My "Racist" Experience In Trinidad

ADONI

Re: My

Postby ADONI » July 19th, 2017, 10:27 am

matix wrote:
10-01 wrote:so i have a question .... how is it that negro people can call Indians - > Indo Trini , daul back , pundit , rotiman etc but nothing happens ( meaning the Indian person doesn't get offensive ) but when u call a negro -> fella , black etc they get defensive and want to fight and defend themselves ? seen this happen in a few school i attended growing up one instance it ended up being a fight

Good point. Seen this quite a few times.

Since we on a racist thread... Blame the white man for that...

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 19th, 2017, 12:44 pm

ADONI wrote:
matix wrote:
10-01 wrote:so i have a question .... how is it that negro people can call Indians - > Indo Trini , daul back , pundit , rotiman etc but nothing happens ( meaning the Indian person doesn't get offensive ) but when u call a negro -> fella , black etc they get defensive and want to fight and defend themselves ? seen this happen in a few school i attended growing up one instance it ended up being a fight

i think negro / black people feel they in charge and no one can tell them anything but they can say wat they want to any1 ... yet the indain folks tend not to care muc of the opinions of other and they go about ther lives ... whites react the same way a Indians ... imo

Re: My "Racist" Experience In Trinidad

Postby timelapse » July 19th, 2017, 1:13 pm

I woulda search humble.He not looking Muslim, he looking like an indian bobo.I woulda be searching him for weed , not bombs, as discriminatory as that sounds

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » July 19th, 2017, 1:40 pm

10-01 wrote:
ADONI wrote:
matix wrote:

i think negro / black people feel they in charge and no one can tell them anything but they can say wat they want to any1 ... yet the indain folks tend not to care muc of the opinions of other and they go about ther lives ... whites react the same way a Indians ... imo

I would have to agree

Postby sMASH » July 19th, 2017, 1:48 pm

ADONI wrote:
matix wrote:

But in Ireland, there were two groups of white people fighting each other.
In Kenya and Nigeria groups of afros fight each other. In india, different groups of Indians fight each other. Chinese fight Tibetan and japanese, and philopinos, and even regard the Han in the northern provinces and a lower caste.
the amerindians long ago fought each other.

Racism is just another format for humans to express their capacity for hate and fighting towards another tribe.
#MyTribeBess

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 19th, 2017, 2:00 pm

sMASH wrote:
ADONI wrote:
matix wrote:

But in Ireland, there were two groups of white people fighting each other.
In Kenya and Nigeria groups of afros fight each other. In india, different groups of Indians fight each other. Chinese fight Tibetan and japanese, and philopinos, and even regard the Han in the northern provinces and a lower caste.
the amerindians long ago fought each other.

Racism is just another format for humans to express their capacity for hate and fighting towards another tribe.
#MyTribeBess

yea but y the black man feel that insulting the race of another fellow being is satisfying to giv them self worth ?

but yet at the end of the day nobody cares how he fells jus himself :?

Postby Ben_spanna » July 19th, 2017, 2:26 pm

Even since I can remember as a kid, people always quick to bawl- "chineee","ching-chong", "ching chong chew" or make other somewhat Asian associated comments, and they feel as if its not insulting, yet if I were to turn around and yell yow- "n1gga", Negro, black man and behave in a manner associated with an African Tribe or shaka Zulu , they feel offended to the highest degree, or if I yell - " injun", "mamoo" or "indian" and then talk with a strong Indian accent they get angry, so where does the limit stand?
So when people making fun of you or your Race its convenient because I'm in a minority and I must accept my "nickname" ? I have had these"chineee" remarks thrown at me forever, and on a few occasions when I did not know the person I have tested what happens when I simply return the compliment and let me tell you, its a one way street in certain cases.

Postby sMASH » July 19th, 2017, 2:41 pm

Because chin only concern is that u pay him $2 for what he paid $1

Postby RedVEVO » July 19th, 2017, 2:42 pm

HSA wrote:i was once racially profiled for being a black chindian.....they thought i was mixed with afro and chinese cus that day i took a bald head and my scalp was black and was stung the night before by 4 wasps on my face

Nah nah .. They thought you were Mexican.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 19th, 2017, 2:44 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Even since I can remember as a kid, people always quick to bawl- "chineee","ching-chong", "ching chong chew" or make other somewhat Asian associated comments, and they feel as if its not insulting, yet if I were to turn around and yell yow- "n1gga", Negro, black man and behave in a manner associated with an African Tribe or shaka Zulu , they feel offended to the highest degree, or if I yell - " injun", "mamoo" or "indian" and then talk with a strong Indian accent they get angry, so where does the limit stand?
So when people making fun of you or your Race its convenient because I'm in a minority and I must accept my "nickname" ? I have had these"chineee" remarks thrown at me forever, and on a few occasions when I did not know the person I have tested what happens when I simply return the compliment and let me tell you, its a one way street in certain cases.

