:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 14th, 2016, 11:40 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Depends. Smoking,drinking,gambling,hoes? Could get all in one place most of the time. Which vice yuh want?

good 1 :lol:

if u want a bullet proof lifetime vice get d RECORD BRAND made in england or if u dont have need for something that good then chinese like ACE in bhags or whatever chinese cast iron brands out there but they cant take too much abuse or they will crack ......

Postby X_Factor » October 14th, 2016, 12:04 pm

Its hard to locate an english record vice.....if you do...dont stick
its now irwin record, also saw stanley vice selling in bhags
buy the largest one you can afford though

Postby pugboy » October 14th, 2016, 12:05 pm

Old hardwares usually have stuff like that and clamps parked up somewhere collecteing dust

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » October 14th, 2016, 12:10 pm

Khanico in gasparillo has those at least last couple weeks. They had record, eclipse and Sata. I bought a Sata and it's been taking real abuse since

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 14th, 2016, 2:13 pm

X_Factor wrote:Its hard to locate an english record vice.....if you do...dont stick
its now irwin record, also saw stanley vice selling in bhags
buy the largest one you can afford though

Yup Record now owned by Irwin. Still good quality tho. I have a 6 inch and it takes abuse.

Only way to get an original english Record is used or in an ole hardware pack down in a corner where somebody forget.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 14th, 2016, 3:01 pm

The Tool Store has some large Stanley vices.

Postby X_Factor » October 14th, 2016, 3:17 pm

just changed one panel to 4ft led....
the guy gave me 2 for 100.00 which i couldnt complain
6500k colour
1800 lm
18w

one panel with led one with regular fluorescent and you can easily see the led outshines the fluor . with brightness intensity colour and spread
gonna change out 3 more panels tmr

Postby *KRONIK* » October 15th, 2016, 3:15 pm

Yaaaayyyy

More joymentz

Postby pugboy » October 15th, 2016, 5:17 pm

where you bought ?

X_Factor wrote:just changed one panel to 4ft led....
the guy gave me 2 for 100.00 which i couldnt complain
6500k colour
1800 lm
18w

one panel with led one with regular fluorescent and you can easily see the led outshines the fluor . with brightness intensity colour and spread
gonna change out 3 more panels tmr

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » October 15th, 2016, 5:18 pm

Spring clamps anyone?

Re: RE: Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby *KRONIK* » October 15th, 2016, 5:26 pm

racedriverpro wrote:Spring clamps anyone?

Automotive?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » October 15th, 2016, 5:30 pm

nick639 wrote:

For shocks??? Double R auto has

Thanks...whats the average price and location....am from North side. A borrow would be nice
*KRONIK* wrote:

Automotive?

Yea..and congrats on the best impacter. Have been using one for the past week..I think there I magic in the battery.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 15th, 2016, 5:34 pm

I have a set here...but i in sangre grande if u want them borrowed

Impact is a beast!

Postby *KRONIK* » October 15th, 2016, 6:44 pm

Btw: anybody have any dewalt 20v 1.5 or 2.0Ah batteries to sell?

Postby *KRONIK* » October 16th, 2016, 10:31 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Such joyyyyy

So...i am a bit disappointed in the reciprocating saw's battery use

I took my two 4Ah batteries both with 2/3 battery life with the saw to cut off the tops on 4plastic barrels.

I was only able to get 2 finished.

The 4 position blade clamp was handy to get the right angle to cut. I was able to get a smoother cut with the blade sideways than up/down.

On another note: them spade bits with the impact driver is "hot knife on butter" kinda business.

Postby X_Factor » October 16th, 2016, 10:35 am

i dont think you should use the spade bit on the impacter
dont think it designed for that kinda use and may dull them faster than normal

Postby *KRONIK* » October 16th, 2016, 10:52 am

Yea....i just used them to make starter holes in the barrel tops so the saw blade could fit.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » October 16th, 2016, 11:07 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:I have a set here...but i in sangre grande if u want them borrowed

Impact is a beast!

Cool... might have to accept that offer. If u are passing thru arima tomorrow that will be ideal. Don't mind spending a little on a pair cuz it's a good tool to have....

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby *KRONIK* » October 17th, 2016, 5:42 am

racedriverpro wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:I have a set here...but i in sangre grande if u want them borrowed

Impact is a beast!

Cool... might have to accept that offer. If u are passing thru arima tomorrow that will be ideal. Don't mind spending a little on a pair cuz it's a good tool to have....

Call me today

708-0101

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 19th, 2016, 11:17 am

Postby Chimera » October 19th, 2016, 1:50 pm

every week i does go on ebay to look for one of these and add to watch list and wish list and i never could decide to buy it lol

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-RAMSET-T3-M ... Swll1WuQQo

Postby Chimera » October 19th, 2016, 7:40 pm

Milwaukee

Postby pugboy » October 19th, 2016, 7:41 pm

looking for a random orbital sander
will check the reviews on the makita whs selling

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » October 21st, 2016, 9:57 am

So my search for a straight edge continues, i have used a 8 foot length of plywood and it gives ok results. But will rather a metal edge than can stand up to abuse and will come in handy when using the router. Are 2x2 square metal (not sure if thats the proper name)pipes straight enough. What other ideas have you all come up other than buying a clamp guide on amazon.

btw panel sled is very handy. Eventually i want to build a 8x4 sled. :)
Also what other jigs you all find that are helpful. Gonna make a jointing jig next
WP_20161016_003.jpg

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » October 21st, 2016, 9:59 am

pugboy wrote:looking for a random orbital sander
will check the reviews on the makita whs selling

check Allied, i think i saw a bosch for around 600

car

Postby car » October 21st, 2016, 10:38 am

nareshseep wrote:So my search for a straight edge continues, i have used a 8 foot length of plywood and it gives ok results. But will rather a metal edge than can stand up to abuse and will come in handy when using the router. Are 2x2 square metal (not sure if thats the proper name)pipes straight enough. What other ideas have you all come up other than buying a clamp guide on amazon.

btw panel sled is very handy. Eventually i want to build a 8x4 sled. :)
Also what other jigs you all find that are helpful. Gonna make a jointing jig next
WP_20161016_003.jpg

What straight edge u looking for and to do what?
That wooden table top on the table saw- is that fixed to the table saw?

Postby pugboy » October 21st, 2016, 1:24 pm

2x2 for 8ft won't be straight
Maybe 4-5ft

Will flex plus probably won't be exactly straight since steel is usually sold in a big horizontal bundle moved by a forklift and flexes all how

Postby X_Factor » October 21st, 2016, 5:23 pm

go lotec
you can get a solid piece of aluminum to whatever length you want
wont flex and light weight

Postby pugboy » October 21st, 2016, 6:36 pm

Btw, doing woodwork indoors like that is not the best for your health.
I used to do a lot of that and could tolerate being covered head to toe with dust.
Last year or so I can no longer tolerate even small amounts of dust.

I use an Oneida dust deputy cyclone with a shopvac, works fantastic
You can build a dust cyclone out of a traffic cone for cheap.
Laughlin has a sale on now and there is a decent size shopvac for $600 I think.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 22nd, 2016, 12:15 pm

imo ply\mdf factory edge is pretty str8

aluminum edge is very good too

for 4ft cross ripping i use a good quality level & 2 spring clamps , doubt u will get more str8 than dat ...