3ne2nr fishermen

Postby Razkal » February 18th, 2010, 9:09 am

manualmx, afaik, trevally is the 'proper' name for the group that includes what we call cavali/Jacks etc...

Sabot

Postby Sabot » February 18th, 2010, 12:08 pm

Razkal wrote:manualmx, afaik, trevally is the 'proper' name for the group that includes what we call cavali/Jacks etc...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carangidae.
Last edited by Sabot on June 29th, 2014, 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 18th, 2010, 12:34 pm

manualmx wrote:
HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:so i went toco side today and i was on a lil hidden rock somewhere close to deads man bay (or rough bay as some may know it) and i caught some nice yellow fin trevally with some fresh bait and spoon....but i missed a huge giant trevally with my artificial... twice he rushed the artificial and at last moment he turned away.....
Thats sucked.. but was mid-day and sun was hot so i guess he wasnt in the feeding mood or-else he would have taken the artificial for sure... I should have gone early in the morning!!

Who else fish??

wah allyuh catch

todd61 wrote:dam no fish down de island these day wtf is going on

You probably banking or trolling in the wrong places. Down the island has alot of fish but you need someone who know where the fishes are....

Sometimes you need to speed up the lure when this happens, it may be moving too slow for their liking. You cannot pull an artificial too fast for cavali :shock: BTW what is the trevally? I know there is the white and giant trevally but which are you referring too? pics?

Well I wasnt "jigging" the line fast enough i guess but he ran the artificial from the side and when the artifical came close to the rock and was time for me to pull up then he came close so the artificial wasnt really moving!
Buh say wah next time!

I think it was it was the yellow fin gaint cavali i dont know the difference between the two...lol...but i hear people calling it cavali in trinidad and when i went sports fishing in miami they called it a trevally so i dont know the difference.!!

but i think the giant trevally is all silver and the cavali is yellow!

ryan99tt wrote:where do u guys buy your artificials from?

I buy my in out-door world MIAMI but i get normal ones in a lil store here in grande.. ranges from $65 - $200. They work ok and i was actually using a cheapish one when the

wall

Postby wall » February 18th, 2010, 12:40 pm

ryan99tt wrote:where do u guys buy your artificials from?
the tackle shop in pt cumana before chagaramus or down by sando wharf

Sabot

Postby Sabot » February 18th, 2010, 1:50 pm

8-)
Last edited by Sabot on June 29th, 2014, 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Naka

Postby Naka » February 18th, 2010, 8:08 pm

hey we bailed some river weekend gone, with a pump, lol. shitloads of fish, will post some pics of the next expedition, don't know if it belongs here.

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » February 19th, 2010, 10:13 am

Some pictures from Toco Light House, June 2006

wall

Postby wall » February 19th, 2010, 11:10 am

what you all killing tarpon for? there are pretty much strictly game fish not really good for eating.

Naka

Postby Naka » February 19th, 2010, 1:23 pm

^ is that the same as grantikai? If so, u never eat it?

wall

Postby wall » February 19th, 2010, 1:30 pm

Naka wrote:^ is that the same as grantikai? If so, u never eat it?
yeh same thing.but tarpon are better know to be game fish than eating fish.to much work to clean and to many bones, so its more a catch and release fish in most places.

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » February 19th, 2010, 1:53 pm

in trinidad ppl eatin anything.... i see men cleanin them with garden hoe already..

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 19th, 2010, 6:40 pm

francis1979, thats a nice catch but for a tarpon that still small buh say wah fish is fish.

wall, it have people who does seperate the meat from the bone... My grandfather knows how to do it.

lancer3, hmmm... I heard stories like that... even ones where when the scaled the fish the used the scale as plate!! i know it have big tarpon out there and my dad them caught one on grandrivier beach long ago and they had to use a 4x4 to pull it out the water!!

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » February 19th, 2010, 7:12 pm

[quote="HaRdCoRe_YoUtH"]francis1979, thats a nice catch but for a tarpon that still small buh say wah fish is fish.

Hardcore_ youth_ this is not my catch. i was just up there and took the pics.

Naka & Wall_ There is alot of people who eat Tarpon Fish

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 19th, 2010, 9:22 pm

francis1979, must have been really nice seeing them pull it in!!

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » February 20th, 2010, 6:38 pm

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:francis1979, must have been really nice seeing them pull it in!!

i sat there for about an hour just watching these guys work.

It was a weekeday so all the person were from Toco. And they knew what they were doing.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 20th, 2010, 9:27 pm

Woi francis! Yuh ever fish by the big jetty just past your old apartment in chag? When yuh worked at direcone.....lol long time man hope all is well.

Peter

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 21st, 2010, 10:00 am

francis1979 wrote:
HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:francis1979, must have been really nice seeing them pull it in!!

i sat there for about an hour just watching these guys work.

It was a weekeday so all the person were from Toco. And they knew what they were doing.

they had to be cause i not going down that side to pull up any fish... I normally walk with my long gaff or i use my air powered fish gun to either hook them or shoot the fish and then just pull it up... the line on my fish gun is high tension bradied line so it can rub aginst the rock and not burst....

But when you go there i sure the guys didnt stick around long and was coming close to evening time!

radical14

Postby radical14 » February 22nd, 2010, 8:43 am

Anybody when fishing this weekend. I made a trip dowm Mayaro on the beach the water was great for fishing caught a couple of zelwan with chip chip i had four within an hour abt 1-3 lb. it was dropping tide not a bite after though.

