Building a house in Trinidad

33 hertz

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby 33 hertz » November 27th, 2015, 6:39 am

rspann wrote:
33 hertz wrote:Looking for bamboo props. Anyone have a contact?

I have some that I took down two weeks ago, if you want them you can have them. If you want fresh ones call 716 6631,thats the guy who cut for me.

Thanks man, got through.

gtiracer

Postby gtiracer » January 14th, 2016, 11:29 am

Advice needed.. Going through Mortgage Process and the valuator valued the proposed property at significantly less that what the QS says it will cost to build.

Now bank only wants to lend a % what the valuator indicates the value to be, which cannot build the structure that is approved..

Filed complaint with valuator and they tell me to go find prices of comparable properties sold in area and prove to them their value is too low. I could have sworn that was what I paid them to do..

What next?

MD Marketers
Location: 391-4558 tntresearchers@hotmail.com www.trinidadforsale.com

Postby MD Marketers » January 14th, 2016, 4:57 pm

gtiracer wrote:Advice needed.. Going through Mortgage Process and the valuator valued the proposed property at significantly less that what the QS says it will cost to build.

Now bank only wants to lend a % what the valuator indicates the value to be, which cannot build the structure that is approved..

Filed complaint with valuator and they tell me to go find prices of comparable properties sold in area and prove to them their value is too low. I could have sworn that was what I paid them to do..

What next?

If the value truly is less than the financial institution is willing to lend you to build the house then you need to do over the drawings with reductions in size and aesthetics.
It is very unlikely that the valuator undervalued the property (although distasteful they are not obligated to show you how they arrived at their values), but if they did undervalue the property the only way to find out is by getting a re-evaluation by another valuator. If the difference is significant write them a legal letter ($800) threatening to take them to court for incompetence and having their valuator's license revoked.
Most likely they will refund you the cost of the valuation to avoid the inconvenience.
If your hunch is right then you lose nothing.
If your hunch is wrong then you pay the price of another valuation.
Question is are you willing to pay the price for being wrong?
If not then stop making an issue out of it.

eitech

Postby eitech » January 16th, 2016, 4:39 pm

Let's say u purchase house and land through ttmf. After a few years you want to move on to another place, whats happens then?

eitech

Postby eitech » January 16th, 2016, 4:39 pm

Let's say u purchase house and land through ttmf. After a few years you want to move on to another place, whats happens then?

eitech

Postby eitech » January 16th, 2016, 4:40 pm

Postby *KRONIK* » January 16th, 2016, 4:49 pm

eitech wrote:Let's say u purchase house and land through ttmf. After a few years you want to move on to another place, whats happens then?

If you arenreferring to selling the mortgaged property...

Nothing....selling the property is no problem but u need to ensure that ttmf either does the re-financing for the new purchaser or their financial institution needs to deal with ttmf to take over the loan.

If you are referring to buying another property while paying a mortgage....as long as you can meet the payment terms...you can re-finance the mortgage and acquire the second property

konartis

Postby konartis » January 16th, 2016, 5:04 pm

gtiracer wrote:Advice needed.. Going through Mortgage Process and the valuator valued the proposed property at significantly less that what the QS says it will cost to build.

What next?

Is this a property u are going to build? Where u did plans, estimate, CS report and now a valuation on the QS report and land to arrive at a final price for the banks? Cause I have to do that same thing.....what valuators u used?

konartis

Postby konartis » January 16th, 2016, 5:04 pm

What next?

Is this a property u are going to build? Where u did plans, estimate, CS report and now a valuation on the QS report and land to arrive at a final price for the banks? Cause I have to do that same thing.....what valuators u used?

Postby pugboy » January 16th, 2016, 6:15 pm

Valuators supposed to give two valuations
a basic replacement value, usually for insurance purposes
this would be in line with qs values

and a market sale value

eitech

Postby eitech » January 16th, 2016, 6:47 pm

Hey guys need some advice. Saw a property today and looks really good for d price an age. One of the issues is that it is next to a piece of land which happens to be a hill. The owner doesn't take care and d bush towers and grows over onto d said property. In addition, when rain falls, slush comes down into d yard through d fence. Need a possible solution if i go tru with purchase

Postby Kenjo » January 16th, 2016, 7:57 pm

^^^^ you might need to call the corporation and let them sort out the owner. I am not precisely sure of the entire procedure but if it is over grown with the whole mosquito worries you can convince them to cut it or force the owner to cut it

Postby Kenjo » January 16th, 2016, 7:59 pm

Has anyone tried those precast housing projects from companies like Docs engineering, I'll see if I get the flier later but it seems pretty fast and I will see if I go in to them to get some price quotes

gtiracer

Postby gtiracer » January 17th, 2016, 1:20 am

They did give basic values for insurance replacement.. even lower than the market value.. I purchased the land with approved plans.. QS - Hart &lenord, valu - R&P.. Most likely going to another valuator

eitech

Postby eitech » January 17th, 2016, 6:41 am

Kenjo wrote:^^^^ you might need to call the corporation and let them sort out the owner. I am not precisely sure of the entire procedure but if it is over grown with the whole mosquito worries you can convince them to cut it or force the owner to cut it

I not too worried bout d bush, that can be cut. My concern is d slush dat may come down when it rains. A wall will jus cause a backup. A drain will need to be cleaned regularly. But how do you combine the two regardless.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 17th, 2016, 10:28 am

eitech wrote:Hey guys need some advice. Saw a property today and looks really good for d price an age. One of the issues is that it is next to a piece of land which happens to be a hill. The owner doesn't take care and d bush towers and grows over onto d said property. In addition, when rain falls, slush comes down into d yard through d fence. Need a possible solution if i go tru with purchase

