Public Assistance Grant

elec2020

Re: Public Assistance Grant

Postby elec2020 » April 8th, 2020, 4:31 pm

rspann wrote:Per patrol ? I'll be right back , going to register a security company for when they tack back . You know it not cancelled it only postponed ?

Lol... also... u for real... the government still have the gal to move ahead with that... nah man

Postby rspann » April 8th, 2020, 4:47 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Partner with me. I have one registered and in good standing 8 years now. I provide the name. You provide the vehicles, staff, guns.
We split it 50/50
rspann wrote:Per patrol ? I'll be right back , going to register a security company for when they tack back . You know it not cancelled it only postponed ?

I dey !

Postby zoom rader » April 8th, 2020, 6:11 pm

elec2020 wrote:
daxt0r wrote:
elec2020 wrote:Alot of individuals will disagree with me... but i don't like this concept of rental assistance... while their will be exceptions... i find it hypocritical that tax payers money is being used to pay landlords who dont pay taxes in the first place because according to them... government does nothing for them

i fully agree, but in here full a big boy landlords and businessmen so they eh like nothing better than to collect money despite not declaring a cent on their income all the while complaining PNM/UNC doing crap.

i wouldn't be surprised if some of these same big boys apply and get grants as they have friends in high places all the while the poor people who it meant to assist the grant never arrives. There is no social programme in this place that wasn't created to benefit a big boy, small people getting a lil trickle down is just a side effect. Down to a CEPEP/URP checker have to eat ah food for yuh to get ah lil ting and it goes straight up to d top like da.

I wanted to say something in the landlord thread but I see how they bashing RedVevo so I say let me not say nothing. If that is the case that these landlords not paying tax and jumbying tenants to apply for the rental grant they very hypocritical. Amyway that is tnt in a nutshell, the poor and middle income always catching their tail... while the one percent or high income do what they want
Many folk that I know are landlords and they also work in full time and part time employment and PAY taxes.

If they loose their jobs while still being a landlord , then it is their RIGHT to apply for the grant. They paid taxes and are therefore entitled to access their money.

I support every tax payer out of work to apply for the grant. It is not PNM money and its time that tax payers get returns.

Do they also pay taxes on the income received from rent? If not then how can they play holier than though as they are abusing the system just like current and past governments.
There are no laws as far as I know for income on rents same as private barbers, plumbers, electricians ect.

Is arse wari paying?

Or lenny Saith paying?

Ha! Um as far as i know (and I could be wrong) all income earned must be stated when filing your tax returns... in the TD-4 submission online at the end of it i think they state that any ommissions or untruths is a felony subject to fines/improsenment... so it is a big deal... it easy not to pay taxes... cause i mean what government have to show for all the taxes i putting in for so much years? Low crime? Efficient town and roadway structures? Low pollution? Lol... nothing... but in the same context... i find it hypocritical to now go clamoring to the government for benefits when all the time before u were shoet changing them... i am not saying every land lord/business man or woman doesnt pay taxes... i just stating my view on the whole debacle... either way we scr4wd... cause eventually kickbacks gah start to take place... i think the security contracts were 91k or something so per patrol.... PER PATROL.... madness
Even if there was laws for paying taxes on rents. There are ways not to pay a cent and its all legal.

You will have to list your rental property as a shell company for bussiness. Then you will have to pay corporate taxes on the profit you made .

You can pay zero taxes if you don't make a profit. You will just have to show the additional cost you have, then minus the income you made. You can do this by selling your property to your shell company. Therefore you have to pay back yourself and that is listed as loss. That's how big bussiness do it.

coltspeed

Postby coltspeed » April 8th, 2020, 9:28 pm

I'm in the process of applying for the employee grant for my wife & self employed grant for myself. I am submitting to MOLSED for both atm. I'm awaiting more information on the forms from NIB to submit if needed.
I have been self employed for almost 3 yrs now, but still in the market for employment. Since CCP virus reached companies closures and payment process on hold so no income until t&t gets back up and running also madam was retrenched as was part of non-essentials.
We really don't know how long this will last, this assistance that is being applied for if granted is mainly a backup plan if this situation exceeds our expectations.

