2NR Bodybuilding/Fitness/Diet/ Elite Physique Seekers

Dj_Bee

Re: 2NR Bodybuilding/Fitness/Diet/ Elite Physique Seekers

Postby Dj_Bee » August 12th, 2014, 9:14 am

TRENDSETA wrote:Anyone wants to weigh in with some suggestions or advice ?

I've been attempting to cut from 220 down to 180, found my maintenance calories and started with a deficit of 500cals.
I'm now at 200lbs and seem to have stalled. Can't get the scale to move at all .
I'm presently at 1700cals and i'm meticulous about my tracking. I'm on a push/pull/legs program and I used to jog twice a week . Recently bought an elliptical and i'm now on it everyday for at least 40 mins sometimes more but i can't seem to break through this plateau.
The mirror says my body is changing ,upper four abs starting to show unflexed, in the right lighting arms looking less fluffy and more defined etc . i look like i'm working out.
So why am i not losing weight ?

cliffs:
plateaued
added more cardio
borderline metabolic damage calorie levels (not willing to drop lower)
scale refuses to move
help needed

I remembered the days I was like this.

Hats off for seeing your abs at 200.

First thing, your intake is 1700 calories, what's your macros like? Protein/fats/carbs ratios?
If you go any lower you may use your muscle as fuel for workouts.

You should have a refeed day so you would be able to bump back up your metabolism. High carb intake, only one day within a 7to 10 day period.

You pushing your body too much with the cardio, try 4 days cardio, early morning in a fasted state (I get up 4am and do light circuit and cardio before anything)

Increase your weights/volume on training days.

If that fails try intermittent fasting. That helps with weight loss, but you have to do it right.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » August 12th, 2014, 9:15 am

AllTrac wrote:how does stopping breakfast makes your body put on more weight? :S meal timing is irrelevant. Cals in vs Cals out. Dont give me my body is different chit, you are not a special snow flake. Every living thing has to abide to the law of thermodynamics.

Lol.... truth

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » August 12th, 2014, 9:19 am

AllTrac wrote:how does stopping breakfast makes your body put on more weight? :S meal timing is irrelevant. Cals in vs Cals out. Dont give me my body is different chit, you are not a special snow flake. Every living thing has to abide to the law of thermodynamics.

And laws were meant to be broken. I was 160, 5'5 at 18yrs. And really damn fit. Was heavy in martial arts, weight training, and running. I was on a strict healthy diet, all natural, forgetting the caloric nonsense. Doing it old school.

Now my body has changed. I'm 5'8 and last I weighed in two weeks ago, I was 195. But I'm solid with bodyfat, I've been trying to lose, till I started, and two weeks now, results kicked in. Diet and sleep. Those two things are more important than training itself.

Everyone is different. And that's me. I should not have skipped breakfast.
Lead to a little reflux also. Lol

TRENDSETA

Postby TRENDSETA » August 12th, 2014, 9:23 am

Richard Marshall wrote:

I've been attempting to cut from 220 down to 180, found my maintenance calories and started with a deficit of 500cals.
I'm now at 200lbs and seem to have stalled. Can't get the scale to move at all .
I'm presently at 1700cals and i'm meticulous about my tracking. I'm on a push/pull/legs program and I used to jog twice a week . Recently bought an elliptical and i'm now on it everyday for at least 40 mins sometimes more but i can't seem to break through this plateau.
The mirror says my body is changing ,upper four abs starting to show unflexed, in the right lighting arms looking less fluffy and more defined etc . i look like i'm working out.

cliffs:
plateaued
added more cardio
scale refuses to move
help needed

Things we need to know,
1) What's your training days and off days?
2) What's your diet daily, training and off?
3) How much sleep are you getting?
4) Are you on any supplements?
5) How much time you spend training?

Then again, muscle tissue is far more dense than bodyfat. Everyone's body is different, according to how you train, eat and sleep.
After time, metabolism can change, and so does your body. Genetics, age, and other factors contributes.

Things we need to know,
1) What's your training days and off days? I don't have specific days . just run push / pull / legs / rest then repeat . been on this since jan . before that I was on a regular brosplit

2) What's your diet daily, training and off? It's usually 1700 cals whether i'm on or off . my carbs are usually low...less than 100 grams a day my protein usually average out at about 140. and usually consists of chicken , ground beef, cottage cheese, eggs , broccoli ,carrots . nature valley bars (both protein and regular granola). liquids include water, coke zero or coke light and coffee

3) How much sleep are you getting? not enough .I know i fall down in that dept . average bedtime is between 11pm and 12 am . and I'm usually up by 4 am
4) Are you on any supplements? mutant whey(2 scoops) creatine , bcaa and no explode during early morning fasted cardio , multi and fish oil

5) How much time you spend training? weights usually run me 90 minutes cardio usually 40 mins. sometimes more when i supplement with no explode .

I should also add at 1700 cals I'm not 500 below my maintenance. i started off by dropping 500 and then dropped in increments of 200 or so whenever my weight stalled at one point i was at 1300 calories but that was foolish had absolutely no energy to do anything so i decided to take the slow and steady approach and went back up to 1700 where i didn't feel like a zombie

Postby AllTrac » August 12th, 2014, 10:00 am

Richard Marshall wrote:

And laws were meant to be broken.

