Increased Taxes coming for Turbocharged Vehicles next Budget!

Re: Increased Taxes coming for Turbocharged Vehicles next Budget!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 14th, 2016, 7:52 am

just buy the fass up engine and put it down from now

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 14th, 2016, 8:05 am

The next tax will be when you change\upgrade your engine

BoostJunkieXL

Postby BoostJunkieXL » April 14th, 2016, 8:09 am

fackin stink pnm govt !!!!! guess i'll never be able to afford an evo now :(

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 14th, 2016, 8:38 am

Just now we will get tax for d hair on we head... :fist:

Postby SR » April 14th, 2016, 8:41 am

The honda cng only gets 220 per tank and not many options for proper working filling stations for cng. Car is overpriced for the quality of what you are getting

BoostJunkieXL

Postby BoostJunkieXL » April 14th, 2016, 9:08 am

the only CNG station i know of is in Chaguanas and on the Beetham...now think about if there are say about 10-20 CNG stations in Trinidad...the kinda drive people would have to make just to full up. they wanna push CNG and electric but they don't have the proper infrastructure in place to accommodate these types of vehicles. in a world where we are desperately trying to find new forms of natural resources or alternatives, our gov wants us to consume on a daily basis more of it ? the expense it would cost the gov to implement a nationwide refueling infrastructure would either put us more in debt or just give them an excuse to raise vat and tax. they doin $h!t and plenty of it too...why d arse they dont raise minimum wage ? then rowley wanna come on tv n say be proud to pay tax...so he cud buy a fackin benz ? smfh...is a set a stink dotish monkey and donkey running this country. when crime raise and all dem guntas feel they wanna come bobolize people who making an honest living ima see what these idiots will do...they might tell us they gonna raise something again and we should be proud cuz it goes towards paying police officers when half of them will sit and lick their own balls before they respond to an emergency...this country is becoming a $h!t hole ! i hope rowley gets more sick and dies and imbert gets hit by a prius and turns into a vegetable... o_O

Postby Habit7 » April 14th, 2016, 9:09 am

pete wrote:Maybe they will use a factor like in motor racing like 1.4x the cc rating for turbocharged vehicles to determine the n/a equivalent cc. So that 1.0 turbo fiesta wouldnt be affected.

I really cant understand this beat up for this though. It is obvious that they'll have to tax OEM turbo charged vehicles that circumvent the 2.0L NA tax.

A VW 1.4TSI engine (turbocharged) is comparable to a VW 2.0FSI engine (normally aspirated) and both fall under 1999cc. The economical turbo charged engine will not be taxed.

I am yet to hear of an economical middle class targeted +1999cc engine car on the local market. Likewise if you can buy a +1.5T you must have paper. Pay the tax and save the environment.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 14th, 2016, 9:32 am

I guess the Vanilla Civic is a luxury car then...

Postby Habit7 » April 14th, 2016, 9:37 am

ingalook wrote:I guess the Vanilla Civic is a luxury car then...

Actually I recently spoke to a ansa sales rep and he said the new Civic is being priced to compete with the Kia Optima and Hyundai Sonata

Postby toyolink » April 14th, 2016, 9:41 am

This really reminds me of the last major recession when the following applied
-Toyota Royal Saloon was for the super rich.
-Toyota Super Saloon was for the rich.
-Laurel was CEO vehicle.
-Mazda 626 was managers vehicle.
-Toyota Corolla 1.6 fully loaded was middle management.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 14th, 2016, 9:41 am

Habit7 wrote:
pete wrote:Maybe they will use a factor like in motor racing like 1.4x the cc rating for turbocharged vehicles to determine the n/a equivalent cc. So that 1.0 turbo fiesta wouldnt be affected.

I really cant understand this beat up for this though. It is obvious that they'll have to tax OEM turbo charged vehicles that circumvent the 2.0L NA tax.

A VW 1.4TSI engine (turbocharged) is comparable to a VW 2.0FSI engine (normally aspirated) and both fall under 1999cc. The economical turbo charged engine will not be taxed.

I am yet to hear of an economical middle class targeted +1999cc engine car on the local market. Likewise if you can buy a +1.5T you must have paper. Pay the tax and save the environment.

all that to show support for the gov't.

Postby Habit7 » April 14th, 2016, 9:48 am

So I should carp like an idiot and bawl that MVT going to increase on 1.0T Fiesta that even on the market yet?

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 14th, 2016, 10:30 am

Habit7 wrote:So I should carp like an idiot and bawl that MVT going to increase on 1.0T Fiesta that even on the market yet?

And never will be...

Local car companies never bring tubo, as they say they are "hard to fix"

Take away the incentive because of smaller engine size (an punish the car for being turbocharged) and we will never see a turbo car from the firm except for multi millionaires I suppose

Postby Dizzy28 » April 14th, 2016, 10:37 am

Habit7 wrote:
ingalook wrote:I guess the Vanilla Civic is a luxury car then...

