COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Carbon12

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 79237 (+898) cases, 2361 (+25) deaths, 13866 active, 63010 recovered in T&T

Postby Carbon12 » December 13th, 2021, 6:52 am

adnj wrote:What makes boosters more effective than the first two Covid jabs?

... Studies show that a booster dose increases the levels of antibodies significantly above the level seen after two doses, which some hope means waning immunity will occur more slowly after a third dose, though insufficient time has passed to determine if this is the case.

Early studies also suggest that the quality of antibodies is higher following a booster. The immune system continues to refine exactly which antibodies are selected and amplified based on subsequent encounters with the virus or vaccine, and studies suggest there is a broader, more potent immune response following a third dose.

There is also reason for some optimism that vaccines may hold up better against severe disease than against infection. The immune system has a second line of defence in T cells, which attack cells already infected. These tend to stick around longer and they recognise parts of the virus that are more highly conserved, meaning Omicron’s mutations are less likely to throw them off the scent. So if antibodies are not good enough to stave off infection, T-cells can swoop in to bring the disease under control before it makes a person seriously unwell.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/ ... covid-jabs

FB_IMG_1639392549238.jpg

I'm celebrating the fact that I haven't died as yet bcz the statistics show that I'm at risk or maybe others are at more risk because they are vaccinated and I'm not.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 79237 (+898) cases, 2361 (+25) deaths, 13866 active, 63010 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » December 13th, 2021, 7:09 am

FB_IMG_1639280599320.jpg

Postby j.o.e » December 13th, 2021, 7:14 am

hover11 wrote:.
FB_IMG_1639280599320.jpg

At this stage of the pandemic posts like this deserve a ban in my opinion. Discuss facts and stop posting misleading things.

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » December 13th, 2021, 7:21 am

j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:.FB_IMG_1639280599320.jpg

At this stage of the pandemic posts like this deserve a ban in my opinion. Discuss facts and stop posting misleading things.

Conformists such as yourself are just as dangerous. Maybe psuedo tyrant? This is a ole talk news forum bro lighten up. You mussbe does watch the govt/authority speak and take that as the gospel truth.

Postby hover11 » December 13th, 2021, 7:21 am

j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:.
FB_IMG_1639280599320.jpg

So you are saying you cannot get gullian Barre or myocarditis from any covid vaccine? Blood clots are no longer a thing in the AZ vaccine anymore? Anaphylaxis is not possible either? Those are the associated risks with taking such that's why you signed a waiver relinquishing liability when you took your shot, go take your booster and don't forget to sign your waiver :S

Postby adnj » December 13th, 2021, 7:31 am

Carbon12 wrote:I'm celebrating the fact that I haven't died as yet bcz the statistics show that I'm at risk or maybe others are at more risk because they are vaccinated and I'm not.

Estimates based on viral evolution forecast a 50% risk 17 months after a first infection without measures such as masking and vaccination.

Approximately 2% of infected individuals will die from any COVID infection. An additional 1.2% will be hospitalized and be discharged.

If unvaccinated, your risk of infection is between 3× (over 65 years) and 5× (all people) higher when compared to vaccinated people.

That being said, you will very likely survive the COVID-19 pandemic -- just as most of the world did during the much more deadly and widespread 1918 H1N1 influenza pandemic and similarly much of Europe during the Black Plague.

What will also happen? Mitigation efforts such as masking, social distancing, testing, and vaccinated-only restrictions; economic effects of increased health care costs, trade restrictions, business staffing and compliance costs.

Vaccine population hesitancy simply prolongs the negative consequences for nearly everyone. You will be unavoidably affected. How and how much depends on your personal health, lifestyle and financial resources.

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » December 13th, 2021, 7:39 am

adnj wrote:
Carbon12 wrote:I'm celebrating the fact that I haven't died as yet bcz the statistics show that I'm at risk or maybe others are at more risk because they are vaccinated and I'm not.

Estimates based on viral evolution forecast a 50% risk 17 months after a first infection without measures such as masking and vaccination.

Approximately 2% of infected individuals will die from any COVID infection. An additional 1.2% will be hospitalized and be discharged.

If unvaccinated, your risk of infection is between 3× (over 65 years) and 5× (all people) higher when compared to vaccinated people.

That being said, you will very likely survive the COVID-19 pandemic -- just as most of the world did during the much more deadly and widespread 1918 H1N1 influenza pandemic and similarly much of Europe during the Black Plague.

