Was Samba Beer really that good?

Re: Was Samba Beer really that good?

Postby alfa » July 20th, 2022, 8:34 pm

pugboy wrote:back then these unsavory tactics by 1% were kept quiet

I recall there was some unsavory tactics to keep local Willies ice cream in business when Walls hit the market in the 90's

Postby MaxPower » July 20th, 2022, 9:18 pm

Check how the tuner youths and teeny boppers get quiet na.

Only know bout Tequila Rose and flavored WO.

rs1010

Postby rs1010 » July 21st, 2022, 1:03 am

pugboy wrote:sabga pushed them out of the market
forced bars into compliance with their advertising and signage
and groceries too gave them the top shelves

there was another local beer on an even smaller scale called howler
was even available in kegs
better than samba imo

yea man thats exactly what happened.

rs1010

Postby rs1010 » July 21st, 2022, 1:07 am

daring dragoon wrote:samba was a full hops flavor not that bitter thing we call beer in the name of carib and worst stag. they market it to say a man beer when its more like mans piss. samba was close to a corona beer.

i agree bro. thanks for sharing!

Postby SMc » July 21st, 2022, 4:38 am

pugboy wrote:sabga pushed them out of the market
forced bars into compliance with their advertising and signage
and groceries too gave them the top shelves

there was another local beer on an even smaller scale called howler
was even available in kegs

better than samba imo

Were they in El Socorro- I think I went to the 'factory' to get some kegs back in the day. I cant remember the guys first name but pretty sure his last name was Clarke. I liked that beer

Postby SMc » July 21st, 2022, 4:48 am

alfa wrote:

I recall there was some unsavory tactics to keep local Willies ice cream in business when Walls hit the market in the 90's

Wasn't the government told to put some ridiculous import duty on ice cream not manufactured in T&T in order to protect the local companies like Willies and Flavorite.

I think when TCBY arrived they escaped because it wasn't ice-cream so they were still able to offer it at an acceptable price. Then when Hagen Daaz (it may not have been them) first arrived rather than import the finished product the raw materials were got from HD themselves and then under agreement one of the local companies then finished the process locally to avoid the tax.*

* Disclaimer- I may have dreamt all this up.

Postby RedVEVO » July 21st, 2022, 4:54 am

SMc wrote:
alfa wrote:

Wasn't the government told to put some ridiculous import duty on ice cream not manufactured in T&T in order to protect the local companies like Willies and Flavorite.

I think when TCBY arrived they escaped because it wasn't ice-cream so they were still able to offer it at an acceptable price. Then when Hagen Daaz (it may not have been them) first arrived rather than import the finished product the raw materials were got from HD themselves and then under agreement one of the local companies then finished the process locally to avoid the tax.*

Why should the Gov't support foreign ice cream importation ?

It's a waste of foreign currency and can be locally made in T&T .

If you so desire to spend $30 on a one spoon ice cream because of an import tax then it's your choice :wink:

STAG is the best local beer in T&T .

Ask any German .

Postby j.o.e » July 21st, 2022, 5:26 am

timelapse wrote:Black Wolf was good though.

This was a nice beer

Postby pugboy » July 21st, 2022, 7:10 am

you have a good memory
i forget about tcby yogurt

they came very early before trinis got taste for foreign franchise
they would have give dairy queen good competition now
mind you dairy queen was here in 80s and bussed

SMc wrote:
alfa wrote:

Postby timelapse » July 21st, 2022, 7:30 am

Best beer is puncheon

Postby SR » July 21st, 2022, 7:57 am

Samba brewery was a subsidiary of kaleidoscope paints
As far as i know they still do bottling for other companies

Postby MaxPower » July 21st, 2022, 8:19 am

RedVEVO wrote:

If you so desire to spend $30 on a one spoon ice cream because of an import tax then it's your choice :wink:

Ask any German .

Vev,

Trinis LOVE foreign things.

Postby Slartibartfast » July 21st, 2022, 8:55 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Wasn't Back Wolf also Carib

I think Black Wolf was just a little ahead of its time. Back then Guinness was and Mackeson had the darks on lock and nobody really cared to try anything new. If they bring it back out now it may do something.