Postby rspann » April 8th, 2020, 10:01 pm

That is pressure . Hope you get through.

Postby zoom rader » April 8th, 2020, 10:06 pm

coltspeed wrote:I'm in the process of applying for the employee grant for my wife & self employed grant for myself. I am submitting to MOLSED for both atm. I'm awaiting more information on the forms from NIB to submit if needed.
I have been self employed for almost 3 yrs now, but still in the market for employment. Since CCP virus reached companies closures and payment process on hold so no income until t&t gets back up and running also madam was retrenched as was part of non-essentials.
We really don't know how long this will last, this assistance that is being applied for if granted is mainly a backup plan if this situation exceeds our expectations.
Bro If you are renting then speak to your landlord and let him know your situation upfront. Try and come to some sort of agreement until you can get back on your feet.

coltspeed

Postby coltspeed » April 8th, 2020, 10:42 pm

not renting, no pressure yet, not complaining,
planned for this thing since beginning of February, i even remember when there were still full shelves of hand sanitizers while i was preparing. Was way ahead of the panic buying and managed my finances so good so far. This is just another preventative step i'm taking. I'm just showing how disrupted this process has been so far and hopefully someone in here can get help or actually get through and share their process.

Postby zoom rader » April 9th, 2020, 12:50 am

coltspeed wrote:not renting, no pressure yet, not complaining,
planned for this thing since beginning of February, i even remember when there were still full shelves of hand sanitizers while i was preparing. Was way ahead of the panic buying and managed my finances so good so far. This is just another preventative step i'm taking. I'm just showing how disrupted this process has been so far and hopefully someone in here can get help or actually get through and share their process.
Good that you are thinking ahead. Lots of folk only live for today

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 9th, 2020, 9:09 am

Anyone applied for salary relief grant and got an emailed repsonse yet? Wondering how the employer gonna fill that section of the form when the workplace is shut.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 9th, 2020, 9:30 am

With respect to zr's comment... ehile that is something u can do... doesnt mean its legal... that reeks of tax evasion... all in all... i just wanted to highlight how odd it is that individuals who dodging the tax man talking about how they need government assistance... that was my main point... if u dodging the tax man... then dont ask for government benefits

Postby rspann » April 9th, 2020, 9:35 am

The landlords are not getting govt benefits , the tenants are . The govt is paying their bills for them . They also will pay for their groceries , electricity and water .

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » April 9th, 2020, 9:48 am

wa ah believe he alluding to is that non tax (PAYE) paying landlords now goin an receive funds from the same tax dollars they refuse to contribute to by not declaring all the extra income they make from rental properties.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 9th, 2020, 9:57 am

^in a nutshell yes

Postby Dizzy28 » April 9th, 2020, 10:18 am

NR8 wrote:Anyone applied for salary relief grant and got an emailed repsonse yet? Wondering how the employer gonna fill that section of the form when the workplace is shut.

My brother, a cousin and his wife all work in a family run business which although family run is in its 3rd generation of management by that particular family. Yesterday one of thier co workers dropped all of their forms for the unemployment benefit home by us. Their employer filled it in for them.

There's no reason employers can't be a little proactive as well in assisting with these forms. Printing them en masse, filling them in at home etc.

Postby rspann » April 9th, 2020, 10:18 am

daxt0r wrote:wa ah believe he alluding to is that non tax (PAYE) paying landlords now goin an receive funds from the same tax dollars they refuse to contribute to by not declaring all the extra income they make from rental properties.

What , you mean apply for the grant for themselves ?

Postby K74T » April 9th, 2020, 10:38 am

FB_IMG_1586440362809.jpeg

Saw this on Facebook

Postby zoom rader » April 9th, 2020, 11:02 am

daxt0r wrote:wa ah believe he alluding to is that non tax (PAYE) paying landlords now goin an receive funds from the same tax dollars they refuse to contribute to by not declaring all the extra income they make from rental properties.
Bro landlords have overheads such as mortgages and maintenance. The same rent they receive goes right back to pay the overheads.

