Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby sharkman121 » September 29th, 2011, 10:52 am

Dean i think i gonna buy some gate valves to replace the ball valves i have on the overflow. Not getting the proper fine tuning of the ball valve in order to balance the water at a constant level in the overflow. So right now water mixing with air where the overflow connects to the piping so i having air bubbles coming back to the main tank.

At least i think this is why im having microbubbles because everything else is well sealed. I knew gate valves would give you more adjustment, i shouldve bought them first time.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 29th, 2011, 12:43 pm

do you have a piece of pvc pipe coming strait up to the top in your overflow box?
i running ball valves with no problems
Last edited by HondaB20B on September 29th, 2011, 1:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sharkman121 » September 29th, 2011, 12:46 pm

it doesnt come straight to the top, remember the tank drillled below so the pvc extends about 3 inches over the hole at the bottom. On the right and left overflows.

Ill try n take a pic when i get home.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 29th, 2011, 1:21 pm

sharkman121 wrote:it doesnt come straight to the top, remember the tank drillled below so the pvc extends about 3 inches over the hole at the bottom. On the right and left overflows.

Ill try n take a pic when i get home.

you real harden yuh know....................
i told you some time before on d forum to extend d pvc pipe to nearly 3-4" to the top. before you install it though, you drill a set of 3/16-1/4 holes to approx 3/4 d length of it. (so d section with the holes go be to the upper part in the sump)
In this way, when you trottle d water flow, water will be high up in your overflow, and you wont get the water falling from so high creating the bubbles and sound wise, it wont sound so hard like the niagra falls. Right now my water in my overflow is about 2-3" from the top of the overflow

Postby sharkman121 » September 29th, 2011, 3:55 pm

gosh fadda yuh go beat mih

trinigirl

Postby trinigirl » September 29th, 2011, 4:30 pm

sharkman121 wrote:eeet fat??
d discuss n dem nah.. :|

What yuh mean if it fat?

Thanks Honda, I sent a PM.

Yodins

Postby Yodins » September 29th, 2011, 4:43 pm

tecpure wrote:the Aquarium Fish Association of Trinidad and Tobago will be holding its first ever aquarium and ponds expo very soon all are welcome to the expo also there will be members of other aquarium fish association from different country eg the U.S. and many more and on the 2 week time there will a meeting all are welcome i will let you all know more as time goes by feel free to post what you think

where and when? any admission fees?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 29th, 2011, 5:03 pm

trinigirl wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:eeet fat??
d discuss n dem nah.. :|

What yuh mean if it fat?

Thanks Honda, I sent a PM.

no scene

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 29th, 2011, 6:02 pm

sharkman121 wrote:gosh fadda yuh go beat mih

no, is just yuh doh like tuh listen or take advise 8-) 8-)

tecpure

Postby tecpure » September 29th, 2011, 7:43 pm

hi guys and good night to all sharkman the aquarium & ponds expo is not only about fresh water fishes or fresh water aquariums the expo is for every one in the hobby yodins there are admission fees to be a member of the aquarium fish association of trinidad and tobago also for the expo there are no entry fees as for where and when i will let you all know also anyone who would like to be part of the expo or the aquarium fish association feel free to to let me know

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 29th, 2011, 7:43 pm

HELLO EVERYONE, MY NAME IS HONDAB20B AND I AM A REEF ADDICT!!!!!!!!

:D :D :D :D :D

tecpure

Postby tecpure » September 29th, 2011, 11:37 pm

THERE ARE NO ADMISSION FESS TO BE A MEMBER OF THE AQUARIUM FISH ASSOCIATION OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO ( mistake made in last post)

Postby sharkman121 » September 30th, 2011, 8:02 am

HondaB20B wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:gosh fadda yuh go beat mih

no, is just yuh doh like tuh listen or take advise 8-) 8-)

so u dont think i asked u because i remember u was d one who told me about it last time? :roll:

relax

in other news, the Red Slime remover works pretty well. Put it in the tank in the night...by morning all traces of cyanobacteria gone.

+1 for this product.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 30th, 2011, 9:44 am

whah happen with reef central, yuh doh post there again
:D :lol: ...........................................................
getting rid of the cyno is not your problem now yuh know. Its keeping it from coming back. you need to cut down on the amount of food you feeding and stop totally on the products, also increase circulation in the tank and i dont mean adding more koralias. buy pumps that have more gallons per output. experiment by bouncing the flow of the glass that you get proper circulation.
jus now yuh go make yuh tank look like if is pumps yuh mining :D

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » September 30th, 2011, 10:25 pm

goodnight fellas i need some help i get a piece of live rock from tobago an it was in the sun for about 1-2mths hw do i go about curing it and making it safe to put in my tank????

another problem i have is that my ph not goin above 7.7 and i using this kent marine buffer and it almost finish can you guys help me asap????

and i am setting up a 8 foot tank with a 5 foot sump sum guidance would be greatly apprecitated

Postby sharkman121 » September 30th, 2011, 11:11 pm

HondaB20B wrote:whah happen with reef central, yuh doh post there again
getting rid of the cyno is not your problem now yuh know. Its keeping it from coming back. you need to cut down on the amount of food you feeding and stop totally on the products, also increase circulation in the tank and i dont mean adding more koralias. buy pumps that have more gallons per output. experiment by bouncing the flow of the glass that you get proper circulation.

