3ne2nr fishermen

Postby janfar » January 27th, 2010, 12:53 pm

Nah not there, it is a nice spot but too noisy. It have other places that is really good.

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » February 1st, 2010, 11:40 am

Anyone has literature or knowledge on the correct way to use swivels, sinkers, line arrangements, artificial bait/ tackle (spoons, fish, etc.), wire, etc.

I found some stuff on the net that was very interesting and was just wondering if there was anything else out there

radical14

Postby radical14 » February 1st, 2010, 1:10 pm

janfar can you give direction to were u are speaking about or is this someone private property

wall

Re: The sea fish of Trinidad

Postby wall » February 1st, 2010, 6:19 pm

psykomorf wrote:This book seems pretty cool from a historical perspective... http://www.archive.org/download/seafish ... ncrich.pdf
real good stuff here.good find.

deadfish13

Postby deadfish13 » February 2nd, 2010, 5:33 am

fishing in manzan was good this weekend ...caught a nice pompano. Was fishing after the river, just before the sea wall ...nice spot .

like the guys said before as the water gets better so will the fishing.
looking forward to next few months .

when is this tuner lime gonna happen .. lol

tight lines guys

Postby janfar » February 2nd, 2010, 6:41 am

radical14 wrote:janfar can you give direction to were u are speaking about or is this someone private property

If coming from Grande... when you get to Mayaro junction continue straight... go over the hill (or around if you prefer). As soon as you pass the bridge you will see a mosque... turn in there and continue to drive to the side of the bridge till you get to the river. The spot i use is not clean and so you wont find it but fishing from by the bridge is good.

radical14

Postby radical14 » February 2nd, 2010, 9:42 am

janfar this is the bridge heading back to rio is the mosque on the left or the right .
thanks dude

radical14

Postby radical14 » February 2nd, 2010, 9:48 am

janfar this is the bridge heading back to rio is the mosque on the left or the right .
thanks dude

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » February 2nd, 2010, 11:31 am

Anyone sell live bate up mayaro side?

Postby janfar » February 2nd, 2010, 12:24 pm

Yuh will have to go down Plaisance or ortoire, your should get there... if yuh go ortoire ask for Beast and tell him Jan send yuh!!!

Heading back to rio the mosque is on the right.

radical14

Postby radical14 » February 2nd, 2010, 12:31 pm

what bait you use so i will know what to walk with planning to make a run this weekend

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » February 2nd, 2010, 12:33 pm

Thanks Janfar.

jsali

Postby jsali » February 2nd, 2010, 1:02 pm

good day fellas

Every carnival we camp out by the river in manzan (the usual spot where everyone camps and you have to pay).....MOST of the time we suffer regards fishing lol.....normally we use shrimp, herring, squid but mostly catch choof-choof and cat fish :( .......I know live bait is the way to go but that can be tedious to catch....have no net and skills to throw a net..... this year we considering some artificial bait ......something like this:

also some artificial worms and grubs...

what are my chances of catching something substantial?? :oops:

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 7th, 2010, 12:40 pm

where is d fishing lime fuh carnival? most likely i tryin sumting on d sunday....

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 7th, 2010, 6:46 pm

My fellow fisher-folk......the bite up toco side was aite today....fished the rising tide in Big Bay....caught a few pompano and a nice sized zelwaan. Went up to San Souci but didn't catch anything. Started fishing at big bay from 8:30 am (high tide was 10:30 am)......couple other guys held some pompano and a coupla small salmon. Was some good fun........

Tight lines.

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 7th, 2010, 8:41 pm

X_Factor, thats right after balandra...ruff like hell!! Yeh i fish ther caught some nice zelwan and sting ray..

jsali wrote:good day fellas

Every carnival we camp out by the river in manzan (the usual spot where everyone camps and you have to pay).....MOST of the time we suffer regards fishing lol.....normally we use shrimp, herring, squid but mostly catch choof-choof and cat fish :( .......I know live bait is the way to go but that can be tedious to catch....have no net and skills to throw a net..... this year we considering some artificial bait ......something like this:

also some artificial worms and grubs...

what are my chances of catching something substantial?? :oops:

THAT WILL NEVER WORK IN MANZAN!! Fishes there dont take artificial. They like the fresh bait...If you can get some mullet you good to go...

I went down fishing pond river today and set some fillet net and fish....Caught some nice size mullet with my cast net and some huge bushe. Our fillet net was raided by some fella in a boat!! we couldnt see him because we set the net up river...

