wtk: what is d best dog to get?

Re: wtk: what is d best dog to get?

Postby Monk BANzai » November 20th, 2015, 11:42 am

its not rubbish Mg.... one of my six dogs never had a shot in her life..and she is clocking 8 human years this year. I do worm her out monthly tho.

Owning is dog is a labour of love. Either you have a knack for it or not. If you want a dog just becuz, you will fustrate yourself with ownership.

Vet visits/shots
Good food (either chow or home cooked). Bear in mind that a dogs sense of smell is so acute. we would smell only doubles... dogs smell everything..flour, salt, geera, channa, river water, the fart yuh buss in the kitchen that got infused to the bara....everything. Bear that in mind when you have to feed your dog. Is not just "chow"...they smell the sheit in the chow and would reject it.

Exercise. If you live in a limited space, you need to walk your dog often. I have a large lot next door to me that i use and i still take my dogs for walks outside.

Cleaning. Dogs eyes are weak. IF you keep you dogs next to poultry, be vigilant when cleaning. Poultry feces somehow (i eh know the medical backup) causes dogs particularly the Pompeks and the Rots, to go blind early. But that aside... stock up on a good disinfectant and bleach. that mixed together in equal parts and then 7 parts water is a great cleaner to cut the urine and other scents that they leave behind.

Get a dog brush. Groom your dog at least one per week.

Bear in mind that your dog will give back what you give it. If you treat your dog like crap...expect a crappy dog in return. I have six..and my tennants are always amazed at how with two hand claps they all move to a particular area of the compound with not so much as a bad eye.

If you dont have time to take care of your dog. Dont get one. Please. ah begging yuh

They're my kids..and i treat them as such.. my oldest is 11 years this year... and looks like he has another good 5 years in him.

Postby MG Man » November 20th, 2015, 11:55 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
If you dont have time to take care of your dog. Dont get one. Please. ah begging yuh

THIS

Postby desifemlove » November 20th, 2015, 12:01 pm

take this with a pinch of salt, i never owned a pet, but depends on your needs/wants? ent? if you want a "badman" dog like a pitbull or rott, even a supposed "girl/chi-chi man" dog like a poodle or chichauaha, then it depends. some breeds have specific maintenance requirements, but even the badman dogs ent inherently aggressive. depends on treatment/handling.

Postby cinco » November 20th, 2015, 12:36 pm

desifemlove wrote:take this with a pinch of salt, i never owned a pet, but depends on your needs/wants? ent? if you want a "badman" dog like a pitbull or rott, even a supposed "girl/chi-chi man" dog like a poodle or chichauaha, then it depends. some breeds have specific maintenance requirements, but even the badman dogs ent inherently aggressive. depends on treatment/handling.

Dogs need a little more than a pinch of salt for best flavour

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » November 20th, 2015, 2:16 pm

Well said Banzai have a lot of ppl who want adorable puppies but when they grow up ,they ain't have time for the dog again. They just chain them up or cage them up forgetting that they are social animals that need physical and mental stimulation.

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » November 20th, 2015, 2:34 pm

get one that you will take care of and not abandon or give away when they get too costly or messy etc....

Postby j.o.e » November 20th, 2015, 2:55 pm

Get whatever type of dog you want .... You started a thread without even conditions or preferences ..... Just a open ended question. What type of answer you expect ?
Inside or outside dog ?
Big yard or small yard ?
Kids ?
Time to exercise etc ?
Preference for high maintenance or short coat?
Guard dog or family pet ?
Budget?
And the list goes on.

daron

Postby daron » November 20th, 2015, 3:22 pm

Cocka spaniel never runs out of energy
Can play all day love children .
1448047314846.jpg

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 20th, 2015, 6:20 pm

I prefer West Indian shepherds and Roti-wilers. I usually pick them up off the street and then take them to the vet to get cleaned up and vaccinated.

