WTK: Fuel Treatment

viedcht

Re: WTK: Fuel Treatment

Postby viedcht » February 17th, 2024, 4:45 pm

MG Man wrote:how do y'all ascertain the effectiveness of treatments? Borescope inspection? Injector bench tests before / after etc?

Before treatment - Less Fyahz
After treatment - Moaar Fyahz
The only acceptable analysis

Sent from my 220333QAG using TriniTuner mobile app

Rayden6

Postby Rayden6 » February 17th, 2024, 7:28 pm

Will post when treatment arrives, ppl on this page will be selected and would collect their treatment and post reviews on this page.
Thanks

Postby nervewrecker » February 17th, 2024, 9:06 pm

maj. tom wrote:Ent modern gasoline formulations already have ethanol (octane rating) and cleaners already added? And nowadays with direct injection there is less build up now compared to port injection because the fuel burns more efficiently on proper timing without knock on each cycle. Plus I have read how people put ATF fluid and even vodka in the gas tank to mix and claim it cleans the pistons as well. Yeah vodka ethanol has a percent water in it and the vehicle still running, there are youtube videos. Modern cars not carburetors.

Anyway I think for those GumOut type cleaners to work as advertised you need to use it at every tank refill. There is no way one single treatment is going to clean and clear up any deposits significantly in real world trials.
As my defensive driving instructor said:

"You all are drinking the fuel, Subaru man, explain to them..

Don't drink and drive."

I does say up front rum is fuel. Methanol keeps things clean too......but a lil too clean. Washes out all the carbon from valves so you need a valve job too soon. Grrrr

Postby nervewrecker » February 17th, 2024, 9:10 pm

I've never used a fuel treatment in my life. Worked in a gas station when I finished school and most people swore by the qmi fuel treatment but since I driving I have never used one. Proper maintenance and your vehicle works good.

And yes, I saw TD47 vid on the transmission oil. The only thing I know transmission oil to work for in fuel is to quiet down the noisy injector pump a bit. It had some effect but it's just a plaster for a sore.

Postby MaxPower » February 18th, 2024, 12:35 am

Now friends remember that a “good” fuel treatment isn’t the almighty savior. Be sure to service the injectors properly and not the halfassness you wannabe Trini mechanics doing.

Postby MG Man » February 19th, 2024, 10:48 am

nervewrecker wrote:I've never used a fuel treatment in my life. Worked in a gas station when I finished school and most people swore by the qmi fuel treatment but since I driving I have never used one. Proper maintenance and your vehicle works good.

And yes, I saw TD47 vid on the transmission oil. The only thing I know transmission oil to work for in fuel is to quiet down the noisy injector pump a bit. It had some effect but it's just a plaster for a sore.

same
one of our cars is 10 years old, had it from new. Runs on premium, 5k km oil changes, never used a treatment