Ticket for loud exhaust

speedmelter

Re: Ticket for loud exhaust

Postby speedmelter » August 29th, 2015, 9:53 pm

hindian wrote::lol: :lol: what vehicle and engine?

a quick search would reveal the possibility

Sundar
Post subject: Re: WTK - Battery Swollen - Is This Dangerous? Posted: Mon Aug 17, 2015 11:41 pm

Replies: 21
Views: 692

So the +ve pole of my battery has swollen. Would overcharging/faulty alternator cause this? The battery is a die hard. The car is a medalist rb20det.

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » August 29th, 2015, 10:00 pm

Sundar wrote:So I got a $300 ticket for a loud exhaust. I have two resonators and a cat 3 " piping. The license officer told me to Rev my engine, after revving up till 5500rpm repeatedly he kept saying to Rev harder I told him I'm not over revving my engine. And I said it's a turbocharged engine so I can't put a silencer that it will back pressure and fail the turbo. He just say it to loud and walk off. Is he justified to charge me? Aren't they supposed to have something to test the noise level?

Lovely....!!!!

Need more of this, dem blasted lil, immature neva see/come sees with dey noise pans on wheels...

Ah wa d boys in blue & khaki to wash out some tickets on dem low ones who cross humps sideways. One like me, ah make yuh reverse and drive yuh dog poop scraper straight over d hump as yuh should. Enjoy the low ride. Then collect ticket fuh obstruction directly afterwards...
Last edited by Twin Isle Cars n' Parts on August 29th, 2015, 10:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby tr1ad » August 29th, 2015, 10:16 pm

Sundar wrote:So I got a $300 ticket for a loud exhaust. I have two resonators and a cat 3 " piping. The license officer told me to Rev my engine, after revving up till 5500rpm repeatedly he kept saying to Rev harder I told him I'm not over revving my engine. And I said it's a turbocharged engine so I can't put a silencer that it will back pressure and fail the turbo. He just say it to loud and walk off. Is he justified to charge me? Aren't they supposed to have something to test the noise level?

Since when it towbow mean it need a loud exhaust

Postby Les Bain » August 29th, 2015, 11:42 pm

That eh too bad OP. That fine is small ting compared to the migraine tablets you'd need because of that dotish ass loud muffler.

Achmed

Postby Achmed » August 30th, 2015, 12:02 am

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts wrote:

Lovely....!!!!

Need more of this, dem blasted lil, immature neva see/come sees with dey noise pans on wheels...

Ah wa d boys in blue & khaki to wash out some tickets on dem low ones who cross humps sideways. One like me, ah make yuh reverse and drive yuh dog poop scraper straight over d hump as yuh should. Enjoy the low ride. Then collect ticket fuh obstruction directly afterwards...

Wheyzz :poke: :conman:

Postby Ted_v2 » August 30th, 2015, 12:28 am

Some of ollur raj does really over do it. Examples need to be made regularly with ollur

Postby MaxPower » August 30th, 2015, 1:17 am

All that to say u driving a turbo car?

Boi pay that ticket and hush yuh kant.
u starting to sound like a whistling kettle...Eeeeeeeeeee eeeeeeeeeeeeeee eeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Park up that crix pan and stop making old noise. Ting blasted annoying like a bush waka on a sunday morning.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » August 30th, 2015, 12:04 pm

tr1ad wrote:

it's an rb20det. F/used 3" exhaust with a cat and two resonator. It's not as loud as them straight pipe with chrome barrel. So quick to judge me. The license officer knew it wasn't loud. But all he watch is the back. Never watched below to Inspect it. But never mind.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » August 30th, 2015, 12:05 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Some of ollur raj does really over do it. Examples need to be made regularly with ollur
you finish with your laurel?

Postby tr1ad » August 30th, 2015, 12:20 pm

Sundar wrote:
tr1ad wrote:

it's an rb20det. F/used 3" exhaust with a cat and two resonator. It's not as loud as them straight pipe with chrome barrel. So quick to judge me. The license officer knew it wasn't loud. But all he watch is the back. Never watched below to Inspect it. But never mind.

Loud against what's in regulations vs your opinion doesn't matter

I'll judge anyway I want just as you judge your exhaust as not loud

Postby Ted_v2 » August 30th, 2015, 12:31 pm

Sundar wrote:
Ted_v2 wrote:Some of ollur raj does really over do it. Examples need to be made regularly with ollur

Hahaha. No boy. Presha

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 30th, 2015, 12:34 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:
Sundar wrote:

Hahaha. No boy. Presha

Back presha :twisted:

Postby DVSTT » August 30th, 2015, 1:02 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
Ted_v2 wrote:
Sundar wrote:

Hahaha. No boy. Presha

Careful you fail the turbo.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » August 30th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Dem have to start charging ppl for those dam improper HID installations!
Blinding ppl and can't even see properly themselves!

Postby DVSTT » August 30th, 2015, 1:46 pm

Pirate wrote:Dem have to start charging ppl for those dam improper HID installations!
Blinding ppl and can't even see properly themselves!

You implying that there are proper HID installations? All hids without a projector will blind people.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » August 30th, 2015, 2:31 pm

I think that is what improper means...proper is replacing the entire reflector with a projector.