Postby 88sins » November 20th, 2015, 6:21 pm

Op u have any eexprience in handling and caring for a dog? If the answer is no, just take your time & do not go & get any and any dog just cuz u want a dog. To maintain a dog properly, regardless of breed cost time money space and effort throughout its and your lifetime. Its not just something you just do for doing it sake. And there is even more to consider with dogs you might want to get to perform protection duties. Pups from a proven sire and dam with steady nerves and no health issues that are capable of manwork are not cheap, and then theres ob & ag and socialization training that has to go on for the rest of its life. And that is not mentioning the liability if on the off chance your dog escapes and bites someone. And some with some dogs this will be a frequent occurance. Certain breeds have an innate talent for escape. Whether jumping a 6' fence or digging their way our of a fenced yard, even climbing over walls or on trees to get out og where they are kept. Feeding them properly aint cheap either. Between my 3 boys i spend about $1300 a month on food alone. Bit then again i feed my boys differently than most ppl, so your costs might not be as much. All i sayin is that dogs are not for everyone and you need to think long and hard before getting an animal that you might end up causing to suffer later on in its lifetime from physical or mental neglect, or that could put you in some hot water ig you not careful.
My advice, if you just want a companion, get a cat. If you want protection, invest in a home security system & a cutlass.

Postby A172 » November 20th, 2015, 7:55 pm

american bully

Postby S_2NR » November 20th, 2015, 8:08 pm

Depends on your pockets and your needs?

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 21st, 2015, 12:16 am

just adopt some random dog in a shelter hoss.

Is a life, not a car. Make and Model doh matter.

You just gonna have it chain up all day home just to tell yuh padnahs "yea ah have a pure bred rott" ent ?

The shelter dog will love you even more, doh be picky.

Postby skylinechild » November 21st, 2015, 12:52 am

fallen_angel wrote:guys, i want to get a dog, any advice on what is the best to get?

thanks

get any dog you like...find out first if it comin with a free 2TB hard drive though...then you can make an informed decision... :lol:

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » November 21st, 2015, 3:56 pm

blue-eyed-husky-puppy.jpg

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » November 21st, 2015, 4:07 pm

ANybody got one of these? Been thinking about getting one for the past two years, after i saw a dude walking one, looks so muscular and cute at the same time :oops: :oops: :oops:
bullterriersf5.jpg
bullterriersf5.jpg (13.37 KiB) Viewed 2504 times

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » November 21st, 2015, 5:45 pm

88sins wrote:Op u have any eexprience in handling and caring for a dog? If the answer is no, just take your time & do not go & get any and any dog just cuz u want a dog. To maintain a dog properly, regardless of breed cost time money space and effort throughout its and your lifetime. Its not just something you just do for doing it sake. And there is even more to consider with dogs you might want to get to perform protection duties. Pups from a proven sire and dam with steady nerves and no health issues that are capable of manwork are not cheap, and then theres ob & ag and socialization training that has to go on for the rest of its life. And that is not mentioning the liability if on the off chance your dog escapes and bites someone. And some with some dogs this will be a frequent occurance. Certain breeds have an innate talent for escape. Whether jumping a 6' fence or digging their way our of a fenced yard, even climbing over walls or on trees to get out og where they are kept. Feeding them properly aint cheap either. Between my 3 boys i spend about $1300 a month on food alone. Bit then again i feed my boys differently than most ppl, so your costs might not be as much. All i sayin is that dogs are not for everyone and you need to think long and hard before getting an animal that you might end up causing to suffer later on in its lifetime from physical or mental neglect, or that could put you in some hot water ig you not careful.
My advice, if you just want a companion, get a cat. If you want protection, invest in a home security system & a cutlass.

What's you feeding them dogs so boy?

BRZ

Postby BRZ » November 21st, 2015, 10:09 pm

One dat if it go outside yuh gate dem Chinese ain't go throw vetsin on it and then launch it in a Wuk

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » November 22nd, 2015, 1:41 am

Rottweiler in good family dog and does keep the thieves away too.

