THE OFFICIAL QUIT SMOKING THREAD

Re: THE OFFICIAL QUIT SMOKING THREAD

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 23rd, 2012, 2:40 pm

Stephon. wrote:So when you drinking you don't crave it at all?

Drinking what? Water? I stopped drinking alcohol probably a year before I stopped smoking mainly due to the financial burden it was putting on my bank account. Again, one day I decided I was going to stop and that was it.

All beer tastes like crap. Rum was okay. Scotch Whisky and Vodka were getting too expensive to be drinking regularly. The only alcohol I consume now may be in medication or Black Forest cake.

THE OFFICIAL QUIT SMOKING THREAD

Postby Hook » June 23rd, 2012, 5:04 pm

Kudos to you, rp, but if I had ever quit hardcore like that, the last thing I'd do is gloat at or berate another quitter (or potential quitter) for not having the same will power I did.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 23rd, 2012, 7:06 pm

Hook wrote:. . .the last thing I'd do is gloat at or berate another quitter (or potential quitter) for not having the same will power I did.

My sincerest apologies to all who were offended by my comments. It was not meant to come across as gloating. Sometimes I cannot understand why, if of all people I could achieve something, why can't other people do the same (I am, in a sense, putting down myself here).

Postby Hook » June 24th, 2012, 12:43 am

:lol: It's because we're not all built the same meng. Everybody handles it differently and everybody has (more or less) different reasons for quitting or wanting to quit.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 30th, 2012, 5:16 am

BOOM!!!!!!! 300 DAYS smoke free today!!!!

569 days alcohol free too....

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » June 30th, 2012, 9:21 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:BOOM!!!!!!! 300 DAYS smoke free today!!!!

Congrats Bro!
Have stopped the nicotene urge but the alco is a different story, lol..
But then again I'm not a heavy drinker or so I would like to think.....

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 8th, 2012, 11:11 am

Made one year on Monday...didn't get the time to mark that moment in this thread..but maybe next year.....right now it's 370 days smoke free....over $7000 NOT spent on cigarette.

how allyuh going?

639 days sober (alcohol free) as well...

Postby Hook » September 8th, 2012, 11:18 am

Ploi! Well done Unkle!

192 days smoke-free for me :)

Postby sharkman121 » September 8th, 2012, 11:32 am

fackk.. 8 hrs smoke free :(

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 8th, 2012, 11:46 am

good going there Hook...keep it up strong!!!!!!

sharkman....keep trying!

Postby DVSTT » September 8th, 2012, 11:10 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:Made one year on Monday...didn't get the time to mark that moment in this thread..but maybe next year.....right now it's 370 days smoke free....over $7000 NOT spent on cigarette.

how allyuh going?

639 days sober (alcohol free) as well...

Congrats dude!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 9th, 2012, 7:59 am

I have been smoke free since I created this thread. Damn feels good!!!!

Changed my life around best damn thing ever. Its like being a 600 pound basement dweller and then losing 400 pounds and joining the military. You feel great.

Postby Stephon. » September 9th, 2012, 11:00 am

Congrats hook(er), Vega (the third to last boss in street fighter 2 for super Nintendo) and b14 warrior.

I'm on 285

Hew mad?

Postby mitsu_chick941 » September 26th, 2012, 10:31 am

congrats 8-)

approx. 9759 days smoke free :|

Postby dougla_boy » September 26th, 2012, 10:52 am

mitsu_chick941 wrote:

congrats 8-)

approx. 9759 days smoke free :|

yuh young girl. :|

congrats to the fellas doing xxx amt days free!!!!

keep going at it!

Invisible

Postby Invisible » October 5th, 2012, 1:41 am

All thanks to GOD. Today, I'm officially 365 days smoke free.

Hears in my mind: "Yeah! I feel good...duh duh duh duh nuh duh.."

Postby S_2NR » October 5th, 2012, 1:45 am

trying to wean myself off.
im down to a pack a week now.

Postby goalpost » October 5th, 2012, 6:17 am

Congratulations bro. I stopped cigs in December 2009, unfortunately started back in October 2011, now trying to quit again. Stopped alcohol in April 2012, although my alcohol drinking is usually in phases.

At what point do we stop counting the days and just let go of these dependencies?

Postby shogun » October 5th, 2012, 7:17 am

Buncha quitters!

Seriously though. Keep it up peoples. Nasty habit this is.

Postby shogun » October 5th, 2012, 7:20 am

goalpost wrote:

I stopped cigs in December 2009, unfortunately started back in October 2011, now trying to quit again. Stopped alcohol in April 2012, although my alcohol drinking is usually in phases.

At what point do we stop counting the days and just let go of these dependencies?

Alcohol was never a prob for me. cigs on the other hand though.... :oops:

Postby sharkman121 » October 5th, 2012, 7:47 am

sigh...cut down SIGNIFICANTLY only about 3-4 a day now. Really trying though.

Postby tr1ad » October 5th, 2012, 7:56 am

ah need ah blenz

Postby dougla_boy » October 5th, 2012, 8:52 am

wish yall fellas good luck with the quit smoking.....i didnt have it as hard as you guys tho....went from smoking a pack a day to a pack when stressed, to nothing........hope u guys can muster up the will power to quit!!!!!

good luck!

Postby Hook » October 5th, 2012, 9:20 am

Congrats on the year, invisible!

Postby redmanjp » October 5th, 2012, 9:41 am

so I see the E cig helping some ppl- what about those nicotine patches?

common denominator here- nicotine

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 8th, 2012, 6:50 am

400 days smoke free!!!!

C'mon guys keep up the fight and don't submit...YOU ARE strong!!!!!

Honestly if I could have done it then you can too....

669 days sober as well....

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » October 8th, 2012, 2:33 pm

u guys r good ..........whenever i quit for a few days and feel good about myself i have a cig to celebrate :D

Postby Sky » October 8th, 2012, 2:37 pm

Buncha damn quitters in this thread.
Quitters never win!!!

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » October 18th, 2012, 11:02 am

i'm making a commitment to quit on the 19/10/12.. had two already for the day normally a pack a day or more guy...been smoking for the past 18 years getting tired of it now.. just got the nicoderm gum and the nicorette patches last weekend... haven't used them yet..does anyone have experiences with these products?? been trying to withdraw bit by bit over the past week... i'm already agitated... but trying to maintain... its not easy... but i think its time to claim my body back....

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 18th, 2012, 11:16 am

^^ Yeah any one ever tried those methods or ya'll stopped cold turkey?