Stay home SIQ thread 30/03 to 15/04

Re: Stay home SIQ thread 30/03 to 15/04

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 28th, 2020, 2:52 pm

zoom rader wrote:^^^ Was thinking of using pitch pine, any one had luck with using pitch for out door conditions?

I have it as a fence/wall. No issues with rotting but it will warp over time, not much but it will be noticeable on a gate. This is install day in 2017. Coated with the same CWF UV-5 shortly thereafter and not repainted since.

IMG_20170416_1532317_rewind.jpg

Postby eliteauto » May 28th, 2020, 3:17 pm

I like how that pitch pine looking as a fence, gives me an idea for a wall I want to raise

rebound

Postby rebound » May 28th, 2020, 4:27 pm

Its Berger Specialist Range penetrating liquid....I got it at Allied....Basically you put that on the wood and then apply the topcoat within 30mins
Strugglerzinc wrote:
rebound wrote:I also use the Flood on the Balata but, U seal it with Berger sealant 30 mins before applying the Flood. That precoat helps

What sealant do you speak of? Can you tell me the exact name? I can try it at my next redo in 3 months.

rebound

Postby rebound » May 28th, 2020, 4:35 pm

The right pitch pine is good but, it cant just be treated pine, you have to get the kiln dried one. When its pressure treated only, the moisture from the treatment rots the wood from inside..... call that number below for dried pitch pine
zoom rader wrote:^^^ Was thinking of using pitch pine, any one had luck with using pitch for out door conditions?
Screenshot_20200527-105803_Google.jpeg

Postby zoom rader » May 28th, 2020, 6:43 pm

rebound wrote:The right pitch pine is good but, it cant just be treated pine, you have to get the kiln dried one. When its pressure treated only, the moisture from the treatment rots the wood from inside..... call that number below for dried pitch pine
Screenshot_20200527-105803_Google.jpeg
Nice, I going with the pitch pine

Postby zoom rader » May 28th, 2020, 6:45 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:

I have it as a fence/wall. No issues with rotting but it will warp over time, not much but it will be noticeable on a gate. This is install day in 2017. Coated with the same CWF UV-5 shortly thereafter and not repainted since.

IMG_20170416_1532317_rewind.jpg
This wall gives me a good idea as I was going to build a wall with alu sheeting.

Postby rspann » May 28th, 2020, 6:46 pm

Zoomrader I not seeing you posting in the two political threads ,what happen ?

rebound

Postby rebound » May 28th, 2020, 7:18 pm

This Balata is 12 years old and look at how the metal corroded compared to the wood.
20200528_164016.jpeg

Postby zoom rader » May 28th, 2020, 7:51 pm

rebound wrote:This Balata is 12 years old and look at how the metal corroded compared to the wood.
20200528_164016.jpeg
Where sells this Balata?

rebound

Postby rebound » May 28th, 2020, 7:59 pm

Not sure about now, but I got this from a sawmill in hardbargain back then....i would look around tho.

Postby Gladiator » May 28th, 2020, 8:00 pm

I have 6" pitch pine on my external gates. Started using thompsons water seal the sheen lasts 6 months and repels water for a year or so but gets blackish and have to sand between coating.

2 yrs ago I get fed up, sand it and used Sherwin Williams external oil and it looks just as good as the day I painted it up to now. The wood itself is solid and strong, no rotting, not over drying or anything like that. Just a little power wash once a year for dust etc

Postby rspann » May 28th, 2020, 8:04 pm

Bharat Nandlal Sawmill . He had a lot of imported and local hardwood . I used to buy crappo , greenheart and kabukali from him. He died a while back and his son and grandson runs the place .

His worker Ganesh opened up German Tech and he has a lot of good wood and does panelling and dressing at reasonable prices .

rebound

Postby rebound » May 28th, 2020, 8:20 pm

You know the thing spann.

dtrinishy

Postby dtrinishy » May 28th, 2020, 9:00 pm

Thanks man
rebound wrote:Got the epoxy and pigment at Peakes.
dtrinishy wrote:Where do u buy your epoxy
rebound wrote:Update on the Sewing Machine stand table...

Red epoxy inlays in all cracks and clear gloss coating done.

I also inset a channel on the underside to avoid warping.
20200527_212246.jpeg
20200527_212221.jpeg
20200517_091927.jpeg

Postby supercharged turbo » May 28th, 2020, 11:55 pm

Is there an ideal type of wood to use for outdoor paneling or is it based more on what is pocket friendly?

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 29th, 2020, 10:24 am

supercharged turbo wrote:Is there an ideal type of wood to use for outdoor paneling or is it based more on what is pocket friendly?

Yes

Postby Dizzy28 » May 29th, 2020, 10:30 am

rspann wrote:Bharat Nandlal Sawmill . He had a lot of imported and local hardwood . I used to buy crappo , greenheart and kabukali from him. He died a while back and his son and grandson runs the place .

His worker Ganesh opened up German Tech and he has a lot of good wood and does panelling and dressing at reasonable prices .

Is years we haven't had to buy non pitch pine wood.
Saran Sampath still in operation

dogg

Postby dogg » October 7th, 2020, 1:45 pm

Folks were kicksing off when I started this thread asking about lockdown possibilities

This thing isn't going to end anytime soon. Yet ppl here and IRL moving like life is all normal. Another few months, more business closed down. Less ppl working what will be our situation?

Half of TnT don't save or invest. A former prime minister even said he didn't believe in saving surpluses, preferring to spend money on grand nonsense. Yet he's treated now like some kinda messiah.

For now, I'm one of the dwindling group of salarymen who are still getting paid. It ent going to last. I'll have to dip into savings to continue eating sooner rather than later.

And ppl will still be laffing and kicksing.

dogg

Postby dogg » April 29th, 2021, 11:29 pm

Here we go again...

Jah help us this rounds!

Postby Ben_spanna » April 29th, 2021, 11:43 pm

dogg wrote:Here we go again...

Jah help us this rounds!

You realize a majority of the population will still be going to work as usual, it’s just people who work in restaurants, bars, gyms and the mall that will be home…… :lol: :lol: :lol: :)

dogg

Postby dogg » April 29th, 2021, 11:56 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:

Jah help us this rounds!

You realize a majority of the population will still be going to work as usual, it’s just people who work in restaurants, bars, gyms and the mall that will be home…… :lol: :lol: :lol: :)

brotherman... You see what going on in India? In Brazil?

We safe from that?

Postby sMASH » April 30th, 2021, 4:19 am

Ben_spanna wrote:

Jah help us this rounds!

You realize a majority of the population will still be going to work as usual, it’s just people who work in restaurants, bars, gyms and the mall that will be home…… :)
        And when they don't have money to spend at the business places that remain open?
        The knock on effects.

It's not like they could bounce back after the lock diwn, so it will persist long after we re open.

Postby redmanjp » April 30th, 2021, 4:46 am

Ppl have been told for weeks to behave' some decided not too. Then the Venez.. sorry Brazilian variant came in from south. This is the consequences.

Postby goalpost » April 30th, 2021, 5:10 am

This not a stay at home, like last March/April. I hadda go to work normal jus now.

Postby timelapse » April 30th, 2021, 7:15 am

I swear, if this was Walking Dead Trinidad edition, I might be one of the last dozen survivers.Stay tf away from illegals.You know NOTHING about them and what they coming with.