Construct a silt fence against the boundary fence. The geotextile (with an apparent opening size of 0.15mm) will keep the slush on the other property. The slush buildup on the silt fence would have to be cleaned eventually though.

eitech

Postby eitech » January 17th, 2016, 12:21 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
eitech wrote:Hey guys need some advice. Saw a property today and looks really good for d price an age. One of the issues is that it is next to a piece of land which happens to be a hill. The owner doesn't take care and d bush towers and grows over onto d said property. In addition, when rain falls, slush comes down into d yard through d fence. Need a possible solution if i go tru with purchase

Construct a silt fence against the boundary fence. The geotextile (with an apparent opening size of 0.15mm) will keep the slush on the other property. The slush buildup on the silt fence would have to be cleaned eventually though.

So in other words i cant avoid either situation. I figure thats d deal breaker. Twas too good too be true

Postby rspann » January 17th, 2016, 12:38 pm

You could build a retaining wall with weep holes and put a box drain in front of it to catch the runoff. Cleaning is a must and part of using sloping land to build.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » January 17th, 2016, 1:39 pm

Hey yawl, just jumped in on this thread.
From those with experience and in the know
what is the average cost(rough average) to build say a three bedroom house on
5000sq ft-6000sq ft peice of land in the year 2016 ?

MD Marketers

Postby MD Marketers » January 17th, 2016, 7:20 pm

eurotuner wrote:Hey yawl, just jumped in on this thread.

You have the land?
Reasonably priced contractor. $400k-$700k. Chances are you will have to be there a lot.
Over priced contractor. $700-$1.2mil. Close your eyes till it's done.

391-4558 if you want more advice

York

Postby York » January 19th, 2016, 4:15 pm

$500k min, 1000 sq ft. Higher cost for higher sq footage. Don't think prices will drop below current ones unless things get real desperate and workers scrunting for work! The problem is that cost of living is high and men will want to make the same money from less work, that means increased prices...possibly. Economists are wrong 100% of the time.

York

Postby York » January 19th, 2016, 4:18 pm

$500k min, 1000 sq ft. Higher cost for higher sq footage. Don't think prices will drop below current ones unless things get real desperate and workers scrunting for work! The problem is that cost of living is high and men will want to make the same money from less work, that means increased prices...possibly. Economists are wrong 100% of the time.

York

Postby York » January 19th, 2016, 4:18 pm

MD Marketers

Postby MD Marketers » January 20th, 2016, 6:00 pm

York wrote:

There are a lot more factors than just square footage that affect the cost disproportionate to square footage.

Experience is the best teacher:

Grade of the land
Soil structure
Excessive water logging
Trees & impediments in the soil
Water access
Electricity access
Electrical pole positioning
Nearest transformers
Road level
Land slippage on neighboring properties
Road access
Type of road access
Shape of the property
Location of boundaries missing
Type of aesthetics on doors, windows, cupboards, counters, plumbing fixtures, electrical fixtures
Roof design
Heat proofing
Perimeter wall aesthetics
Driveways, car parks, aprons, slipper drains
Tank stands
Type of tiles & intricacies of corners
How many steps
Roman columns
Where you buy your materials
Storage sheds
Scaffolding costs
Offloading costs and lack of storage space
Cave ins, natural disasters, excessive rain fall
Automatic gates and garage doors
Toilet and bathroom design
Rubble drains & retaining walls
Overlooked contract details
Experience of your builder

Just to name a few off the top of my head.

I've been doing this so long it only takes 1 site visit, a drawing & 15 minutes with the customer and I could give you material and labor estimates by the following morning.

Stopped doing whole houses a year now though.
Faster income on smaller projects & commercial customers.
Still helping small contractors put their act together these days. So many inexperienced contractors out there.
If you want some recommendations you know where to get me.

Postby gt4tified » January 25th, 2016, 3:53 pm

York wrote:

We'll see...just as soon as this thing called "Carnival' is over. Just wait and see. Btw, anybody notice that all dem Guyanese and Jamaicans that in the country ent have nutten to do, yet they still here?

York

Postby York » January 26th, 2016, 7:43 am

anyone know what are the prices dem chinese, guyanese and jamaicans working for compared to local labour?

The Raven

Postby The Raven » January 26th, 2016, 8:04 am

Guys I need some help in obtaining the history or current owner of a lot of land next to me.
How do I get the info?
Thanks.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 26th, 2016, 8:11 am

Throw up a shed on the land....u go see how quick the owner go reach...

Rofl

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » January 26th, 2016, 9:14 am

MD Marketers wrote:

You have the land?
Reasonably priced contractor. $400k-$700k. Chances are you will have to be there a lot.
Over priced contractor. $700-$1.2mil. Close your eyes till it's done.

391-4558 if you want more advice

Thanks allot MD!
Yes, it currently has a structure on is it that's gonna be destroyed.
So i was weighing my options on IF to build OR Buy(mortgage)
Building seems a WHOOOOLE lot less cheaper.
PLUS, i can have it done exactly the way i like)

Fearless

Postby Fearless » January 26th, 2016, 11:59 am

The Raven wrote:Guys I need some help in obtaining the history or current owner of a lot of land next to me.
How do I get the info?
Thanks.

Once you get the lot number, Legal Affairs (South Quay) will do a search for you, can't remember how much it is to do it though.