Postby A172 » September 4th, 2008, 12:56 pm

so allyuh feel the 3G go sell down here rite now? :|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 4th, 2008, 7:59 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I've seen some nasty cases of using SIM unlocks that get the unlock SIM card stuck in the phone and cant come out -

I kinda prefer the software unlock method

The Iphone have a slide in sim?

the SIM goes into a tray that you slide in

Postby Monk BANzai » September 4th, 2008, 9:41 pm

still say its the best phoner i;ve pwned.....tho next week i'll know when i get the BB BOLD.....
ImageImageImage

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 9th, 2008, 10:47 am

Apple to Refresh Entire iPod Family?
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=1806

Apple will announce an entire refresh to its iPod family according to some last minute sources.

AppleInsider has been told that a new version of the iPod shuffle will be available in five colors, that an update to the iPod classic will be available in two colors (black and silver), and that the new iPod touch will look very similar to the currently version and be in only one color.

These same sources say the new iPod nano will be available in 9 colors and include an orientation sensor. This sensor would provide landscape mode for video and coverflow. One source suggested that the iPod would play in shuffle mode when the user shook the iPod.

MacRumors has been told that the new iPod nano will come in three new colors: Purple, Yellow, and Orange. They were also told that the nano would be available in 8GB and 16GB models, while the iPod touch remains 8GB, 16GB and 32GB capacities.

CrunchGear has been told the iPod classic will come in a 120GB model.

It is also reported that the new iPods should be available in stores today!

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 9th, 2008, 4:05 pm

This is a summary of the new products and features introduced at the Apple Let's Rock Event.

iTunes 8
- High Definition TV shows: $1.99 for SD. $2.99 for HD.
- NBC returning to iTunes with shows in both HD and SD.
- iTunes 8 will be available today
- Genius feature allows you to create playlists from songs in your library that go great together.

iPod classic
- 120GB classic will replace the 80GB and 160GB.
- $249

iPod nano
- Thinnest ipod ever
- Features enhanced interface
- Has an accelerometer
- Genius playlist within nano
- Aluminum with curved glass
- Shake iPod to shuffle
- Rotate iPod for landscape view
- Plays 24hrs of music, 4hrs of video
- Environmentally safer
- 8 different colors will be available
- $149/8GB. $199/16GB.

iPod touch
- Thinner, Stainless steel
- Features volume controls for built in speaker
- Genius playlist
- Nike+iPod receiver built in
- 36hrs of music, 6hrs of video
- 8GB/$229. 16GB/$299. 32GB/$399

iPhone 2.1 Firmware
- To be released this Friday
- Significantly better battery life, fewer call drops, bug fixes, faster backups to itunes, no app crashes.
- Free

Apple In-Ear Headphones
- Redesign In-Ear Headphones
- Two drivers in each earpiece
- $79

Apple Earphones
The Apple Earphones with Remote and Mic take the acclaimed Apple iPod Earphones and add a control capsule, located on the cable of the right earpiece, that includes a microphone and three buttons.
- $29

iPod Shuffle
- 4 new colors
- 1GB/$49, 2GB/$69

Postby Maserati » September 9th, 2008, 5:24 pm

pretty colours

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 9th, 2008, 6:23 pm

Last edited by SRASC on September 11th, 2008, 9:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 10th, 2008, 10:58 am

Wonder what was the problem?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 11th, 2008, 9:04 am

iPod 2.1 offers promise for Friday's 'big' iPhone software update
http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/08 ... pdate.html

Apple on Friday will unleash iPhone Software v2.1, a major bug fix release for all iPhone owners that will include a number of other improvements that iPod touch users are discovering as part of yesterday's similarly number iPod touch update.

Steve Jobs wrote:The [iPhone] 2.1 software update is a big update. It fixes lots of bugs. You'll get fewer call drops; you'll get significantly improved battery life for most customers.

In addition, Jobs said the update will patch a number of bugs related to third-party App Store applications, namely crashes experienced by those users who've installed a large number of apps. Backing up to iTunes will be "dramatically faster," he added.

Meanwhile, some of the other "great new performance enhancements" that Jobs alluded to, but did not describe, are being discovered by first-generation iPod touch owners who've just installed iPod touch 2.1, which will be very similar to Friday's free iPhone Software 2.1 update.

