The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 20th, 2010, 4:07 pm

As i know some of you dont frequent the misc bargin center, and you guys would be the ones wanting one. I just posted My AppleTV for sale, if anyone is interested in it or using it as a HackMacMini you can nab it now :)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 20th, 2010, 4:24 pm

After purchasing an iPad from a local Apple Store a Denver-area man was jumped by thieves who ripped off most of his pinky finger whilst yanking the bag away from him.

The man who was purchasing the iPad for a colleague admits to not even really understanding the fuss with Apple's new product. After paying for the device he headed down the Apple stairs. The strings of the Apple bag were wrapped around his hand as he walked out.

"I get down to the bottom. Next thing I know I'm spun around and I see this kid, his rear end is almost at the ground, he's pulling this out of my hand. I never heard it coming. I never saw it coming. I just remember seeing this kid pulling, and pulling, and pulling, and pulling until finally he got off it this and it caught on this and took the flesh right off, and tendons and everything. There was nothing here but bone"

Denver police do have the whole thing on surveillance tape and will be sharing the footage soon in hopes of catching the thieves.

&<embed type='application/x-shockwave-flash' salign='l' flashvars='&titleAvailable=true&playerAvailable=true&searchAvailable=false&shareFlag=N&singleURL=http://kdvr.vidcms.trb.com/alfresco/service/edge/content/21653429-454c-41a7-a119-a9edd54c1e3f&propName=kdvr.com&hostURL=http://www.kdvr.com&swfPath=http://kdvr.vid.trb.com/player/&omAccount=triblocaltvglobal&omnitureServer=kdvr.com' allowscriptaccess='always' allowfullscreen='true' menu='true' name='PaperVideoTest' bgcolor='#ffffff' devicefont='false' wmode='transparent' scale='showall' loop='true' play='true' pluginspage='http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer' quality='high' src='http://kdvr.vid.trb.com/player/PaperVideoTest.swf' align='middle' height='450' width='300'></embed>

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 20th, 2010, 5:40 pm

interesting..thread

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » April 20th, 2010, 8:08 pm

^ oh shyt!

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 20th, 2010, 8:23 pm

2sigh my iPhone troubles are back.

No wifi networks are found on my 3g.

Postby M_2NR » April 20th, 2010, 9:20 pm

kurpal_v2, try the 30mins freezer trick? take of the phone. Put in a bag. Put in freezer for a while, remove. Leave for a while outside or in a cool room. and then after about 2hours boot her back up. It's supposed to "re-weld" minor imperfections in the solder :)

Got that issue on a 2G. Never was fixed tho.

Postby pugboy » April 20th, 2010, 9:21 pm

anybody know if there is an unlock for 3g with version 3.1.3 ?

Postby M_2NR » April 20th, 2010, 9:27 pm

shoulda check pages before man...

Was it jailbroken before? Try this if you were:
http://www.redmondpie.com/downgrade-iph ... -baseband/

Downgrade to 3.1.2 1st and then use redsn0w 0.9.4 to jailbreak and then try the above ;) Hopefully it's on the older Bootloader.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 20th, 2010, 10:33 pm

A second, pre-release version of iPhone OS 4.0 has been released to developers building apps designed for the new system, just weeks after Apple announced the initial beta.

The new beta of the upcoming 4.0 reference release includes "significant API additions" as well as a new tool that makes it easy to provision a device for development, developers familiar with the new software report.

The new APIs largely flesh out the new multitasking and background processing features related to audio, VoIP telephony, location services, and Task Completion. Apps can now request a ten minute period to complete a task, up from an initial five minutes.

The new build also includes a new animation effect in the multitasking user interface, which swipes the current app out of view to reveal the app the user chooses (below, from the Italian iPhoneHacks.it).

Improvements to GameKit (publicly branded as Game Center) and expanded support for Internet mail features are also rolled into the new release, as well as support for LLVM-GCC and Clang LLVM as new compiler options for iPhone development.

------

Gizmodo has posted teardown pictures and analysis of the iPhone 4G prototype they obtained.

There are a number of interesting facts gained from the dissection, the most important of which is more concrete confirmation (as if we needed any more) that this phone is from Apple. There are three separate places, inside the case, where APPLE is written prominently. Upon unscrewing the bottom two screws—just like with the 3GS—you can use a suction cup and pry off the back portion of the phone, not the front like on iFixit's 3GS teardown.

Take a look at a couple pics below for more...

------

Apple seems to have recently published a knowledge base article that strongly cautions users against jailbreaking their iPhone, iPad or iPod Touch.

In the knowledge base article, Apple warns users that such ‘unauthorized modification of iPhone OS has been a major source of instability, disruption of services, and other issues’.

According to Apple, jailbreaking iPhone OS could cause the following issues:

Device and application instability: Frequent and unexpected crashes of the device, crashes and freezes of built-in apps and third-party apps, and loss of data.

