Plot to assassinate PM?!

Re: Plot to assassinate PM?!

Postby sMASH » December 6th, 2011, 9:44 pm

really have to watch inshan tomorrow night, i hope he has choate on to discuss the latest transpirations

Postby pugboy » December 6th, 2011, 9:44 pm

hey at least they stopped the diesel fuel racket

Postby Habit7 » December 6th, 2011, 9:50 pm

sMASH wrote:really have to watch inshan tomorrow night, i hope he has choate on to discuss the latest transpirations

Sat Maharaj today was funny though, last program he blast Keith Rowley for being saying that the plot not credible...
Today he avoided the obvious elephant in the room to say that Tunapuna principal is a PNM operative :roll:

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 7th, 2011, 12:38 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/War ... 45423.html

Warm welcome for Choate
By —Richard Charan
Story Created: Dec 6, 2011 at 11:57 PM ECT
Story Updated: Dec 6, 2011 at 11:57 PM ECT
ASHMEED CHOATE, the man the State claimed was the mastermind behind an alleged plot to kill Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and other politicians, returned yesterday to the school in Freeport where he is principal.
Choate declined to speak with the Express.
Teachers at the school said they were happy that Choate was back at the Darul Qur'an Wal Hadith Islamic School, at Calcutta No 2, Freeport.
As proof that his innocence was never questioned, said teachers, not a single child at the school was removed by parents during Choate's detention.
Choate, the father of three, who has wives in Princes Town and San Juan, was freed Monday night, hours before the end of the State of Emergency, with the police admitting there was insufficient evidence to charge anyone.
On the day Choate was freed, his attorney Faris Al-Rawi wrote to attorney Russel Martineau, Senior Counsel, who appeared for the State when lawyers for some detainees went before the Review Tribunal last week.
Al-Rawi is seeking, among other information, the identity of a particular Special Branch officer and the identity of the informant on whose evidence Choate was arrested, and whether the informant had a criminal record, or was provided any reward.
Al Rawi also asked for details of the alleged plot, including in what manner Choate was considered to be the mastermind.
The lawyer also asked that the State define an extremist Islamic group, what statements Choate uttered which constitute radical Islamic beliefs.
In addition, Al Rawi asked for a copy of a document entitled "Commanders of the Muslim

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 7th, 2011, 12:53 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/_St ... 45433.html

'State will pay'
By Richard Charan
Story Created: Dec 6, 2011 at 11:57 PM ECT
Story Updated: Dec 6, 2011 at 11:57 PM ECT
Freed assassination plot detainee Barry Barrington said yesterday the State would pay for bringing disgrace to him and his family, and lying about his military career.
Barrington, 42, said his attorneys were already preparing the documents to sue the State for unlawful imprisonment.
Barrington said he fought for his country during the 1990 Jamaat al Muslimeen insurrection and had a tour of duty as part of a United Nations peacekeeping force in Haiti, before he ended his career in the army after 12 years.
Barrington, also called "Soldier Barry", said he was never dishonourably discharged in December 2001, as law enforcement officers had claimed. Barrington said he was acquitted on a murder charge in March 2010, after eight-and-a-half years in prison.
And as proof that he held no malice against anyone in the case. Barrington said he became a family man with a wife and baby, selling at a barbecue outlet in Princes Town.
Barrington was one of the persons arrested during the State of Emergency and accused of plotting to kill Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and other politicians.
He was freed from the Eastern Correctional and Rehabilitation Centre at Santa Rosa, Arima, on Monday night.
Barrington said he was arrested at his Partap Trace, South Oropouche, home by police officers who told him he was being taken to the Marabella Police Station "on enquiries".
Instead, the police turned north towards Port of Spain. Barrington said, "I thought I was going to die. I asked them what this about. They say they get orders straight from the top. They said is some connection I have with guns and ammunition and the Prime Minister."
Barrington said he told the officers he knew nothing, but was taken to the Woodbrook Police Station and placed in a cell.
He said his family was contacted but he was not allowed to speak with anyone and knew nothing of what was taking place outside the police station for more than a week.
He said the information he was dishonourably discharged "was a stain on my character and made it look like I was delinquent and there was a possibility that I could be guilty of this."
Barrington said hours before his release on Monday, he was allowed to make a phone call to a relative.
"I see no reason to take up a man without evidence and just arrest him because he is a Muslim. I had to leave my one-month-old child and wife, and the business I run. What about my rights?" he asked.

Postby Morpheus » December 7th, 2011, 1:50 am

^^^Hmmmm look at pressure now.................

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 7th, 2011, 7:55 am

interesting story there^^ but you know how much men wanna sue the state for wrongful arrest...