Actually I recently spoke to a ansa sales rep and he said the new Civic is being priced to compete with the Kia Optima and Hyundai Sonata

Either Ansa mad or the ppl that purchase Civics crazy!!!!

Postby aaron17 » April 14th, 2016, 10:42 am

So why can't they charge on cars with emission figures or mpg?

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 14th, 2016, 10:46 am

aaron17 wrote:So why can't they charge on cars with emission figures or mpg?

Your assumption is that the motivation here is anything other than $$$

It's not about the environment or fuel consumption...

Postby 16 cycles » April 14th, 2016, 10:48 am

twin turbo - good luck with that...yeah you GTR that i can't buy....before or after this tax...

Postby aaron17 » April 14th, 2016, 10:51 am

Well they should've done that ...I guess they not too smart or they don't give a damn..lol wait ..they should charge them ppl from bringing in too much tida ..lol

Postby pete » April 14th, 2016, 10:56 am

Fuel consumption is more dependent on driving style though. Never saw the top gear episode where they had a sports car drive around behind a prius for some laps of a track? Prius being driven at 100% burned more fuel than the sports car that just kept up.

Fact is that under normal(conservative) driving conditions the smaller the engine the less fuel it burns.

Another thing is that turbocharged vehicles generally cost more than a N/A version with the same displacement(from the supplier). How that's relevant? We need forex to buy the cars to begin with, the less forex the dealer uses to buy the cars the more forex we have to use for other things.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 14th, 2016, 11:03 am

pete wrote:Fuel consumption is more dependent on driving style though. Never saw the top gear episode where they had a sports car drive around behind a prius for some laps of a track? Prius being driven at 100% burned more fuel than the sports car that just kept up.

Fact is that under normal(conservative) driving conditions the smaller the engine the less fuel it burns.

Another thing is that turbocharged vehicles generally cost more than a N/A version with the same displacement(from the supplier). How that's relevant? We need forex to buy the cars to begin with, the less forex the dealer uses to buy the cars the more forex we have to use for other things.

Pete we are paying as consumer for the cost of the car, if it is 1k USD more, as consumers we will pay 20-30k more TT$ for that car already.

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » April 14th, 2016, 12:23 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Turbos are used to increase the fuel efficiency and thus save the environment.

Re: RE: Re: Increased Taxes coming for Turbocharged Vehicles next Budget!

Postby Habit7 » April 14th, 2016, 12:32 pm

novastar1 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

No.

Turbos are used to increase power to match that to an engine of greater displacement.

Adding a turbo to an engine doesn't increase fuel efficiency.

Postby pete » April 14th, 2016, 12:36 pm

The turbo allows you to get the horsepower and torque of a bigger engine and when not in boost have the fuel consumption of the smaller engine. So the 1.4 jetta should burn less fuel than the similar 2.0 variant while having the same or more peak HP when you need it.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 14th, 2016, 12:41 pm

Habit7 wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

No.

Turbos are used to increase power to match that to an engine of greater displacement.

What decade you living in boss?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 14th, 2016, 12:54 pm

In all honesty.a tax on turbo charged isn't going to affect a lot of people...if you want efficiency go with a smaller lighter car...small engine turbo charged are used to make up power above the engine rating. I would be willing to suggest a higher tax on non commercial T vehicles...to many cars on the road and traffic is disgusting. Trini to small for all these vehicles

Postby timelapse » April 14th, 2016, 12:55 pm

desifemlove wrote:so what? since few people own them, i doh see the issue. people need to read up on progressive taxation. or make a case why it shouldn't be so.

You on Tuner and spewing this bullcrap?
Do you even know how to drive?

Postby desifemlove » April 14th, 2016, 2:21 pm

timelapse wrote:
desifemlove wrote:so what? since few people own them, i doh see the issue. people need to read up on progressive taxation. or make a case why it shouldn't be so.

yes, i have, and i does have a car. and? this tax doh affect me.

Postby nervewrecker » April 14th, 2016, 2:43 pm

desifemlove wrote:
timelapse wrote:

yes, i have, and i does have a car. and? this tax doh affect me.

It dont affect you cuz your mouth always on a c0ck for $$$ so the owner pay's it for you.

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » April 14th, 2016, 4:19 pm

ingalook wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

No.

What decade you living in boss?

Habit7.... Colm is that you?

http://blog.caranddriver.com/the-grim-f ... e-winning/

All you people who think turbos don't increase efficiency should ask yourself what are you doing on an automotive enthusiast forum

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » April 14th, 2016, 4:25 pm

Turbos do increase efficiency by utilizing exhaust that would heat wasted a NA engine.... It also gives a more air for a better ... Leading to decreased emissions

This is why there are so many euro manufacturers that have foregone larger Na engines for smaller turbo engines

Honestly I don't know now if those who are saying turbos don't increase efficiency are just trolling