*** The 2025 GENERAL ELECTION thread***

Who do you believe will win General Elections 2025?

Poll ended at April 28th, 2025, 9:17 pm

People's National Movement (PNM)
48%
United National Congress (UNC) + Coalition of Interests (PEP, COP, OWTU, LOVE)
44%
Patriotic Front (PF)
4%
Tie/Deadlock
4%

Total votes: 48

Re: *** The 2025 GENERAL ELECTION thread***

Postby The_Honourable » April 30th, 2025, 10:19 pm

killercow wrote:
redmanjp wrote:Election result- Arouca-Lopinot.png

not bad for Dr Maharaj. definitely need a recount
Where are you viewing these statistics?

https://www.thepicongparty.com/election-results

Whoever put this site together deserves kudos

Postby gastly369 » April 30th, 2025, 10:34 pm

Sando east missing ballot boxes?

Postby The_Honourable » April 30th, 2025, 10:50 pm

Postby zoom rader » April 30th, 2025, 11:16 pm

pugboy wrote:ppl over analyzing this election

the long and short is that a lot of ppl across the board incl pnmites were fedup and not happy for a few very good reasons
A year now I told tuners that bago kicking out PNM and in a nutshell they will lead the way for change.

But as usual I get cuss up

Postby st7 » April 30th, 2025, 11:58 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Results so far:

United National Congress (UNC) - 26

Aranguez/St. Joseph (Flipped) - Devesh Maharaj
Barataria/San Juan - Saddam Hosein
Caroni East - Rishi Seecharan
Caroni Central - David Lee
Couva North - Jerlean John
Couva South - Barry Paradath
Chaguanas East - Vandana Mohit
Chaguanas West - Neil Gosine
Claxton Bay - Hansen Narinesingh
Cumuto/Manzanilla - Shivanna Sam
Fyzabad - Davendranath Tancoo
La Brea (Flipped) - Clyde Elder
La Horquetta/Talparo (Flipped) - Phillip Watts
Mayaro - Nicholas Morris
Moruga/Tableland - Michelle Benjamin
Naparima - Narindra Roopnarine
Oropouche East - Roodal Moonilal
Oropouche West - Lackram Bodoe
Point Fortin (Flipped) - Ernesto Kesar
Princes Town - Aiyna Ali
San Fernando West (Flipped) - Michael Dowlath
Siparia - Kamla Persad-Bissessar
St. Augustine - Khadijah Ameen
Tabaquite - Sean Sobers
Toco/Sangre Grande (Flipped) - Wayne Sturge
Tunapuna (Flipped) - Roger Alexander

People's National Movement (PNM) - 13

Arima - Pennelope Beckles
Arouca/Lopinot (Recount) - Marvin Gonzales
Diego Martin North/East - Colm Imbert
Diego Martin Central - Symon De Nobriga
Diego Martin West - Hans De Vignes
Laventille East/Morvant - Christian Birchwood
Laventille West - Kareem Marcelle
Malabar/Mausica (Recount) - Dominic Romain
Port of Spain South - Keith Scotland
Port of Spain North/St. Ann's West - Stuart Young
St. Ann's East - Nyan Gasby-Dolly
San Fernando East (Recount) - Brian Manning
Trincity/Maloney - Camille Robinson-Regis

Tobago People's Party (TPP) - 2

Tobago East (Flipped) - David Thomas
Tobago West (Flipped) - Joel Sampson

thank you sir

Postby hover11 » May 1st, 2025, 1:42 am

This election was definitely about bread and butter issues, crime and the economy the biggest concerns for most voters

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 1st, 2025, 4:33 am

It is now you will see the bitterness an sore loser an racial mentality of PNM supporters against who they think is UNC supporters. You will see them push up them self boldface boldface in things like line in d bank or kfc, you will see them take a taxi with someone who looks pnm vs looks unc, buy from a pnm looking person but go around a unc looking person for a freeness or to rob. Just watch their movements. You saw it in 1995 an 2010. Watch the women especially.

Postby hover11 » May 1st, 2025, 6:49 am

Trade union leaders have described the United National Congress’ (UNC) General Election victory as a “new day” for workers. However, they are also making it clear the time for words has passed and action must begin immediately.

