***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

daas

Re: ***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

Postby daas » October 7th, 2015, 8:56 am

tr1ad wrote:
make meh care wrote: I would not like to squeeze up with persons on a train on any day for this matter of fact and be stuck with them on a train.

is that same mentality have people driving by themselves to pos daily instead of carpooling, and these same people (and possibly you) would leave here and use a subway system standing/sitting next to strangers

What's wrong with that? I bought my car to drive therefore I drive. And nothing the governments do will change that mentality. They could remove the gas subsidy by how much hundred percent people will still drive their own vehicles because it's all relative anyway i.e. gas increases > taxi fares increase so this carpooling and public transport talk is bullcrap.
Last edited by daas on October 7th, 2015, 9:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby tr1ad » October 7th, 2015, 8:58 am

and again, with that thinking we can never move forward... " i spend my money, so i could drive if i want"

if you live south and have to work in pos... you rather drive up and face traffic for 2+ hrs than utilise the water taxi or a rapid rail?

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 7th, 2015, 9:02 am

Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) - solves ALL the problems that RAPID RAIL seeks to solve at a fraction of the price

But... you see that is the problem with it, it is cheap, how will ministers and party financiers "eat-ah-food" with something so cheap?

The bus route is already there, with a comparatively small upgrade this can work (think we will need a loop in POS for quick dropoff and turning with travelators to speed people out of the hub) Secure parking near the bus route must put in place etc.

The bust route MUST be used for buses only... a couple buses every 5 minutes - I think people may buy in

daas

Postby daas » October 7th, 2015, 9:05 am

I agree-the thinking is backward but the politics and the country itself is backward so what you expect?

Postby tr1ad » October 7th, 2015, 9:07 am

ingalook it can work, but if it becomes for buses only.... imagine the uproar from maxi drivers.

i would envision that sea lots be transformed into multi-story parking... those who want to actually go into pos with their vehicle pay an actual monthly fee for a pass

Postby tr1ad » October 7th, 2015, 9:07 am

daas wrote:I agree-the thinking is backward but the politics and the country itself is backward so what you expect?

so we as citizens can't be forward thinking? that sounding just as bad as government "dem tief too so who is we"

ok....... moving along

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 7th, 2015, 9:08 am

We would need more bus drivers, maxi drivers should be given the option to be retrained and join the bus service

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 7th, 2015, 9:10 am

tr1ad wrote:and again, with that thinking we can never move forward... " i spend my money, so i could drive if i want"

if you live south and have to work in pos... you rather drive up and face traffic for 2+ hrs than utilise the water taxi or a rapid rail?

refer to my question with respects to track location on this route.......then train stations..

or are we looking at elevated??

how much of our local labor be used?
you all really think they would complete such a system in 5 years?
how long did they take to build the interchange in Grand Bazaar far less a system of this magnitude?

Postby tr1ad » October 7th, 2015, 9:11 am

ingalook wrote:We would need more bus drivers, maxi drivers should be given the option to be retrained and join the bus service

or just incorporate them under ptsc with their maxis... but for the love of god, buddha, krishna etc... set drop off points only, not any and everywhere

Postby tr1ad » October 7th, 2015, 9:13 am

shake d livin wake d dead, i'm not sure which study they are moving forward with.
when my employer did this study 9 years ago it was elevated stations... there was the consideration for the median iirc.

the local labour content proposed at the time in the study was 40%

Postby pete » October 7th, 2015, 9:20 am

Once it's cheaper and quicker people will use it.

I have no problem parking up my car but right now a round trip to work for me is $5.50 at the new price of diesel and takes 50 mins total for the day. PT would probably cost me $30/day and take 3 hours.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 7th, 2015, 9:32 am

People actually worried about Maxi men...the same maxi men who doing an Arima to Bon Aire, Bon Aire to Curepe then Curepe to PoS run when they should be doing Arima to PoS?? Let the rapid rail come and let them all go on the EMR with that stupidness.

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 7th, 2015, 9:33 am

"I have car, I a dan" mentality, men lack progression thinking yes.

People thought the water taxi would fail, but you can't get tickets if you're too late. The train will not stop people from using their cars, people will still use them for groceries and liming etc. But to go to/from work many may just opt to use the train just to get in/out the city faster.

daas

Postby daas » October 7th, 2015, 9:55 am

Being on this site made me realise how much a fallacy this 'progressive thinking' is.

Postby tr1ad » October 7th, 2015, 9:56 am

you actually have to buy tickets in advance (the previous week) for earlier sailings.... if they would just maintain them and get the fleet back up and running.

vehicle usage for errands etc is standard... it's the work commute that the focus is on

cornfused

Postby cornfused » October 7th, 2015, 10:03 am

This is a developmental model needed in Trinidad. For those who oppose this model please state the alternatives .

We had rail systems before and maybe we will have them again .

