Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby M_2NR » June 28th, 2010, 8:27 pm

zscrugby wrote:
SRASC wrote:
mitch wrote:
Call consumer affairs or fraud squad

yeah ok, like them will know wtf we talking about :roll:

I was thinking that myself.

consumer affairs officer:so wat u tryin to tell me is that this man sayin he cud brake out of jail before anyone? cause he donate money to a devil team? wat da have to do wit me?

hahahahahaha i lol'd hard! but i can picture that happening.
But see it this way, it would make it harder for persons to become a powerseller and less people will want to become one, leading to less funds for the site if each and ever person were to be checked out. The PS' have to carry out a duty to their customers. Their customers are responsible for the purchase. Sadly, this is how it works.

a lil warning/sticky will be nice. But TBH, the world have developed a lot since the advent of the internet, google, et al. Simple reading and looking up information would help out the average user. Sadly, most rather ask a padna or too lazy to check.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 28th, 2010, 8:39 pm

duane i agree with the sticky, $7000+ is real hard to get tricked out of..

Even if the sticky covers more than just the iPhone, but states that any product wrongfully advertised will be removed, and if a topic/product is flagged by users as being incorrect and a powerseller/seller is warned by an admin and does not fix/remove the ad, the ad will be deleted and the user banned for 24hrs

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 28th, 2010, 8:46 pm

M_2nr wrote:
zscrugby wrote:
SRASC wrote:
mitch wrote:
Call consumer affairs or fraud squad

yeah ok, like them will know wtf we talking about :roll:

I was thinking that myself.

consumer affairs officer:so wat u tryin to tell me is that this man sayin he cud brake out of jail before anyone? cause he donate money to a devil team? wat da have to do wit me?

But see it this way, it would make it harder for persons to become a powerseller and less people will want to become one, leading to less funds for the site if each and ever person were to be checked out. The PS' have to carry out a duty to their customers. Their customers are responsible for the purchase. Sadly, this is how it works.

a lil warning/sticky will be nice. But TBH, the world have developed a lot since the advent of the internet, google, et al. Simple reading and looking up information would help out the average user. Sadly, most rather ask a padna or too lazy to check.

It was funny wasn't it lol. That's zscrugby for ya. But seriously like Duane 3NE 2NR said earlier, buyer beware (well not in those words anyway). For most it would likely be their 1st iPhone so they don't know about jailbreaking for sure & unlocking may also be new to them.
I stand by my original statement, the least that could be done is a sticky to try to hopefully raise awareness. Do research on the product that you're looking to get & don't rely entirely on word of mouth. They are using the internet to find these things to buy, they might as well use it to educate themselves on said product.

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » June 28th, 2010, 8:55 pm

Bezman wrote:duane i agree with the sticky, $7000+ is real hard to get tricked out of..

Even if the sticky covers more than just the iPhone, but states that any product wrongfully advertised will be removed, and if a topic/product is flagged by users as being incorrect and a powerseller/seller is warned by an admin and does not fix/remove the ad, the ad will be deleted and the user banned for 24hrs

boi in these days a few 100 hard to get ripped off of... duane sticky d ting..

Postby M_2NR » June 28th, 2010, 9:53 pm

SRASC wrote:
M_2nr wrote:
zscrugby wrote:
SRASC wrote:I was thinking that myself.

It was funny wasn't it lol. That's zscrugby for ya. But seriously like Duane 3NE 2NR said earlier, buyer beware (well not in those words anyway). For most it would likely be their 1st iPhone so they don't know about jailbreaking for sure & unlocking may also be new to them.
I stand by my original statement, the least that could be done is a sticky to try to hopefully raise awareness. Do research on the product that you're looking to get & don't rely entirely on word of mouth. They are using the internet to find these things to buy, they might as well use it to educate themselves on said product.

hahaha it was even funnier for me as the first time i had to explain it to a person in his late 40's he expressed a similar sentiment wrt to the jailbreaking part LOL.
I fully agree. Thing is, nowadays internet access is not hard to get. I taught my dad google and since then he has not asked me a question about anything again.
We can also attach a little note as to where to get info. If i get time, i'll compile a list of sites for all the info we need wrt to iPhone stuff. Sites we all know but other might not.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 28th, 2010, 9:57 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 28th, 2010, 10:23 pm

duane i agree with the sticky, $7000+ is real hard to get tricked out of..