Unreliable voice and data: Dropped calls, slow or unreliable data connections, and delayed or inaccurate location data.

Disruption of services: Services such as Visual Voicemail, YouTube, Weather, and Stocks have been disrupted or no longer work on the device. Additionally, third-party apps that use the Apple Push Notification Service have had difficulty receiving notifications or received notifications that were intended for a different hacked device. Other push-based services such as MobileMe and Exchange have experienced problems synchronizing data with their respective servers.

Compromised security: Security compromises have been introduced by these modifications that could allow hackers to steal personal information, damage the device, attack the wireless network, or introduce malware or viruses.

Shortened battery life: The hacked software has caused an accelerated battery drain that shortens the operation of an iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch on a single battery charge.

Inability to apply future software updates: Some unauthorized modifications have caused damage to the iPhone OS that is not repairable. This can result in the hacked iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch becoming permanently inoperable when a future Apple-supplied iPhone OS update is installed.

For the 2009 rulemaking, Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF) had filed an exemption request with the U.S. Copyright Office to the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA) related to iPhone jailbreaking.

But Apple had informed the Copyright Office that the exception request by Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF) was not acceptable as the very act of jailbreaking the iPhone results in copyright infringement.

EFF's argument is that jailbreaking iPhone is protected under fair-use doctrines, and that the Copyright Office should grant an exemption because "the culture of tinkering (or hacking, if you prefer) is an important part of our innovation economy."

The ruling on the DMCA exemption is still pending and could be handed down at any time.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » April 21st, 2010, 8:23 am

to think that all apple hadda do is to open their closed market :shock:

simple :roll:

Imagine it........ life without jailbreaking.... (how it was "meant" to be)

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » April 21st, 2010, 10:54 am

nice read....

iPhone HD vs Nexus One

http://www.tipb.com/2010/04/21/iphone-h ... -showdown/

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 21st, 2010, 5:04 pm

Apple is working on a new travel check-in application that they are calling iTravel, according to Patently Apple.

Apple is obviously working with the Airlines to ensure that the iPhone will be up to standard when new ticketless systems roll out in the coming years. Apple's iTravel focuses on such matters as airline check-in and baggage identification, advanced electronic ID, car rentals, hotel and airline reservations and so forth.

For example, an NFC-enabled counter kiosk may communicate with the iPhone to purchase a transportation ticket and/or to check in for travel. The user may also use an electronic travel ticket and/or electronic identification at the counter kiosk to check in for travel, including checking in luggage. The electronic travel ticket may include a unique identifier, such as a digital code, which may be utilized to look up and/or alter information regarding a traveler's reservation in a networked database.

Patently Apple describes many of the other examples uses including Security Checkpoint, Boarding Gate Check, Reservation Functions, and Storing Identification.

Postby M_2NR » April 21st, 2010, 10:00 pm

boom!

http://linuxoniphone.blogspot.com/2010/ ... ly-in.html

Android on the iPhone..
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/5yO2KQHkt4A&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed>

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » April 22nd, 2010, 9:33 am

^^^^ yuh beat meh to it jed!!! weyyy

not sure if i wanna do it tho

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 22nd, 2010, 10:53 am

on a 2G too. Impressive.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 22nd, 2010, 11:44 am

The general look and feel of the prototype iPhone recently discovered and disassembled will likely be very similar to the final shipping product of the next-generation handset Apple will release this summer.

Citing sources familiar with Apple's fourth-generation iPhone, Daring Fireball's John Gruber revealed that the barcode affixed to the prototype device obtained by Gizmodo, which read "N90_DVT-GE4X_0493," gives insight into how far along Apple is in the design of its next-generation phone.

"'N90' is Apple's codename for the fourth-generation GSM iPhone, slated for release this June or July," Gruber wrote. "'DVT' stands for 'design verification test,' an Apple production milestone. The DVT milestone is very late in the game; based on this, I now believe that this unit very closely, if not exactly, resembles what Apple plans to release."

He went on to say that although Apple is extremely secretive about unreleased products, it simply must let the units be used off of its Cupertino, Calif., campus to be tested. Apple reportedly distributes dozens of near-final units for field testing months in advance. Gruber said this practice is even more widespread with the iPhone than other Apple-developed products, because of the extensive nature of cellular network testing.

"The same was true for the 3GS a year ago, and the 3G the year before that," he wrote. "The original iPhone was announced six months before it went on sale; in the interim between the January announcement and its debut in stores at the end of June, limited numbers of them were used for field testing."

Even Apple co-founder Steve Jobs himself was spotted with an iPhone in public before the device was formally released to the masses.

The fact that the next-generation prototype iPhone was smaller and more compact than the current iPhone 3GS gave Apple the ability to wrap the test device with an outer casing that made it appear to look like a current-generation device. The person who allegedly found the handset at a bar didn't realize it was wrapped in a case until the next day.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » April 22nd, 2010, 12:17 pm

gonna upload android on my iphone later :)

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » April 22nd, 2010, 1:09 pm

honestly... i real lost trying to install this android on my iphone............. anybody care to simplify??