What will also happen? Mitigation efforts such as masking, social distancing, testing, and vaccinated-only restrictions; economic effects of increased health care costs, trade restrictions, business staffing and compliance costs.

Vaccine population hesitancy simply prolongs the negative consequences for nearly everyone. You will be unavoidably affected. How and how much depends on your personal health, lifestyle and financial resources.

Exactly my sentiments, we are basically setting the precedent to allow totalitarianism which in theory isn't the worst thing but it would be given the way in which all control measures are enforced (disproportionately), we are in for a wild ride. I say project 2030.

Postby hover11 » December 13th, 2021, 7:40 am

Carbon12 wrote:
adnj wrote:

Exactly my sentiments, we are basically setting the precedent to allow totalitarianism which in theory isn't the worst thing but it would be given the way in which all control measures are enforced (disproportionately), we are in for a wild ride. I say project 2030.
The final variant is communism

Postby j.o.e » December 13th, 2021, 7:42 am

Carbon12 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:.FB_IMG_1639280599320.jpg

Conformists such as yourself are just as dangerous. Maybe psuedo tyrant? This is a ole talk news forum bro lighten up. You mussbe does watch the govt/authority speak and take that as the gospel truth.

Do you think the cartoon represents even remotely the reality statistically ? Don’t bother me ….. who hadda dead go dead. Have a good day.

Postby adnj » December 13th, 2021, 8:05 am

Postby matr1x » December 13th, 2021, 8:32 am

st7 wrote:
matr1x wrote:How could an uninfected non vaccinated person pose a risk to a fully vax. Stop wasting ppl time

tell us how it cannot pose risk to both vaxxed (and unvaxxed).

If the cases are properly tracked and treated and minus external infection, then all should be fine.

And wait, if you vaccinated and still at risk, what was the point of getting vaccinated?

Postby timelapse » December 13th, 2021, 8:37 am

matr1x wrote:
st7 wrote:
matr1x wrote:How could an uninfected non vaccinated person pose a risk to a fully vax. Stop wasting ppl time

If the cases are properly tracked and treated and minus external infection, then all should be fine.

And wait, if you vaccinated and still at risk, what was the point of getting vaccinated?
A simple google search for "how vaccines work " should tell you why

Postby MaxPower » December 13th, 2021, 8:40 am

timelapse wrote:
matr1x wrote:
st7 wrote:

A simple google search for "how vaccines work " should tell you why

Lol exactly.

Slim needs to read a little more.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 13th, 2021, 8:44 am

... Studies show that a booster dose increases the levels of antibodies significantly above the level seen after two doses, which some hope means waning immunity will occur more slowly after a third dose, though insufficient time has passed to determine if this is the case.

Early studies also suggest that the quality of antibodies is higher following a booster. The immune system continues to refine exactly which antibodies are selected and amplified based on subsequent encounters with the virus or vaccine, and studies suggest there is a broader, more potent immune response following a third dose.

There is also reason for some optimism that vaccines may hold up better against severe disease than against infection. The immune system has a second line of defence in T cells, which attack cells already infected. These tend to stick around longer and they recognise parts of the virus that are more highly conserved, meaning Omicron’s mutations are less likely to throw them off the scent. So if antibodies are not good enough to stave off infection, T-cells can swoop in to bring the disease under control before it makes a person seriously unwell.

Why didn't they know/say this all along? Didn't they supposedly do trials on the vaccines and the vaccines were approved based on those trials? Now the entire premise on which it was approved has changed.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 13th, 2021, 8:46 am

And what about vaccines preventing new variants, if the vaccine not stopping spread, how is that working???

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 13th, 2021, 8:50 am

Astrazenneca and Pfizer effective against omicron?

Postby timelapse » December 13th, 2021, 8:59 am

Mmoney607 wrote:And what about vaccines preventing new variants, if the vaccine not stopping spread, how is that working???
I repeat my advice to matrix.
A simple google search for "how vaccines work" will answer your question

Postby adnj » December 13th, 2021, 9:02 am

Mmoney607 wrote:

Why didn't they know/say this all along? Didn't they supposedly do trials on the vaccines and the vaccines were approved based on those trials? Now the entire premise on which it was approved has changed.

Mmoney607 wrote:And what about vaccines preventing new variants, if the vaccine not stopping spread, how is that working???