It will appear they make money, but they don't. It will take a good few years before they see any profit.

You can't pay taxes if you not making any money on your profit.

I paying back banks for nearly 15 years before I saw any profit to talk about. After which I brought new a property and did the same

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 9th, 2020, 12:06 pm

^ I have bills and loans to pay but i still pay my taxes... i will end of this discussion by reiterating my main points...

(i) it is hypocritical for individuals who do not pay taxes to tell individuals to access government grants to pay them.
(ii). By law everyone who earns income supposed to file a tax return... that will determine whether or not you are entitled to a tax refund or have to pay the government taxes. You have no authority to decide on your own that you don't owe the government taxes... their is a system... use it.
(iii). While it remains to be seen (that is, pending a report on the findings) as indicated by the number of people visiting banks before the december 31st... and the central bank after december 31st... it may be likely that alot of people are under reporting their incomes to the government.
(iv) tax evasion is a crime... in the US you gone to jail... but in tnt is cyak cyak cyak... when governments underperforming u also part to blame because u not giving them the funds they need to do what needs to be done... now i not saying they using our funds for the right things eh... but when u complain about roads being bad or the lack of ambulances, etc... how these things getting done if the government not getting the full amount of revenue they anticipated in the budget due to tax evaders.

Thats all i have left to say on this matter.

coltspeed

Postby coltspeed » April 9th, 2020, 12:20 pm

elec2020 wrote:With respect to zr's comment... ehile that is something u can do... doesnt mean its legal... that reeks of tax evasion... all in all... i just wanted to highlight how odd it is that individuals who dodging the tax man talking about how they need government assistance... that was my main point... if u dodging the tax man... then dont ask for government benefits

in regards to this statement, just want to clear something up about myself, employment has dried up in the past few years for any average paying wage job in the fields that i'm in. These past years have been purely hustle only sure about what is to come the next month or two in advance. I'm always looking for employment for stability. I need the experience and networking to further myself if im to make my hustle into a registered business. I'm waiting to see what comes this election year and what plans the next or same gov will have after that, then to bind myself to a registered business cause after that there's no going back to being or looking for employment.

As of now there is nothing for me until economy starts back, this is merely a plan for survival where none of us have experienced this situation before. We are all citizens of this country and are entitled to some benefits weather we pay taxes or not once the application for benefits can be justified and approved legitimately.
So why don't ask for gov assistance when you can be applicable for it and doing it out of means of necessities. Funny thing is if you were unemployed it would be instinct to do the same.
I'd have to be a fool to sit at home in this current situation with no income, running on savings, and tell myself i don't pay taxes so i shouldn't ask for anything.

Postby rspann » April 9th, 2020, 12:24 pm

coltspeed wrote:
elec2020 wrote:With respect to zr's comment... ehile that is something u can do... doesnt mean its legal... that reeks of tax evasion... all in all... i just wanted to highlight how odd it is that individuals who dodging the tax man talking about how they need government assistance... that was my main point... if u dodging the tax man... then dont ask for government benefits

in regards to this statement, just want to clear something up about myself, employment has dried up in the past few years for any average paying wage job in the fields that i'm in. These past years have been purely hustle only sure about what is to come the next month or two in advance. I'm always looking for employment for stability. I need the experience and networking to further myself if im to make my hustle into a registered business. I'm waiting to see what comes this election year and what plans the next or same gov will have after that, then to bind myself to a registered business cause after that there's no going back to being or looking for employment.

As of now there is nothing for me until economy starts back, this is merely a plan for survival where none of us have experienced this situation before. We are all citizens of this country and are entitled to some benefits weather we pay taxes or not once the application for benefits can be justified and approved legitimately.
So why don't ask for gov assistance when you can be applicable for it and doing it out of means of necessities. Funny thing is if you were unemployed it would be instinct to do the same.
I'd have to be a fool to sit at home in this current situation with no income, running on savings, and tell myself i don't pay taxes so i shouldn't ask for anything.