Samba was sheit. As others said, it was cheap and even then it was still kinda hard to buy at times. Heineken is meh, Corona is the only beer that's so bad, they actually recommend throwing a slice of lime in it to hide the sheittyness of the flavour. Modelo dark is really good (best bang for the buck dark ale) but Old Tom is better (but the price reflects that :lol:). Carib blue tastes like pilsner and puncheon (more alco, less flavour, but will get you drunk, good if you taking a hiatus from the white oak). Carib not bad when it extremely fresh (so only form the grocery, never in a bar). Stag is where its at though (popular so better chance getting a fresh one in any given bar). People like to hate on stag because it's the beer of choice for hobos but a fresh stag in a cold pint glass could hold it's own against most foreign lagers.

But if it's just beers you looking for OP, just go Tommy's and have a couple of flights.

Postby De Dragon » July 21st, 2022, 1:13 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
SMc wrote:
alfa wrote:

Ask any German .

Or Dutchman

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » July 22nd, 2022, 4:44 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Wasn't Back Wolf also Carib

I think Black Wolf was just a little ahead of its time. Back then Guinness was and Mackeson had the darks on lock and nobody really cared to try anything new. If they bring it back out now it may do something.

Samba was sheit. As others said, it was cheap and even then it was still kinda hard to buy at times. Heineken is meh, Corona is the only beer that's so bad, they actually recommend throwing a slice of lime in it to hide the sheittyness of the flavour. Modelo dark is really good (best bang for the buck dark ale) but Old Tom is better (but the price reflects that :lol:). Carib blue tastes like pilsner and puncheon (more alco, less flavour, but will get you drunk, good if you taking a hiatus from the white oak). Carib not bad when it extremely fresh (so only form the grocery, never in a bar). Stag is where its at though (popular so better chance getting a fresh one in any given bar). People like to hate on stag because it's the beer of choice for hobos but a fresh stag in a cold pint glass could hold it's own against most foreign lagers.

But if it's just beers you looking for OP, just go Tommy's and have a couple of flights.

the slice of lime in a corona is for the flies. in mexico they rub the lime on the rim of the bottle to keep the flies away. if you study more than drink all that beer and be more productive with you life maybe you can visit mexico one day an see for your self.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » July 22nd, 2022, 6:53 am

RedVEVO wrote:

Ask any German .

Vev,

If they do, then maybe there is a market for Brazilian beer, cachaça and vodka. Already have a cousin who imports beverages, so I figure she probably knows the requirements for getting a container of spirits in. Probably would need to do some sort of product testing event with local drinkers though, to see what appeals to the Trini palate the most.

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » July 22nd, 2022, 7:32 am

RedVEVO wrote:

Ask any German .

Vev,

Always giving a set of man nickname.

You do that in real life too? Tuner sissy bwoy lol

Postby MaxPower » July 22nd, 2022, 7:38 am

MDtuner70 wrote:

You jelly no one don’t really speak to you or take you on?

Aite aite pa you want a nickname too?

MDtuner70

Was Samba Beer really that good?

Postby MDtuner70 » July 22nd, 2022, 8:09 am

MDtuner70 wrote:

You jelly no one don’t really speak to you or take you on?

Aite aite pa you want a nickname too?

No thanks, but continue being you bro, and I will continue to catch kix.

You remind me of a Piñata: "A piñata is a container, often made of papier-mâché, pottery, or cloth, that is decorated, filled with candy, and then broken as part of a celebration"

Postby RedVEVO » July 22nd, 2022, 9:28 pm

triniterribletim wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Ask any German .

Vev,

If they do, then maybe there is a market for Brazilian beer, cachaça and vodka. Already have a cousin who imports beverages, so I figure she probably knows the requirements for getting a container of spirits in. Probably would need to do some sort of product testing event with local drinkers though, to see what appeals to the Trini palate the most.

There is ALWAYS a market in T&T with good marketing and exposure .
However you need to be well financed since major products lines do not like competition.

Superpharm sells a variety of English Beers - but priced @ $30 per bottle .

My German peeps do not like the English Beers - they claim it's watered down etc.

German friends really like STAG .

And it's the taste they like not the advertising and or promotions .

Kinda like Coke Cola - whatever the price - will buy .

Hate Classic and Pepsi :D

dogg

Postby dogg » July 23rd, 2022, 6:37 pm

What beer was popular in Guyana when you were growing up there?

MaxPower wrote:Check how the tuner youths and teeny boppers get quiet na.

Postby timelapse » July 23rd, 2022, 6:49 pm

dogg wrote:What beer was popular in Guyana when you were growing up there?

MaxPower wrote:Check how the tuner youths and teeny boppers get quiet na.

Birac beer is popular in Guyana, so is Gats