Postby 88sins » November 22nd, 2015, 5:10 pm

shottah_crew wrote:What's you feeding them dogs so boy?

1 chicken/dog/day for 2 days & 1/2 chicken third day

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » November 23rd, 2015, 1:28 am

shottah_crew wrote:What's you feeding them dogs so boy?

1 chicken/dog/day for 2 days & 1/2 chicken third day

Is that the "raw" diet I hear people talking about? Currently using the Eukanuba large breed puppy chow, but I know some people who swear by "raw"...

Postby 88sins » November 23rd, 2015, 6:25 am

Yup. Raw food only for my boyz, with the occasional homemade baked treats i use for training.

Started feeding raw over 15 years ago, never went back to that chow crap.

Postby 88sins » November 24th, 2015, 6:45 am

eurotuner wrote:ANybody got one of these? Been thinking about getting one for the past two years, after i saw a dude walking one, looks so muscular and cute at the same time :oops: :oops: :oops:

Comes in miniature & standard sizes, needs lots of exercise and loves to fight. Extremely strong dog, even the miniature. Very smart, but not easily trained, stubborn. Comes in white, brindle & other colors. White ones are prone to going deaf in later years. Generally they have poor eyesight, and at night depend heavily on scent & sound to id who is friend from foe.
Makes a good working dog, not the best breed for the inexperienced owner.

Daran

Postby Daran » November 24th, 2015, 6:59 am

Honestly, I've owned countless dogs in my life (ok 9) of all breeds....dalmatian, Rot, pothounds, labrador, pompek, shepard. I've loved all, but if you really want an intelligent and perfect family dog, get a Labrador.

They are the sweetest, most lovable dog breeds, very very intune with people and scary intelligent.

Note: They are also clumsy as f*ck and will end up living in your house (so be it, they are worth it), eating your slippers and drinking water from every glass within reach.

Postby Redman » November 24th, 2015, 7:38 am

If you have a yard and kids a Belgian Shepard will also be a solid choice....and naturally protective of the family...

BoostJunkieXL

Postby BoostJunkieXL » November 24th, 2015, 8:32 am

get a dog who is lots of cuddles and lovies and u can hug up n doh doh !! ^_^

Postby 88sins » November 24th, 2015, 1:02 pm

Redman wrote:If you have a yard and kids a Belgian Shepard will also be a solid choice....and naturally protective of the family...

which one? Malinois, Laekenois, Tervuren or Groenendael?

Postby brams112 » November 24th, 2015, 9:30 pm

Once all the people outside the gate respect your dog,because they know he will rip their a$$ apart if they cross the border,opie a biting one jed,I had a dog he used to bull all the hoes first,then the other fellas was next,he walking the road normal,marking the spots,coming back home,sprawl out in the yard and no body even walking close the fence,respect,men got to respect your dog.

Postby Redman » November 25th, 2015, 10:37 am

Point taken 88

The little exposure Ive had to the Malinois have all been in a protection/security training application so I wouldnt make them a rec around kids....Happy to be corrected....but I wouldnt get one as a dog around my son...they seem very High strung 'always ON'..I dont know if that s a result of where Ive seen them.

Based on what I know we had a Groen... so that was the basis for the rec.

He (and his bros and sis we knew about) was excellent with me as kids...and family and frankly learned to allow friends to walk in but literally kept strangers out..with no formal training whatsoever.
Tolerant as all hell too ...I would stick my hand in his bowl while he was eating no growling.
Protective of us....even if it was against some one who was allowed in.
We had him for about 12 years before having to put him down.

I have no experience with the other 2.

Postby MG Man » November 25th, 2015, 1:03 pm

now came back from Movietowne POS...that pet store is depressing :(
Such confined
Very mistreat
Much sad
WOW