I am not saying no. I also think that the seller is talking crap because of what has been posted on the dev teams blog.

However that is HIS ad, if he wants to post that he got his iphones unlocked by Steve Jobs himself then that is his prerogative. Same goes for newspaper classifieds.

You are all being emotional about this because it is a topic that you know well. Think of the number of PM's and situations we would have to deal with each time someone thinks a seller is not being honest if we place a sticky. We cannot then go and check each sale. We cannot set that precedent.

At the end of the day he is claiming that he is selling the phone unlocked. If the buyer doesn't get it in an unlocked state then they shouldn't buy it, or demand one that IS unlocked!

Most I think will happen here is that the seller will end up with alot of locked phones on his hand waiting for an unlock to come out.

Postby M_2NR » June 28th, 2010, 11:02 pm

K here are who i follow,
(iClarified was posted before but if you follow them ALONE that's enough)

http://www.ihackintosh.com/ (really cool guy who can help with most apple stuff not just iPhones)
http://www.redmondpie.com/ (another good site that covers other mainly apple and microsoft as well as google)
http://www.modyouri.com/ (a compilation of almost ALL the latest news)
http://modmyi.com/ (forum is good for general info)
http://www.macrumors.com/ (another good site with a good forum too!)
http://i-enthusiast.com/ (an acquaintance on twitter's site, really good esp for the general user, they also have an app in the appstore that you can check out)
http://www.tuaw.com/ (general Apple news from a non-official source)
http://iphoneroot.com/ (another blog)

I was going to include mytriniphone.com, but :wtf: this showed up...
avast.JPG

BEZ!!! please fix that man. You've been nuked :(

BTW, all the guys listed above have twitter accounts. Any more site i will append, SRASC and others add your fav's too.

Engadget and Gizmodo and the others can be added as well.

At the end i'll make a combined post will all. 8)

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » June 28th, 2010, 11:06 pm

M_2nr wrote:K here are who i follow,
(iClarified was posted before but if you follow them ALONE that's enough)

http://www.ihackintosh.com/ (really cool guy who can help with most apple stuff not just iPhones)
http://www.redmondpie.com/ (another good site that covers other mainly apple and microsoft as well as google)
http://www.modyouri.com/ (a compilation of almost ALL the latest news)
http://modmyi.com/ (forum is good for general info)
http://www.macrumors.com/ (another good site with a good forum too!)
http://i-enthusiast.com/ (an acquaintance on twitter's site, really good esp for the general user, they also have an app in the appstore that you can check out)
http://www.tuaw.com/ (general Apple news from a non-official source)
http://iphoneroot.com/ (another blog)

I was going to include mytriniphone.com, but :wtf: this showed up...
avast.JPG

BEZ!!! please fix that man. You've been nuked :(

BTW, all the guys listed above have twitter accounts. Any more site i will append, SRASC and others add your fav's too.

Engadget and Gizmodo and the others can be added as well.

At the end i'll make a combined post will all. 8)

http://www.theiphonespot.net/

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 28th, 2010, 11:06 pm

I got through to http://mytriniphone.com just fine. That's weird.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 28th, 2010, 11:29 pm

SRASC wrote:I like most were probably a little skeptical at the iPhone 4's antennae design. As I saw that it reminded me of my old Nokia 5100. The instruction manual stated to avoid touching the antennae on the top at the back of the phone, and Apple just made it basically be the phone's surrounding. I thought for Apple to do this meant they had a proper workaround, but it looks like that's not the case. With today being launch day, we shall see if these were issues related to these early comers, or not as many I'm sure would report their issues.

with that being said...

