BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Re: BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Postby pugboy » June 10th, 2011, 7:08 am

yeah, I brined it too,
but I stepped out and when I checked the meat temp it was 175f which is way overdone for anything
I feel it might be better jerked, cut small and cooked high temp fast
rather than longer cook of big pieces

Postby SR » June 10th, 2011, 1:00 pm

i agree smaller cuts on a kebab stick maybe

Postby pugboy » June 10th, 2011, 3:49 pm

smaller cuts would leave less work fiddling with odd shaped pieces of bone too lol

Postby pugboy » June 10th, 2011, 9:51 pm

I had the misfortune of trying out the very popular J'can jerk folks in the Savannah
chicken was burnt beyond recognition, however from listening to others eating at the table there
it would appear that the smell/taste of burnt drippings is considered the main taste factor
they apparently don't know burnt oil, drippings are pure carcinogens and responsible for the wave of colon cancers worldwide

hoping to finish a lil pizza oven
and start turning out real pizzas and not bread topped with sauce/cheese

Postby SR » June 11th, 2011, 5:28 pm

i prefer a good brick oven fired pizza

Postby pugboy » June 12th, 2011, 12:37 pm

well my oven should simulate a brick oven qualities

- high temps top and bottom
- radiant heat from clay tiles

First pie ever, veggie, 3mins, undercooked though and could've rotated it better
spaghetti sauce sucks as pizza sauce

Postby SR » June 12th, 2011, 3:51 pm

nice
where was undercooked

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » June 12th, 2011, 5:40 pm

Not bad... How hot is your oven? And how long does it take to reach operating temperature?

Postby pugboy » June 12th, 2011, 7:39 pm

inner was little sappy, sauce was too watery(I used spag sauce)

oven takes about 25mins to get 500f+, got it to 800f in 45mins

did some more pies, reduced sauce, getting better at the mechanics
ran 530f instead and for 6mins, much better could probably go a little hotter for 5 mins
or thinner crust for true NY style
forgot to take the important cut crumb shot though

Postby X_Factor » July 11th, 2011, 6:33 pm

^ looks like the kinda pies u get in italian resturants in the US

where u guys getting charcoal these days?
hadda get a bag or 2

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 11th, 2011, 7:07 pm

nice work there pugboy ... pizza look delicious.

best stone oven pizza is in crown point... la cantina to be exact ,,, that looks exactly like that

Postby pugboy » July 11th, 2011, 8:01 pm

thanks, been making twice a week lately for practice.

What size pizzas do they make and how much they charge ?

my sweet spot is running at 600f or so and approx 4minute cooking time, using 62% wet dough
Making these high temp, high hydration pizzas is very challenging,
handling wet dough not easy, if you watch fellas on youtube they make it look very easy and some of them handling real wet like 70%
made a booboo with the temp gauge though, this one only goes to 450f and I drilled a big hole for it, the correct one uses a smaller hole so couldn't use it, lol

Postby X_Factor » July 11th, 2011, 8:21 pm

would welding off the hole and re-drilling work?

ever thought about putting 1 or 2 pieces of wood chunks for the flavour?
i saw it being done on food network recently...
it looked pretty interesting

Postby pugboy » July 11th, 2011, 8:33 pm

of course, once you can weld and use an angle grinder you can fix anything :)
just too lazy now

I might make a lil tray and put it inside with some charcoal but for now the catch is to learn how make pizzas properly

I went Buzo fancy Italian restaurant the other day,
the chaps there using a rolling pin to make their pies, lol

X_Factor wrote:would welding off the hole and re-drilling work?

ever thought about putting 1 or 2 pieces of wood chunks for the flavour?
i saw it being done on food network recently...
it looked pretty interesting

JWT

Postby JWT » July 12th, 2011, 10:24 pm

so where am i gettin these wood chips to buy locally
i wanna try ah smoke (beside d cuban cigar)

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 13th, 2011, 4:06 am

Well boy let me tell you. If my mother BBQ with Grill it tastes just as good or even better than if my father BBQ with coal.

Its kinda hard to describe but it all depends on how you cook.

But if I was to take a vote I would say coal. There is something better about it the taste that is.

I mean cook curry duck with wood on a fireside and try it with gas stove. the wood makes it taste better for some reason.

Postby X_Factor » July 13th, 2011, 7:45 am

JWT wrote:so where am i gettin these wood chips to buy locally

what kinda grill do u have?

bhagwansingh's has the wood chunks and chips
they recently raised the price by 100% however
its now 82$ for a 5lb bag
they have a decent variety now as well
apple, pecan, hickory, cherry, mesquite

they have the wood chips in 3lb bags and those sell for 40$ i believe but flavours are limited to hickory alone i think

Postby SR » July 13th, 2011, 9:03 am

apple yuh say............................

hada get a bag of that to try out

Postby X_Factor » July 13th, 2011, 4:06 pm

if i didnt have to get coals, i would have taken a chook in the apple or the cherry

maybe mth end

Postby pugboy » July 13th, 2011, 7:46 pm

the prices of coals gone up lately,
fellas calling $85-90 a crocus bag now
the places in grande and central charging $75

JWT

Postby JWT » July 15th, 2011, 10:13 am

X_Factor wrote:
JWT wrote:so where am i gettin these wood chips to buy locally

what kinda grill do u have?

bhagwansingh's has the wood chunks and chips
they recently raised the price by 100% however
its now 82$ for a 5lb bag
they have a decent variety now as well
apple, pecan, hickory, cherry, mesquite

they have the wood chips in 3lb bags and those sell for 40$ i believe but flavours are limited to hickory alone i think

i have a coal pit i will head bhagwansingh and check them out. beside which outlet of bhagwansingh have it??

Postby SR » July 15th, 2011, 10:58 am

piarco stones

start parcticin

Postby X_Factor » July 21st, 2011, 6:12 pm

just finish these
i know they were over cooked bit i did that intentionally since the last couple times it was a bit undercooked down to the bone, so i'll work my way backwards to get the ideal time
this was done at 250 for 1.5hrs exactly...45mins on a size
also used some jack daniels wood chips on these, the smoke flavour is really mild imo

taste is pretty good, no one flavour is overbearing and i put a really light glaze of some simple bbq sauce...

Postby pugboy » July 21st, 2011, 9:16 pm

salmon pizza
ketching tail to make 12" size

Postby SR » July 21st, 2011, 10:06 pm

allyuh show off nah

will do some old school bun b q this weekend

dman

Postby dman » August 12th, 2011, 7:51 am

bbq men where is the best place to buy a grill in tnt ?

Postby SR » August 12th, 2011, 8:40 am

abc dist has decent prices on charbroil gas grills

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » August 12th, 2011, 8:46 am

SR wrote:abc dist has decent prices on charbroil gas grills

^^^ what he said.... :)

Do not get the ones from PS....

dman

Postby dman » August 17th, 2011, 7:30 pm

been looking haven't reached by abc yet but the wife now asking why i dont buy a gas grill to be honest i have been mainly looking at coal grills

Postby pugboy » August 17th, 2011, 9:16 pm

if you looking for a charcoal grill get a weber
get the cheapest one, the only difference is the ash catchment below