The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

evo-STI-k

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby evo-STI-k » June 8th, 2010, 8:30 am

DO NOT UPGRADE TO 3.13!

download the 3.12 OP and when restoring the phone in itunes use the shift key!

you can select where to restore from!

Postby tr1ad » June 8th, 2010, 8:32 am

an the fanboy-ism is starting to run high

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 8th, 2010, 9:04 am

Watch Apple CEO Steve Jobs introduce the new iPhone 4. See the video-on-demand event right here, exclusively in QuickTime and MPEG-4.

------

Cisco has announced that Apple is licensing its iOS trademark for the name of their updated mobile operating system for the iPhone, iPod, and iPad.

"Cisco has agreed to license the iOS trademark to Apple for use as the name of Apple’s operating system for iPhone, iPod touch and iPad. The license is for use of the trademark only and not for any technology."

IOS is Cisco’s core operating system used for nearly two decades. It is the world’s leading network infrastructure software, delivering a seamless integration of technology innovation, business-critical services, and hardware platform support.

Engadget also reports that a company called "FaceTime Communications" sold its "FaceTime" trademark to Apple and is completely changing its name in the coming months.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 8th, 2010, 9:32 am

tr1ad wrote:an the fanboy-ism is starting to run high

and you are just dripping with hater douche juice, why you dont change your name to iJealous

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 8th, 2010, 9:59 am

Meet the new iPhone 4. Actually, you can't meet it in person since it's not here yet. As you already know, five lucky countries are expected to get it on 24 June while the rest will continue waiting. See which operators have already confirmed the availability date of the upcoming iPhone 4.

The five countries who'll first have the chance to get a taste of the iPhone 4 are USA, France, Germany, UK and Japan. Pre-orders in all 5 start on 15 June and a few days later, on 24 June, the phone will hit the stores.

There have been some rumors involving Verizon Wireless' name into the list of operators selling the thing across the USA. but as you may have already heard, AT&T will continue to be the only one (for now).

AT&T is also the only company to announce the iPhone 4 prices. The iPhone 4 16GB will cost you 199 USD while the doubled memory capacity (iPhone 4 32GB) will cost you another 100 USD (299 USD). The new iPhone 3GS 8GB will sell for 99 USD. Of course, a new 2-year contract with AT&T comes along with the phone.

By the way, all current AT&T customers whose contracts expire this the year have been made eligible for an iPhone 4 upgrade (previously you needed to have 3 months or less remaining on your contract).

There are no surprises in Germany, too. T-Mobile remains the only operator there to have a contract with Apple. If you feel for the iPhone 4 and T-Mobile's tariff's seem fair enough to you, you can pre-order your new phone next Tuesday. Again T-Mobile, but this time in the Netherlands, will offer its customers Apple's iPhone 4. There is no word on availability date or price tag.

As for Japan, if you live there, you'll have to wait for 24 June to come. This is the day when the iPhone 4 will show up in SoftBank's stores.

The guys in France have a much wider choice of carriers: Orange, SFR, and Bouygues Telecom are all rumored to be offering the Apple smartphone. So far, Orange is the only company to officially confirm that, but official statements from the other carriers are expected soon.

There are three companies currently serving iPhones in the UK and all three of them will get the upcoming iPhone 4: O2, Orange and Vodafone.

Canada wasn't mentioned during the announcement of the iPhone 4 but there is already an official confirmation that (at least) three Canadian operators will get Apple's latest gadget sometime in July. Those are Rogers, TELUS and Bell.

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 8th, 2010, 10:17 am

Dudes, I wanna try and restoer my iphone 3g, what do I need?

I always get confuesed between unlock and jailbreaking and restoring...

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » June 8th, 2010, 10:36 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Dudes, I wanna try and restoer my iphone 3g, what do I need?

dude... google is ur best friend... there are COUNTLESS posts that tell u EXACTLY wat to do..

Postby tr1ad » June 8th, 2010, 10:38 am

Bezman wrote:
tr1ad wrote:an the fanboy-ism is starting to run high

and you are just dripping with hater douche juice, why you dont change your name to iJealous

naw aaron.... had an iPhone before.... didn't really take to my liking
still got my first gen, hardly use it tho

Postby honda hoe » June 8th, 2010, 10:40 am

iphone is mess

new version no different

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 8th, 2010, 11:09 am

zscrugby wrote:

dude... google is ur best friend... there are COUNTLESS posts that tell u EXACTLY wat to do..

