If youre travelling get PROOF of your Yellow Fever Shot NOW!

uncle sam

Re: If youre travelling get PROOF of your Yellow Fever Shot NOW!

Postby uncle sam » June 23rd, 2016, 7:52 pm

Got mine today.. Travelling through Panama on Sunday so my ass was clapping..

Don't bother going to the health center.. at least in the west.. they've been out of shot apparently a long time now.

If you need it in a rush like me, go private.. I paid $260 for the shot. Then I went to Jerningham Ave Belmont to get the international immunization card with the stamp. They were out of booklets when I left but the should get more...

Everything including commute took about 3 hrs.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » June 24th, 2016, 9:31 am

New memo out .

Dutty_S

Postby Dutty_S » June 24th, 2016, 10:32 am

ruffrider27 wrote:
Dutty_S wrote:Was asked for it this week in Mexico, flying to Panama.

Anyone know if you can get the shot in a Health Centre not in you regional area?

(from East...but want to get it in Woodbrook)

Thx

they asking where you living health centers jus say gallus street ,woodbrooke.
woodbrooke health center yellow fever clinic is on a Thursday after 10 am ,but name have to be on a list days before ,go in tomorrow put yuh name down .

Managed to get it in Arima...not at the Health Centre but at Dr. Aziz ($300). Got an appointment at Arima CMOH for the 30th for the card. Just hope I get it done before the 5th July to travel.

All the health centres I checked now say priority is for children/shortage...

Premchand1976

Re: RE: Re: If youre travelling get PROOF of your Yellow Fever Shot NOW!

Postby Premchand1976 » June 25th, 2016, 8:24 am

JF.K wrote:Sooo... just to clear things up..
Travelling to the States does not require the vaccination?
Only travelling to Jamaica?

Confirmed with jet blue this morning it does not apply to the US. countries outside the US they said

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » June 30th, 2016, 3:21 pm

TWO passengers who travelled from Trinidad to Jamaica on Monday, were turned back at the Norman Manley airport, after failing to show proof of yellow fever vaccination.

The Jamaican Gleaner reported on Tuesday that the passengers arrived on Caribbean Airlines (CAL). The newspaper reported: “Jamaica has carried out its threat to deny entry to the island persons who could not prove that they were vaccinated against the yellow fever virus by turning back nine passengers who arrived in the island yesterday. Up to press time last night, another eight were being quarantined at a hotel in Kingston. Minister of Health Dr Christopher Tufton has confirmed the matter, saying that five of the passengers who were from Trinidad and Tobago arrived on Caribbean Airlines while 12 came in from Panama, on Copa Airlines. Four of the 12 were included in the nine who were sent back.”

The minister was quoted as saying : “We have to take yellow fever threat seriously, it's a very dangerous virus. We are following the guidelines of the WHO (World Health Organisation).” CAL's Head of Corporate Communications Dionne Ligoure told the Express on Thursday: “Our records for Tuesday June 28 shows that two persons were denied entry into Jamaica with respect to not having the relevant documentation for yellow fever. The nationalities, one person was Barbadian and the other was Trinidadian.”

Last week, Trinidad and Tobago's Ministry of Health issued a public statement advising all passengers travelling to Caribbean and Latin American countries, Asia and Africa to be aware of the vaccination requirements of the country to which they travel. The ministry stated: “

Neither the yellow fever vaccination nor the international immunization card is required for travel to North American and European Countries e.g. the United States of America, Canada and England. Some persons may be exempt from the yellow fever vaccine; such persons may obtain an exemption letter from the County Medical Officers of Health.” On Wednesday, CAL issued a similar release. Ligoure stated: “ To ensure an uninterrupted, experience, Caribbean Airlines is recommending that all persons intending to travel , ensure their vaccinations are up to date. Persons travelling are advised to carry their internal immunization card with proof of the yellow fever and other vaccinations when travelling to Caribbean countries, Latin American countries, African Countries, Asian countries.”

She added: “If someone's scheduled flight is transiting a country where a particular vaccine is required for entry, although it is not their final destination, the traveller should ensure that their immunizations for the transit country is up to date.” Information can be obtained from the relevant Ministry of Health, Embassy or Consulate of the country to which passengers are travelling before their travel date.

Ligoure also said: “Caribbean Airlines is a customer centric organisation and we have our systems in place to deal with this but the onus as the release indicates is on the individual to ensure that they have the relevant documentation.” Jamaica's Ministry of Health earlier last month advised that persons without certificates of vaccination who have visited or transited countries affected by yellow fever within six days of arriving in Jamaica will be refused entry by the Ministry of Health at the island's ports. As a result, a decision was also made to prevent entry to those exposed to the disease and to quarantine Jamaicans who have visited affected areas and who were not vaccinated, the Gleaner reported. So far, there have been no reports of yellow fever in Jamaica.

Re: RE: Re: If youre travelling get PROOF of your Yellow Fever Shot NOW!

Postby wagonrunner » June 30th, 2016, 4:47 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:Confirmed with jet blue this morning it does not apply to the US. countries outside the US they said

hoping it stays that way till at least 2017

Postby De Dragon » July 2nd, 2016, 12:39 am

Oh the irony of Jamaica lawfully exercising its rights to debar Trinidad and Tobago citizens legitimately, but epically beating up when we do the same :lol: :lol:

Postby zoom rader » July 2nd, 2016, 5:47 am

Why would Trinis want to visit Jamaica

mojosodope

If youre travelling get PROOF of your Yellow Fever Shot NOW!

Postby mojosodope » July 2nd, 2016, 5:50 pm

Went Arima yesterday and was told they need to be able to call the doctor who issued the shot in order to verify it even though it has the batch number next to it. I got my last shot in 2009 by a doctor who has since passed away and it's too soon to get another shot so they told me there's nothing they can do if they can't verify with the doctor

Flying out in 3 weeks for a cruise that's travelling to Jamacia as well as Mexico so proof is required.

Postby De Dragon » July 2nd, 2016, 6:19 pm

mojosodope wrote:Went Arima yesterday and was told they need to be able to call the doctor who issued the shot in order to verify it even though it has the batch number next to it. I got my last shot in 2009 by a doctor who has since passed away and it's too soon to get another shot so they told me there's nothing they can do if they can't verify with the doctor

Flying out in 3 weeks for a cruise that's travelling to Jamacia as well as Mexico so proof is required.

If you can find your original immunization records, then you don't need to re-take a vaccine shot. Walk with your card and have it transferred to the international card.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 2nd, 2016, 7:12 pm

My first yellow fever shot was in 1995 so they would verify it based on that ? The problem is they can't verify the one I took in 2009 even though it's on my vaccination card.

Postby pete » July 2nd, 2016, 7:49 pm

So they call the doctor about a shot they gave someone 7 years ago? What the doctor does then? Looks at their records or just ask if it's their name and says yeah I did it? Sounds ridiculous to me..

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » July 2nd, 2016, 8:07 pm

Finding any problems now to delay getting the international imm. card

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » July 11th, 2016, 10:50 pm

anyone has an updated list of caribbean countries that you MUST get the vaccination to enter?

balljoint

Postby balljoint » July 12th, 2016, 8:06 am

^^^ALL Caribbean countries.

Since the last update (22nd June 2016) stating that revaccination is no longer needed once you have gotten it sometime in your life before, is anybody getting trouble to get the international card using your original immunization card with a last shot since say.....1985?

Postby pete » July 12th, 2016, 8:53 am

Are our immigration officials stopping people from the Caribbean who are coming here without it as well?