One AppleInsider forum member remarked that he was "blown away" by the speed at which App Store applications are able to update themselves after applying the 2.1 update. The process seemed to have sped up fivefold, he said. What's more, icons of updated applications now retain their pre-set position on the Touch's home screen, rather than being thrust to the end of the home screen, where they previously needed to be forcibly repositioned by the user.

Another forum member notes that a second line of information, containing artist and album info, is visible when viewing songs. The responsiveness of the iPod application has also seen improvements, and a longer scrub bar makes it easier to scan through songs, he said. The app's 'shuffle' and 'continuous play' buttons have also been repositioned.

Separately, Wired has highlighted changes to the iPod app's Podcast manager. A completely filled blue dot next to a podcast subscription serves as a notification that a new episode is available, while a half dot means that a user hasn't finished listening to a particular episode.
___
iTunes 8 + Pwnage = Error 1600
http://www.modmyifone.com/forums/news/3 ... 600-a.html

After upgrading my iTunes to 8.0 on my Mac (and reports on a PC also) and DFU restoring to a custom built firmware I get error 1600. I have tried to downgrade back to 7.7.1 and STILL get error 1600. I have seen scattered reports of similar issues. Quickpwn still works because it doesn't go through iTunes. Everyone please stay tuned for further details. If you plan to use pwnage do NOT upgrade to iTunes 8.0 yet.

Conclusion - if you have updated to iTunes 8, use quickpwn to jailbreak and download bootneuter from Cydia to unlock if needed.

Yeo

Postby Yeo » September 11th, 2008, 9:11 am

What's more, icons of updated applications now retain their pre-set position on the Touch's home screen, rather than being thrust to the end of the home screen, where they previously needed to be forcibly repositioned by the user.

:mrgreen:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 12th, 2008, 8:48 am

Apple has posted an official support document to resolve the Blue Screen of Death errors that some users experienced when using iTunes 8 and Windows Vista.

Symptoms
After installing iTunes 8 for Windows, some users may see a blue screen error message when connecting iPhone or iPod to a Windows Vista computer. In some cases, the computer may immediately restart when connecting iPhone or iPod to the computer.

Solution
1. Disconnect your iPhone or iPod from Windows Vista.

2. Uninstall iTunes and Apple Mobile Device Support

* For Classic View
1. Choose Start > Control Panel > Programs and Features.
2. First select Apple Mobile Device Support, click Uninstall.
3. Select iTunes, click Uninstall.

* For Control Panel Home View
1. Choose Start > Control Panel > Programs > Uninstall a Program.
3. Select iTunes and click Uninstall.

3. Restart the computer.

4. Re-download and install the updated iTunes 8 installer from www.apple.com/itunes/download.

Important: Do not use the iTunes8Setup or iTunes864Setup file you previously downloaded.
__
Well, 2.1 Firmware is to be released today for the iPhone. It was already released for the iPod Touch on Tuesday after Apple’s “Let’s Rockâ€

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 12th, 2008, 8:52 am

Apple has posted an official support document to resolve the Blue Screen of Death errors that some users experienced when using iTunes 8 and Windows Vista.

Symptoms
After installing iTunes 8 for Windows, some users may see a blue screen error message when connecting iPhone or iPod to a Windows Vista computer. In some cases, the computer may immediately restart when connecting iPhone or iPod to the computer.

Solution
1. Disconnect your iPhone or iPod from Windows Vista.

2. Uninstall iTunes and Apple Mobile Device Support

* For Classic View
1. Choose Start > Control Panel > Programs and Features.
3. Select iTunes, click Uninstall.

* For Control Panel Home View
1. Choose Start > Control Panel > Programs > Uninstall a Program.
3. Select iTunes and click Uninstall.

3. Restart the computer.

4. Re-download and install the updated iTunes 8 installer from http://www.apple.com/itunes/download.

Important: Do not use the iTunes8Setup or iTunes864Setup file you previously downloaded.

Wonder what was the problem?

I guess that was the problem. I didn't know there was one, my only gripe with iTunes 8 on my Vista laptop was not being able to find certain features (since found).