yea seen it with Chinese and whites but strangely all have respect for everybody to a certain length ... but i see the Negros jus yell it out normal .... "chin chong " "batie lal " " white boi" etc ..... but u will never see a race call a blk man N1GG3R jus so out of the blue and he replies "yes can i help you " but the Indians , whites ,Chinese etc jus reply yes ... seen it happen way to muc times .... but it sad thou

Postby RedVEVO » July 19th, 2017, 2:59 pm

10-01 wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:Even since I can remember as a kid, people always quick to bawl- "chineee","ching-chong", "ching chong chew" or make other somewhat Asian associated comments, and they feel as if its not insulting, yet if I were to turn around and yell yow- "n1gga", Negro, black man and behave in a manner associated with an African Tribe or shaka Zulu , they feel offended to the highest degree, or if I yell - " injun", "mamoo" or "indian" and then talk with a strong Indian accent they get angry, so where does the limit stand?

yea seen it with Chinese and whites but strangely all have respect for everybody to a certain length ... but i see the Negros jus yell it out normal .... "chin chong " "batie lal " " white boi" etc ..... but u will never see a race call a blk man N1GG3R jus so out of the blue and he replies "yes can i help you " but the Indians , whites ,Chinese etc jus reply yes ... seen it happen way to muc times .... but it sad thou

Yes this is a serious topic .

Call a black Trini " Black Man " and they are most violent - looking for gun

In foreign a " Black Man " is proud of himself.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 19th, 2017, 3:09 pm

Hmm.... I want to comment eh.... but is bess I keep quiet.

Postby RedVEVO » July 19th, 2017, 3:20 pm

viedcht wrote:Hmm.... I want to comment eh.... but is bess I keep quiet.

You should comment .

" The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men ( or women) do (or say) nothing .. "

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » July 19th, 2017, 3:47 pm

The N-word defines the African experience in a very negative way, more so than any other labels for any other race.

Take a look at Jay-Z's new video The story of OJ.

It could also be that deep down other races have a greater amount of security in their societal standing or confidence in their being.

Or maybe confrontation is meaningless to them.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 19th, 2017, 6:31 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
viedcht wrote:Hmm.... I want to comment eh.... but is bess I keep quiet.

You should comment .

" The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men ( or women) do (or say) nothing .. "

Ah know, but is too much long talk dred. Plus everybody will take offence someway, somehow...

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 19th, 2017, 6:33 pm

ADONI wrote:
matix wrote:

Yuh not wrong in that statement eh. Serious.

Postby RedVEVO » July 19th, 2017, 7:52 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:The N-word defines the African experience in a very negative way, more so than any other labels for any other race.

Take a look at Jay-Z's new video The story of OJ.

It could also be that deep down other races have a greater amount of security in their societal standing or confidence in their being.

Or maybe confrontation is meaningless to them.

We talking in Trini NOT America.

There is a huge difference .

Postby Gem_in_i » July 19th, 2017, 8:29 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
ADONI wrote:This not old video from last year? He is not the one that came with 'Superwoman' last year or something so....

Yes he is and he was here again this year, both times during carnival with Machel.

He ent make a video bout how much woman of all ethnicity he wine on tho. Might bring his Sikhness into question.

I remember this video from last yr. He was here as Superwoman tag along. What he say? He was here to host machel fete?
He was so affected but yet returned for Carnival this year, again as a tag along with Superwoman.

He full of bs.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » July 19th, 2017, 8:33 pm

^^^ Hear me out here.....

During the 70's Black Power was there a bit of adoption of American "blackness" as our own despite our black experience being different?

If so then we would have adopted a similar attitude to the N-word, in how it defines "blackness".

I always thought that our "Black Experience" was vastly different from the American one, I mean take the 50's and 60's where Africans in the Caribbean had opportunities that African Americans didn't have as they were under the yolk of segregation.

You hear it quite often here in Trinidad we speak of oppression and subjugation, as if we endured the same as the African American, which we didn't, they were different experiences, this is not meant to lessen the impact or consequences of our experience. This is where I believe we somehow adopted this other narrative so as to explain our condition.

It was a form of cultural appropriation to justify our position in society, as such we adopted the N-word and the attitude that comes with it.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 19th, 2017, 9:34 pm

10-01 wrote:
ADONI wrote:
matix wrote:

my two cents on what 10-01 said..I totally agree with these comments..for some strange reason Africans figure they can do as they please and get away with any comment or action because of there rowdy behavior. I am not saying all are bad but the refined ones keep good relationships with the Indian people(proven fact).