Nokia's official blog has jumped on the iPhone 4 "death grip" bandwagon in a posting that suggests the company's mobiles don't share the same issues related to blocking a phone's antenna, despite having earlier published instructions that tell users to avoid holding its phones in a way that might block the antenna.

Today's Official Nokia Blog post drying asked, "How do you hold your Nokia?" It posts a variety of pictures of a Nokia phone being cupped by a user's left hand, the same thing that is reported to cause a drop in reported signal (although not necessarily in call performance) on iPhone 4.

"The key function on any Nokia device is its ability to make phone calls," the company's official blog posting says. "Providing a wide range of methods and grips for people to hold their phones, without interfering with the antennae, has been an essential feature of every device Nokia has built."

It concludes, "Of course, feel free to ignore all of the above because realistically, you’re free to hold your Nokia device any way you like. And you won’t suffer any signal loss. Cool, huh?"

Grasped by its own Death Grip

Users immediately commented on the posting with links to YouTube videos showing a variety of mobile phones experiencing a lost or degraded signal when held in the user's hand, including videos of a Nokia E71 (shown below), Nokia 6230, and Nokia 6720, as well as phones from other makers: the HTC Droid Incredible and the Google branded HTC Nexus One

Another Nokia customer posted the official user instructions from his Nokia 2320, which depict the phone with a graphical "do not" swipe across the bottom antenna section of the device, and explicit instructions to "avoid touching the antenna area unnecessarily while the antenna is transmitting or receiving."

Nearly identical wording appears in Nokia's printed manuals for its other phones, including the E71, as reader Mark McCormack sent in (pictured below). That's the same model Nokia appears to be presenting in its blog page, where it asserts there is no way to reduce signal by holding the phone in a different way. Nokia's manuals say otherwise: "Contact with antennas affects the communication quality and may cause the device to operate at a higher power level than otherwise needed and my reduce the battery life."

(If only I could find my old Nokia 5100's manual...)

------

Apple is finding an unlikely ally in its efforts to support HTML5 in preference to Adobe Flash as the platform for dynamic web content: pornographers.

According to a report by ConceivablyTech, leading adult film studio Digital Playground has announced its intentions to make the leap to HTML5, based in part upon needing to target HTML5 to reach Apple's iPhone users.

Digital Playground began offering its content to iPhone users two years ago. Because Apple has a policy of not carrying pornography in its own curated App Store, the only option available to to the studio was to use the iPhone's open, unrestricted web platform.

Adobe had failed to release a suitable version of Flash for the iPhone and other mobile platforms, so Digital Playground targeted HTML5 as its mobile delivery platform. Adobe is now nearing the official release of its Flash player for Android, but Ali Joone, the founder and director of Digital Playground, "indicated that it is rather irrelevant to him whether Android will support Flash or not," according to the report.

"Mobile browsers run HTML 5 very well," Joone said. "Flash brings everything to a crawl and has an impact on battery life. With HTML 5, there is no reason to show our content in Flash."

Digital Playground continues to use Flash to target desktop users, but Joone noted that his company plans to make the shift there, too. "We are waiting for browsers to catch up. As soon as they are ready, we will move everything to HTML 5,” noting it was “just a matter of time” until Flash disappears. “It’s the next passing of the torch.”

The power of Apple's mobile platform to shift content producers toward open standards is based on dollars. Digital Playground's founder reported, "We were surprised how loyal iPhone and especially iPad owners are. 70% of our customers are returning customers. They spend a lot of money.”

Joone added that people like to watch adult content on mobile devices for the sense of personal space. “First there was the TV. Then there was the PC, which is now shared by the entire family and it’s not personal anymore. The phone is very personal to us, which is why our content works on this platform.”

I remember a story talking about how when porn took the Blu-Ray side of the old HD-DVD vs Blu-Ray that the basically called it a death sentence for HD-DVD, & of course...

