Gulf of Paria Underwater Welders Deaths: Lawsuits Filed

Re: Underwater welders missing in the Gulf of Paria??

Postby sMASH » March 8th, 2022, 6:35 am

timelapse wrote:What they want you to believe is that these men fell down under water and landed inside a pipe that would normally be difficult to get in.
Thank yuh

Postby sMASH » March 8th, 2022, 6:39 am

goalpost wrote:What about the permit to work?
This is a guarantee by the client that the equipment the contractor is about to work on is safe. The permit should indicate how the equipment has been made safe.

Where I work, only an Authorized Person is allowed to issue a permit. Once the contractor signs the permit, the equipment is his to manage provided he stays within the confines of the equipment described in the permit.

So Paria was supposed to have issued LMCS a permit, I'm presuming. No condition should've changed while the permit is enforced.
A job like this would have multiple permits, with hazard analysis in the planning of the job, identifying the hazards and potential hazards if safeties or systems fail. Each detailing the course of action after.

Annnnd, rescue plan, with rescue team stand by... Not on call.

Postby sMASH » March 8th, 2022, 6:43 am

pugboy wrote:to me it should be the opp
the pressurized air in habitat would push water down the pipe
so any loss of of pressure should result in water rushing upwards
Not necessarily.
If the plug got lose, and the air rose up a different end, then it would pull the water from the divers end.

But we are all guessing as we do not know the exact piping layout, so coming up with possible scenarios.

But, ALLLLL scenarios and all systems would be in PARIA control, they had the overall responsibility for safety.

Lcms only can go along with what they are told us safe.

Postby Redman » March 8th, 2022, 7:15 am

Well drowning is different to suffocating due to a lack of air, or being poisoned by whatever fumes were present.

2 divers are buried, is this going to require exhuming them?

What a mess.

Postby pugboy » March 8th, 2022, 7:39 am

true, paria claim nothing connected to far end and pipe not in use at all

sMASH wrote:
pugboy wrote:to me it should be the opp
the pressurized air in habitat would push water down the pipe
so any loss of of pressure should result in water rushing upwards
Not necessarily.
If the plug got lose, and the air rose up a different end, then it would pull the water from the divers end.

But we are all guessing as we do not know the exact piping layout, so coming up with possible scenarios.

But, ALLLLL scenarios and all systems would be in PARIA control, they had the overall responsibility for safety.

Lcms only can go along with what they are told us safe.

Postby pugboy » March 8th, 2022, 7:41 am

a real mess,

i dont think there has been anything close to the circus of this in history and bandwagons just getting bigger and bigger

Redman wrote:Well drowning is different to suffocating due to a lack of air, or being poisoned by whatever fumes were present.

2 divers are buried, is this going to require exhuming them?

What a mess.

Postby K74T » March 8th, 2022, 12:04 pm

Tiah buss out.

Eugene Tiah has withdrawn from the
Investigating Committee charged with determining what led to the recent, tragic deaths of four divers employed with LMCS, who were working on an underwater pipeline belonging to Paria Fuel Trading Company.

The following is the Personal Statement issued by Mr Tiah concerning the Paria Incident…

I wish to join with the nation in extending sincerest condolences to the grieving family members of Kazim Ali (Jr.), Fyzul Kurban, Yusuf Henry and Rishi Nagassar.

I was asked by the Energy Chamber to be their representative on the Investigation Committee to commit 45 days gratis, and to bring to bear my 40 years of technical and managerial experience in the energy industry with particular interest in safety and process safety leadership, which I agreed to do.

I believe that no time should be lost in ascertaining the facts that led to this tragedy. Recommendations arising from the Incident Investigation need to be swiftly implemented and lessons learned shared throughout the industry.

It appears that the good of country is subservient to the shenanigans of a few. I have thus taken the decision to withdraw from the Investigating Committee.

I wish the Committee Members Godspeed with this onerous and supremely important task.

Postby Chimera » March 8th, 2022, 12:08 pm

Wdmc that mean?

They getting pressured to report it a specific way and he want no part of that?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » March 8th, 2022, 12:09 pm

K74T wrote:Tiah buss out.

Investigating Committee charged with determining what led to the recent, tragic deaths of four divers employed with LMCS, who were working on an underwater pipeline belonging to Paria Fuel Trading Company.

The following is the Personal Statement issued by Mr Tiah concerning the Paria Incident…

I wish to join with the nation in extending sincerest condolences to the grieving family members of Kazim Ali (Jr.), Fyzul Kurban, Yusuf Henry and Rishi Nagassar.

I was asked by the Energy Chamber to be their representative on the Investigation Committee to commit 45 days gratis, and to bring to bear my 40 years of technical and managerial experience in the energy industry with particular interest in safety and process safety leadership, which I agreed to do.

I believe that no time should be lost in ascertaining the facts that led to this tragedy. Recommendations arising from the Incident Investigation need to be swiftly implemented and lessons learned shared throughout the industry.

It appears that the good of country is subservient to the shenanigans of a few. I have thus taken the decision to withdraw from the Investigating Committee.

I wish the Committee Members Godspeed with this onerous and supremely important task.