Look at trincity mall,it was a good place to go, but the presence of gremlins from La Horquetta, Oropune and Maloney make that mall so fcking disgusting(just walk through the food court upstairs)...one set ah idiots in ah grorup with they draws showing and harassing people...sadly this is being carried on to movie towne p.o.s...I am 100% sure if Dereck Chin decide to charge people for entering that place, mt would be problem free.

there is a reason why the song 95% black was sung

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 19th, 2017, 11:39 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
10-01 wrote:
ADONI wrote:
matix wrote:

my two cents on what 10-01 said..I totally agree with these comments..for some strange reason Africans figure they can do as they please and get away with any comment or action because of there rowdy behavior. I am not saying all are bad but the refined ones keep good relationships with the Indian people(proven fact).

Look at trincity mall,it was a good place to go, but the presence of gremlins from La Horquetta, Oropune and Maloney make that mall so fcking disgusting(just walk through the food court upstairs)...one set ah idiots in ah grorup with they draws showing and harassing people...sadly this is being carried on to movie towne p.o.s...I am 100% sure if Dereck Chin decide to charge people for entering that place, mt would be problem free.

there is a reason why the song 95% black was sung

i doh even step in that mall due to that ... ah sorry but that atmosphere really turns me off from that mall

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 20th, 2017, 7:29 am

people would argue that most if not all comments pertaining to afro trinis are racist...they are not....they are just based on observations and proven facts

Postby Ben_spanna » July 20th, 2017, 8:02 am

Trinidad is one of the few places you can call someone "Chinee", people don't realise if you were to go to Canada and call anyone looking Asian a CHinee it can be a serious Insult, theres a difference between, Chinese, Korean, Japanese and Phillipino........... and they take great pride in their True Ethnicity.

Postby nemisis » July 20th, 2017, 8:40 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Trinidad is one of the few places you can call someone "Chinee", people don't realise if you were to go to Canada and call anyone looking Asian a CHinee it can be a serious Insult, theres a difference between, Chinese, Korean, Japanese and Phillipino........... and they take great pride in their True Ethnicity.

you think the local afro Trinidadian population know their "true ethnicity" or should they adopt the "country of africa" and call that their ethnicity?

Skanky

Postby Skanky » July 20th, 2017, 8:40 am

What about all the 'music' (I do use the term loosely) aimed at Indians and Chinese? Those things racist beyond belief.

Postby K74T » July 20th, 2017, 10:05 am

Chinee Parang is de hardest seasonal chune

Postby Rovin » July 20th, 2017, 11:41 am

plenty double & even triple standards

what about if ur a soundboy & a bunch of ppl standing around ur car listening to ur hard pong & suddenly a rap song come on with N words cause dise what d song has in it & u as d owner of d car& ur not of african descent - how awkward dat go look ? ....... :lol:

Postby RedVEVO » July 20th, 2017, 11:58 am

Numb3r4 wrote:^^^ Hear me out here.....

During the 70's Black Power was there a bit of adoption of American "blackness" as our own despite our black experience being different?

If so then we would have adopted a similar attitude to the N-word, in how it defines "blackness".

I always thought that our "Black Experience" was vastly different from the American one, I mean take the 50's and 60's where Africans in the Caribbean had opportunities that African Americans didn't have as they were under the yolk of segregation.

You hear it quite often here in Trinidad we speak of oppression and subjugation, as if we endured the same as the African American, which we didn't, they were different experiences, this is not meant to lessen the impact or consequences of our experience. This is where I believe we somehow adopted this other narrative so as to explain our condition.

It was a form of cultural appropriation to justify our position in society, as such we adopted the N-word and the attitude that comes with it.

Agree to a certain extent.

Just too much TV with certain "black youth-man " as if it is Encyclopedia Britannica .

The same exist as one's sees the " underwear showing " as a mark of "adoption" ..

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » July 20th, 2017, 1:53 pm

What I want to know is what is the attitude of local "Black" groups towards this adoption, is there any self correction, or do they to propagate it?

What I notice (I stand corrected) is that this adoption of aspects of foreign culture is not unique to the Afro-Trinbagonian, some of it is present in the Indian as well. Does this mean that as a nation we have not effectively come to terms with our heritage and colonial past and culture?

This is not a healthy attitude.

I often make note of how we cling to our respective histories and cultural naratives while at the same time failing to see that the world has changed and that the realities of our existence has as well. Sometimes I think we value our respective cultures not because we understand it but because it sets us apart. We value it because we like the attention it generates not because it has something to teach us.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 20th, 2017, 3:54 pm

Wha bout if there was a larger population of whites in the country?
Large enough such that you'd be seeing them all over on a daily basis as you do for Afros and Indos?

Allyuh feel the race relations between Afros and Indos woulda be any better...when they realize how whites does really view the both groups :lol: ?
I really cya understand the fight down between the two major racial groups in this country nah.
Cauz when you go abroad real racists doe like none of we and we equally worthless in their eyes. :lol:

In this day and age I still have afro friends who had to done dey Indo gyul because d gyul parents eh want dem wit no naggar man