------

In case you needed any more evidence that Samsung's Epic 4G for Sprint is probably going to be awesome, you might take a gander at the competitive analysis they've prepared against the iPhone 4, Droid Incredible, and Droid X as an ego-boosting checklist for reps prepping to sell the phone in the coming weeks. The DLNA support trumpeted, but HDMI's notably missing -- something its EVO 4G sibling has -- and it'll be up to customers to decide whether 4-inch Super AMOLED is better than 4.3-inch LCD. Unsurprisingly, the Epic will "feature" the same $10 data surcharge that the EVO has, something that we're guessing is going to end up being phased in over Sprint's entire smartphone lineup over time -- you know, kind of like those delivery service "fuel surcharges" that end up becoming permanent after a while. Anyhow, the Epic looks killer on paper, but if anything, the chart only underscores how incredibly stiff its competition is going to be. Choice is good, is it not?

------

Kershaw, Cutter & Ratinoff is currently investigating potential problems with the release of iPhone 4 for a possible class action lawsuit.

If you recently purchased the new iPhone and have experienced poor reception quality, dropped calls and weak signals, we would like to hear from you. Please call us toll free at (888) 285-3333, click "live chat" above to immediately speak with a KCR representative, or email us for more details.

ValleyWag notes that KCR is the same firm that filed a federal class action suit over deceptive "offer" ads in games like Mafia Wars and Farmville.

Steve Jobs recently hinted that a some sort of solution from Apple may be coming soon; however, so far the company's only advice is to hold it different.

iOS 4.0.1 where art thou?

------

Tiny Watch Productions has posted a hilarious video of a cartoon character trying to buy a sold out iPhone 4 but being offered the HTC Evo instead.

The video contains some NFSW language.

------

David Romhan Torres has succeeded in getting iMovie to run on his iPhone 3GS with little difficulties.

I just make iMovie for iphone 4 run on an iphone 3GS, it’s very simple just download the file, modify info.plist file and change the Minimum system version to 3.0.0 and UIRequiredDeviceCapabilities/front-facing-camera to false

Take a look at the video below posted by RedmondPie. They've posted some instructions as well; however, the installation of the modified ipa requires circumventing Apple's DRM so we can't post a full tutorial.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 29th, 2010, 9:15 am

lol allya believe firstchoicett sending me threats via PM, telling me "this is the last time i spam his thread" and how he done "warn me" he really lucky i am in a great mood this morning yes, I would have delete his account without even consulting Duane LOL haahaha (JK Duane, I would have asked Harry to do it).

YES i know MyTriniPhone needs some help, allya want to help me or what? i'll do the facelift, but oh gorm the updates killing me - i was ready to sell it, and got some offers, but i kinda almost feel the news there so old and out of date, kinda makes no sense trying to revive it.

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » June 29th, 2010, 10:19 am

Bezman wrote:lol allya believe firstchoicett sending me threats via PM, telling me "this is the last time i spam his thread" and how he done "warn me" he really lucky i am in a great mood this morning yes, I would have delete his account without even consulting Duane LOL haahaha (JK Duane, I would have asked Harry to do it).

YES i know MyTriniPhone needs some help, allya want to help me or what? i'll do the facelift, but oh gorm the updates killing me - i was ready to sell it, and got some offers, but i kinda almost feel the news there so old and out of date, kinda makes no sense trying to revive it.

HEYYY!!! wat makes u so special that u get a pm from him.. i want one.. not fair..

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 29th, 2010, 1:21 pm

I get a next PM and the man threaten to call consumer affiars for me and shut down trinituner hahaha

ANYWHOOOOOO

I just got 4.0 on my 3g and its working great, but the caller id fix not really working entirely, is there another??