THEY told you. YOU didn't listen.

Public information for nearly a year. Posted in this same thread in July. I will post it again just to be helpful.

viewtopic.php?p=10188813#p10188813

Pfizer CEO says third Covid vaccine dose likely needed within 12 months

Published Thu, Apr 15 2021

Key Points

Pfizer CEO Albert Bourla said people will “likely” need a third dose of a Covid-19 vaccine within 12 months of getting fully vaccinated.

He also said it’s possible people will need to get vaccinated against the coronavirus annually.

Pfizer CEO Albert Bourla said people will “likely” need a booster dose of a Covid-19 vaccine within 12 months of getting fully vaccinated. His comments were made public Thursday but were taped April 1.

Bourla said it’s possible people will need to get vaccinated against the coronavirus annually.

“A likely scenario is that there will be likely a need for a third dose, somewhere between six and 12 months and then from there, there will be an annual revaccination, but all of that needs to be confirmed. And again, the variants will play a key role,” he told CNBC’s Bertha Coombs during an event with CVS Health.

“It is extremely important to suppress the pool of people that can be susceptible to the virus,” Bourla said.

The comment comes after Johnson & Johnson CEO Alex Gorsky told CNBC in February that people may need to get vaccinated against Covid-19 annually, just like seasonal flu shots.

https://www.cnbc.com/2021/04/15/pfizer- ... onths.html
Last edited by adnj on December 13th, 2021, 9:02 am, edited 2 times in total.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 13th, 2021, 9:10 am

adnj wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

Public information for nearly a year.

Pfizer CEO says third Covid vaccine dose likely needed within 12 months

Published Thu, Apr 15 2021

Key Points

Pfizer CEO Albert Bourla said people will “likely” need a third dose of a Covid-19 vaccine within 12 months of getting fully vaccinated.

He also said it’s possible people will need to get vaccinated against the coronavirus annually.

Pfizer CEO Albert Bourla said people will “likely” need a booster dose of a Covid-19 vaccine within 12 months of getting fully vaccinated. His comments were made public Thursday but were taped April 1.

Bourla said it’s possible people will need to get vaccinated against the coronavirus annually.

“A likely scenario is that there will be likely a need for a third dose, somewhere between six and 12 months and then from there, there will be an annual revaccination, but all of that needs to be confirmed. And again, the variants will play a key role,” he told CNBC’s Bertha Coombs during an event with CVS Health.

“It is extremely important to suppress the pool of people that can be susceptible to the virus,” Bourla said.

The comment comes after Johnson & Johnson CEO Alex Gorsky told CNBC in February that people may need to get vaccinated against Covid-19 annually, just like seasonal flu shots.

https://www.cnbc.com/2021/04/15/pfizer- ... onths.html

This was in April 2021. The "trials" were done in the middle of 2020

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 13th, 2021, 9:11 am

timelapse wrote:

No allyuh was saying that. I don't need to Google anything. Explain it.

Postby adnj » December 13th, 2021, 9:22 am

Mmoney607 wrote:This was in April 2021. The "trials" were done in the middle of 2020

Mmoney607 wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Postby matr1x » December 13th, 2021, 10:13 am

You response answered nothing.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 13th, 2021, 10:20 am

Omicron killing people now.
RIP 2022

Postby adnj » December 13th, 2021, 10:51 am

Mmoney607 wrote:
timelapse wrote:

matr1x wrote:You response answered nothing.

Postby st7 » December 13th, 2021, 11:23 am

sufferers want to constantly be spoonfed information that has been repeated often, just lay back and do nothing while attempting to suck on the teats of society

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 13th, 2021, 11:26 am

Omicron is here in Trinidad guys.
RIP health care system..

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 13th, 2021, 11:26 am

st7 wrote:sufferers want to constantly be spoonfed information that has been repeated often, just lay back and do nothing while attempting to suck on the teats of society

You all made the claim, the burden of proof is on you.

Postby adnj » December 13th, 2021, 11:27 am

Mmoney607 wrote:
st7 wrote:sufferers want to constantly be spoonfed information that has been repeated often, just lay back and do nothing while attempting to suck on the teats of society

What claim, homebrew?

Postby st7 » December 13th, 2021, 11:31 am

Mmoney607 wrote:

you want us to explain why there are new variants and why the vaccines not preventing that? hover is that you?