Sense.

Postby rspann » April 9th, 2020, 12:34 pm

elec2020 wrote:^ I have bills and loans to pay but i still pay my taxes... i will end of this discussion by reiterating my main points...

(i) it is hypocritical for individuals who do not pay taxes to tell individuals to access government grants to pay them.
(ii). By law everyone who earns income supposed to file a tax return... that will determine whether or not you are entitled to a tax refund or have to pay the government taxes. You have no authority to decide on your own that you don't owe the government taxes... their is a system... use it.
(iii). While it remains to be seen (that is, pending a report on the findings) as indicated by the number of people visiting banks before the december 31st... and the central bank after december 31st... it may be likely that alot of people are under reporting their incomes to the government.
(iv) tax evasion is a crime... in the US you gone to jail... but in tnt is cyak cyak cyak... when governments underperforming u also part to blame because u not giving them the funds they need to do what needs to be done... now i not saying they using our funds for the right things eh... but when u complain about roads being bad or the lack of ambulances, etc... how these things getting done if the government not getting the full amount of revenue they anticipated in the budget due to tax evaders.

I agree with (iI) , (iii) and (iv) but i'm not seeing (i) . By that reasoning , groceries , food , taxi and all the rest who don't pay taxes should be free too . The tenant is getting a service or good which he must pay for. Where do they live in the meantime ?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 9th, 2020, 1:29 pm

coltspeed wrote:

I am sorry to hear about your struggles... the one piece of advise i could give is to be very careful with whatever business ventures u intend to do as it is anticipated that things will worsen in tnt... not just because of covid... but because of energy prices as well... their was a podcast by marla duhkaran and a few pertinent economists... u could take that in to better analyse what challenges faces tnt in the medium to long term... i understand people will do what needs to be done to survive this trying time... me personally... as it is written... so to shall this pass... their is a tomorrow... can i face my future self if i go against all the morals and values i stood for and knowingly break laws (as making illegitimate claims is also a crime)... thats my take on it

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 9th, 2020, 1:33 pm

rspann wrote:
elec2020 wrote:^ I have bills and loans to pay but i still pay my taxes... i will end of this discussion by reiterating my main points...

I agree with (iI) , (iii) and (iv) but i'm not seeing (i) . By that reasoning , groceries , food , taxi and all the rest who don't pay taxes should be free too . The tenant is getting a service or good which he must pay for. Where do they live in the meantime ?

I am not saying that landlords shpuld bite the bullet... all i am saying is standards... issue (i) is essentially having my cake and eating it too... it is in landlords best interest to soet out their situations as bills still have to get paid... as i said earlier... after this passes i wanna look back at myself and hope i didnt violate my principles to survive... one of my principles is trying my best not to be hypocritical... i am sure alot of people try their best to do so as well... issue (i) is being hypocritical imo

coltspeed

Postby coltspeed » April 9th, 2020, 1:57 pm

elec2020 wrote:I am sorry to hear about your struggles... the one piece of advise i could give is to be very careful with whatever business ventures u intend to do as it is anticipated that things will worsen in tnt... not just because of covid... but because of energy prices as well... their was a podcast by marla duhkaran and a few pertinent economists... u could take that in to better analyse what challenges faces tnt in the medium to long term... i understand people will do what needs to be done to survive this trying time... me personally... as it is written... so to shall this pass... their is a tomorrow... can i face my future self if i go against all the morals and values i stood for and knowingly break laws (as making illegitimate claims is also a crime)... thats my take on it

It may sound like a struggle but its all the norm in my case. We all know there are people who cant even wait on any application process, they need help now.
Thanks for the advise, Really what it is that the application process seems to be flawed and have alot of discrepancies. I know alot of people would try to do some sort of ratch to make claims which would only further delay the whole process.

