Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

kes_vtec

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby kes_vtec » December 30th, 2011, 6:25 am

ARES0610 wrote:Drilled tank is just that, a tank with a hole drilled in it to connect piping to allow water to overflow down to a sump.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Live_rock

Join this forum and start reading
http://www.3reef.com/

thanks

ramafingers1

Postby ramafingers1 » December 30th, 2011, 8:41 pm

Sharkman, you got anything interesting at the beach today? when you coming back. take some pics of some of the coral and fish over there. Maybe you can even bring back some coral and share? I sure men will pay you. hope it wont be expensive like by raj though. let us know what you find

Postby sharkman121 » December 30th, 2011, 9:59 pm

ramafingers1 wrote:Sharkman, you got anything interesting at the beach today? when you coming back. take some pics of some of the coral and fish over there. Maybe you can even bring back some coral and share? I sure men will pay you. hope it wont be expensive like by raj though. let us know what you find

:lol: didnt go to the beach today i jus laze around the house. Supposed to be going tomorrow though, i cant leave the country with coral, the ones that i got i caught for a friend of mine who also has a salt water tank here. Coming back on sunday night though. Saw a lot of tangs, wrasses, butterfly fish, triggerfish eels etc etc. wish i had an underwater camera though.

i know a spot in tobago though that has a better reef and more variety of reef fish species, but for sheer beauty of the water and clarity, its grenada hands down.

Postby sharkman121 » December 30th, 2011, 10:13 pm

heres a couple pics from the fishing trip went on yesterday on Sandy island. Got chance to test out my new scuba gear too.

ramafingers1

Postby ramafingers1 » December 31st, 2011, 11:23 am

sharkman121 wrote: i cant leave the country with coral, the ones that i got i caught for a friend of mine who also has a salt water tank here.

pics, pics

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » December 31st, 2011, 4:14 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Hey guys I finally got some time to go to a pet shop today and pickup some stuff I needed.

I picked up 4 small cichlids ($10 each wasnt bad imo) as my tank was empty for a month or two and only after I put the fish in I noticed mosquito lave have grown in the tank. Is it ok for the fish to stay around with them in the tank?

I dont have any "flow" in the tank right now as my filter still needs a propeller (whisper 4, anyone know where i could get one in south?) hopeing I get one by petshop boys in sando tomorrow.

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 31st, 2011, 4:17 pm

^^ Actually I noticed less mosquito things in the tank, my guess is they have been getting eaten.

Postby Trini Hookah » December 31st, 2011, 4:20 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:^^ Actually I noticed less mosquito things in the tank, my guess is they have been getting eaten.

Put a live mosquito or spider in your tank and see what'll happen :wink:

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » December 31st, 2011, 4:21 pm

chewps look slike nuittin was written ... was talking while i posted

its called an impeller and i already tiold u where u can get it

now as for the mosquitoes yes ur fishes will eat it .. and get strong too as it is good for them

i got new fishes from chais and i just need how to figure out a way to post pics of my tank here

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 31st, 2011, 4:57 pm

upload to fb and copy the url (just right click on pic)

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 1st, 2012, 2:40 pm

sharkman121 wrote:heres a couple pics from the fishing trip went on yesterday on Sandy island. Got chance to test out my new scuba gear too.

wat yuh ketch bro? waters was bad in tobago?

ramafingers1

Postby ramafingers1 » January 1st, 2012, 5:20 pm

where you guys buy your diving equipment. is there a local shop or is it from amazon or ebay or something. What a good brand. did some snorkeling already but wanted to do the scuba thing.

Postby sharkman121 » January 2nd, 2012, 3:59 am

ryan i aint catch no reef fish, catch some barracuda to fry an eat. Got some bubble and brain coral. Thats grenada though.

rama bought my snorkelling stuff from amazon, mine is U.S Divers brand. I dont have my own scuba equiptment yet. I wanna get certified before i buy my stuff. DO some research online as well.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » January 2nd, 2012, 9:55 pm

went over by ziggy today, got some some really good ideas no how to stat-up low cost, i still home some reading to do

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 3rd, 2012, 1:25 am

kes_vtec wrote:went over by ziggy today, got some some really good ideas no how to stat-up low cost, i still home some reading to do

8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-)

Postby foss » January 3rd, 2012, 7:24 pm

happy new year peeps...

was up by Chai's the other day and saw some artificial rocks in a tank they have..

anyone know where I can get something similar in size and shape?

any help would be appreciated.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » January 3rd, 2012, 8:08 pm

i believe he sells them if u were looking at the tank in the front .

Postby foss » January 3rd, 2012, 8:45 pm

He doesn't have anything like that in the store.. the tank above is on the way to the back..

next to the tank with the parrot fish.

Postby foss » January 4th, 2012, 3:09 pm

looking...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 8th, 2012, 12:29 pm

Have a brand new tank FS: 48" X 24"W X 30 H. 3/8" glass (it is well braced and built locally)
Built in overflow box. hole on the bottom.
$2000 neg. Just PM me if interested

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » January 8th, 2012, 7:42 pm

Honda i buy the RO unit and hook it up wen i plug it in for the first time d pump comes on one time??? or i have to wait a wile for water to fill the the canisters??? help me

streaminhonda

Postby streaminhonda » January 9th, 2012, 7:48 am

Anyone here knows who adopts fully grown fish... I have a 12" oscar fish that i don't really want to get rid of but i no longer have the time to take care of him...

link

Postby link » January 9th, 2012, 12:30 pm

streaminhonda wrote:Anyone here knows who adopts fully grown fish... I have a 12" oscar fish that i don't really want to get rid of but i no longer have the time to take care of him...

this is a male ?...I will adopt anyways...u hve any pacus or arrowana also??? pond wb 100 x 100 x 20 ft deep...
pm details & directions

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » January 10th, 2012, 7:27 pm

Tank pics

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » January 10th, 2012, 11:03 pm

^^^ Tank looks great man but you need to do something about the Aiptasia. !!

Postby sharkman121 » January 10th, 2012, 11:19 pm

sweet coral there ares...

jus this week i spotted a couple baby aiptasia in my tank as well. dunno where they came from all of a sudden but i need to get them out asap.

Postby UML » January 11th, 2012, 10:30 am

ARES0610 wrote:Tank pics

wowwwww beautiful

does a clam require a chiller?

really amazing

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » January 11th, 2012, 7:16 pm

Thanks fellas.
Ziggy, the mushrooms in the last pic are from the ones i got from u.
I just leave the aiptasia now. They don't bother anything and they not spreading. Too much trouble to try to kill them. The peppermint used to eat them but he quit.

UML, Thanks.
I don't use a chiller, just two clip on fans. Temp gets to about 85F.

Postby Trini Hookah » January 11th, 2012, 7:51 pm

Anyone in here ever had Hermit Crabs? Saw them in the Trincity pet store and they looked pretty cool to me..similar setup to a regular tank (minus water :lol:) sand throughout, piece of wood for climbing, and 2-3 tankmates to start up.

Considering scrapping plans for my bigger freshwater setup to try my hand at it.

Postby sharkman121 » January 11th, 2012, 8:08 pm

have about 12 hermits in my tank..