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » June 29th, 2010, 2:04 pm

Bezman wrote:I get a next PM and the man threaten to call consumer affiars for me and shut down trinituner hahaha

ANYWHOOOOOO

I just got 4.0 on my 3g and its working great, but the caller id fix not really working entirely, is there another??

hahaha i luv da man yes... do u have multitaskin and wallpapers an d battery percent enabled? if so how is it running? i found it unbearable to use with all 3 runnin... its reeeeel slowed down an stuck my 3g.. esp ni cydia.. so i have battery percent an wallpapers alone an its runnin alright.. use CallerID and Format Fix f.. (i put the f because i cant see the hole name in cydia.. this is exactly how i see it with the f and the ...) its version 1.1.. the author is Carlo Franchino and its from iSpazio repo... works for me.. let me no if it works for u..

UPDATE: the package is CallerID and Format Fix for FW 3.0 ... had to click remove to see the full name..

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » June 29th, 2010, 2:42 pm

how do i get my 3g on 4.0??? any tutorials on this?

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » June 29th, 2010, 2:48 pm

http://iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=10188

streetlifestyle wrote:how do i get my 3g on 4.0??? any tutorials on this?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 29th, 2010, 3:21 pm

i have everything enabled and i find its running great, but i dont have any apps installed except facebook and i dont have any apps from cydia installed either

I installed the callerID fix and it kinda fixed it, but it is still not recognizing some numbers it was before. must need some fiddling for 4.0, i'll check out the .plist files later. (or wait for SRASC to chime in :P)

**awaits chime**

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » June 29th, 2010, 3:33 pm

Wolfie wrote:http://iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=10188

streetlifestyle wrote:how do i get my 3g on 4.0??? any tutorials on this?

thanks man! :lol:

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » June 29th, 2010, 3:35 pm

Bezman wrote:i have everything enabled and i find its running great, but i dont have any apps installed except facebook and i dont have any apps from cydia installed either

I installed the callerID fix and it kinda fixed it, but it is still not recognizing some numbers it was before. must need some fiddling for 4.0, i'll check out the .plist files later. (or wait for SRASC to chime in :P)

**awaits chime**

except SRASC is on a 2g so he has no 4.0 :p... how do you haev you numbers formatted? eg 1868******* or just *******? mine are just ******* and they work perfectly..

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 29th, 2010, 3:59 pm

mine are all how LOL, and lots of international numbers etc, no matter i'll sort it out :)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 29th, 2010, 4:34 pm

Rumors of a Verizon-compatible CDMA iPhone resurfaced again Tuesday, when Bloomberg reported it has been told the handset will arrive in January of 2011.

Citing two people "familiar with the plans," author Amy Thomson wrote that the largest wireless provider in the U.S. will start selling the iPhone in 2011, marking the end of exclusivity for AT&T.

"The device will be available to customers in January, according to the people, who declined to be named because the information isn't public," the report said.

The last mainstream media report on a Verizon iPhone came back in March, when The Wall Street Journal reported that Apple was working on two new phones -- one assumed to be the just-released iPhone 4, while the other was said to be a CDMA iPhone compatible with the Verizon network. That report said such phones were not scheduled to go into mass production until September, and it was "unclear" when the model would become available for sale.

Since its release in 2007, the iPhone has only been available in models compatible with UMTS-GSM networks. In the U.S., only AT&T and T-Mobile operate such networks, and AT&T has been the exclusive carrier of the iPhone stateside since it was first announced.

Earlier this month, Taiwanese industry publication DigiTimes reported that a CDMA iPhone would be assembled and begin shipping to Apple in the fourth quarter of 2010. It said that Pegatron is already producing the hardware in its plants in Shanghai, China.

It just wouldn't go away, would it...

------

The new FaceTime video calling feature of iPhone 4 does not require mobile service after first use, enabling users to establish video chat from any WiFi hotspot, even while in Airplane Mode.

In reviewing FaceTime and mobile performance, AppleInsider originally reported that that making a FaceTime call requires an activated phone with service. However, that's only true for the first FaceTime session made from the phone.

Subsequent calls to FaceTime contacts, including users you've never contacted before, can be placed with mobile service turned off completely, such as when flying on a plane with WiFi service (where regulations prevent users from placing mobile phone calls.)