Raising issues regarding conflict of interest is referred to as "shenanigans". This man is really a pnm.

Postby pugboy » March 8th, 2022, 12:17 pm

man ducking shenanigans

Val

Postby Val » March 8th, 2022, 12:28 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Wdmc that mean?

Hmm, very interesting.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » March 8th, 2022, 12:34 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
K74T wrote:Tiah buss out.

Raising issues regarding conflict of interest is referred to as "shenanigans". This man is really a pnm.

yup like a certain dummies on the forum here who cya bring deyself to criticize they beloved pnm.
Anything/anybody not agreeing is crap or not worthy of consideration, that dunce blind bat an he croonies really leave we in a sheit pot after they 50 years.

Postby Redman » March 8th, 2022, 2:50 pm

He right.
Why open himself to the kinda crap that people pelting?
Especially when he has done nothing but accept a thankless posting.

Stay out of it and carry on with your reputation intact.

Postby pugboy » March 8th, 2022, 3:15 pm

for real,
who want to be a target of all the low life social media activists

Postby sMASH » March 8th, 2022, 3:44 pm

just need the p&id, and to know if any failure in the line, like line rupture or valve blow out etc. this is so simple to trouble shoot; establish what caused the vacuum, send to jail.

Postby maj. tom » March 8th, 2022, 7:50 pm

Terrible tragedy. Condolences to so many affected families and persons who were in these men lives. So much pain and anger at something that should have been avoided with the correct procedures and protocols.

I hope that the Commission can provide answers and solutions for the future correct practices in the industry. And there has been a name popping up, if he is personally responsible on that scale I can only hope he will go to prison... but I would be fooling myself given the history of corruption and consequences in Trinidad and Tobago.

Postby The_Honourable » March 8th, 2022, 8:54 pm

Rowley announces no more committee because is out fault for making noise.

He instead announces a Commission of Enquiry.

Postby pugboy » March 8th, 2022, 9:04 pm

more money for lawyers

Postby gastly369 » March 8th, 2022, 9:35 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Wdmc that mean?

Paperwork done fix to fit the narrative sir....

Postby MG Man » March 9th, 2022, 12:37 pm

Redman wrote:He right.
Why open himself to the kinda crap that people pelting?
Especially when he has done nothing but accept a thankless posting.

Stay out of it and carry on with your reputation intact.

how dare you speak sense and logic
All kamliar et al can do is hurl accusations and stir up counter-productive drama
De man right to steer clear of it. Ppl don;t realize how that kinda sht fks up your private life

Postby teems1 » March 9th, 2022, 12:39 pm

We need one of those 3d mock up videos that are done now by most news reporting houses.

Like when the kids got stuck in the cave in Thailand.

Postby MG Man » March 9th, 2022, 12:51 pm

will it 3D Desha's tiddies?

Postby pugboy » March 9th, 2022, 1:01 pm

we media not so savvy

teems1 wrote:We need one of those 3d mock up videos that are done now by most news reporting houses.

Like when the kids got stuck in the cave in Thailand.

Postby Redman » March 9th, 2022, 1:16 pm

I have a Q

If the survivor Mr Boodram said that he was pushed by one of the other divers, wouldnt that 2nd diver (Mr Kurban)be found between the wedged tank approx 120 feet in,and the surface?

Postby pugboy » March 9th, 2022, 1:32 pm

i was wondering similar when i read about the sequence of bodies assuming they would be sucked in sequence and stay so
but maybe papers had their info wrong

Redman wrote:I have a Q

If the survivor Mr Boodram said that he was pushed by one of the other divers, wouldnt that 2nd diver (Mr Kurban)be found between the wedged tank approx 120 feet in,and the surface?

Postby MaxPower » March 9th, 2022, 1:47 pm

First one in spine was mash up i heard.

Xplode

Postby Xplode » March 9th, 2022, 1:55 pm

MaxPower wrote:First one in spine was mash up i heard.

Had to be the diving cylinder "air tank" on his back , crushed his body sucked in .

Postby redmanjp » March 10th, 2022, 2:35 pm

Postby toyolink » March 10th, 2022, 3:08 pm

Paria as a company should initiate a full and proper investigation of this incident.
This operational imperative is absolutely necessary for the company to establish all the facts and circumstances which may have caused the accident, properly chronicle all experiences during the incident, identify all possibilities of responsibility and liability and finally identify all operational and safety deficiencies.
My observation is made having regard to the norm in this industry and others.
In terms of the state initiative to launch a investigation/ inquiry in the public interest, this is a good thing and in fact Paria must be well prepared to avail themselves as well as other to full examination.
The point however is that what Paria needs to do must not be overlooked nor suppressed by the position of the state.
Paria as an entity has to be prepared to fulfill its responsibilities to it various stakeholder in the shortest possible timeframe and if there are implied liabilities address same maturely.
Paria must for its own protection and operational well being be fully aware of all the circumstances which caused the incident and specify the required cures.
This didn't happen by magic!

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » March 10th, 2022, 7:14 pm

I see Shonda put up some footage from one of the camera.

https://www.facebook.com/hashtagnewsauce/videos/920357381987390/