Re: New Star Trek series to start on CBS

Postby ismithx » October 3rd, 2017, 12:04 pm

looks good so far. however voyager will always have a special place in my heart

Postby MG Man » October 3rd, 2017, 2:23 pm

pete wrote:It looks amazing and is entertaining. Timeline doesn't matter to me.

you take that back, whidey

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 3rd, 2017, 7:20 pm

It's flashy, I'll give you that, but so far as a series, meh.

It got the "darker" "edgier" treatment that seems to pervade most reboots and sequels.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » October 3rd, 2017, 10:05 pm

Enjoying it, but i personally feel like they made a bad decision with their choice along the timeline

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 4th, 2017, 5:55 pm

Mutiny in trek? By a Vulcan-ish? Blasphemy. Seriously.

Postby MG Man » October 5th, 2017, 10:30 am

watched ep3 last night...interesting show, but still not feeling that Roddenberry vibe....

brickman

Postby brickman » October 5th, 2017, 10:47 am

MG Man wrote:watched ep3 last night...interesting show, but still not feeling that Roddenberry vibe....

Feels too jj trek still.

Postby 16 cycles » October 5th, 2017, 10:54 am

michelle yeoh from tai chi in a main stream tv series.....I just happy to see that tbh...

Postby MG Man » October 5th, 2017, 10:54 am

brickman wrote:
MG Man wrote:watched ep3 last night...interesting show, but still not feeling that Roddenberry vibe....

Feels too jj trek still.

yup
I know they reaching for a big arc-style story and maybe the kids nowadays like that kinda deal, but I feel like 3 eps in, it's gonna be too much about conspiracies and plot twists than the whole 'humanity reaching the stars' vibe
Kirk had it
Picard had it
Sisko had it
Janeway had it...damn she's one touch woman
Archer really embodied it, the way he and Tucker personified humanity's stumbling first steps....heck even the Browncoats make more sense

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 5th, 2017, 10:57 am

Ep3 was really unlike past star trek tv series, definitely more gore than usual.
I like it!

Postby MG Man » October 5th, 2017, 10:59 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Ep3 was really unlike past star trek tv series, definitely more gore than usual.
I like it!

yeah it's a decent show...just not ST, especially if it's set a decade before Kirk....I loved STE because it made sense as a precursor to NCC 1701

Syberfraggle

Postby Syberfraggle » October 5th, 2017, 11:06 am

Just waiting on some specs on the Discovery.. seems way bigger than the original series Enterprise and that saucer section just seems like it has wasted space...

Postby ismithx » October 5th, 2017, 11:06 am

so then which series would you all recommend i start watching then, the recent enterprise show, DS9, or next generations?

Postby matr1x » October 5th, 2017, 11:18 am

Social justice trek.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 5th, 2017, 11:29 am

Syberfraggle wrote:Just waiting on some specs on the Discovery.. seems way bigger than the original series Enterprise and that saucer section just seems like it has wasted space...

Postby crazybalhead » October 5th, 2017, 2:16 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Ep3 was really unlike past star trek tv series, definitely more gore than usual.
I like it!

yeah it's a decent show...just not ST, especially if it's set a decade before Kirk....I loved STE because it made sense as a precursor to NCC 1701

Did that Earthling Vulcan just curse??? HOMYGAWWWD!

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 5th, 2017, 2:27 pm

I like it!

Co-signed on this.

Funny enough, The Orville feels more like you think Trek would be if Seth McFarlane did it.

Postby sMASH » October 5th, 2017, 2:55 pm

Now saw the first dialogue. Wanting to give the girl her first command, yet she ain't know what the captain was doing.

As a person of high ranking, their priority is not with self, but with the group, and Being a leader is not a position of decoration, but of pertinence. Their absence would be a vital loss, therefore they would n2ed to get back.

A second in command even third will understand that their level would know how to lead those below them and understand most above them. To rise further would be a matter of politics and vacancy.
They would need to make themselves available to the group at the earliest opportunity.

At least the second in command will know the ropes, the rules, and how to manipulate them.

In other words, bubblegum and campy for me.

Postby sMASH » October 5th, 2017, 3:50 pm

Exo suit had a big bubble helmet, that was wrong. Even if u go with that, it needed to have a physical debris shield to envelope it, like a terran marine. So said so done.

A second In command would understand not to confront the captain in front of every body. ESPECIALLY WITH VULCAN MANNERS.

