that because the universe is so huge there must be aliens is again a faith statement. I know of one occurrence of life, and that is on Earth. Punting to say life exists on some distant solar system of which we can't go to verify is blind faith and bad science.

chulo45 wrote:Hypocrite much habit7?
The only hypocrites are those who claim that the only things that are real are material and exist in time and space, yet believe in aliens of which we no evidence of. Then on top of that ridicule the idea of God because He is logically deduced as being creator of matter, time and space all while His nature being immaterial, eternal and omnipresent.

Postby Chimera » April 16th, 2015, 6:19 am

Sigh......always amazes me how big men could believe in a non existent entity.......

I have some magic beans to sell habit, god gave them to me.

Postby Habit7 » April 16th, 2015, 7:27 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Sigh......always amazes me how big men could believe in a non existent entity.......

The irony is lost on you.

Postby 16 cycles » April 16th, 2015, 7:49 am

no problemo...

milky Way (example of a galaxy / not the chocolate bar) has ~100 billion stars
There are abt 100billion galaxies each with its own variation of milky way.

for us to be the only planet/star/asteriod that can support life is 1:100000000000000000000000000000 or some crazy number like that....jus saying..

Postby Chimera » April 16th, 2015, 8:07 am

Big men believing in god reminds me of little children believing in peter pan or tooth fairy

Postby Habit7 » April 16th, 2015, 8:20 am

16 cycles wrote:

no problemo...

milky Way (example of a galaxy / not the chocolate bar) has ~100 billion stars
There are abt 100billion galaxies each with its own variation of milky way.

for us to be the only planet/star/asteriod that can support life is 1:100000000000000000000000000000 or some crazy number like that....jus saying..

Do you know how live came about on this planet?

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 16th, 2015, 8:22 am

Study this tho

IF aliens light years away look at our planet,,, they might see dinosaurs and sheit since the light from that era now reaching their detectors

Postby zoom rader » April 16th, 2015, 8:26 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Big men believing in god reminds me of little children believing in peter pan or tooth fairy

Dats Habit7 for you.
Fairy tales

Postby meccalli » April 16th, 2015, 8:28 am

Study the odds of abiogenesis occurring in ideal conditions like earth, then worry about the possibility of it happening in other parts of the galaxy in unknown conditions and variances,

8m 30s
Science is restricted to that box because it refuses to accept anything that cannot be proven in the physical realm damning the possibility of other realities outside of its capability of being studied with physical means.
Newton- Since every particle of space is always, and every indivisible moment of duration is every where, certainly the Maker and Lord of all things cannot be never and no where....God is the same God, always and every where. He is omnipresent not virtually only, but also substantially; for virtue cannot subsist without substance.…It is allowed by all that the Supreme God exists necessarily; and by the same necessity he exists always and every where....And thus much concerning God; to discourse of whom from the appearance of things, does certainly belong to Natural Philosophy.
Here's Kaku talking about our primitive science.

Postby dougla_boy » April 16th, 2015, 8:48 am

me and meccali cud jib.....i cyah see how Habit7 cant believe life out there is nonsense.....

http://io9.com/what-a-brand-new-equatio ... -531575395

A New Equation Reveals Our Exact Odds of Finding Alien Life

Postby meccalli » April 16th, 2015, 8:54 am

Huh? I see you misinterpreted my point. The point of Kaku's video is to show how narrow minded our science is and why it will never prove God using its methods. Even the concept of evolution which is apparently standard is seen as absurd by a number of atheist scientists. Life doesn't occur on its own. There is other life out there, but its not of a physical nature.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 16th, 2015, 9:04 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:Study this tho

IF aliens light years away look at our planet,,, they might see dinosaurs and sheit since the light from that era now reaching their detectors
and vice versa

But then again Habit7 says God created the universe only 6000-12000 years ago so if the aliens are further than 12,000 light years away then they won't see us!!!

In a serious note though, "using NASA's Kepler Space Telescope, astronomers have discovered the first Earth-size planet orbiting a star in the "habitable zone" -- the range of distance from a star where liquid water might pool on the surface of an orbiting planet.Apr 18, 2014"
This system is 500 light years away. So if they are looking at us with telescopes then they would see us just after Columbus discovered the Americas.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 16th, 2015, 9:06 am

[quote="meccalli"] Even the concept of evolution which is apparently standard is seen as absurd by a number of atheist scientists./quote]so what's this number?

Postby meccalli » April 16th, 2015, 9:14 am

http://www.amazon.com/What-Darwin-Wrong ... 031268066X
Much more than we'll ever know since careers and jobs are riding on being expected to believe it with conviction. Faith?