1.I would prefer alternate tracks to service port , good and materials . On a two lane road way we have slow trucks creating traffic from North to South and East to West . There should have been a time period for these trucks to be on the road ways maybe 6pm to 7am .

2 BRTs can handle the current population daily traffic for Port of Spain . If it can ,it would be a three to four lane system which would need something much wider than the current PBR. A raised platform could service such a multilane BRT to serve the population movement .. Lahore Metro Bus , Istanbul Metro Bus has a daily ridership of 800,000. What is needs a better bus procurement systems and proper maintenance of busses.

3. A raised monorail is the proposal , let us see more of what this is .

Daran

Postby Daran » October 7th, 2015, 10:12 am

Rapid Rail will definitely affect the Maxi Taxi men and PTSC.

However, for this to work and be done sensibly, we need to have a frequent service urban shuttle systems.

The reasons trains have somewhat failed in NA is because of their lack of urban public transportation. In most cities you either walk/taxi or drive. Buses are for poor people (never me again on them greyhound bus).

Frequent service urban shuttle systems, are cheaper to implement, create employment (put maxi men to work here), reduce traffic and can implemented within a year.

Rapid Rail will take you....uh...rapidly from point A to B....then you choose an appropriate shuttle in your direction.

Most car people will still drive.....at least at first, but the culture can change to a commuting type one.

Next step would be Uber and Self Driving cars.....

Postby bluefete » October 7th, 2015, 10:15 am

ONLY $10 BILLION?? Maybe he should triple that price and then double it to account for PNM based inflation.

Image Image

When the feasibility study alone done prior to 2010 cost $500 million?

"Suggesting a new PNM administration would take up from where the last PNM government left off, Rowley said a PNM government would return to the construction of the billion-dollar rapid rail system, for which the last Manning administration had spent $545 million on a feasibility study. “Compare the $10 billion cost for a nationwide mass transit rail system with the $7 billion highway which may not reach Point Fortin from Debe,” the Opposition Leader stated.”
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Row ... 07731.html

Nidco president: Why Gov’t stopped Rapid Rail after paying consultants $500m
http://www.guardian.co.tt/business-guar ... onsultants

What short man smoked before he talked that talk?

Postby tr1ad » October 7th, 2015, 10:16 am

cornfused, total agreement to point 1..
hang on, the highway expansion which the now opposition leader was pushing for and saying all the time it will be completed now make a complete 180 and saying it might not reach?

rum and roti politics yes

HSA

Postby HSA » October 7th, 2015, 10:17 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Grand news for this country. This is what I have been waiting for.

This is the best idea anybody ever come up with in this place. To all those who say this is a bad idea and it cannot be done, all I can say is if we listened to people like you, we would all still be riding donkey cart.

best idea my mc......it will only cost 10b?? yuh cya be serious ED.....yuh know how much infrastructure that money could do....basic services, water and lights.....more desal plants etc so we wouldnt have water shortage and scheduling for such a small island??

well d rapid rail would benefit you cuz after all you working for $150 a week.....

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 7th, 2015, 10:24 am

postpone.. backburner. non-necessity

please.. we could make this decision in a couple years there is no rush. the overpass solution from grande to pos.. a recommendation i made more than 5 years ago will deal with the traffic issue, and increase overall transport efficiency productivity and finally.. GDP.

keep calm and dont try to do too much Imbert.

allyuh remember that is the first thing i said to this government eh. dont try and do too much. keep the pet projects to a minimum or even.. non-existant.

postponing this rapid rail business for one year wouldnt hurt as much as doing it now.. on a $45 oil estimate then if oil drop to 20 we sh!t weself.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 7th, 2015, 10:25 am

HSA wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Grand news for this country. This is what I have been waiting for.

This is the best idea anybody ever come up with in this place. To all those who say this is a bad idea and it cannot be done, all I can say is if we listened to people like you, we would all still be riding donkey cart.

best idea my mc......it will only cost 10b?? yuh cya be serious ED.....yuh know how much infrastructure that money could do....basic services, water and lights.....more desal plants etc so we wouldnt have water shortage and scheduling for such a small island??

well d rapid rail would benefit you cuz after all you working for $150 a week.....

rapid rail= billion dollar project= more money to thief....

can a rapid rail of that magnitude finish in 4 1/2 years?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 7th, 2015, 10:26 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
HSA wrote:

rapid rail= billion dollar project= more money to thief....

can a rapid rail of that magnitude finish in 4 1/2 years?

with the overpass solution we have no need at all for a rapid rail at this point. its just another brian lara stadium iwmc

say no to rr. at least for now people.

if our opposition is worth it's weight in rum it will easily be able to demonstrate both the non-necessity of this project and that project overruns for a project of this nature will take us into the 30bn range.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 7th, 2015, 10:36 am

With enough regularly maintained buses running at a close interval on the bus route, the commute to and from POS can easily be handled