Do You Even Science Bro?

pluggie

Postby pluggie » August 12th, 2014, 10:26 am

cliffs:
plateaued
added more cardio
scale refuses to move
help needed

The simple fact that your abs are slightly showing means you dont have alot of belly fat. You are weight training so its expected you will build some form of muscle , you are using creatine so its expected that your body will store alot of water... My advice to you would be to keep on training hard, eat healthy (dont starve yourself , if you are training then you need to eat well) , focus more on your physique and BF rather than body weight unless you are involved in some type of sport where weight is important (racing , fighting etc) ... Maybe it might be a good idea to lose the creatine for now to get a better indication of your growth then start back when you accomplish your desired BF...Normally when you start gymming you tend to loose fat at a very fast rate then your body tend to stabalize somewhat.
try this for better results;
1) Add some high intensity training days in your routine ....
2) Try doing more reps even if you must decrease the weight to achieve this
3) Try switching to full body workouts rather than splits until you reach desired size
3) Add more multiple movement exercises to your routine
4) Get more sleep ....11pm to 4 am wont cut it ...
Last edited by pluggie on August 12th, 2014, 10:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » August 12th, 2014, 10:28 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:

possibly body is in starvation mode, and holding on to the meals he does eat as fat? /broscience

Could be. Because when I hardly eat I gain weight.

As opposed to when I eat like a hog I loose a few pounds.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » August 12th, 2014, 10:35 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:

possibly body is in starvation mode, and holding on to the meals he does eat as fat? /broscience

Could be. Because when I hardly eat I gain weight.

As opposed to when I eat like a hog I loose a few pounds.

eating less slows down your metabolic rate /broscience

snatman

Postby snatman » August 12th, 2014, 10:52 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:

Broscience indeed. The Mythical Starvation Mode kicks in only after DAYS of fasting!

Postby AllTrac » August 12th, 2014, 11:17 am

anytime anyone tells me about starvation mode i ask them one question, have you ever seen anyone come out of a concentration camp fat?

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » August 12th, 2014, 11:27 am

The lulz on this thread eh...

Postby DFC » August 12th, 2014, 11:38 am

well since i home today,
i trying my hand at cooking.

It fits my macros.

sog cyah done.
hot roti.jpg

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 12th, 2014, 4:18 pm

Before I go purchase it online, anyone has a link to a food scale locally?

Nice swell they DFC.

snatman

Postby snatman » August 12th, 2014, 4:25 pm

IAM has some, and costplus10 in valpark

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 12th, 2014, 4:26 pm

Much thanks Uncle Snat

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2014, 9:24 pm

anybody use one of those electronic handle holding bodyfat things in the gym ?
I used one today and it said I was 15%, 178lbs, 5'10"

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 12th, 2014, 10:51 pm

Have one, convinced it is not accurate. At least it is consistent, so you can use it to look at possible fat loss over time with a training regime

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » August 14th, 2014, 6:28 pm

pugboy wrote:anybody use one of those electronic handle holding bodyfat things in the gym ?
I used one today and it said I was 15%, 178lbs, 5'10"

Where can I use one?

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » August 14th, 2014, 7:17 pm

Breakfast of champions........mmmmmmm........

Who wants some love? :lol:

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 14th, 2014, 7:20 pm

waz dah?

Postby X_Factor » August 14th, 2014, 7:29 pm

dbol?....nice!!

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » August 14th, 2014, 7:38 pm

X_Factor wrote:dbol?....nice!!

The realist ever....... :twisted:

I'm not using any by the way for a long time now and for a long time to come.

Lil one on the way, priorities change :D

Postby X_Factor » August 14th, 2014, 7:42 pm

nice, congrats....the first month or 2 will be the toughest!!....mine now settling down and sleeping through the night so i hoping to restart the gym soon

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 14th, 2014, 7:48 pm

I does tief time to sweat, little one on approaching 9months.
Still getting 3-4 days sweat per week

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » August 14th, 2014, 7:56 pm

Thanks. Yeah fellas, well we only just found out, now hitting 9 weeks and gym is the last thing on my mind already. I always hear about this syndrome eh and I never thought I woulda experience it! hahaha. Great feeling to soon be a dad though :D

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 14th, 2014, 7:58 pm

Congrats pallie, big tings a gwan!!

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » August 14th, 2014, 8:06 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Congrats pallie, big tings a gwan!!

Thanks buddy

Its the beginning of the sog! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby 16 cycles » August 14th, 2014, 10:47 pm

Congrats tfl....

Made a pr today....@130lbs

Incline bench dumbell press 65lbs per side...6clean reps...

neexis

Postby neexis » August 15th, 2014, 6:37 am

Anyone been to Evolution Fitness?

Care to offer a review on how it compares to Central Athletic in terms of facilities, equipment, service, parking and crowd?

Postby X_Factor » August 15th, 2014, 8:49 am

if anyone interested
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=588205