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » February 22nd, 2010, 11:11 am

You use chip chip as bait and caught the zelwan?

radical14 wrote:Anybody when fishing this weekend. I made a trip dowm Mayaro on the beach the water was great for fishing caught a couple of zelwan with chip chip i had four within an hour abt 1-3 lb. it was dropping tide not a bite after though.

radical14

Postby radical14 » February 22nd, 2010, 12:18 pm

yes I had one hook with shrimp and the other with chip chip a local told me to try it and guess what it took the chip chip over the shrimp twice then i just stop using the shrimp

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 23rd, 2010, 12:22 am

Sheriff wrote:You use chip chip as bait and caught the zelwan?

radical14 wrote:Anybody when fishing this weekend. I made a trip dowm Mayaro on the beach the water was great for fishing caught a couple of zelwan with chip chip i had four within an hour abt 1-3 lb. it was dropping tide not a bite after though.

zelwan may take the chip chip according....

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » February 23rd, 2010, 4:20 pm

Anyone fishing this weekend up Manzan or Mayaro?

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 23rd, 2010, 6:24 pm

Looking to go fishing tomorrow down the islands.. 2 rod's, some lures and afew spoon's. Looking for anything really as a de stress and drink lime. Oh and i just borrowed a small gaff in case we catch anything.

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 24th, 2010, 9:35 pm

So what you guys catching?

So i need to buy some more gears. I just cleaning out my kit and i just realized that i lost my smaller kit which was inside my big fish kit. :x :x That smaller kit had all my expensive hooks!!! From eagle claw, to high end mustard to sakuma big game hooks!!! I lost it all!! I think i left it on some rocks or on the beach... :( :( :( ....i had all my hooks in that.... I hadda order back some now or if i go away buy some....... sourness... :cry: ...lol

Anyway i wanted to show you guys the reel and rod i use.......

i have 3 set of main rods i use.... to the right is my 15ft dawia rod with a 6000 dawia OPUS ...I use that on the beach to get behind the surfs. The middle i have my 9ft dawia rod with my torium shimano..i use that for trolling and normal fishing...kinda tricky to cast out with but. Then on the left is a 3ft trolling rod equipped with a Penn reel.

Here are just some of the hooks that i use! and meh bait net(it old):mrgreen: !!

Meh net old but effective...that bucket has a hole in the cover which has a air hose which is connected to a battery operated pump which running through the hole and another hole just for air to escape. (for live bait)

I have been really successful in hooking lots of big fish with this hook

I also have hooks like these
But i lost those in my small kit.

I dont use the line which certain hooks come with. I take them out and replace them with cable.

Anyway post up what you guys use... :) :)

I have rod and reels for sale if any of you guys intrested from 8ft to 18ft

Postby X_Factor » February 24th, 2010, 10:40 pm

^pm me the price for a 10ft-12ft rod
and the brand u hav it in

and hoss those eagle claw and mustad hooks...wow they sharp!!

might hav this to sell for small $$ soon
i just ordered it to make up something

http://www.amazon.com/Eagle-Claw%C2%AE- ... 50&sr=1-34

cunuman

Postby cunuman » February 25th, 2010, 1:44 am

me n wall went fishing carnival monday n well boy... we only hold ah 30 pound king on the corner by salt pond by the bell and as soon a we were looking to go up the road my downrigger buss of d boat cus it was too deep...dot want to re live that experience

kl122

Postby kl122 » February 25th, 2010, 8:16 am

those circle hooks are really good, my uncle brought down a sheit load of those and the eagle claws for me, tackle shop sells the circle hooks, but they kinna expensive.....anyone know where i can get some braided line?..i check sports and games,but they very pricey!

Postby pugboy » February 25th, 2010, 8:20 am

you fellas need to bring back pics, not stories or pics of other people ketching fish

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 25th, 2010, 10:35 am

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:So what you guys catching?

So i need to buy some more gears. I just cleaning out my kit and i just realized that i lost my smaller kit which was inside my big fish kit. :x :x That smaller kit had all my expensive hooks!!! From eagle claw, to high end mustard to sakuma big game hooks!!! I lost it all!! I think i left it on some rocks or on the beach... :( :( :( ....i had all my hooks in that.... I hadda order back some now or if i go away buy some....... sourness... :cry: ...lol

Anyway i wanted to show you guys the reel and rod i use.......

i have 3 set of main rods i use.... to the right is my 15ft dawia rod with a 6000 dawia OPUS ...I use that on the beach to get behind the surfs. The middle i have my 9ft dawia rod with my torium shimano..i use that for trolling and normal fishing...kinda tricky to cast out with but. Then on the left is a 3ft trolling rod equipped with a Penn reel.

Here are just some of the hooks that i use! and meh bait net(it old):mrgreen: !!

Meh net old but effective...that bucket has a hole in the cover which has a air hose which is connected to a battery operated pump which running through the hole and another hole just for air to escape. (for live bait)

I have been really successful in hooking lots of big fish with this hook

I also have hooks like these
But i lost those in my small kit.

I dont use the line which certain hooks come with. I take them out and replace them with cable.

Anyway post up what you guys use... :) :)

I have rod and reels for sale if any of you guys intrested from 8ft to 18ft

kl122 wrote:those circle hooks are really good, my uncle brought down a sheit load of those and the eagle claws for me, tackle shop sells the circle hooks, but they kinna expensive.....anyone know where i can get some braided line?..i check sports and games,but they very pricey!

YUP! the circle hooks are very effective!! I had alot till i lost them!! :?

Braided line are really expensive! But i can get some for you! I will let you know!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 25th, 2010, 1:40 pm

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH, wat brand braided line u use?