Do Trinidadians have an Alcohol problem?

Re: Do Trinidadians have an Alcohol problem?

Postby j.o.e » April 2nd, 2025, 10:08 am

The baseline of what is considered normal drinking in T&T is well into the range of alcohol abuse/ addiction
Beers… we drink multiple rounds
We regularly finish a bottle of hard liquor among friends
Every street must have a bar….. that being said I does real drink too lol

Postby timelapse » April 2nd, 2025, 10:34 am

Trinidad has an alcohol abuse problem.No explanation needed, it is what it is

Postby MaxPower » April 2nd, 2025, 10:52 am

Huh

Back in my day, yes.

Beers was $[emoji6] i remember.

Now i can’t drink again. drink and i looking to vomit and sleep.

Recovery time, days

Postby timelapse » April 2nd, 2025, 11:30 am

Yuh getting old boy Max.
I can still guzzle alcohol, but as the old saying goes,
Just because you could , doesn't mean you should.
Everything in moderation, but Trinis know nothing about self control.
This is a nation of degenerates

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 4th, 2025, 5:28 am

I tried alcohol a few times, never appealed to me... Saves a lot of money now that I don't!

Postby redmanjp » April 4th, 2025, 10:06 am

Sometimes just 1 drink does send me to d toilet I doh know if that is IBS or what

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 4th, 2025, 2:56 pm

^^ real talk. I still in my fresh thirties and any hard liquor is problems. Only beer does go down aite, doh talk if I drink an energy drink, like a walking bomb

Postby timelapse » April 4th, 2025, 3:14 pm

This is the furthest thing from me being proud in any way of this. I literally started consuming alcohol at around 6 years old. My extended family had serious drinking problems and found no issue in giving alcohol to us as kids.I'm talking wine, scotch, brandy,beer , you name it.
Luckily , as I grew up , alcohol was neither here nor there with me. If I feel like drinking some alcohol, its usually one drink, unless I home and mixing concrete or something, or some wine with my wife on special occasions. I don't judge the consumption of alcohol.What I do have issue with is people that drink uncontrollably for whatever reason and start behaving in stupid ways, looking for fight etc. If you can't control yourself if you drink, then don't drink.I have personally consumed entire bottles of liquor and the worst thing that happened is me falling asleep. But not everybody is the same. Drink responsibly

Postby alfa » April 4th, 2025, 4:15 pm

I used to drink, not out in bars and clubs cuz I was never a social person. Me and a couple friends used to lime home by one of them and it's mostly where we'd cook and drink up a storm.
Gave it up due to religious reasons many years ago. Never missed it as I had the experience of consuming it already and now gave it up for a higher cause

viedcht

Postby viedcht » April 4th, 2025, 4:18 pm

Everybody different, limits, tolerances etc. TnT have alcoholism issues since before Independence, probably.
Hard liquor is a go- to in economic downturns, like the last 20yrs or so. And unaddressed mental health issues is a real concern and correlated to alcohol abuse, more than other substances, IMO.
I do rell experiments with alcohol. Never with overproof rum, but everything else. It never affects me like headache or upset or feeling mashup . I know I properly drunk (not to be impossible to walk or move) but I know myself still, didn't try taking a drive home though. I don't have a drinking issue at all.

Like shakes, I don't see why anybody should drink, moreso to get drunk. You don't feel good, not relaxed, not calm... maybe tired but nothing relaxing about drinking more than for a social setting. Even then I just like to lose that tingle after the one drink and just enjoy some water or something more pleasant tasting. it expensive too. Imagine what you could do with that extra hundred, or thousand, instead of spending it out in one evening liming with strangers.

Postby nervewrecker » April 5th, 2025, 8:34 am

People who have problems seem to be the ones that abused it in the past.
It's never something that appealed to me but my taste has gotten more expensive over the years.
I see men does want to drink puncheon like it's water. Puncheon is not a drink, it's a medicine. I'd still go out and hit a shot raw when I have a sore throat.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 5th, 2025, 10:24 am

Yuh see when men drinking and can't hold their alcho, it sickening. Men does start hugging yuh up, bawling up in yuh ears, talking their family business, start d1ck measuring etc.... Nothing drives me up a wall more than that. I just leave and go home!

matix

Postby matix » April 5th, 2025, 12:25 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Yuh see when men drinking and can't hold their alcho, it sickening. Men does start hugging yuh up, bawling up in yuh ears, talking their family business, start d1ck measuring etc.... Nothing drives me up a wall more than that. I just leave and go home!

That sounds like sober behavior as well

Postby alfa » April 5th, 2025, 4:23 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Yuh see when men drinking and can't hold their alcho, it sickening. Men does start hugging yuh up, bawling up in yuh ears, talking their family business, start d1ck measuring etc.... Nothing drives me up a wall more than that. I just leave and go home!

That's not the entertaining part?

Postby MaxPower » April 5th, 2025, 4:49 pm

Yeh boi shakes.

Dem grande ppl eh easy at all!!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 5th, 2025, 5:20 pm

Yeh boi shakes.

That's a general behavior no matter where you go... South ah d caroni folks does take it up a notch when house and land involved.

Postby MaxPower » April 5th, 2025, 5:23 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Yeh boi shakes.

That's a general behavior no matter where you go... South ah d caroni folks does take it up a notch when house and land involved.

Yeh but shakes…iz grande ppl

Second is Barrackpore weyyy sah dem does rinse out yuh ears with spit