Well Im on iclarified and stuff but I have a question, if I jailbreak using redsnow, do i need to unlock after? Given that my phone is unlocked already.

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » June 8th, 2010, 11:21 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
zscrugby wrote:

Well Im on iclarified and stuff but I have a question, if I jailbreak using redsnow, do i need to unlock after? Given that my phone is unlocked already.

iclarified tells u exactlly wat u jus asked.. just read..

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 8th, 2010, 2:39 pm

courtesy: Engadget

Postby M_2NR » June 8th, 2010, 4:40 pm

SRASC wrote:Good find. I didn't expect these so soon nah lol
ent! googled it n was like.. :shock:

Postby M_2NR » June 8th, 2010, 4:53 pm

http://www.apple.com/iphone/features/camera.html

Check out the quality

Direct Link:
http://images.apple.com/iphone/features ... 100607.jpg

(had to use imgwh to show it, as it was greater than 2048wide)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 8th, 2010, 5:59 pm

nice. I'm getting a black one.

btw anyone noticed that in official iPhone promotional pictures that AT&T is no longer in the carrier field?

Postby M_2NR » June 8th, 2010, 7:02 pm

i think im waiting out for the 3D iPhone lol. cuz i mean.. what's next?

JWT

Postby JWT » June 8th, 2010, 8:21 pm

so when will they get a crack for the OS and when will it be available in trinidad by one of our trusted power sellers

Postby M_2NR » June 8th, 2010, 9:39 pm

I'd say July for the earliest. They'd need to release an unlock for it as well.

Virgin 4.0 is coming with 04.13 Baseband. Not the 05.12 from 3.1.3 as far as i know.

WRT to "crack" i think u meant custom restore... I'd say days after the June 21st release (or whenever 4.0 pushes) PwnageTool will be updated and ultrasn0w and blacksn0w and blackra1n (maybe later) will all be adjusted to suit. But those unlocks would be for devices that were on the old(er) Basebands. They should release an unlock for the 05.12 baseband with that week as well.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 8th, 2010, 10:32 pm

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » June 9th, 2010, 10:22 am

all the hype but we still have no micro sim to use with it

Sully

Postby Sully » June 9th, 2010, 1:56 pm

M_2nr wrote:i can't wait for tmrw. I will have to beg the admin for the wifi code though :(

I have mixed feelings. If Gizmodo is allowed into WWDC, im SURE that was a setup job (the leak). I also dont know if Apple long enough to say if they'd drop the same shell or the 2nd one.

jhonnieblue wrote:
Sully wrote:
M_2nr wrote:if you're iphone to iphone, use bump.

Unfortunately it's not. The device on the receiving end can only accept vcards.

DAMN! Can you upload the vcf to the said device? what u can do is sync the iphone contacts to Outlook or any means, and convert it to vcf.

See here:
http://www.addictivetips.com/windows-tips/windows-7-convert-export-windows-contacts-to-vcf-csv-file-format/

Google Search

;)
Let us know how it goes buddy.

The device on the receiving end is a car head unit. The only way that I can get data to it is via bluetooth. IT may seem strange, but none of the computers that I own have bluetooth. Hence the need to send contacts from the iphone to the car head unit via bluetooth.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 9th, 2010, 3:04 pm

Like the lead-up to any big, annual Apple event, the weeks and months ahead of this year's WWDC brought the usual wash of rumors about new hardware, software, and online services.
The biggest unknown was not so much on the hardware side--as we all knew there was a new iPhone on the way (even what it looked like and whose fault that was), but the software and online services portion remained a mystery. This is typically the chunk of the WWDC keynote where Steve Jobs and company go into detail about the latest operating system tweaks and new software offerings.
There were rumors on both sides of the spectrum ranging from paid services like MobileMe going free and iTunes getting a streaming component to a fancy new wireless trackpad. Read on to get the details.

1. OS X 10.7
Apple's preview of OS X 10.6, nicknamed Snow Leopard, happened at 2008's WWDC. 10.5 was unveiled during 2006's keynote, and 10.4 in 2004's. Following that logic, 2010's show would bring a preview, or at least an acknowledgment that Apple had 10.7 in the oven. Though given the focus on Apple's iOS, and the shiny new device that will run on it, it's not all that surprising we didn't hear a peep.
An OS update, especially for the desktop, would have likely filled an hour or two on its own. Yet, the downside of this omission is that the eventual preview of that update will likely be shelved until next year's show, since WWDC is Apple's only big developer event of the year.