Readers have reported being able to connect via FaceTime from locations where they have no mobile service (including an airplane). Sure enough, we could successfully set up test calls between two iPhone 4 users across the country while both were in Airplane Mode with only WiFi turned on.

It is also possible to call, without any mobile service, a new contact you've never previously established a FaceTime chat with, although this must be done from Contacts (create a contact if necessary, then open it and hit the FaceTime button). The standard phone dialer keypad offers no option to call a number using FaceTime directly (yet).

------

We've already seen some pretty good iPhone 4 KIRFs, but it looks like there's a new king in town: the Air Phone NO. 4. Not only does it faithfully emulate the iPhone 4's hardware design with what we can only assume is the highest quality materials (it even eliminates those pesky seams), but it packs a "non-smartphone OS" that has all your favorite apps including Safari, Mail, "Games," "Sound" and, last but not least, FaceTime -- or a FaceTime icon, at least. Curious to see what other wonders await behind that familiar veneer? Then you can apparently snag one of these in China right now for just $100.

------

Jonathan Ive discusses the design of the iPhone 4 with Core77, noting that its manufacturing tolerances are phenomenal.

Jonathan Ive wrote:"A big part of the experience of a physical object has to do with the materials," said Jonathan Ive, Apple's Senior Vice President of Design, during a brief chat with Core77. "[At Apple] we experiment with and explore materials, processing them, learning about the inherent properties of the material--and the process of transforming it from raw material to finished product; for example, understanding exactly how the processes of machining it or grinding it affect it. That understanding, that preoccupation with the materials and processes, is [very] essential to the way we work."

"Those three black splits are co-molded in, and then the band goes through more processes," Ive points out. "So it's assembled first, the band, and then the final machining and grinding are performed, so the tolerances are extraordinary.... Whatever people's feelings are about the actual design of the product is of course subjective. But objectively I can say that the manufacturing tolerances are phenomenal. And we determined this, we designed it from the very beginning to meet those goals."

------

While moderating a CEO dinner last night at Il Buco in Manhattan, Business Insider heard some gossip about Apple's future plans.

According to the report, Apple's next big move is going to be TV.

Besides the leaks of a supposed new Apple TV device, the company also renamed its iPhone OS "iOS," foreshadowing a future beyond mobile devices. The company's move into advertising -- mobile, so far, but no reason it can't extend into TV somehow -- is another hint.

They also heard that Apple's shopping spree isn't over and their new deals guy, former Goldman banker Adrian Perica, is looking at all kinds of deals, even up to $1 billion.

------

As we continue to test the iPhone 4, we're doing our best to track the handset's signal strength, particularly in light of the ongoing issues with the antenna. Though we've also noticed that we occasionally lose bars when we hold the iPhone 4 on its lower right side, the number of bars isn't the most accurate indicator of a cell phone's reception. For more details, we turned to the iPhone's Field Test indicator, but that option doesn't seem to be available on the iPhone 4.
On previous iPhones, you could access a wealth of signal information by dialing *3001#12345#* on the phone keypad. Once there, you'd see the signal strength in decibels in the upper-left corner of the display--the lower the number, the better the signal--and the number of nearby cell phone towers at any given moment. It's all great information and handy for gauging reception.
We've asked Apple for an explanation, but we haven't heard back yet. Whatever the reason, a very handy tool has disappeared from the iPhone 4. On the other hand, maybe we just don't know the new code.

Apparently this is more of an iOS 4.0 issue as iPhone 3G & iPhone 3GS users report loosing the ability once they upgrade

------

Pages from Apple's iWork suite of apps for the iPad has now been ported to iPhone 4. Steven Troughton Smith, the Dublin based developer of jailbreakapps like Orbit, Stack and SameGame has announced on his Twitter page that he has managed to the port Pages by hacking the app's info.plist file on iOS 4 and later re-signing it.

"Just got Pages up and running on my iPhone 4 (w/ a little hacking). Seems like it runs on OS 4
@buzzert bit of Info.plist hacking and re-signing!"