Apollo Trinidad

Postby Apollo Trinidad » December 7th, 2011, 1:13 pm

Soldier Barry should sue they MC! No evidence found and we will just sit here and let them rule over us, throw us in jail if they 'FEEL LIKE THERE'S A THREAT' !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! that is unacceptable!! Then again, we only begin to care if it directly affects us.....they should all sue...but once more.....taxpayers $ will just be used if they won & at the end of the day, we all eat sheit from the government....

Apollo Trinidad

Postby Apollo Trinidad » December 7th, 2011, 1:15 pm

pugboy wrote:hey at least they stopped the diesel fuel racket

Postby Habit7 » December 7th, 2011, 2:21 pm

and counting...

Postby pioneer » December 7th, 2011, 6:47 pm

The Brits gonna roast this govt, more so because they gone n cancel de OPV contracts

Take.wood

Postby rfari » December 7th, 2011, 7:01 pm

Habit7 wrote:

and counting...

theef head :lol: :lol:

the place get awfully quiet with this whole plot. gary griffith have to go jed.

Postby sMASH » December 7th, 2011, 7:35 pm

based on all the info we have available, it defies all logic,,,

Postby Morpheus » December 7th, 2011, 8:17 pm

the place get awfully quiet with this whole plot

^^Yuh know!!

*crickets

Postby Habit7 » December 7th, 2011, 9:22 pm

Cadiz on Rowley’s statement: ‘Robocop’ never helped me in 2010 elections

Published: Thu, 2011-12-01 22:31
Yvonne Webb

Trade Minister Stephen Cadiz has denied Selwyn “Robocop” Alexis assisted him in the 2010 election campaign. Alexis is one of the detainees held under the Emergency Powers Regulations. Cadiz is demanding an apology from Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley, who recently made the claim. Speaking on the CNC3 morning programme yesterday, Cadiz, also the Member of Parliament for Chaguanas East, said Rowley’s claims were untrue.

He added: “He has to apologise to me. He has to apologise to the 10,797 people who voted for me, who voted for the Prime Minister and the People’s Partnership. “I want to state in no uncertain terms “Robocop”, by whatever name he goes by, was not, was never and will never be part of any campaign or any event or anything in which I am involved.” Cadiz accused Rowley of trivialising the issue.

He said: “For him to be making these statements, where he is talking about an assassination plot, a very serious issue, which he and the PNM are making light of, this assassination plot against the PM, he is the one trivialising it. “Where he is using that same conversation with something as serious as an assassination plot, with ‘Robocop’ and my name being associated with it, that is where I draw the line.”

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2011/12/ ... -elections

What a coinkidink!?!

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » December 7th, 2011, 9:24 pm

Postby pioneer » December 7th, 2011, 9:28 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Cadiz on Rowley’s statement: ‘Robocop’ never helped me in 2010 elections

Published: Thu, 2011-12-01 22:31
Yvonne Webb

Trade Minister Stephen Cadiz has denied Selwyn “Robocop” Alexis assisted him in the 2010 election campaign. Alexis is one of the detainees held under the Emergency Powers Regulations. Cadiz is demanding an apology from Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley, who recently made the claim. Speaking on the CNC3 morning programme yesterday, Cadiz, also the Member of Parliament for Chaguanas East, said Rowley’s claims were untrue.

He added: “He has to apologise to me. He has to apologise to the 10,797 people who voted for me, who voted for the Prime Minister and the People’s Partnership. “I want to state in no uncertain terms “Robocop”, by whatever name he goes by, was not, was never and will never be part of any campaign or any event or anything in which I am involved.” Cadiz accused Rowley of trivialising the issue.

He said: “For him to be making these statements, where he is talking about an assassination plot, a very serious issue, which he and the PNM are making light of, this assassination plot against the PM, he is the one trivialising it. “Where he is using that same conversation with something as serious as an assassination plot, with ‘Robocop’ and my name being associated with it, that is where I draw the line.”

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2011/12/ ... -elections

What a coinkidink!?!

:pwned:

It seems ALL these ministers shooting themselves in the foot.

Ring de election bell.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 7th, 2011, 11:53 pm

Choate is a boss when it comes to words.....