2. A developer preview for the iPad's iOS 4
When introducing OS 4 at a preview event back in April, Jobs said we'd be seeing a public release of it for the iPad sometime this fall. Again, logic would dictate that developers would get their hands on a build of the iPad 4.0 SDK at Apple's big developer event, alongside the first beta of the firmware for testing on real devices.
So why the no-show? Apple has likely had its hands full getting the iPhone and iPod Touch version of OS 4 ready to go in time for the iPhone 4 launch in two weeks. And developers only got their hands on the gold master candidate version of that late Monday. Maybe the delay was to include some new OS features being baked into the next batch of iPods this fall.

3. A Steve Ballmer appearance
In a note to investors, Global Equities Research analyst Trip Chowdhry claimed that Microsoft's CEO Steve Ballmer would be giving a seven-minute presentation of Visual Studio 2010 during the WWDC keynote. This was vehemently denied by Microsoft reps, then later retracted by Chowdhry, though many large news outlets (including us) picked up the story and ran with it.
There was some semblance of truth to the rumor of Microsoft having a presence at the keynote, in the form of Jobs announcing that Microsoft's Bing was now a search option in Safari, both on portable devices and on the desktop software.

4. iTunes streaming service
Like Apple's annual "buy a mac, get a free iPod" promotion, which always manages to end just a few days before the company announces a new model, it seemed just a little too convenient music streaming service Lala, which Apple bought back in December of last year, was being shut down just a week before WWDC.
Prior to Apple picking up the company, sources had told CNET that Apple was planning to purchase the company primarily for its music streaming technology and engineering talents. It seemed fair then (given the timing), that Apple would fill in the gap Lala.com's closure had left with something similar built right into iTunes, though that never came to fruition during Monday's keynote. Then again, given Apple's propensity for having its "music" events in September, we might just have to wait three months.
Another good thing that is likely to keep such a service coming is pressure from Google, which just a few weeks prior had demoed its free music streaming service, which uses technology from SimplifyMedia--a company Google had quietly acquired back in March.

5. Free MobileMe
Everyone loves a free lunch, and in the case of Apple's MobileMe--that was the rumor de jour. 9to5Mac's Mark Gurman spotted some interesting wording in the preferences pane of MobileMe that changed the name of the account type from "individual" or "family plan" to "full member," which lead to speculation that Apple would be offering a free service.
The evidence a little thin you say? That's a fair assessment, however keep in mind the number of services Apple has added to MobileMe (formerly .Mac) over the years has grown substantially. That, and large chunks of it like the Web mail, photo hosting, and calendar tools are offered free (with advertising) by competitors. There's nothing to say Apple wouldn't offer some basic parts of it for free, and charge to upgrade to the more advanced features. After all, it's done that with its QuickTime software for years.

6. iLife '10
The steady march of iLife updates has consistently taken place every January since 2003 with the exception of iLife '08, which debuted during a special presentation in early August of 2007. And of course this year, where Apple's pull out of the Macworld Expo, which began in earnest at 2010's show, meant that the company's iLife software suite was a no show too.
The biggest question since then has simply been when Apple will release its big update. With 2010 already halfway over, it's not too outlandish that Apple will simply skip on to iLife '11, or bundle that news together with this year's iPod event.

7. A Verizon iPhone
Will the iPhone be available in the U.S. on another carrier besides AT&T? Certainly. The real question is when and which carrier.
The rumors that Apple was striking up a deal with Verizon have been simmering for years. One big one came from 9to5Mac in 2008, which claimed an iPhone would be coming to Verizon at the end of the year, maybe even at Macworld in January 2009, however that obviously turned out not to be the case. Fast forward to March of this year and there was a Wall Street Journal story with a source that claimed one of Apple's contract manufacturers was building CDMA-compatible (read: Sprint and Verizon) iPhones.
While this didn't quite shake out with the announcement of the iPhone 4 at WWDC, the possibility of the iPhone landing on another U.S. carrier is inevitable.

8. The Mystery Multitouch trackpad
Meet the rumor that seemingly came out of nowhere. Engadget snagged photos of a largish, multitouch track pad peripheral, basically the same ones you find on Apple's notebooks, but wireless and usable on a desktop machine.
Little was known about the device, and still is, besides the fact it uses Bluetooth, is silver, slightly shiny, and remains unannounced.

