Re: 'Black man dead' and 'Indian ppl dead now'

Postby playerskrew » September 8th, 2015, 1:13 pm

See you all in 2020

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » September 8th, 2015, 1:15 pm

lostboys crew wrote:True statements with regards to the benefits to the middle class citizens. Party financiers and big business men reap the benefits from political parties.Have a panda who financed the two parties this election said he doubt PP would win so he threw some dollars to the PNM camp also, for backup. So that couple of mil's he shared out he looking to double or triple that with contracts and payouts.

Exactly I thought...and is true uall saying
I myself trying to save to the get perverbial dream home to begin my life.im really fearful as I gonna get married in 2 mths time..but is so true as I still believe we have enough money to pay everyone 1 million comfortable and for the property tax to come my sentiments to who wants it may jus get it.well said about the pp regime but we as people does rake everyting too loosely and Mediocre.

Postby Country_Bookie » September 8th, 2015, 1:59 pm

teems1 wrote:
Country_Bookie wrote:No government, pnm or unc, does much for the middle class. Apart from Dollar for Dollar which became GATE, and a few interchanges and highways, what has any govt in the last 20 years done to improve our standard of living?
The real issues the middle class face are high food prices, high costs of housing & high costs of raising children.

Food cards, HDC houses and baby grants were all given to the poor, but the middle class didn't benefit. I'm not saying don't help the poor, but do something for the middle class too.

The cost of building a house on flat land hasn't varied that much recently. Increases in material are still small when compared to the overall cost, and the steady labour rate.

The price of land however (approved/unapproved) is a different story. 1 lot of approved land in central appears to be going up by 100k every year. East/West corridor the prices are even higher.

What can the Government do? Impose a property tax on those who hold these parcels of land?

Those additional costs will simply get funneled right back to the purchaser upon sale. The slow rate of developing land with such a high demand means the buyer always loses out.

Maybe tax breaks for 1st time home owners who earn less than a certain threshold per annum?

Why only give single mothers assistance? Why not give some form of tax break to married couples who stay together and try to raise a family?

The system as it is set up now helps the poorest classes. However the middle class also need help.
And if ur asking how we pay for all these things, why not raise the income tax rate to 28% on annual income above $300k. Right now ppl who earn $100k a month pay the same 25% as ppl earning $6k a month.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » September 8th, 2015, 2:01 pm

Housing should be affordable to ANY class of persons not juss middle

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » September 8th, 2015, 2:05 pm

Housing is seriously high..that's a good point which it does happen

Postby Habit7 » September 8th, 2015, 2:07 pm

teems1 wrote:
Country_Bookie wrote:No government, pnm or unc, does much for the middle class. Apart from Dollar for Dollar which became GATE, and a few interchanges and highways, what has any govt in the last 20 years done to improve our standard of living?
The real issues the middle class face are high food prices, high costs of housing & high costs of raising children.

Food cards, HDC houses and baby grants were all given to the poor, but the middle class didn't benefit. I'm not saying don't help the poor, but do something for the middle class too.

The cost of building a house on flat land hasn't varied that much recently. Increases in material are still small when compared to the overall cost, and the steady labour rate.

The price of land however (approved/unapproved) is a different story. 1 lot of approved land in central appears to be going up by 100k every year. East/West corridor the prices are even higher.

What can the Government do? Impose a property tax on those who hold these parcels of land?

Those additional costs will simply get funneled right back to the purchaser upon sale. The slow rate of developing land with such a high demand means the buyer always loses out.
I think a fair property tax would be manageable for the single lot owner, but for the owner of multiple lots or acres they will feel the pinch and feel more inspired to downsize. More land on the market will drive down the prices

Postby Slartibartfast » September 8th, 2015, 2:26 pm

Habit7 wrote:I think a fair property tax would be manageable for the single lot owner, but for the owner of multiple lots or acres they will feel the pinch and feel more inspired to downsize. More land on the market will drive down the prices

To build on this idea, they could tier the tax based on total square footage owned. That way a granny living off of pension in a three bedroom on one lot of land wouldn't have any tax but someone with a a lot and a half would have like a 0.025% tax on the value of the property per annum. Someone with 10,000 square feet would have a 0.050 tax and so on.

Many middle class families struggling to make payments as is. The tax needs to be aimed more at large property owners to deter people from buying up and hoarding land.

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » September 8th, 2015, 2:27 pm

@zoom rader ...Come on dude. You cannot be that clinically retarded.
Last edited by SimSimmer69 on September 8th, 2015, 2:36 pm, edited 3 times in total.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » September 8th, 2015, 2:28 pm

zoom rader wrote:^^^ Fat chance they gonna downside. Home owners will just increase rents, making it even harder for ppl that renting.

As soon as house tax comes out I gonna up my rents to cover my PNM tax. Hard luck to tenants they want PNM then pay more rent.

ZR yes this can be done but the one's who want to own a house will go the extra mile to have it, since it would be much better for them to pay the amount to the mortgage instead of an apartment.