Postby tr1ad » September 12th, 2008, 9:08 am

woi i see rs200 theme on cydia

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 12th, 2008, 10:40 am

iPhone Firmware 2.1

Update includes:

Decrease in call set-up failures and dropped calls
Significantly better battery life for most users
Dramatically reduced time to backup to iTunes
Improved email reliability, notably fetching email from POP and Exchange accounts
Faster installation of 3rd party applications
Fixed bugs causing hangs and crashes for users with lots of third party applications
Improved performance in text messaging
Faster loading and searching of contacts
Improved accuracy of the 3G signal strength display
Repeat alert up to two additional times for incoming text messages
Option to wipe data after ten failed passcode attempts
Genius playlist creation

For 3G iPhone
http://appldnld.apple.com.edgesuite.net ... store.ipsw

For 2G iPhone
http://appldnld.apple.com.edgesuite.net ... store.ipsw

NB: If you have a jailbroken phone or if your phone is unlocked.....DO NOT UPDATE....until we get word from the Devs
Last edited by SRASC on September 12th, 2008, 11:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby tr1ad » September 12th, 2008, 10:53 am

egad....

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 12th, 2008, 11:29 am

Apparently you can upgrade to 2.1 right now. You will loose the jailbreak but it will remain unlocked.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=561387

Personally I think this is for Pwnage Tool users though.

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » September 12th, 2008, 4:08 pm

despite SRACS's idea not for me to update to 2.1 i did it seein that i harldy ever listen to him...lol..jk... an im happy to say its working jus fine... thanks for believing in me scott..

p.s. flow rules blink sucks :p

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 13th, 2008, 11:06 am

Pwnage Tool & QuickPwn for 2.1 firmware released (Mac)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 13th, 2008, 12:47 pm

mitch wrote:Pwnage Tool & QuickPwn for 2.1 firmware released (Mac)

* PwnageTool 2.1 for Mac OS X via Bittorent - download here
* QuickPwn 1.1 for Mac OS X via Bittorrent - download here

Direct Downloads QuickPwn

* http://daten.gorgont.de/downloads/iphon ... wn_1.1.dmg
* http://www.dayofdefeat.org/QuickPwn_1.1.dmg
* http://www.eltonno.eu/QuickPwn_1.1.dmg
* http://69.73.148.215/~evasive/downloads ... wn_1.1.dmg

Direct Downloads PwnageTool

* http://www.talentgrouplabs.com/download ... ol_2.1.dmg
* http://www.dayofdefeat.org/PwnageTool_2.1.dmg
* http://daten.gorgont.de/downloads/iphon ... ol_2.1.dmg
* http://www.eltonno.eu/PwnageTool_2.1.dmg
* http://alekserviz.com/adamov/PwnageTool ... ol_2.1.dmg
* http://rs402.rapidshare.com/files/14496 ... ol_2.1.dmg
* http://69.73.148.215/~evasive/downloads ... ol_2.1.dmg

Also, a few words from the iPhone Dev Team:

[quote="iPhone Dev Team"]Some of the popular press and blogs have been backing the opposition. :-)

While criticism and competition is fine it should be reported correctly, with all the facts. and certainly minus the FUD. Do you guys think we are “less and less relevant with each passing dayâ€
Last edited by SRASC on September 13th, 2008, 1:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 13th, 2008, 1:23 pm

iPhone Dev Team wrote:We would just like to point out that that there are lots of fake sites using the QuickPwn name, these muppets don’t know anything special, and they don’t have anything unique. They are vultures that sit on the domain names and plagiarize content and information in the hope that you donate to them, or click the google ads.

As we’ve mentioned before we don’t accept donations and we certainly don’t allow ads on our site, anyone who asks for donations in our name is lying, end of story.

So we would recommend that you stay away from badly designed chaotic sites (especially ones of a monochrome variety) that capitalize on the name of our tools.

Spammers should also watch out (even if they are part of the extended iPhone community). Like any decent blog we do not moderate our comments, we let the criticism flow alongside the praise but we certainly do filter on spamwords and then decide if they get posted. Play nice people, spamming just isn’t cool.

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » September 13th, 2008, 5:01 pm

sucessfully running iphone 2.1 unlocked activated and ... JAILBROKEN... YAY...:)... once again blink sucks

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 13th, 2008, 5:49 pm

upgraded to 2.1 as well. hopefully it really improves battery life...

now back to spore! :twisted:

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » September 13th, 2008, 7:12 pm

hey mitch wat lvl u reached in spore... i luv da game

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 14th, 2008, 2:23 pm

zscrugby wrote:sucessfully running iphone 2.1 unlocked activated and ... JAILBROKEN... YAY...:)... once again blink sucks

& this was done by...?

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » September 14th, 2008, 6:14 pm

by skill scotty....and with these instructions... it seems a bit long but it isnt an its easy to do..

http://www.iphonehacks.com/2008/09/firmare21hacked.html

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 15th, 2008, 9:08 am

Cmw, creator of winpwn, has updated his website with information regarding WinPwn 3.0 which includes iPhone firmware 2.1 support.

Cmw wrote:It's been very busy for me recently at work and I haven't had much time to spend on WinPwn.But i'm hoping that planet/squpid and I can get the latest version out soon. I will keep you updated!

\Cmw

In the meantime there is a method to jailbreak/unlock 1st-gen iPhones described in this link Its kinda complicated though.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 15th, 2008, 8:20 pm

Flutter: Send MMS's from your iPhone for free

iTunes App Store Download Link

Flutter is an iPhone App developed by JuiceCaster that lets you send a picture message to any mobile number in your iPhone's address book.
In addition, if you have an iPhone 3G, you can also attach your location (geo-tag) to your message.

You need to first register which is free.

After you have logged in, you can compose a message and attach an existing picture from your iPhone's camera roll or even take a picture from the app using iPhone's camera.
You can then send the picture message to recipients directly from your iPhone's address book.
Flutter doesn’t send the picture message directly from your iPhone, the iPhone app actually uploads your message to its servers and then sends an SMS to the recipient with a link to view your picture, so it can be viewed in a mobile browser. So for an iPhone user the cost of sending the picture message is nothing as Flutter is a free iPhone app and the cost of the SMS is incurred by JuiceCaster.
Flutter currently does not support the ability to receive picture messages which would have been ideal, however they have mentioned on their blog that if there's enough demand for the feature, they will think of adding the feature in a future release.

You can checkout the screen shots of Flutter below:
Image Image

I personally don't care/use MMS too much so it doesn't matter to me so much. But if there is a way for someone to get 1 for free in the rare instance I may need it, then why not?
___
The Apple iConsole?

Apple is making some strides into the gaming arena with the iPhone, iPod Touch, and the App Store, but could they be planning a bigger entry into the console market? After all, Microsoft did it with the original Xbox and they have definitely been successful in establishing a strong brand. Is Apple next?

Don Reisinger from CNET took a look at the possibility and brings up a few good points. Most notably, that Apple "could make a splash in the video game business (and why it possibly will) is because it commands the kind of hype and respect that no other company in the space does."

Apple hype is legendary with die hard fans buying new revisions of every product and lining up for days to be the first one with an iPhone. Could this translate into a gaming business?

If you recall, Apple claimed that the iPod Touch was the best portable gaming device at their recent "Let's Rock" event. That's quite a challenge to the DS and PSP and most people tend to agree that the iPod Touch doesn't compare to Nintendo or Sony's offerings as far as gaming goes.

Apple, as a hardware company, could benefit from having another piece of hardware in the household. Would developers follow? Historically, Apple and game developers don't exactly get along, but they have been bringing more and more games to OSX at the same time as the PC versions release.

Eventually, Apple has to get tired of letting Microsoft have the Xbox 360, right? Can you imagine the Apple Console vs. Xbox 360 commercials? They will be so glorious.

Do you think Apple will ever get into the console business? We aren't too sure, but we also aren't too sure about when Apple is going to stop entering new markets.

(That would be awesome should Apple enter video gaming. I can see the iPhone wirelessly becoming your controller lol)

'Apple iBox'

Apple Bandai Pippin (new name iPippin perhaps?)
Last edited by SRASC on September 15th, 2008, 8:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 15th, 2008, 8:48 pm

iPod/iPhone Firmware Downloads
http://www.felixbruns.de/iPod/firmware/

iPod classic
iPod touch
iPod nano
iPod shuffle
iPod mini

iPhone
iPhone 3G

Postby pugboy » September 15th, 2008, 9:22 pm

if anybody got their iphone accidentally updated to 2.0 the procedure to downgrade it back to 1.1.4 is fairly simple

1 - uninstall itunes and use an older version like 7.6, 7.7
2 - put it in dfu mode and restore with the 1.1.4 firmware file
3 - do it again
4 - use the kiremk patched ziphone to downgrade the baseband
5 - unlock with iplus or whatever