:???::???::???:

Sundar

Postby Sundar » August 30th, 2015, 2:38 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:
Sundar wrote:

Hahaha. No boy. Presha

so I am wrong about how restriction on the exhaust affect the turbo? Enlightened me.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » August 30th, 2015, 3:12 pm

tr1ad wrote:
Sundar wrote:
tr1ad wrote:

Loud against what's in regulations vs your opinion doesn't matter

I'll judge anyway I want just as you judge your exhaust as not loud
what is regulations ? 91db is a rating I see on new a backhoe and I'm sure I'm not louder than any backhoe. Enlighten me please good sir.

Lance

Postby Lance » August 30th, 2015, 3:28 pm

You should be able to contest this ticket if the officer did not use a spl meter to determine loudness.

But the time, effort and money to fight it may well exceed $300.

I would contest it though. It's a matter of principle and proper law enforcement.

Postby rollingstock » August 30th, 2015, 3:54 pm

^ nope, he didn't charge him for noisy exhaust, he was charged for having no silencer fitted.

He has no excuse.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » August 30th, 2015, 3:58 pm

Lance wrote:You should be able to contest this ticket if the officer did not use a spl meter to determine loudness.

But the time, effort and money to fight it may well exceed $300.

I would contest it though. It's a matter of principle and proper law enforcement.
In considering that. What is the legal limit. How can I test my car's noise level. I'll have to read over the regulation about noise.

Lance

Postby Lance » August 30th, 2015, 3:58 pm

rollingstock wrote:^ nope, he didn't charge him for noisy exhaust, he was charged for having no silencer fitted.

He has no excuse.

You're right. I just re-read the document posted earlier.

That's a VERY archaic regulation though. These things should be measured not by the presence of a "silencer" but by the noise emission level.

Postby rollingstock » August 30th, 2015, 4:22 pm

Sundar wrote:
Ted_v2 wrote:
Sundar wrote:

Hahaha. No boy. Presha

so I am wrong about how restriction on the exhaust affect the turbo? Enlightened me.

I had a c32 with an rb25det some years ago with a silencer, never had an issue, new owner still had the car with same engine and turbo without any issues.

So all those gtr's with stock set up have turbo issues from your logic?

You hit me as an idiot. Hope you contest the ticket do you could lose some more money and hopefully piss off the licensing officers in the process and they pull in your car for a random inspection and really give you some headache.

Postby tr1ad » August 30th, 2015, 4:24 pm

Sundar wrote:
Ted_v2 wrote:
Sundar wrote:

Hahaha. No boy. Presha

I had a c32 with an rb25det some years ago with a silencer, never had an issue, new owner still had the car with same engine and turbo without any issues.

You hit me as an idiot. Hope you contest the ticket do you could lose some more money and hopefully piss off the licensing officers in the process and they pull in your car for a random inspection and really give you some headache.

Yunno how long I telling Duane put a like button?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 30th, 2015, 4:39 pm

I can understand fully the OP's point. I was pulled over a time for a "loud exhaust" and i politely asked the officer which one of the sensitive zones was i disturbing, what is the required decibel for the area I was driving and also what is the decibel level I am being charged for. Was told " You trying to be difficult, drive off"

If you have the time, patience and will - challenge the ticket as this is ridiculous. However, for the greater good - just pay and move on with life.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » August 30th, 2015, 4:50 pm

Sundar leh we c d machine nah dan!

Postby rollingstock » August 30th, 2015, 5:48 pm

V2NR 3.0 wrote:I can understand fully the OP's point. I was pulled over a time for a "loud exhaust" and i politely asked the officer which one of the sensitive zones was i disturbing, what is the required decibel for the area I was driving and also what is the decibel level I am being charged for. Was told " You trying to be difficult, drive off"

If you have the time, patience and will - challenge the ticket as this is ridiculous. However, for the greater good - just pay and move on with life.

You're clearly a dunce.
The op stated he does not have a silencer fitted and he was issued a ticket for that not for a noisy exhaust. The noisy exhaust is a by product of not having a silencer.

Postby zoom rader » August 30th, 2015, 6:13 pm

Sundar wrote:
Ted_v2 wrote:
Sundar wrote:

Hahaha. No boy. Presha

One thing for sure, you can get by with the cops but not with licence officers. As you said they will give you the book if you piss them off. They can find numerous defects with your vehicles.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » August 30th, 2015, 6:47 pm

Sundar wrote:
Ted_v2 wrote:
Sundar wrote:

Hahaha. No boy. Presha

so you have to insult whilst informing? Some of you have a real attitude problem. Thanks for the info and advice. FYI a stock gtr has an exhaust and silencer custom built and tuned. Unlike generic silencers which are just built to one spec. But what do I know I'm an idiot.

Postby rollingstock » August 30th, 2015, 7:21 pm

Well hard luck if you take offense.
If you're doing something illegal and get called on it why beat up?

I got a ticket, well not really me my brother, I was in the passenger seat but my car for loud exhaust. I told my brother just take it, I'll pay. I know my Honda at that time was sickening with that braaaaaping all over the place. Previous owner felt that being a two door 'sporty' coupe that it should be loud and obnoxious.
As the new owner it was duty to remedy that.
And I didn't need to pay the ticket but still did.

You remind me of others with illegal lights, fittings etc who beat up over a ticket, when you're clearly in contravention of the law.