Postby Habit7 » April 16th, 2015, 9:31 am

dougla_boy wrote:me and meccali cud jib.....i cyah see how Habit7 cant believe life out there is nonsense.....

Habit7 wrote:I am not saying the exists or don't exist, but to say that because the universe is so huge there must be aliens is again a faith statement.

Why is it that in discussions like this ppl always misrepresent others views.
dougla_boy wrote:http://io9.com/what-a-brand-new-equation-reveals-about-our-odds-of-fin-531575395

A New Equation Reveals Our Exact Odds of Finding Alien Life
Views such as this are buffeted by views such as this

The Mathematical Probability Of Life On Other Earth-Like Planets

By News Staff | April 16th 2008 01:01 AM

Infinity was invented to account for the possibility that in a never-ending universe, anything can happen. Life on other Earth-like planets, for example, is possible in an infinite universe, but not probable, according to a scientist from the University of East Anglia. 

The mathematical model produced by Prof Andrew Watson suggests that the odds of finding new life on other Earth-like planets are low because of the time it has taken for beings such as humans to evolve and the remaining life span of the Earth. Structurally complex and intelligent life evolved late on Earth and this process might be governed by a small number of very difficult evolutionary steps.

Prof Watson, from the School of Environmental Sciences, takes this idea further by looking at the probability of each of these critical steps occurring in relation to the life span of the Earth, giving an improved mathematical model for the evolution of intelligent life. 

According to Prof Watson a limit to evolution is the habitability of Earth, and any other Earth-like planets, which will end as the sun brightens. Solar models predict that the brightness of the sun is increasing, while temperature models suggest that because of this the future life span of Earth will be ‘only’ about another billion years, a short time compared to the four billion years since life first appeared on the planet.

“The Earth’s biosphere is now in its old age and this has implications for our understanding of the likelihood of complex life and intelligence arising on any given planet,” said Prof Watson. 

“At present, Earth is the only example we have of a planet with life. If we learned the planet would be habitable for a set period and that we had evolved early in this period, then even with a sample of one, we’d suspect that evolution from simple to complex and intelligent life was quite likely to occur. By contrast, we now believe that we evolved late in the habitable period, and this suggests that our evolution is rather unlikely. In fact, the timing of events is consistent with it being very rare indeed.”

Prof Watson suggests the number of evolutionary steps needed to create intelligent life, in the case of humans, is four. These probably include the emergence of single-celled bacteria, complex cells, specialized cells allowing complex life forms, and intelligent life with an established language. 

“Complex life is separated from the simplest life forms by several very unlikely steps and therefore will be much less common. Intelligence is one step further, so it is much less common still,” said Prof Watson.

His model, published in the journal Astrobiology, suggests an upper limit for the probability of each step occurring is 10 per cent or less, so the chances of intelligent life emerging is low – less than 0.01 per cent over four billion years.

Each step is independent of the other and can only take place after the previous steps in the sequence have occurred. They tend to be evenly spaced through Earth’s history and this is consistent with some of the major transitions identified in the evolution of life on Earth.

http://www.science20.com/news_releases/ ... ke_planets

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 16th, 2015, 10:01 am

meccalli wrote:http://www.amazon.com/What-Darwin-Wrong-Jerry-Fodor/dp/031268066X
Much more than we'll ever know since careers and jobs are riding on being expected to believe it with conviction. Faith?
excellent! that is what science is about, finding out the truth.
A lot has been learnt since Darwin. When German physicist Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen discovered X-Rays in 1895, he didn't know all there is to know about taking X-Rays 8-)

Evolution should be true for aliens too.

Postby meccalli » April 16th, 2015, 10:39 am

If people are losing positions and jobs over rejection of evolution, doesn't seem like science wants to find the truth particularly when it is touted as scientific fact by major institutes. Isn't that a concern as to the integrity of modern science?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 16th, 2015, 10:56 am

meccalli wrote:If people are losing positions and jobs over rejection of evolution, doesn't seem like science wants to find the truth particularly when it is touted as scientific fact by major institutes. Isn't that a concern as to the integrity of modern science?
because it is scientific fact.

No valid scientific evidence shows that it isn't.

Evolution is the basis for all biology. Without it, much of biology and modern medicine just doesn't make sense.

Alternatives have been tried before, but cannot make sense http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kitzmiller ... l_District

it's not a conspiracy!

anyway this topic is about aliens, what would you say if they found microbes or similar life on another planet?

Postby meccalli » April 16th, 2015, 11:08 am

2025 is right there, let's see what happens. I'm confident they won't. If they find something, it will be interesting to see what it is.

Postby Chimera » April 16th, 2015, 11:10 am

They will find some obscure passage in the bible and say god always said there was alien life.