I know the rapid rail creates jobs etc. But there are other smarter ways of stimulus

Postby Dizzy28 » October 7th, 2015, 10:39 am

bluesclues wrote:postpone.. backburner. non-necessity

please.. we could make this decision in a couple years there is no rush. the overpass solution from grande to pos.. a recommendation i made more than 5 years ago will deal with the traffic issue, and increase overall transport efficiency productivity and finally.. GDP.

keep calm and dont try to do too much Imbert.

allyuh remember that is the first thing i said to this government eh. dont try and do too much. keep the pet projects to a minimum or even.. non-existant.

postponing this rapid rail business for one year wouldnt hurt as much as doing it now.. on a $45 oil estimate then if oil drop to 20 we sh!t weself.

Overpasses will do nothing to solve the bottleneck problem.
With the construction of the Grand Bazaar interchange and removal of all associated lights the PoS to south traffic may have gotten an ease up however there are now bottlenecks in various locations that didn't exist before.

For example north bound on the UBH is backed up from the Bus Route to well past Arthur Lok Jack GSB on evenings almost everyday (sometimes it reaches down to CRH). Traffic merely reaches choke points faster than the used to before the Grand Bazaar interchange.

Loops and overpasses will not solve the problem of too much cars for too little roads.
Public Transportation is the only solution.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » October 7th, 2015, 10:45 am

Security contracts galore to man those trains. ..

trishala

Postby trishala » October 7th, 2015, 11:01 am

Where will this rapid rail be installed ?

Over the bus route ?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 7th, 2015, 11:07 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:so many questions to answer with this rapid rail

1: where are the tracks going to be placed?
2: in placing those tracks would homes be disrupted?
3: in the event that homes have to move, would the government pay these homeowners for their property.
4:what happens to maxi drivers and taxi drivers?
5: how does the rapid rail help a person travelling from S.Grande to P.O.S??? where are these tracks going to be placed?
6: I'm sure they're gonna say that it would be from Arima to P.O.S which would mean everyone has to park in Arima,which would still lead to huge traffic pile ups in Arima with respects to parking,trying to reach early etc etc.
7:How are commuters from Sando to P.O.S benefit?

I read up top that a guy is calling for removal of gas subsidy.....ARE YOU MAD boy??? what happens to the poor fella who can't afford,the CEPEP and URP workers who are to pay ridiculous taxi fares..........which would eventually lead to more crime like never before..

So before you all jump on the rapid rail bandwagon.......THINK!!!

It's a good idea but with several problems running behind it.

I will post this on every page until I see some sensible answers wrs to the RR project

Postby Habit7 » October 7th, 2015, 11:17 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:so many questions to answer with this rapid rail

1: where are the tracks going to be placed?
2: in placing those tracks would homes be disrupted?
3: in the event that homes have to move, would the government pay these homeowners for their property.
4:what happens to maxi drivers and taxi drivers?
5: how does the rapid rail help a person travelling from S.Grande to P.O.S??? where are these tracks going to be placed?
6: I'm sure they're gonna say that it would be from Arima to P.O.S which would mean everyone has to park in Arima,which would still lead to huge traffic pile ups in Arima with respects to parking,trying to reach early etc etc.
7:How are commuters from Sando to P.O.S benefit?

I read up top that a guy is calling for removal of gas subsidy.....ARE YOU MAD boy??? what happens to the poor fella who can't afford,the CEPEP and URP workers who are to pay ridiculous taxi fares..........which would eventually lead to more crime like never before..

So before you all jump on the rapid rail bandwagon.......THINK!!!

It's a good idea but with several problems running behind it.

I will post this on every page until I see some sensible answers wrs to the RR project

All if not most of those questions are answered in the OP

The_Honourable wrote:TRINITRAIN - Rapid Rail project Proposed in 2009. 3 Videos:

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » October 7th, 2015, 11:28 am

The previous admin made a big mistake funding it from our own money, not the IDB. The idb brings all the engineers, accountants, technicians needed for these projects.. That is part of the deal because it's their money. Also, you are not required to py back debts immediately, but funding is given based on your ability to pay pack the organization at some point. Bolivia is one of the poorest countries in the western hemisphere. The economy is however, one of the fastest growing economies in Latin America, they recorded growth of 6.25 % in GDP last year. The majority of their projects are financed by the IDB as can be seen on their television specials on tv6 and CNC3. The only reason the IDB is getting anywhere near Bolivia is because they are seeing with continued sound economic management and some of the worlds largest deposits of silver in Potosi and elsewhere, they will be able to pay back the money. The loans are not payed back immediately, sometimes decades go by and countries are still in arrears. It is also the reason the IDB really did not get involved in Haiti in a major way before the earthquake because they had no hope of paying that money back with a multi-million dollar debt hundreds of years old strapped to them.