Smeed, Niceee!! Toco always have nice fishing areas...It have a hidden area in toco called La Fouray....I hooked 300lb grouper there already and it very nice and calm... bess fishing area...but it very lonely

IF ANY BODY HAVE QUESTIONS TO ASK ABOUT FISHING JUST PM ME

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 7th, 2010, 9:54 pm

Hardcore Youth......zelwan and pompano is de same fish? I now show meh uncle wha we caught today and he say wha i was calling a zelwan is actually an Ancho.

Bout 2 months ago I used de Berkley Gulp Jerk Shad artificial bait up in Blanchi in de river and held a coupla busche.....i was really surprised....buh de bite didn't last long.....

I heard about La Fouray, buh i've never been dere.....if u interested we coud link and make a trip netime......i does jus have meh nephnew as company....so if i cud be a part of a real fisherman group i go definetely be interested.....

fishing pond river is in grande?

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 8th, 2010, 6:38 pm

Smeed, i cant really say what fishes are what....we trini have so many names for fishes....post up some pics and i will let you know the names.....

La Fouray is a bess place....it like a paradise for monster fishes..but there are alot of smaller fishes to....caught huge sting ray and eel there.....Its a nice place but its lonely so you need to have a nice size crew when you heading there.....lI will PM you if i heading there....

Yeh Fishing Pond is in grande.... and right now is a very nice time to fish there..the river mount closed so all the big fish trapped in the river.. I took my boat there yesterday and caught some nice fish.

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 8th, 2010, 7:05 pm

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH,

dais a cool scene.......I go be out de country for bout 5 weeks from tomorrow. I going and order some more tackle so it go be here by de time i come back. La Fouray sounding kinda like how macqueripe was before all of the construction work was done....a "magic spot".

Catching dat ancho in toco get meh blood pumping....was de first nice size fish i caught with meh 12' beef stick....i feel dat fish wanted to bounce meh dong...once i set de hook, i didn't feel any big drag from him.....he jus peel out and head straight for de shore.....i was playing catch up cranking meh reel like a madman, only when he reach de skinny water did he turn back to the waves, buh he was done fry already...heheheh

Dat sounds like a plan....when i come back i go be wherever de fish biting...

Peace

Sabot

Postby Sabot » February 8th, 2010, 7:16 pm

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:
THAT WILL NEVER WORK IN MANZAN!! Fishes there dont take artificial. They like the fresh bait...If you can get some mullet you good to go...

I went down fishing pond river today and set some fillet net and fish....Caught some nice size mullet with my cast net and some huge bushe. Our fillet net was raided by some fella in a boat!! we couldnt see him because we set the net up river...

Smeed, Niceee!! Toco always have nice fishing areas...It have a hidden area in toco called La Fouray....I hooked 300lb grouper there already and it very nice and calm... bess fishing area...but it very lonely

Last edited by Sabot on June 29th, 2014, 1:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » February 8th, 2010, 7:22 pm

how to unlock fishes in fishville?

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » February 8th, 2010, 8:16 pm

what is the best lures to use and to rigthem up

Postby X_Factor » February 8th, 2010, 8:20 pm

yeah fellas, 5th march comin closer

where we heading?

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 8th, 2010, 8:42 pm

manualmx wrote:
HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:

I have actually caught quite a few snook, tarpon and also cavali at the river mouth in manzan using lures. I have also caught countless cavali from the surf from manzan all the way to guaya with lures in the surf. Its just a matter of timing these fish with the bait and working the right lures properly. I must admit though that manzan is one of the more difficult beaches to fish lures because of the surf. In fact with the little softbaits I have caught these same fish from the smaller rivers that trickle into the nariva swamp, the same two little bridges between nariva bridge and the river mouth.
La Foray is productive only at certain times of the year if you are into lures and is very lonely as you said. The main thing with lure fishing is selecting the right lure for the conditions and of course the fish must be there as well :lol:

I used lures in manzan already i find it is alot of work to catch fishes... I will catch a fish faster with live fresh bait rather than using the lures... I just find fish prefer the fresh bait.

The thing about artificial is that if the water is not clear enough it would not work as you want it to... Artificial uses the light of the sun to reflect and attract the fish...

Dont get me wrong Artifical works but in certain places! I have snagged huge tarpon in toco with my bombers artificial and trolling i have caught huge king fish and 100lb blue marlin!!