:lol: nah i have enough flow now, 4 pumps but they well hidden cuz of the black blackground and black pumps. i got the 2 programmable wavemakers earlier this week to add even more flow. i knew i had a circulation problem before.

Nah i dont overfeed at all, and i dont overdose or even dose much products at all but i was definitely lacking flow before.

yep i be on reef central everyday.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 1st, 2011, 6:27 am

sharkman121 wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:whah happen with reef central, yuh doh post there again

:lol: nah i have enough flow now, 4 pumps but they well hidden cuz of the black blackground and black pumps. i got the 2 programmable wavemakers earlier this week to add even more flow. i knew i had a circulation problem before.

Nah i dont overfeed at all, and i dont overdose or even dose much products at all but i was definitely lacking flow before.

yep i be on reef central everyday.

well then you good to go............

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 1st, 2011, 2:04 pm

so sharkman, whats d next step now. Heard Raj bring in yuh chiller? yuh know yuh will have to upgrade your pump now.

Postby sharkman121 » October 1st, 2011, 3:55 pm

Have a 1500gph iwaki pump there if i need it. Next step is really maintaining aquarium clarity and parameters and keeping it phosphate free till the arrival of the chiller and coral.

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » October 1st, 2011, 4:15 pm

fellas i need some help i get a piece of live rock from tobago an it was in the sun for about 1-2mths hw do i go about curing it and making it safe to put in my tank????

another problem i have is that my ph not goin above 7.7 and i using this kent marine buffer and it almost finish can you guys help me asap????

and i am setting up a 8 foot tank with a 5 foot sump sum guidance would be greatly apprecitated

Postby sharkman121 » October 1st, 2011, 4:34 pm

eternal audio wrote:fellas i need some help i get a piece of live rock from tobago an it was in the sun for about 1-2mths hw do i go about curing it and making it safe to put in my tank????

here's a decent article on how to cure live rock
http://www.livestockusa.org/CURING.html

As for the ph, what test kit are you using? Post some pics of yrs setup right now.

Google is yr best friend as well, do a search also on many marine aquarium sites as well, theyre very helpful. Thats how i learn alot of stuff as well.

http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthrea ... +live+rock

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » October 1st, 2011, 6:45 pm

anyone know where i can get some Pacu's to buy ???

Postby sharkman121 » October 1st, 2011, 7:06 pm

^ chai's had some also Wazir in aranguez.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 1st, 2011, 9:54 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
eternal audio wrote:fellas i need some help i get a piece of live rock from tobago an it was in the sun for about 1-2mths hw do i go about curing it and making it safe to put in my tank????

here's a decent article on how to cure live rock http://www.livestockusa.org/CURING.html

ITS BEEN OUT OF THE WATER FOR NEARLY 2MTHS SO IT CANT BE LIVE ROCK AGAIN

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 1st, 2011, 9:59 pm

FIRST THINGS FIRST..........
1) WHY ARE YOU USING A BUFFER IN THE FIRST PLACE.
2) ARE YOU USING RO/DI WATER.
3) WHAT SALT ARE YOU USING.
4) DO YOU ALREADY HAVE THE TOBAGO ROCK IN THE TANK?

Postby sharkman121 » October 1st, 2011, 10:54 pm

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 1st, 2011, 11:26 pm

you realy need to do more water changes............ those rocks.

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » October 1st, 2011, 11:49 pm

HondaB20B wrote:

FIRST THINGS FIRST..........
1) WHY ARE YOU USING A BUFFER IN THE FIRST PLACE.
2) ARE YOU USING RO/DI WATER.
3) WHAT SALT ARE YOU USING.
4) DO YOU ALREADY HAVE THE TOBAGO ROCK IN THE TANK?

i went in d mall n i ask one a my padner n he say da kent marine will raise d ph
i using rain water currently i will get a ro/di unit next mth
i using tetra marine salt and the rock from tobago out of water currently

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » October 1st, 2011, 11:51 pm

sharkman i using tetra ph kit and instant ocean nitrite and ammonia kit and i will post sum pics of my 3 ft soon d 8ft tank nw going up on d stand

Postby sharkman121 » October 2nd, 2011, 12:06 am

eternal audio wrote:sharkman i using tetra ph kit and instant ocean nitrite and ammonia kit and i will post sum pics of my 3 ft soon d 8ft tank nw going up on d stand

Ok but really think you should upgrade yr test kits. It may cost more but brands such as Salifert, Elos and even API would be alot more reliable. And test kits DO have expiry dates.

Is yr 3ft a fish only or a reef tank? If its a fish only u need not worry about pH that much. I say check yr parameters again with another test kit to verify yr results.

Check out the links i posted previously, ull get some good reading material on how to cure liverock, seed dead rock what to use, how long it takes etc.