WHAT would YOU like to see the government do ?

Re: WHAT would YOU like to see the government do ?

Postby Slartibartfast » September 8th, 2015, 2:29 pm

Honestly. If you guys start a Trini Tuner Party I would vote for you all.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » September 8th, 2015, 2:30 pm

Then they go lock the party and they go tax the website

Postby wagonrunner » September 8th, 2015, 2:41 pm

Bezman wrote:#1 - make public, all tenders and spending for the last 10 years.

and release same annually, with the person who approved payment as job completed.
along with a treausury statement.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » September 8th, 2015, 2:43 pm

Budgets are around the corner. Lets see how they plan for we tail

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » September 8th, 2015, 2:49 pm

-Tax breaks for the middle class
-Better environmental awareness. - We're just too nasty as a people. There's garbage all over our roads and streets and we need to sort that out ASAP.
-Cleaner energy and harsher fines for polluting.
-Fix the SEA. The test and placement system is a sham. It's embarrassing we have that here.
Public Transportation - It's a mess.
-A new Traffic and Vehicle Management system. - It's 2015 and that place called Licensing office is just archaic and full of corruption.
-A more efficient public health system. - Hire more Cuban and Nigerian doctors as the locals only care about their private practice and money.
-Focus on Tourism to help Caribbean Airlines
-Zero tolerance for stealing tax payer money.
-A better and more people focused police service.
-Find Anil Roberts and jail him!
Last edited by SimSimmer69 on September 8th, 2015, 2:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » September 8th, 2015, 2:51 pm

SimSimmer69 wrote:Tax breaks for the middle class
Better environmental awareness. - We're just too nasty as a people. There's garbage all over our roads and streets and we need to sort that out ASAP.
Cleaner energy and harsher fines for polluting.
Fix the SEA. The test and placement system is a sham. It's embarrassing we have that here.
Public Transportation - It's a mess.
Find Anil Roberts and jail him!

Also Mr Warner and all those responsible for Section 34

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » September 8th, 2015, 2:57 pm

shotta 20 wrote:Creation of sustainable employment for all/ most citizens, thereby reducing the 'gimme gimme' mentality.

Harsher penalties for criminals

Making firearms available for Homeowners (Limited to use in property only), and business owners (On their person).

We have to catch them first.

intern

Postby intern » September 8th, 2015, 3:18 pm

Spend less than Kamla's administration (not difficult!). Build the railway.

That's it.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » September 8th, 2015, 8:18 pm

Would like to see them do:
http://www.pnm.org.tt/images/pdf/PNM_Manifesto_2015.pdf
what they said they're going to do

Sundar

Postby Sundar » September 8th, 2015, 9:50 pm

Maybe they should find a way to convince them youth man that they are not gangsters and to study their school work and take advantage of the tertiary education to further themselves. Yes you don't have a father so what. Work hard for what you want.

Postby DVSTT » September 8th, 2015, 9:53 pm

Make parking in main roads illegal

Postby K74T » September 8th, 2015, 9:54 pm

Bring back the hangman

Sundar

Postby Sundar » September 8th, 2015, 10:02 pm

K74T wrote:Bring back the hangman
I saw on Facebook they have a machine that literally rips the head off.

Postby 1UZFE » September 8th, 2015, 10:03 pm

Build a highway to Pt Fortin.

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » September 8th, 2015, 10:07 pm

1) Eliminate corruption ( detection and prosecution: at all levels from the Licensing Officer to Ministers)
2) Proper management of government contracts ( award contracts to qualified contractors and ensure no sub-standard work is performed)
3) Increase efficiency of tax collection ( currently only the lower and middle class employees are paying their fair share of tax. There are a lot of business owners finding loopholes in the system to not pay their share.)
4) Efficient public transportation so that the public can gain confidence in the system. If this occurs it will be easier to travel that drive your car to work. Also upgrade of road network.
5) Economy diversification. Tourism, Local Manufacturing and Agriculture
6) Increase efficiency of public service.
7) Health; middle class and upper class have no confidence in health system. They sacrifice and go to private institutions.
8) Reform public assistance programs to help those which were dealt a "bad hand" in life. Do not help the lazy. Should have conditions for partaking in government program ( e.g. CEPEP) that if you want the work you need to also attend training so that the program is only temporary.
9) Decrease crime. Remove VAT & DUTY on alarm and CCTV systems ( most systems do not include monitor since you can use your smart device or TV so you are required to pay import duty and VAT). Payments to security monitoring companies to be tax deductible.
10) Youth & Education: Too many kids are falling out of the system
11) Make consumer affairs stronger. More proactive for consumer rights ( e.g. this crap a service charge at restaurants just include it in the price of the food and allow the customer to tip personnel for good service)
12) Decrease flow of foreign exchange from Trinidad ( why do we have so many Chinese groceries and restaurants and Indian expos. Are these institutions paying taxes. Profits from these business are leaving the country.) Need to increase local manufacturing and agriculture