9. A $99 AppleTV
The AppleTV has been Apple's most curious product in the last few years. Unlike the vast majority of the company's hardware efforts, it has remained largely unchanged since its introduction at an Apple event in late 2006. Apple has pushed out two major system software reinventions and bumped the built-in storage, but otherwise it's the same machine.
Reports that Apple was working on a cheaper and more capable version of the hardware surfaced late last month. Blog Engadget had a source that claimed Apple was readying a version that made use both of Apple's in-house A4 processor and that ran a modified version of the iOS. Such a device could still surface later this year if, or rather when Apple hosts its annual iPod event. Though if it is in fact running the iOS, Apple likely would have wanted to get developers on board so they could get a head start on building apps for it.

10. A Mac Mini refresh
The Mac Mini is another piece of long-outdated hardware. In fact, its last big update was in late October when Apple gave it a modest bump in processing power and doubled up on the RAM. Still, its graphics card has lagged behind what has been available on Apple's notebooks. Both the MacBook and MacBook Pro lines now feature a beefier Nvidia GeForce 320M chip, which MacBook Pro users can bump up to the 330M version, which packs twice the memory.
More importantly, two separate reports from AppleInsider pointed to Apple adding an HDMI port to the Mac Mini instead of the DVI connector that exists there now. Given the no-show of the Apple TV, maybe there's more to that delay than meets the eye. AppleInsider had also received reports from sources that supply of the machine was drying up both from Apple and third-party resellers, which is usually a good sign that a refresh is on the way.

11. A new MacBook Air
Apple's ultraslim laptop, which was launched by Apple in January 2008, has remained largely unchanged short of some slight adjustments to things like the trackpad, the internals, and the video-out jack. In fact, it hasn't had an update since this time last year, which in the world of electronics means either a very large update is due, or it's time to put it on deathwatch.
The third option, and one that makes more sense, is that Apple has quietly replaced the Air with the iPad. In fact, that much was said to CNET's David Carnoy at his local Apple Store, where he was attempting to purchase an Air in place of an iPad that was out of stock.

12. An iPod Touch with camera
A version of the iPod Touch with a camera has been expected since last year. Three months before last September's launch of the (still) latest generation iPod Touch, TechCrunch reported on a large order of the same camera modules used on the iPhone 3GS. These later ended up being the camera modules that ended up in the iPod Nano instead.
To make matters more interesting, photos and videos of an iPod Touch with a built-in camera popped up less than a month before Apple unveiled new versions of the device last year. But, the final devices shipped by Apple had no such camera. Teardown site iFixit later took the latest-generation Touch apart and discovered that the insides still had room for it in the exact same spot.
Before WWDC, the rumors of an iPod Touch with a built-in camera were revived when another development iPod Touch with a camera in the same spot showed up on eBay. Then, a few weeks later, Vietnamese site Tinhte (the same folks who acquired an iPhone 4 ahead of its announcement) scored a similarly spec'd iPod Touch, which was later discovered to be as old as the one from the year before. In any case, it would be unsurprising to see Apple roll out a camera-ready Touch this year given the new FaceTime video chat service.

Honorable mentions: The end of the "get a mac" ads going out with a bang, and Safari 5, which was released Monday but got no stage time.

Postby M_2NR » June 9th, 2010, 6:44 pm

streetlifestyle wrote:all the hype but we still have no micro sim to use with it
read my post on the issue.

Sully wrote:The device on the receiving end is a car head unit. The only way that I can get data to it is via bluetooth. IT may seem strange, but none of the computers that I own have bluetooth. Hence the need to send contacts from the iphone to the car head unit via bluetooth.

No worries 8)
Do what i told u before, Get the vcard(s) by the syncing manner. Then, transfer the vcard to your phone. (do u know how to use iPhone Explorer/iFunBox/iphonebrowser? or SSH via WinSCP?) and then get the iBluenova app from Cydia. Try to use iBluenova to send the file you uploaded (where ever you put it, say /var/mobile/Media). It's fairly straight forward. iBluenova works with 2G, 3G and 3GS and to almost all the phone types i tried (SE, Nokia S60v3/v5, iPhone, etc.) didnt try a deck though so it would be cool to know.

Any more issues/things to clarify you can PM me k

Keep us in touch.

and yes i know it can be a b!tch sometimes.