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » September 8th, 2015, 2:33 pm

zoom rader wrote:^^^ Fat chance they gonna downside. Home owners will just increase rents, making it even harder for ppl that renting.

As soon as house tax comes out I gonna up my rents to cover my PNM tax. Hard luck to tenants they want PNM then pay more rent.

So you're saying a progressive and fairer tax system what would cause rent to raise? You need to read some more and stop spewing ignorance. Their are many many people in this country living off the 'fat of the land'. They have many properties, many acres of land and they only pay a few hundred dollars in taxes. In addition to that, it's no secret that since 1962, we've been cheated from tax revenue by businesses and since 1988 by the same business who circumvent their legal duty to pay VAT...all while charging you the consumer. At the end of the day, if you don't see how cheating taxes can harm an economy (see Greece) then you're just as deluded as the masses who voted based on nothing else but party, race and class. Get a clue!

And by the way, you can raise your rent, it's a free country.

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » September 8th, 2015, 2:37 pm

make meh care wrote:

ZR yes this can be done but the one's who want to own a house will go the extra mile to have it, since it would be much better for them to pay the amount to the mortgage instead of an apartment.

You do know that a PNM House tax is based on the amount rent they can value a monthly rental income from your home right?

Under PNM it's best to build a lil shack with a latrine. Cause the tax is also based on the number of bathrooms and bedrooms you have plus any additional buildings on you land, eg car port , sheds, washrooms.

Where did you get that information? Can you send it for us?

make meh care

Postby make meh care » September 8th, 2015, 2:40 pm

Rent is something that everyone wants to get away from. But not everyone can't afford to rent. i Know persons will go and put up a shack or go by there uncle and build a room just to stay in than pay for ridiculous high rent

Postby 16 cycles » September 8th, 2015, 2:46 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
Many middle class families struggling to make payments as is. The tax needs to be aimed more at large property owners to deter people from buying up and hoarding land.

there are land and building codes for some residential areas that mandate the parcel to be no less than a certain square footage...with only one building....

somethn to consider ...

make meh care

Postby make meh care » September 8th, 2015, 3:00 pm

make meh care wrote:That article is dated. Also the property tax unit at ministry of finance is no where close to having to re-introduce the property tax. People need to understand things of these nature just don't come overnight

Yes it's dated so expect an increase with the new one to come. A Three bedroom house expect to pay 7 to 10 grand

Plus it's the local council that will determine your rental value on your home. That was already done and just waiting tobe implemented . It will come overnight, PNM needs the money, so relax.

i will relax and see that. Based on that calculation i see the price of properties will decrease. This will be the best.

Postby Slartibartfast » September 8th, 2015, 3:02 pm

16 cycles wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:

there are land and building codes for some residential areas that mandate the parcel to be no less than a certain square footage...with only one building....

somethn to consider ...

In most areas I know the minimum is 5000 square feet, that's why I said that. Also a small incremental increase for a large plot would not be a problem. However, by progressively increasing the rate based on total land ownership you will deter people from buying up land all over Trinidad and Tobago for the sole purpose of holding on to it until the price appreciates. Land is a limited resource and measure should be put in place to ensure that more people have access to it.

Also, if you want to live in an area where the minimum lot size is 10,000 feet then that's your choice. 10,000 square feet of land and up is a little bit of a luxury.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » September 8th, 2015, 3:05 pm

make meh care wrote:
make meh care wrote:That article is dated. Also the property tax unit at ministry of finance is no where close to having to re-introduce the property tax. People need to understand things of these nature just don't come overnight

Yes it's dated so expect an increase with the new one to come. A Three bedroom house expect to pay 7 to 10 grand

Plus it's the local council that will determine your rental value on your home. That was already done and just waiting tobe implemented . It will come overnight, PNM needs the money, so relax.

i will relax and see that. Based on that calculation i see the price of properties will decrease. This will be the best.

No time in trini history has properties ever decreased. Prices always go up bro

best is to wait and see. Also person who living abroad will be affected also. Will if we have a Maduro then you would understand. Persons in Trinidad have things to easy and they accustom sitting down and getting everything hand to mouth.

Postby zoom rader » September 8th, 2015, 3:14 pm

make meh care wrote:

No time in trini history has properties ever decreased. Prices always go up bro

best is to wait and see. Also person who living abroad will be affected also. Will if we have a Maduro then you would understand. Persons in Trinidad have things to easy and they accustom sitting down and getting everything hand to mouth.

Bro, ppl work for their money and pay mortgages , rents and bills. I don't see that as getting everything hand to mouth.
Some take years to build their home without any assistance from governments.

York

Postby York » September 8th, 2015, 3:48 pm

what is the middle class exactly? i get no free or subsidized house, pay income tax, no gov't big job, struggle to make ends meet and send my kids to school and university without handouts, dont drive gov't cars or range rovers, have company health plan which i pay when going to doctor and health facilities, have no money when the month done.

bottom line am I the same as so-called low income earners who work cepep, etc and smoke dey lil weed and kush, pipers who tief from yuh yard cause they have no other way to earn $$$??

make meh care

Postby make meh care » September 8th, 2015, 3:49 pm

Yes but them is very few in number . Anyways wait and see cause we can't do nothing about it right now.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » September 8th, 2015, 4:46 pm

York wrote:what is the middle class exactly? i get no free or subsidized house, pay income tax, no gov't big job, struggle to make ends meet and send my kids to school and university without handouts, dont drive gov't cars or range rovers, have company health plan which i pay when going to doctor and health facilities, have no money when the month done.

bottom line am I the same as so-called low income earners who work cepep, etc and smoke dey lil weed and kush, pipers who tief from yuh yard cause they have no other way to earn $$$??

Well said there is no middle income again jus the working class..the property tax for sure will be n the budget and I shud say normal things like Alco would go up.like them other posts make me wonder the future of trinidad.

Postby S_2NR » September 8th, 2015, 4:57 pm

nothing surprises me.
most indian people are inherently racist...the sky is also blue...

Postby 1UZFE » September 8th, 2015, 5:01 pm

S_2NR wrote:nothing surprises me.
most indian people are inherently racist...the sky is also blue...

Hahahaha.....

Postby toyolink » September 8th, 2015, 5:16 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
Habit7 wrote:I think a fair property tax would be manageable for the single lot owner, but for the owner of multiple lots or acres they will feel the pinch and feel more inspired to downsize. More land on the market will drive down the prices

To build on this idea, they could tier the tax based on total square footage owned. That way a granny living off of pension in a three bedroom on one lot of land wouldn't have any tax but someone with a a lot and a half would have like a 0.025% tax on the value of the property per annum. Someone with 10,000 square feet would have a 0.050 tax and so on.

More than 20 years ago when looking to find a piece of T&T to call my own and within my means,I settled on a piece of land 'in the bush' in Mc Bean priced at about $7 per sq foot.
At that time the area was zone as lots minimum allowerable size 15,000 sq ft.
Well I set about battling snakes ,centipedes and scorpions and these vermin eventually gave way.
After creating my own little paradise, the big guns moved in and all kinds of speculative activities unfolded and recently a developer had a open house with lots priced at $125 per square foot.
I believe my story aint unique in rural communities and one wonders where property taxes could reach if we are to be penalized for opening up the 'dark lands' citizens rejected and we were compelled to size due to zoning restrictions.
BTW,I did look at smaller lots in other areas in Couva etc. but pricing just wasn't within my budget.
I would be saddened if the decision makers decided to penalize myself and others like me for making the sacrifies we made decades ago.

Postby Slartibartfast » September 8th, 2015, 8:15 pm

toyolink wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:

More than 20 years ago when looking to find a piece of T&T to call my own and within my means,I settled on a piece of land 'in the bush' in Mc Bean priced at about $7 per sq foot.
At that time the area was zone as lots minimum allowerable size 15,000 sq ft.
Well I set about battling snakes ,centipedes and scorpions and these vermin eventually gave way.
After creating my own little paradise, the big guns moved in and all kinds of speculative activities unfolded and recently a developer had a open house with lots priced at $125 per square foot.
I believe my story aint unique in rural communities and one wonders where property taxes could reach if we are to be penalized for opening up the 'dark lands' citizens rejected and we were compelled to size due to zoning restrictions.
BTW,I did look at smaller lots in other areas in Couva etc. but pricing just wasn't within my budget.
I would be saddened if the decision makers decided to penalize myself and others like me for making the sacrifies we made decades ago.

Hmmm very interesting. Maybe someone more versed in this than I am can weigh in.

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » September 8th, 2015, 8:47 pm

Very Interesting Thread..

Inside..

and Zoom please give we ah ease up with the PNM thing nah...instead of being a pessimistic little pu*$y...try and bring something constructive the conversation

Sundar

Postby Sundar » September 8th, 2015, 8:53 pm

So hear this one. Growing up hearing your neighbor cuss ya family up... shouting racial slurs bout Indo Trini mother so and so. And who they want to beat. Come out and fight they would shout in their aggressive tones. How a person life supposed to shape up???

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » September 8th, 2015, 9:08 pm

Can one of the mods remove the irrelevant posts in this thread!

Those with no contributions, please be mindful to the topic being discussed.

It's not a thread on property taxes or PNM houses!

Postby teems1 » September 9th, 2015, 8:32 am

My issue with more taxes is the mismanagement of current funds.

If you can't spend 50b properly with 100% transparency, why would you ask for more money to spend?

Postby Slartibartfast » September 9th, 2015, 10:29 am

Completely agree.

Galvatron you asked how would this affect the middle class. We confirmed your suspicions that the middle class remains mostly unaffected. However, one of the things that could significantly affect the middle class is property taxes and that's why it is being discussed at the moment.

konartis

Postby konartis » September 9th, 2015, 10:41 am

What I does can't understand is that some people think only Indian vote for UNC and negro for PNM....so all them Indian/negro in either party them don't see that?? People so ignorant is a shame yes...