Postby zoom rader » September 8th, 2015, 10:18 pm

^^^ hmm have to agree with you there.

Postby Slartibartfast » September 8th, 2015, 11:45 pm

Sundar wrote:
K74T wrote:Bring back the hangman
I saw on Facebook they have a machine that literally rips the head off.

That's unnecessary gore and violence. If the death penalty is to be reinstated they could employ a technique like induced hypoxia (I.e. oxygen restriction). Dead in 5 to 10 mins and completely painless. Also a lot less traumatic for the innocent loved ones to deal with.

Btw, oxygen restriction would be achieved ny creating a room with breathable air that is depleted of oxygen, or maybe even a gas mask could be used. It is very different to suffocation.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 9th, 2015, 12:47 am

Removal of fuel subsidy and in place a proper world class public transport system.

But as I understand to be able to compete with the world we need to have fuel subsidy on certain things. I guess something can be put in place to ensure that works out. But I feel removing fuel subsidy might end up causing more harm than good

Postby desifemlove » September 9th, 2015, 12:56 am

diversification of economy, ict/manufacturing zones in each major city/town. Ferry from Toco and Manzanilla to Tobago. more houses built in neglected urban land, and in upper downtown POS. no reason upper POS should be dead on weekends, housing, shops would boost economy. more structured GATE, racetrack for large scale motorsport events, even FIA Motorbikes or F1...why not? a track on a few sq.km of land, and we does already have decent airport/road links.

Postby Monk BANzai » September 9th, 2015, 1:22 am

Some really good inputs here....(with no racial Diatribe towards each other.... f*ckin sickening )....

I'd love to see our young minds to appreciate and develop alternative forms of Energy. And develop a strong industry based on this. From as early as Primary all the way to Post Grad. Develop the curriculum to support this.

Make it attractive. Make it Mandatory. We cannot live on Oil and Gas alone forever

Introduce a proper Toll/pass/RFID system for access to our nation's Capitals (both North and South). Have drivers pay a fine for access outside of their "free days" to the City. You want to drive your car everyday? it must come at a cost...almost double or triple what you would put in Fuel a week. It worked for the PBR fines ($2,000 a ticket)..make it work for the Toll System

Do not interrupt the Infrastructure development that the last administration did. They developed/built highways for a reason. Stick to it.

Oh, and that part about separating church from state re: funds. Total agreement.

Postby Monk BANzai » September 9th, 2015, 1:26 am

desifemlove wrote:....racetrack for large scale motorsport events, even FIA Motorbikes or F1...why not? a track on a few sq.km of land, and we does already have decent airport/road links.

just a quick note on that... .there was a plan about 10yrs ago to develop a F1 testing track off-season for teams to come and test. Got shelved. Not sure why.

F1 support here is a huge under-taking...given that at LEAST an influx of 50,000- 100,00 ppl will pass through our shores within a week. Not saying its impossible, but its a logistical challenge on many fronts...

Postby brams112 » September 9th, 2015, 3:04 am

francis1979 wrote:1) Eliminate corruption ( detection and prosecution: at all levels from the Licensing Officer to Ministers)
2) Proper management of government contracts ( award contracts to qualified contractors and ensure no sub-standard work is performed)
3) Increase efficiency of tax collection ( currently only the lower and middle class employees are paying their fair share of tax. There are a lot of business owners finding loopholes in the system to not pay their share.)
4) Efficient public transportation so that the public can gain confidence in the system. If this occurs it will be easier to travel that drive your car to work. Also upgrade of road network.
5) Economy diversification. Tourism, Local Manufacturing and Agriculture
6) Increase efficiency of public service.
7) Health; middle class and upper class have no confidence in health system. They sacrifice and go to private institutions.
8) Reform public assistance programs to help those which were dealt a "bad hand" in life. Do not help the lazy. Should have conditions for partaking in government program ( e.g. CEPEP) that if you want the work you need to also attend training so that the program is only temporary.
9) Decrease crime. Remove VAT & DUTY on alarm and CCTV systems ( most systems do not include monitor since you can use your smart device or TV so you are required to pay import duty and VAT). Payments to security monitoring companies to be tax deductible.
10) Youth & Education: Too many kids are falling out of the system
11) Make consumer affairs stronger. More proactive for consumer rights ( e.g. this crap a service charge at restaurants just include it in the price of the food and allow the customer to tip personnel for good service)
12) Decrease flow of foreign exchange from Trinidad ( why do we have so many Chinese groceries and restaurants and Indian expos. Are these institutions paying taxes. Profits from these business are leaving the country.) Need to increase local manufacturing and agriculture

Everything you are mentioning are valid,wether prosecuting for racket will take place on both side will come to pass,well,also health,got to remove the lazy mc's and the ones who pilfer also,put in place measures to make sure the truly sick get care and not the jokers who go in for headaches because they too stingy to buy two Panadol could help with the backlog, :D.

Postby Rainman » September 9th, 2015, 5:39 am

Legalize prostitution.....and everything else in this thread after.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » September 9th, 2015, 7:52 am

Great Ideas and suggestions tuners, now to take a step even further maybe some of you can WRITE to your MP and follow up and see if we can make a true difference in our Island.

Postby skylinechild » September 9th, 2015, 8:04 am

solar and wind fars to generate electricity...sell it back to the electric company.
this would create ALOT of PERMANENT jobs and these things would require techs to install and maintain as well as security as well as grounds upkeep.

in addition it could also be a partly tourist attraction...once the scenery is nice and clean and facilities are provided- ie by the beach - instant tourism.

we could be the LARGEST renewable energy provider in the caribbean !!!

saw a you tube vid once a house in the UK has the entire roof with solar panels and it had two electric meters
one meter records how much current the house consumes from the grid.
and the other is how much electricity the house generates and pumps back to the grid
long story short....the house makes a profit.

Postby desifemlove » September 9th, 2015, 10:59 am

make public urination illegal...like fellas who does stop on the highway to piss...no. unless yuh have and can prove yuh have a medical condition, there so many bushes, alleyways, forests and woodland to piss in. if caught, sentence is a $50,000 fine. seems Draconian, but then culture change is what's needed in dis country. Kamla may have been sheit to many, but the PM's predecessor's allowed slackness to happen and fester.

Tucson-anil

Postby Tucson-anil » September 9th, 2015, 11:39 am

skylinechild wrote:solar and wind fars to generate electricity...sell it back to the electric company.
this would create ALOT of PERMANENT jobs and these things would require techs to install and maintain as well as security as well as grounds upkeep.

in addition it could also be a partly tourist attraction...once the scenery is nice and clean and facilities are provided- ie by the beach - instant tourism.

we could be the LARGEST renewable energy provider in the caribbean !!!

saw a you tube vid once a house in the UK has the entire roof with solar panels and it had two electric meters
one meter records how much current the house consumes from the grid.
and the other is how much electricity the house generates and pumps back to the grid
long story short....the house makes a profit.

Actually, there is an initiative by a private group, to develop a hydroelectric power plant in Guyana and transfer power back to Trinidad via subsea cable. The capacity projected far exceeds our current and projected utilization. The thinking was that the excess capacity would be sold to other Caribbean countries.

Representation was made to the outgoing GORTT, but they were not interested. Hopefully the incoming GORTT would see this as important.

It will set us up nicely for excess gas to be sold (instead of being used to power the grid) as well as to further secure our energy security.

Postby teems1 » September 9th, 2015, 11:44 am

Decriminalize marijuana.

Postby AllTrac » September 9th, 2015, 11:45 am

full SIS audit

daas

Postby daas » September 9th, 2015, 11:50 am

Cut GATE
Property tax
No more laptops