The porting is tricky considering that the display screen aspect ratio of the iPad and iPhone are notably different. However, as you can see from the screenshot below, the app is largely iPhone-compatible though the elements on the title bar may appear muddled to an extent.

Smith has not provided any information on how users may hack the apps from their end. There is also no word on whether these hacked apps shall be made available for download.

However, if recent speculations are anything to go by, we could soon expect an official iWork app suite to be available for download on the App Store for iPhone. Engadget points us to the AppleCare Protection section on Apple's Online Store for customers in Canada, UK and Australia that contains references to "iWork for iPhone".

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 29th, 2010, 7:44 pm

Guys, quick question.

Isn't there a jailbreaking method that once my battery goes dead the phone won't come on or have some adverse effect along those lines?

Postby M_2NR » June 29th, 2010, 8:53 pm

Bezman wrote:lol allya believe firstchoicett sending me threats via PM, telling me "this is the last time i spam his thread" and how he done "warn me" he really lucky i am in a great mood this morning yes, I would have delete his account without even consulting Duane LOL haahaha (JK Duane, I would have asked Harry to do it).

:wtf: at the e-chets. Like he realize who you are on tuner... lol

wrt to mytriniphone. If you want us post articles/updates, now is the time (well next week for me) PM us nah?
Bezman wrote:i have everything enabled and i find its running great, but i dont have any apps installed except facebook and i dont have any apps from cydia installed either

**awaits chime**
LOL! just a few questions, i saw Taimur posting that it's slow and not recommended. I want to do it on dad's iPhone 3G, he has no major mobilesubs, hows it working for you? anything slower?

thanks man.
kurpal_v2 wrote:Guys, quick question.

Isn't there a jailbreaking method that once my battery goes dead the phone won't come on or have some adverse effect along those lines?

are you referring to a tethered jailbreak? That does not apply to 3G or 2G. Only 3GS and that was with newer models (late 2009) on blackra1n jailbreak.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 29th, 2010, 9:01 pm

We knew it had to happen. One developer has made a video demonstrating their Flashlight app for the iPhone 4. Unlike the countless Flashlight apps for the original iPhone which simply turned the screen white, this new app actually makes use of the LED camera flash on the iPhone 4. What we won't know is if this runs afoul of any of Apple's App Store rules. The developer, however, is planning on submitting it to the App Store.

------

MuscleNerd has announced an update to RedSn0w which fixes APN/MMS issues that jailbreakers might be experiencing with iOS 4.0.

The latest redsn0w beta should fix any APN or MMS issues that users were seeing. It's safe to re-run it on an already jailbroken iPhone without restoring…just deselect “Install Cydia” if you do that.

Postby M_2NR » June 30th, 2010, 1:40 am

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » June 30th, 2010, 9:15 am

quick question

i got a first gen IPHONE, alot of scratches to the back and screen
can I get the housing replaced?

if not can you recommend the best case for it

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 30th, 2010, 9:50 am

Three Apple job postings for iPhone / iPad antenna engineers to "Define and implement antenna system architecture to optimize the radiation performance for wireless portable devices." All three were posted on June 23rd, the same day that we started seeing widespread reporting of the left-handed reception issues. Coincidence?

------

I think a case for an iPhone mostly comes down to personal preference. They are selling the aluminum top piece for the 2G though, check here

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » June 30th, 2010, 10:08 am

can i use redsnow 0.9.4 to jb iOS4???

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » June 30th, 2010, 10:24 am

M_2nr wrote:
Wolfie wrote:Going to try to cert hack for push.

Will probably fail.

according to his site...
http://www.cmdshft.ipwn.me/blog/
all gone now bro :(
you shoulda used nimble to back up your old push certs man. I did that. Used inject last time to reinsert my old ones when i restored and it worked well!
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ post if you get through!!!

LOL @M_2NR

thanks eh.. i just had to "ipconfig /release" :?

eh?????
i wanna backup my push certs before i upgrade to 4.0.... Any help?????????