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Cho ... 18178.html

Choate: PM should clear our names
By Susan Mohammed susan.mohammed@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Dec 7, 2011 at 10:55 PM ECT
Story Updated: Dec 7, 2011 at 10:55 PM ECT
CLEAR my name.
That was the appeal yesterday from Muslim cleric Ashmeed Choate, who was named by police investigators as the mastermind behind an alleged plot to kill Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and three other politicians.
Choate said he had already forgiven Persad-Bissessar, but was asking that she publicly declare that he and 15 others were wrongfully named in the alleged plot.
Choate said: "I wish that Kamla would clear our names. All of us. Clear our names by making a statement. Just like she came out openly that night and said about this treasonous act and assassination plot. Just as how she said that, she can come out and say that we were mistaken in our assessment of these people."
He said a statement by a Prime Minister was powerful enough to destroy someone's reputation.
"I know the children here (at the school) still love me, but I don't know what will be the reaction of people outside. And our reputation as Muslims is very important," he told the Express yesterday, as he sat on a bench on the compound of his school, Darul Qu'ran Wal Hadith Islamic School, at Calcutta No 2, Freeport.
Choate, 52, a father of three, was freed on Monday night, hours before the end of the State of Emergency, with the police admitting there was insufficient evidence to charge anyone.
Choate said if Persad-Bissesar publicly cleared their names, he and the other detainees may be dissuaded into not pursuing legal action against the State for wrongful arrest.
On the day he was freed, his attorney, Faris Al-Rawi, an Opposition Senator, wrote to Senior Counsel Russell Martineau, who appeared for the State when lawyers for some detainees went before the Review Tribunal last week. Al-Rawi is seeking, among other things, details of the alleged plot, including in what manner Choate was considered to be the mastermind.
Choate said he was shocked and surprised when he learned from police, while detained, he was pin-pointed as the mastermind of the alleged plot.
"That hit me hard. That hit me really hard," he said, as he recalled being served the documentation outlining in detail the allegation.
"For somebody to be falsely accused of being the mastermind in a plot to kill the Prime Minister and other ministers, it was a harrowing experience."
Choate said, however, that he felt nothing but forgiveness toward Persad-Bissessar.
"At one point I would like to say, 'Kamla, I forgive you. That was my first gut feeling. That Kamla, whatever you have done to me or intend to do to me in the future, I forgive you. That's how I feel in my heart. If she was driving along the road and she got a flat tyre, I would be the first to fix it for her. I say that from here (pointing to his heart)."
He said he respected Persad-Bissessar as the leader of the nation and as someone who needed to be protected for the good of the nation.
Choate told the Express: "She is a woman, someone who needs to be protected. In Islam, a man protects a woman. I feel emotional about it. How can that (hatching a plot to kill) be done? Why would someone want to assassinate the Prime Minister? No. We are to protect her. You cannot even think those kind of thoughts. Of course I respect her as a leader."
Choate said he did not believe the matter to be closed, and he expected to be rearrested and questioned by police at any time.
He said he did not think there was ever a plot to kill Persad-Bissessar and other Government ministers.
"I don't think there ever was a plot. But there are forces within the political system that are trying to unseat her or make her look ridiculous and she fell for it. She fell for the information," he said.
Following his release, he said his family feared for his safety, and he was even discouraged by his family to use a cellphone.
"We were told by prison officers that while we are within these prison walls you are safe. When we are outside, we don't know what could happen.
"That is why they released us early, for our own interests. Because we don't know where, when or how this is going to end. Any moment, I expect to see vehicles of police officers pull up and take me," Choate told the Express.
He said he saw his two-week detention as a test from Allah.
"If I am to be wrongfully accused without a shred of evidence in this manner, then my Lord has not forgotten me. My Lord thinks well of me. Expect a test... you love Allah and Allah loves you. He is testing me and my faith, and my duty to him must now double," he said.
He said he did not vote in the last election, but that did not mean he did not believe in democracy.
He said that during an interview with police, while he was detained, the police asked him what were his thoughts on democracy.
"I asked them what is democracy. A policeman (name called) said the election process. I said of course I believe in the election process. But does my absentia mean that I oppose the election process? No. Many people don't vote. It's a meaningful choice on my part to decline (to vote)."

Postby sMASH » December 8th, 2011, 12:35 am

dais wah i mean, when u hear choate,,, the man does sound as if he can't hurt a fly...

btw, that pic with cadiz, if u are are insinuating that the dude behind him is robocop, he not looking like robocop. to me, he more resemble a reasonably popular muslim, but not robocop.

Postby Habit7 » December 8th, 2011, 12:55 am

^^^Yeah I have been informed it isn't Robocop

Postby rfari » December 8th, 2011, 2:20 am

As allyuh mention cadiz, I saw a bit of the interview that ian alleyne had with robocop and there was mention of keith noel. I didn't hear the full interview but it appeared (I may be wrong) that robocop was linked to keith noel's murder. IIRC, wasn't cadiz the one tht started the 'keith noel (murder number) committee??? And now cadiz is denying robocop. Hmmm....

Postby shogun » December 8th, 2011, 7:26 am

^^Damnit! missed that interview.

Postby Habit7 » December 8th, 2011, 8:28 am

who is that hot woman to the left?

Postby AllTrac » December 8th, 2011, 10:23 am

our PM looks so beautiful and elegant :)
I will write a poem.

Postby rfari » December 8th, 2011, 10:57 am

Any cheds on the bullet-proof bmw 7 series tht chavez sent for castro?

Postby Habit7 » December 8th, 2011, 11:01 am

what more is there to say?

Postby rfari » December 8th, 2011, 11:07 am

I dunno yet.

lostallos101