Read more:
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/union-l ... da7bbebfe3

I all for backpay as the next guy , my grouse is why wasn't this addressed over the last ten years , why were unions allowing the previous administration to silence them. Unions allowed their powers to be stripped and reduced to nothing in nine years to the point they were calling members, like myself, on election day to ask if I knew what the code was. I remember my PSA section leader came on news a while back and said we cannot promise that pensions will be paid if the workers were not given their just dues and right after that it was busy as usual, Unions are not treated seriously nor with respect, this is why we are still on 2013 salaries in 2025.
FB_IMG_1746096542462.jpg

Postby zoom rader » May 1st, 2025, 7:46 am

The downfall of PNM was

Neglect of all citizens

Forex only for 1%

Special treatment of 1%

Petrotrin- the entire South was affected.

Unjust house tax

Crime is not Hindz problem

Rude MPs.

Lack of understanding when people are victims of murders & crime.

Allowing UNC rejects into PNM and shady injuns.

Taking Tobago for granted.

Open Corruption from imps bert.

Education decline

Postby paid_influencer » May 1st, 2025, 7:50 am

Happy May Day everyone

Postby sMASH » May 1st, 2025, 7:54 am

gastly369 wrote:Sando east missing ballot boxes?
I supporting a vote over there. Hopefully it happens.

Postby The_Honourable » May 1st, 2025, 9:55 am

A good discussion

Behavioural pollster: Rowley caused PNM general election loss

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=1705104946750604

Postby bluefete » May 1st, 2025, 10:43 am

pugboy wrote:ppl over analyzing this election

the long and short is that a lot of ppl across the board incl pnmites were fedup and not happy for a few very good reasons
A year now I told tuners that bago kicking out PNM and in a nutshell they will lead the way for change.

But as usual I get cuss up

This is quite true. The blind did not want to see it.

Postby zoom rader » May 1st, 2025, 10:48 am

The_Honourable wrote:A good discussion

Behavioural pollster: Rowley caused PNM general election loss

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=1705104946750604

Only now these pollsters saying this ?

They never had the balls to tell the public this during PNM 10 of terror

Never trust pollsters cause they are paid to lie

Postby zoom rader » May 1st, 2025, 11:15 am

In all this, we still can't see tuner biggest PNM star.

Eliteauto

Respect to Joe & Mero.

Postby hover11 » May 1st, 2025, 11:16 am

zoom rader wrote:In all this, we still can't see tuner biggest PNM star.

Eliteauto

Respect to Joe & Mero.
He sure has been silent since the big win....probably can't cope with the results

Postby hover11 » May 1st, 2025, 12:51 pm

While the former political leader of the People’s National Movement (PNM), Dr Keith Rowley, has taken all the blame for the party’s election defeat, former PNM member Karen Nunez-Tesheira says outgoing Prime Minister Stuart Young also bears significant responsibility.

For more…
https://www.cnc3.co.tt/nunez-tesheira-l ... oomed-pnm/

Ms. Insider trading said let them eat cake
FB_IMG_1746118253653.jpg

Postby The_Honourable » May 1st, 2025, 3:16 pm

Residents claim neglect by Faris led to his defeat in San Fernando West

For the first time in history, some residents of Embacadere, once considered a strong People’s National Movement territory, have switched sides saying they have found new hope in the United National Congress.

When Guardian Media visited the area, a UNC flag hung from the apartment of resident Ann Isaac, at Block P, who said she decided not to support the PNM after, what she called, years of neglect.

Isaac said she could not vote because of an issue with her ID card, yet she had publicly thrown support to the UNC long before the party won.

“I faced threats and intimidation during the campaign because I decided not to vote for the PNM. Basic needs were not being met, that’s why,” she explained.

She noted: “We did not have garbage collection, rats everywhere, the playground grass was high and more importantly, people wasn’t getting jobs even though they well qualified,” Isaac added.

Jonathan Thompson, a youth in the area, also said the community had been neglected. He said the nearby preschool needed a face-lift.

“The children cannot come out to play. Snakes and centipedes coming out because the grass so high,” he said.

Another resident, Marilyn Thompson who has always been a supporter of the PNM, said the defeat was a wake-up call to the party to do better for its grassroots supporters.

“I expect the new UNC government will focus on the youth and put things in place for the next generation. Faris (Al-Rawi) was not around and that was why he lost. It was a hard situation and after election morning, the place was dead, usually when PNM wins we have a lot of noise and celebration the next morning,” she said.

Five weeks before the election, Professor of Constitutional Affairs and Parliamentary Studies at the University of the West Indies, Dr Hamid Ghany, told Guardian Media that changes in the electoral boundaries gave the UNC an advantage in the San Fernando West seat.

He explained that the shifting of polling divisions 4005 and 4006 in Vistabella from San Fernando East into San Fernando West showed a net gain for the UNC as opposed to the PNM.

MP-elect Dr Michael Dowlath, who won under the UNC, agreed that the boundary shifts were a factor.

“There were two polling divisions that came from San Fernando East that were slightly in our favour. We canvassed in every polling division, street by street. We sent street captains and we met them in their homes, streets and business places,” he said.

Dowlath claimed while the PNM ignored their grassroots, he listened to them and addressed basic needs.

“People wanted their garbage collected, their bulk waste. It was simple things. Based on their complaints, I did a manifesto which connected to their needs. We spoke to them about our plans,” Dowlath said.

Holding up a batch of certificates, Dowlath said even though he has not yet taken office, he has organised forklift training for a group of unemployed youths who had no qualifications.

This will now enable them to find work. He also said he would proceed to establish an innovation campus where youths can have AI training, create a world-class technology park through a Public-Private Partnership, as well as build a Carnival costume factory to expand San Fernando’s creative industries.

Guardian Media contacted Al-Rawi, but he deferred comment, saying he was tied up in meetings and would comment at a later time.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/residen ... 336e551da1

Postby MG Man » May 1st, 2025, 4:02 pm

thousands have put their faith in kamla....I really hope she doesn't disappoint them

Postby zoom rader » May 1st, 2025, 4:08 pm

MG Man wrote:thousands have put their faith in kamla....I really hope she doesn't disappoint them
Well she better not play with black folk

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » May 1st, 2025, 4:21 pm

hover11 wrote:While the former political leader of the People’s National Movement (PNM), Dr Keith Rowley, has taken all the blame for the party’s election defeat, former PNM member Karen Nunez-Tesheira says outgoing Prime Minister Stuart Young also bears significant responsibility.

For more…

Ms. Insider trading said let them eat cakeFB_IMG_1746118253653.jpg

The one time he could have legit blamed Kamla for something, he take responsibility.

Postby redmanjp » May 1st, 2025, 4:40 pm

MG Man wrote:thousands have put their faith in kamla....I really hope she doesn't disappoint them

is roughly 25k extra votes unc got compared to 2020, while pnm lost about 100k so a lot of pnm voters just didnt vote

Postby MaxPower » May 1st, 2025, 5:18 pm

Zoom,

This 5 year term is take what you could get and buss out.

Financiers cannot risk being out of power for another set of years.

Postby hover11 » May 1st, 2025, 5:20 pm

Zoom,

Max what was PNM two terms about?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 1st, 2025, 6:27 pm

trinigamer wrote:
hover11 wrote:While the former political leader of the People’s National Movement (PNM), Dr Keith Rowley, has taken all the blame for the party’s election defeat, former PNM member Karen Nunez-Tesheira says outgoing Prime Minister Stuart Young also bears significant responsibility.

For more…

The one time he could have legit blamed Kamla for something, he take responsibility.

Lmao

Postby goalpost » May 1st, 2025, 7:13 pm

trinigamer wrote:

For more…

Postby MaxPower » May 1st, 2025, 8:32 pm

hover11 wrote:[Max what was PNM two terms about?

Corruption.

Thats what Govt terms are all about…Corruption.

Just trying to gauge how much going to get
out and what is our predicted fate.

Increasing your salary and giving you that backpay is great, i rel happy for you….but how does this affect us later down the road?

Postby pugboy » May 1st, 2025, 8:46 pm

ain’t dat the truth
nobody wants to hear about money down the road

but she talk about the eat ah food scene today
so lewwe give she the benefit of doubt for the while

Zoom,

Postby st7 » May 1st, 2025, 10:57 pm

any word on the recounts?

Postby redmanjp » May 1st, 2025, 11:57 pm

Silence from ebc. Who knows another seat must be flip and they doh want us to know. Hoping that happens with Arouca/Lopinot.