When in a strange region, u don't send out a life form, u send a reconnaissance probe. especially if u see it has weapons capability.

U would also send out proximity drones just to create a sensory net around the vessel, like in DSV.

And star fleet training should have taught that Klingon warrior class is not to be interfered with, and interaction protocol would say to fluff up and be the badder one, while calling for back up.

It's exciting, but rudimentary.

xtech

Postby xtech » October 8th, 2017, 7:22 am

So in this new series I think we be on a path to discovery of the dark side of the federation.... the inner workings of the infamous section 31 of DS9. An officer willing to break the chain of command, not to mention ignore just so many regulations, for the good and protection of the Federation sounds exactly like someone Luther Sloan of Section 31 would want to recruit. The ending of episode 3, where Saru is in the mess, looking out at the shuttle leaving with the prisoners? His gill worm things come out as he's looking. I believe thats the sign that he senses death..... The prisoners' shuttle might have been destroyed. So Captain Lorca didn't ask starfleet for Micheal Burnham. He just took her. And now he's going to fake her death...make her not exist and put her to work on his ship and she proved her worth right away when she figured out the spore drive can be controlled by the monster found on the sister ship which allowed them to save the miners. The spore drive also explains how Sloan can appear on DS9 without warning. This federation section 31 seems to be a perfect Black ops operation. This black organisation constantly break laws, treaties and regulations, ignore the sovereignty of foreign powers and utilize a myriad of banned technologies in order to safeguard the Federation while remaining completely secret, of course they'd be more than willing to take on and recruit someone who has shown a propensity to do the same thing.

brickman

Postby brickman » October 10th, 2017, 11:03 am

Episode 4 was meh,felt rushed without much thought about plot holes for the sake of flash/fx & the klingons are even more fail.

Postby 16 cycles » October 10th, 2017, 11:43 am

Babylon 5 plot still to be beaten ....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 10th, 2017, 12:17 pm

brickman wrote:Episode 4 was meh,felt rushed without much thought about plot holes for the sake of flash/fx & the klingons are even more fail.

I thought it was entertaining

but watching this as well as The Orville at the same time is giving me crossed lines. I feel like I gonna see Bortus on the Klingon ship lol

brickman

Postby brickman » October 10th, 2017, 4:47 pm

As a normal random sci fi show it works,as a show based on established lore,tech of star trek it has alot of faults.Only if you are heavy into star trek you will see them.

brickman

Postby brickman » October 16th, 2017, 3:29 am

Episode 5 had potential to be great & should have been a 2 episode arch instead of cramming it into 1 spoiling it.Missed opportunities to build upon characters stories & another storyline of plot holes.

Postby MG Man » October 17th, 2017, 11:16 am

5 was ok but they are struggling with meshing their edgy thing with the heart of Trek, which was always about telling a compelling story...curious what Star Fleet gonna do with Michael now that she's let the weir piggy thing run away
I still find that whole thing is waaay too much of Frank Herbert's Dune saga re spice, guild navigators and folding space...too many parallels to the Butlerian Jihad books and Norma Cenva's work with Spice and the challenges with the early spacefold ships

Postby crazybalhead » October 17th, 2017, 11:31 am

MG Man wrote:5 was ok but they are struggling with meshing their edgy thing with the heart of Trek, which was always about telling a compelling story...curious what Star Fleet gonna do with Michael now that she's let the weir piggy thing run away
I still find that whole thing is waaay too much of Frank Herbert's Dune saga re spice, guild navigators and folding space...too many parallels to the Butlerian Jihad books and Norma Cenva's work with Spice and the challenges with the early spacefold ships

Postby sMASH » October 17th, 2017, 12:05 pm

MG Man wrote:5 was ok but they are struggling with meshing their edgy thing with the heart of Trek, which was always about telling a compelling story...curious what Star Fleet gonna do with Michael now that she's let the weir piggy thing run away

What they could do is have a couple episodes in the edgy stuff that they think they can do and then run a sequence of episodes of the more substance style of the past.
Then they can see which is more of the pull.

Because quite frankly, this captain and this purpose of the ship is more what I imagine to have occurred compared to voyager and the enterprises.
So It makes More Sense to Me.
But I do like that they delved into controversial social and ethical topics.

Syberfraggle

Postby Syberfraggle » October 17th, 2017, 12:27 pm

Image[/quote]

He got old.

...and MUDD!...should have been a two episode story......

Postby MG Man » October 17th, 2017, 3:07 pm

crazybalhead wrote:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: