Re: BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Postby SR » November 23rd, 2010, 9:00 am

pugboy wrote:I like them, easy to cook in oven too
just rub with olive oil and bp

btw there is a boneless and boned version

boneless??

where
xtrafoods gb and pricesmart have the same bone in ones from butterball

gonna do a beer can smoke on themas they will sit upright on the grill with marinade inject and dry rub and olive oil rub mix

Postby X_Factor » November 23rd, 2010, 3:43 pm

^ call mih wen u doin that nah i wanna see how to do that

Postby pugboy » November 23rd, 2010, 5:30 pm

the ones I bought were from Hilo,
I have cooked several of them and I thought they only came boneless until I got a boned one by accident.

Postby SR » November 23rd, 2010, 10:04 pm

Postby pugboy » November 23rd, 2010, 10:23 pm

they come in a net wrapping.
the problem is you will slice it up and put it in your mouth
and it will never reach the table

xtech

Postby xtech » November 25th, 2010, 1:04 pm

anybody looking for a wuk cooking bbq?

Postby X_Factor » November 27th, 2010, 7:42 pm

finally made some headway....thanx pugboy!!
covers are finished as well as grills

not much to do again!
i cyar wait!

Postby pugboy » November 27th, 2010, 8:24 pm

FYI

a bonafide smoked style bbq place has opened up opposite the east corner of Oval on tragarete road. Owned by Chinese Laundry's bro who used to run the same business in Miami.

interested to know opinions of this.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » November 27th, 2010, 9:50 pm

Chemical wrote:^^Just finished a 22oz CAB Rib Eye with Kingsford Mesquite coals & my own garlic bread.

Ribeye bought @ Hi Lo St Augustine for $93.27 (I asked them to give me a special cut 1.25' thick. Would have preferred the Porter House but was feeling lazy to drive to POS (Malabar gourmet sotre)

These coals gave it a really nice flavor.
Steak done medium rare.

It tasted great ! :drinking:

Read the warning on the kingsford coals... they cause cancer. (not might cause, they cause cancer.) :wink:

personally im going more toward natural gas these days. Need to fix up my pit with a burner.

Postby X_Factor » November 28th, 2010, 10:08 pm

anyone ever saw brining salt or sodium nitrite selling?

Postby pugboy » November 28th, 2010, 10:34 pm

the Morton Tender Quick used for making/curing ham, beef pastrami etc is a mix of
sodium nitrite ands sodium nitrate

i bought some at Ibrahims, henry street a while ago when I did some curing stuff

Chemical

Postby Chemical » November 30th, 2010, 6:56 pm

Well I did some beef ribs this evening......came out excellent !

Enough booze & beef for November.

Postby pugboy » November 30th, 2010, 7:33 pm

looking real good, where you buy them from ?
moonlight used to have a box of them ribs with fries for $25

Chemical

Postby Chemical » December 1st, 2010, 6:49 am

Thanx...P/Smart S/Fernando.

Will be doing a Pot Roast for Xmas. Will take pics when finished.

Postby X_Factor » December 6th, 2010, 9:05 pm

u all ever saw other types of wood chips other than the hickory and mesquite

Chemical

Postby Chemical » December 9th, 2010, 1:54 pm

Yep...peakes & BHW had apple chunks but have not seen for the while. Leaning towards a gas grill prob a Char Broil pro series. The coals are getting way too expensive especially P/Smart.

Postby SR » December 9th, 2010, 3:08 pm

go char broil
replacment parts easy to get online and from wallmart

stay away fro what pricemart sellin unless u know parts are available

abc had a killer deal on the char broil units about 2 months ago

Postby pugboy » December 9th, 2010, 4:18 pm

a neighbour just cut down an entire guava tree, I didn't have time or resources to take much
only a few little pieces

if you don't mind the mess and dust the guyanese coals work out a lot cheaper

Chemical

Postby Chemical » December 9th, 2010, 5:09 pm

SR wrote:go char broil
replacment parts easy to get online and from wallmart

stay away fro what pricemart sellin unless u know parts are available

abc had a killer deal on the char broil units about 2 months ago

I missed that one.

pugboy wrote:a neighbour just cut down an entire guava tree, I didn't have time or resources to take much
only a few little pieces

if you don't mind the mess and dust the guyanese coals work out a lot cheaper

waste of time....very difficult to control heat, especially if you enjoy slow cooking.

Postby pugboy » December 9th, 2010, 5:29 pm

not really, if you know your equipment, how much to light and how much air to let in etc
I use them all the time on my stumps clone smoker, weber wsm(12hr+) as well as weber one touch gold grill

Chemical

Postby Chemical » December 9th, 2010, 7:43 pm

^^point taken.....my pit is a very shallow one compared to the webber coal pits, however the local coals are broken up into may pieces & not uniformed like the kingsford & I don't particular like the flavour.

Postby pugboy » December 9th, 2010, 8:06 pm

I see Jack Warner place in Carenage selling beef, they run an ad in papers earlier this week.
I going to see tomorrow what they have, looking for a rib roast for xmas.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » December 10th, 2010, 6:49 am

^^Where exactly is this place, whats its name & is there a Tel #.

Postby pugboy » December 10th, 2010, 7:46 am

694-2510
the jet ski place in carenage
i suspect they might be selling a lower grade though

Postby X_Factor » December 10th, 2010, 7:23 pm

smoker working sooo sweet!!
not as hot as i thought it would have been
but i can usually get between 150-200deg F constantly

Postby pugboy » December 10th, 2010, 8:52 pm

I went to the Warner's jetski place to check out the meat.
Apparently Daryan opened 2 bbq places but they buss because of staffing problems
they imported a pile of beef, pork and chicken, cases and cases.
Plenty Tbone and ribeye steaks, cut on the thin side though 3/4"
but vac sealed. I buying a couple cases tomorrow.
They have pork spares and baby backs but those not vac sealed so I not buying that.

I see somebody on my street put out a water heater to dump. I gonna grab it tomorrow and see what can be done with it.

Postby X_Factor » December 10th, 2010, 8:57 pm

^ ah next one?

not too long did this

a dry rub on the piece of pork and let it rest for like 2hrs
pork was like wow!! the dry rub and hickory smoke WOW!!

marinade the chicken over night
chicken had a nice taste all the way to the bone but expected more flavour

Postby pugboy » December 10th, 2010, 9:14 pm

you might get hooked on bbq smoking before you know it
I hear Chinese Laundry's place advertising heavy on 96.1

Postby SR » January 10th, 2011, 2:30 pm

anyone using a seasoned cast iron skillet???

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 10th, 2011, 2:40 pm

Yep...but don't ever wash it with soap. The brand is Lodge. Got it @ peakes and be prepared to pay through you ears & nose however it does not rust.

http://www.lodgemfg.com/

There is a store upstaris West Mall where TSTT was that sells the Emril Brand. IAM has the cheaper ones.