Postby zoom rader » April 9th, 2020, 6:09 pm

elec2020 wrote:
rspann wrote:

I am not saying that landlords shpuld bite the bullet... all i am saying is standards... issue (i) is essentially having my cake and eating it too... it is in landlords best interest to soet out their situations as bills still have to get paid... as i said earlier... after this passes i wanna look back at myself and hope i didnt violate my principles to survive... one of my principles is trying my best not to be hypocritical... i am sure alot of people try their best to do so as well... issue (i) is being hypocritical imo
I rent my appartments as a bussiness and I don't depend on any goverment for assistance .

As for paying taxes in TT I worked for about 20 years and I have all my TD4s which showed i paid just under $1.1million to the state . I no longer work and my main side income is my appartments. Bussiness bills have to be paid, TTEC will shut you off if you don't pay. My appartments are a bussiness and its only in the last couple of years I stated to see some sort tangible income after paying off my mortgages, loans and upkeep. If tennants are in a spot i normally give them an extra time to settle what they owe. In our present climate only if tennants come forward and indicate they seeing trouble then I will make amends to ease them, but they will have to pay what is owed. I run a bussiness and not a charity.

If and when government demands taxes on my profit from rents, then I have no choice but to raise rents to cover that tax and that is on top of any house taxes. So a goverment have to be very careful with dealing with self employed persons or small time landlords.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 9th, 2020, 9:30 pm

coltspeed wrote:
elec2020 wrote:I am sorry to hear about your struggles... the one piece of advise i could give is to be very careful with whatever business ventures u intend to do as it is anticipated that things will worsen in tnt... not just because of covid... but because of energy prices as well... their was a podcast by marla duhkaran and a few pertinent economists... u could take that in to better analyse what challenges faces tnt in the medium to long term... i understand people will do what needs to be done to survive this trying time... me personally... as it is written... so to shall this pass... their is a tomorrow... can i face my future self if i go against all the morals and values i stood for and knowingly break laws (as making illegitimate claims is also a crime)... thats my take on it

It may sound like a struggle but its all the norm in my case. We all know there are people who cant even wait on any application process, they need help now.
Thanks for the advise, Really what it is that the application process seems to be flawed and have alot of discrepancies. I know alot of people would try to do some sort of ratch to make claims which would only further delay the whole process.

Still in life u should never just wish ill on people... just how u doing good u would like others to prosper as well... i hope your fortunes change in time... i also agree the babbal will delay the government aid programs... just the other day i think i read in newsday or sumn a woman cant get her food card for the month cause someone else picked it up or some shiz... madness... no matter what we do as law abiding citizens sooner or later it will be our turn to face the many injustices of tnr

Postby Chimera » April 9th, 2020, 9:33 pm

If you start from scratchto build an apartment building it taking 20 years to start to see profit.

Bro landlords have overheads such as mortgages and maintenance. The same rent they receive goes right back to pay the overheads.

It will appear they make money, but they don't. It will take a good few years before they see any profit.

I paying back banks for nearly 15 years before I saw any profit to talk about. After which I brought new a property and did the same

Postby Dizzy28 » April 9th, 2020, 9:40 pm

The main benefit initially is the equity
Phone Surgeon wrote:If you start from scratchto build an apartment building it taking 20 years to start to see profit.

Postby zoom rader » April 9th, 2020, 10:10 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:If you start from scratchto build an apartment building it taking 20 years to start to see profit.

Well as soon as I paid off the first one , I brought another one . I was able to paid off the second one from both properties in less time. Only in the last five years I saw some income. The mortgage, insurance, side loans and maintenance was a killer. Men was buying useless cars to please neighbours and brands. I drove a beat up car and bike for years.

Tennats don't understand these behind the scenes stuff but want to beat up for paying rents

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 10th, 2020, 12:00 am

ZR as stated earlier my only grievance is the hypocrisy of people who not paying taxes asking u to access tax payers money to pay them... that is all... if peoole paying all their taxes that they supposed to then fine... acess and use the grants where applicable... if not then so be it... not like they going to be punished anyway