Postby M_2NR » April 22nd, 2010, 3:48 pm

streetlifestyle, yuh alone deh sah. U understand what u gotta do right? After exams i'll do some reading up.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » April 22nd, 2010, 6:10 pm

yea i think i know now

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 22nd, 2010, 9:33 pm

Apple, Please Fix These Problems Before the New iPhone Comes Out

http://gizmodo.com/5520808/apple-please ... -comes-out

Postby M_2NR » April 22nd, 2010, 10:01 pm

streetlifestyle, make a guide :P i was reading it on my phone so i just browsed it thru. U hadda do any major patching?

I doubt it's simple as a Custom Restore.

EDIT: haha i now reading it, it's in the Readme in the tar file right? I can't get it downloaded :(

Postby M_2NR » April 23rd, 2010, 5:15 am

K so I did some reading up. Any of u with a 2G and want to risk bricking it?

K I found two tutorials.

The 1st one
http://masseymasseymassey.blogspot.com/ ... stall.html

and a supposidly easier one:
http://androidalot.com/modding/how-to-i ... iphone-2g/

but the 2nd one is mac vbox based. But it seems quite simple if u got a ubuntu full install. All you got to do is get Libusb running.

I can't wait to try this out. Sigh why do I have to have exams now.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » April 23rd, 2010, 8:57 am

corolla_2nr wrote:streetlifestyle, make a guide :P i was reading it on my phone so i just browsed it thru. U hadda do any major patching?

I doubt it's simple as a Custom Restore.

EDIT: haha i now reading it, it's in the Readme in the tar file right? I can't get it downloaded :(

Its actually quite simple... U jus need to download a couple things first.
Heres a guide

http://www.ipodtouchfans.com/forums/sho ... p?t=117201

Im still trying to get the .tar file downloaded so i can start :? :(

AND.... It works on 3g as well

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 23rd, 2010, 9:27 am

Is it just me or is the Push Doctor (notifications) not working as well or at all anymore?

Postby M_2NR » April 23rd, 2010, 10:24 am

streetlifestyle, lol look at my post above yours. :-)

looks like lots of fun. Make sure n get the updated one ...1a.tar.

From the blog it's 41MB. I got it to initiate on my iPhone and the speed was 14kB/s so I cancelled. I trying this may 13th tho. So u would be 1st.

SRASC, mines working great. I don't get some sometimes but this is due to two things. My lack of a constant data plan and sometimes the amount I get.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 23rd, 2010, 12:59 pm

A new survey has found that women are more likely to give out their phone number to men who have iPhones.

CultofMac reports that a Phones4U survey of 1,500 women found that 54% of them would be more likely to give their digits and date an iPhone owner than a non-iPhone owner and 37% said that owning an iPhone makes a man seem more reliable.

The survey also found that iPhone owners were better groomed, more likely to have a good sense of humor, and better at conversation.

“There’s just something about a man who’s good with computers that makes him more trustworthy,â€

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » April 23rd, 2010, 1:33 pm

^^^^^^^^ goes and asks hottest girl at the office for her phone number....

It works!!!!!!!!!!!!! :shock:

Postby M_2NR » April 23rd, 2010, 4:40 pm

SRASC, that's pretty messed up man. As soon as i reach home and got my wifi i got Push Spammed; Salaat alert, Facebook, etc. It's a 2G right? you removed PushFix before and stuff right? (I'd assume). My 2G didnt do it well the 1st time cuz i didnt removed PushFix nicely (some crap i did) and even my bluetooth wasnt functioning. iBluenova never connected. I had a pwnagetool 3.1.2 ipsw.
I use nimble and backed up my certs (cuz they were good ones from the doc) and then...

I decided to restore using a virgin 3.1.2 ipsw and used 0.9.4 redsn0w about 3 times :lol: (1st time Cyder2 damaged cydia filesize causing a mismatch i believe) and i used inject and injected my old certs. and voila! it worked nice after a reboot. And so does iBluenova (woohoo)

I'll make a baby guide on how to inject back certs. If you want a babied up one for nimble, i have one up, let me know. (it's quite easy)

Sorry about the essay :lol: :morning:

;)

streetlifestyle, i think ihackinjosh (owner of ihackintosh) might make a tutorial too for linux/iphone as well. i cant wait until may 12th. Although it's not fully functional it will be a bess project.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 23rd, 2010, 8:22 pm

Yea. At the time I 1st installed Push Doctor I didn't have any other push notification fixers installed. Yea its a 2G. As we all know it was a pain to get it work at 1st cause of the demand but then it eased up & I got through and it worked like clock work, but lately I was noticing that I was getting the push notifications late & now, not at all.

Update: Re did the entire Push Doctor install. It worked... but only for a few minutes after a reboot, basically the same results that the Push Notification fixes before Push Doctor did for me. Image