---

http://www.apple.com/iphone/design/#design-video

loved that video... the glass is kickass. I think i want one :oops:

bess almera

Postby bess almera » June 9th, 2010, 7:00 pm

Postby M_2NR » June 9th, 2010, 7:07 pm

bess almera wrote:http://www.latestmoviescentral.com/2010 ... jailbreak/

any one tested this?

i lol'd at this image
all those apps are free.

that looks uber fake. Sorry to burst your bubble but wait man, it's 2 weeks again.

bess almera

Postby bess almera » June 9th, 2010, 8:53 pm

noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo 2 more weeks :-(

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 10th, 2010, 10:29 am

Here's another smartphone comparison chart

------

While its inevitable that Apple will introduce a version of its iPhone handset for U.S. wireless carriers outside of AT&T, it's T-Mobile that stands as the front-runner for the gig rather than Verizon, one investment research firm said Thursday.

In a report released to clients Thursday morning, Kaufman Bros. analyst Shaw Wu cited sources as saying that additional U.S. iPhone carriers are becoming "closer than reality than ever," with some indicating that an announcement could come as early as this fall or early next year.

"While the general consensus is around Verizon (which we believe will happen eventually), we continue to believe that T-Mobile USA is the most likely candidate given its use of similar cellular technology as AT&T," he wrote. "Also, we are picking up that T-Mobile views the iPhone as key in winning back lost customers and as such could be more likely to agree to Apple's terms."

More specifically, Wu noted that T-Mobile's 3G service (UMTS/HSPA) supports 1700 MHz and 2100 MHz frequencies while AT&T supports 850 MHz and 1900 MHz frequencies. With both the new iPhone 4 and iPhone 3GS supporting 3G at the 2100 MHz frequency, the technical hurdle to support T-Mobile would be minor compared to supporting CDMA technology used by Verizon and Sprint, he said.

Another reason why the analyst believes Apple is poised to broaden availability of the iPhone in the near term is stem adoption of mobile phones based on the Android operating system developed by rival Google. Currently a relatively niche player in the market with just 9% U.S. share, Android's progress to date is believed to be the result of a lack of competitive options from Apple on networks outside of AT&T.

"Our sources also indicate that one of the key reasons why Apple is more open to adding U.S. carriers in 2011 is to attack Android more directly," Wu wrote. " Looking at industry data, Android's wins have been where iPhone isn't available and that could change dramatically if the iPhone were available on more carriers."

The Kaufman Bros. analyst reiterated his Buy rating on shares of Apple alongside a $320 price target, saying the Cupertino-based company is best positioned "to outperform in this tough macroeconomic environment with its defensible strategic and structural advantages and its vertical integration."

(I personally hope so cause it would be easier for me to get an iPhone 4 on T-Mobile than AT&T)

------

RedSn0w has been updated to version 0.9.5 beta 5 and adds the ability to jailbreak iOS 4.0 GM seed on your iPhone 3G or iPod 2G.

---
The redsn0w beta has been updated for 4.0GM, and it now supports the iPod touch 2G too. Multitasking and homescreen wallpaper are now turned on by default (Apple doesn't normally allow this on these 2 devices). (Update: the 0.9.5b5-1 version now lets you decide whether you want multitasking and wallpaper enabled or not.)

Because 4.0GM isn't yet public, you'll need a Mac and iTunes 9.2 to use it. Since this redsn0w beta is intended only for those with legitimate developer program access, this shouldn't be a problem.

Just like our other betas, this one intentionally doesn't “hactivate”. Please wait for Apple's public release of 4.0 for that part of it.

Download

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 10th, 2010, 6:23 pm

Samsung might have entertained us with some trash talk about the iPhone 4's IPS LCD yesterday, but this stuff is of a rather more somber variety. Raymond Soneira, president of monitor diagnostics firm DisplayMate, has said that Apple's retina display marketing is inaccurate, because he believes a display that truly makes pixels indistinguishable to the human eye would require a density in the vicinity of 477dpi. The iPhone 4 has 326dpi, and by now you might be surmising that Steve Jobs flat out lied when he said that the iPhone 4's pixels are too small for the human retina to discern from 12 inches away.

But not so fast, says Phil Plait from Discover, whose résumé includes calibrating a camera on board the Hubble space telescope. He's done the math too and finds that the 477 number applies only to people with perfect vision. For the vast majority of us, Steve's claim stands up to scrutiny; even folks with 20/20 eyesight wouldn't be able to tell where one pixel ends and another begins. So it turns out Apple can do its math, even if its marketing isn't true for every single humanoid on the planet.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 10th, 2010, 6:30 pm

anyone notice something?

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 10th, 2010, 6:41 pm

Hai guys, I need some help valuating an iphone, its moderatly used, no scratchs on the screen, iphone 3g 16gig, everything works fine except the wifi.

What would that phone cost?