But manualmx nice, you must be really lucky with them lures in manzan cause i never saw anyone pull up a fish there using lures....ppl use mullet, bonito, shrimp, sea-cockroach!! I have seen ppl use artifical but they never caught anything... but then again your luck isnt mine...go strong pal.. :lol: :lol: :lol:

There are alot of mullet in certain areas these days......I have a bait net so catching mullet is easy for me..so i dont really use the lures there.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » February 8th, 2010, 9:08 pm

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:
manualmx wrote:
HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:

Last edited by Sabot on June 29th, 2014, 1:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » February 8th, 2010, 9:09 pm

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:
manualmx wrote:
HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:

I have actually caught quite a few snook, tarpon and also cavali at the river mouth in manzan using lures. I have also caught countless cavali from the surf from manzan all the way to guaya with lures in the surf. Its just a matter of timing these fish with the bait and working the right lures properly. I must admit though that manzan is one of the more difficult beaches to fish lures because of the surf. In fact with the little softbaits I have caught these same fish from the smaller rivers that trickle into the nariva swamp, the same two little bridges between nariva bridge and the river mouth.
La Foray is productive only at certain times of the year if you are into lures and is very lonely as you said. The main thing with lure fishing is selecting the right lure for the conditions and of course the fish must be there as well :lol:

I used lures in manzan already i find it is alot of work to catch fishes... I will catch a fish faster with live fresh bait rather than using the lures... I just find fish prefer the fresh bait.

The thing about artificial is that if the water is not clear enough it would not work as you want it to... Artificial uses the light of the sun to reflect and attract the fish...

Dont get me wrong Artifical works but in certain places! I have snagged huge tarpon in toco with my bombers artificial and trolling i have caught huge king fish and 100lb blue marlin!!

But manualmx nice, you must be really lucky with them lures in manzan cause i never saw anyone pull up a fish there using lures....ppl use mullet, bonito, shrimp, sea-cockroach!! I have seen ppl use artifical but they never caught anything... but then again your luck isnt mine...go strong pal.. :lol: :lol: :lol:

There are alot of mullet in certain areas these days......I have a bait net so catching mullet is easy for me..so i dont really use the lures there.
Last edited by Sabot on June 29th, 2014, 1:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby X_Factor » February 8th, 2010, 11:18 pm

my father n them went up shark river over the weekend with a small fillet
they caught a couple big "boshay" and a 5ft shark out on the rocks on the right hand side of the river mouth

too bad i wasnt home when they came back, i would have gotten some pics

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 8th, 2010, 11:34 pm

manualmx wrote:
HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:
manualmx wrote:
HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:

Most of the time you will catch fish faster with fresh bait in manzan than with lures but its possible. Its been a very long time since I have tried fishing in manzan though. Back in the days when fish were plentiful it was common to catch pompano and sharks from the surf there. The lures may be more productive at the river mouths by the hotel to the north and nariva to the south. Both areas have good tarpon and snook at various times of the year. Its a little early now for these fish though.
Good water clarity is nice but not mandatory for predatory fish to home in on their 'prey'. Tarpon and snook in particular frequent turbid water such as in the Ortoire river and I have caught them on lures there as well. I think its either they see really well or the vibrations and movements of the lure allow them to find it. You may have noticed how the mullet like dirty water and still fly out the water to escape as fish are feeding below and attacking them.
Toco and the 'table' are my preferred spots for casting lures. Timing is critical though to be successful since these fish don't stick around for long, 1 hour or 2 tops per day I think. Pt Radix is excellent but requires a lil hike. Problem with the table is that when you do catch cavali there they are sometimes too big or too much to carry back to the vehicle :shock:
Last year toco was a little unpredictable but got some good 20lb and over cavali from the 'table'. Biggest haul from toco with lures was 12 cavali, 1 barracuda and 2 tarpon all with 1 type of lure and in the space of 2 hours. :twisted:

NICEEE :twisted:

But i guess every one has a different way of fishing in different places..like i wont use lures where you would! If you know where i coming from! I prefer to use fresh bait and live bait in manzan!!
I use my lures in toco by the light house and you are right, Fishes there dont stick around at all....I reach there like 5:00 in the morning and fish the rising sun from 5:30 to 8:00 they feed a little at that time...then i leave and come back in the evening about 5:00 and the feed really aggressive from 6:00 to 7:30. It happens so fast!!!

Sabot

Postby Sabot » February 9th, 2010, 9:13 am

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:
manualmx wrote:
HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:
manualmx wrote:
HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:

Last edited by Sabot on June 29th, 2014, 1:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » February 9th, 2010, 9:14 am

What is the "table"

manualmx wrote:
HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:
manualmx wrote:
HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:
Toco and the 'table' are my preferred spots for casting lures. Timing is critical though to be successful since these fish don't stick around for long, 1 hour or 2 tops per day I think. Pt Radix is excellent but requires a lil hike. Problem with the table is that when you do catch cavali there they are sometimes too big or too much to carry back to the vehicle :shock:
Last year toco was a little unpredictable but got some good 20lb and over cavali from the 'table'. Biggest haul from toco with lures was 12 cavali, 1 barracuda and 2 tarpon all with 1 type of lure :twisted: