3ne2nr fishermen

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 25th, 2010, 4:52 pm

ryan99tt,i use POWER PRO..but that expensive to spool up a reel.. 300yrds or one spool goes for like $295. My tourim uses like 700yrds and my penn uses like 600yrd...

but all mine done i hadda bring down some more brands...

As i said b4 tuners if you want a rod and reel, just PM me and say what lenght you guys want and what kind of reel you want and i will get it for you... I mostly have DAWIA rods

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 26th, 2010, 12:22 am

Some of those online stores like tacledirect.com and alltackle.com are starting their spring sales. I got 500 yds of power pro 50lb Braid for US$47....even with shipping and tax it might still be cheaper than buying it in Trinidad. Also, u get some cool deals from tese stores.....eg. buy a reel and get 300 yds of power pro free etc.

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH losing that kit must be hurt yuh eh......i know de feeling, i've lost gear too...so i resorted to carrying only what i tink i would use for any given trip....leave de majority of stuff at home...buh say wha - fishing could be an expensive hobby!

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 26th, 2010, 1:21 am

Smeed wrote:Some of those online stores like tacledirect.com and alltackle.com are starting their spring sales. I got 500 yds of power pro 50lb Braid for US$47....even with shipping and tax it might still be cheaper than buying it in Trinidad. Also, u get some cool deals from tese stores.....eg. buy a reel and get 300 yds of power pro free etc.

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH losing that kit must be hurt yuh eh......i know de feeling, i've lost gear too...so i resorted to carrying only what i tink i would use for any given trip....leave de majority of stuff at home...buh say wha - fishing could be an expensive hobby!

trueeee!!

I understand what you say carry what you need but you still dont know what to expect! Once i carried only a few hooks and a few sinkers and fish was really biting but our lines were getting stuck in rocks.. We ran out of sinkers resorted to using stone and then ran out of hook and MAN WAS FISH PLAYING!!!!! So i always carry my complete kit....

but say wah i make some other fisher man really happy...trust me! when he open that kit he gonna see hooks and tackle accessories that he may have never seen in his life...."lucky bastard" :lol: :lol:

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 26th, 2010, 1:28 am

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH i hear ya man.....u hadda be prepared for neting....i end up doing the same thing too....taking a lot of stuff wid me...

u ever try jig heads with soft plastics?.....i ordered a few to try them out. I used them a coupla times and actually held a coupla snook up blanchi....from my research dey seem to work well....but dere are so many types to choose from it mind boggling!

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 26th, 2010, 1:36 am

Smeed, i have alot of jig head and artificial worm looking things... but i never really used them!! They somewhere in some box in meh lil fishing corner! My dad and i brought them ages ago...me and my dad always fish...i got it in my blood from him.Ever since i knew my self i knew about fishing..

deadfish13

Postby deadfish13 » February 26th, 2010, 1:58 am

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:Smeedme and my dad always fish...i got it in my blood from him.Ever since i knew my self i knew about fishing..

Same here ... this is something i hope to pass on to my son . he's 2yr and he has already been to manzan to fish :)

" Remember mom and dad, spend some time with your sons and daughters taking them fishing and you will not be looking for them come Friday and Saturday nights, as they will be home in bed waiting to go the next day. "

best fishing quote i ever saw !!!!!!!!!!!!

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 26th, 2010, 1:59 am

for real.....meh fadder hate fishing ....heheheh.....he doh like any out doorsy stuff and he also doh like gettin roast in de hot sun.....buh i am de complete opposite!! yea well i go try out dem jig heads and de soft plastics when dey reach....also ordered a few topwaters...a rapala and a yo zuri...i had a tarpon beyotch slap a bomber topwater up into a mangrove a while back...

i out de country rite now....freezin in de cold so i cyah wait to come home nex coupla weeks and enjoy some hot sun

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH i remember u was giving some directions a while back on how to get on the other side of the manzan bridge....de dirt track where u pay a small fee.....it that road passable with a car? and how much is the fee?

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 26th, 2010, 2:01 am

deadfish13....i like dat....my daughter showing interest too....she go be 2 yrs in may....i love dat quote!!

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 26th, 2010, 2:07 am

deadfish13 wrote:
HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:Smeedme and my dad always fish...i got it in my blood from him.Ever since i knew my self i knew about fishing..

Same here ... this is something i hope to pass on to my son . he's 2yr and he has already been to manzan to fish :)

" Remember mom and dad, spend some time with your sons and daughters taking them fishing and you will not be looking for them come Friday and Saturday nights, as they will be home in bed waiting to go the next day. "

best fishing quote i ever saw !!!!!!!!!!!!

i got no children but i rather go enjoy fishing any day rather that party!!

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 26th, 2010, 2:08 am

Smeed wrote:for real.....meh fadder hate fishing ....heheheh.....he doh like any out doorsy stuff and he also doh like gettin roast in de hot sun.....buh i am de complete opposite!! yea well i go try out dem jig heads and de soft plastics when dey reach....also ordered a few topwaters...a rapala and a yo zuri...i had a tarpon beyotch slap a bomber topwater up into a mangrove a while back...

i out de country rite now....freezin in de cold so i cyah wait to come home nex coupla weeks and enjoy some hot sun

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH i remember u was giving some directions a while back on how to get on the other side of the manzan bridge....de dirt track where u pay a small fee.....it that road passable with a car? and how much is the fee?

Smeed, yes it is! $25 per car load....

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 26th, 2010, 2:18 am

Smeed wrote:for real.....meh fadder hate fishing ....heheheh.....he doh like any out doorsy stuff and he also doh like gettin roast in de hot sun.....buh i am de complete opposite!! yea well i go try out dem jig heads and de soft plastics when dey reach....also ordered a few topwaters...a rapala and a yo zuri...i had a tarpon beyotch slap a bomber topwater up into a mangrove a while back...

let me let u in on some advice...tarpon or grantaki as we know it are game fish! there are some tarpons that snatch and swollow and then there are the so called "experienced" one...They take your bait hold it in their mouth and they swim around with it not swallowing it for a while...for this you need to give line! They tend to do this with live bait more! fed them line and when you think you gave them enough give a hard tug and hold on!..lol

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 26th, 2010, 2:22 am

I hear ya.....been intrigued by them since a few years now....never caught a big one, but i'll keep on trying.....is that track/road in manzan open everyday?....i passed there last month and saw the road....the gate was open but no one was there ...so who do u pay?....do u drive in and pay lower down the road?

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 26th, 2010, 2:52 am

Smeed wrote:I hear ya.....been intrigued by them since a few years now....never caught a big one, but i'll keep on trying.....is that track/road in manzan open everyday?....i passed there last month and saw the road....the gate was open but no one was there ...so who do u pay?....do u drive in and pay lower down the road?

yup just drive in and you wil see the house just stop or blow ur horn and they would come out!!

You from grande...

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 26th, 2010, 3:11 am

nope i'm from couva

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 26th, 2010, 3:20 am

Smeed, ok kool...no probs...

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » February 26th, 2010, 12:35 pm

my surf fishing gears...

15' mitchell rod - (carbon fiber rod)

13' mitchell rod - (4 sale $200)

mitchell armada 8000 reel

penn 650 ss reel

wall

Postby wall » February 26th, 2010, 12:39 pm

hardcore youth this is what im talking about here.

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/kBWUDDbqd_I&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed>

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 26th, 2010, 6:10 pm

wall, you need to get a rod that doesnt break down into pieces.. You need like a penn rod or shimano rod! It will be one straight rod, not more than 8ft long and well a good reel...

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » February 27th, 2010, 11:21 am

I have a new PENN ROD & REEL COMBO for Sale. ( never used)

Cost: $720

Reason for sale: Received some equipment from an uncle. So no longer required.

Brand: PENN
Type: Silverado Combo

Specifications

Reel: Penn Silverado SV8000
Rod: Penn Pursuit PRS1225S90
Length: 9'0"
Pieces: 2
Gear Ratio:: 4.7:1
Line Capacity: 20/275
Line Weight: 12-25 lb
Guides: Aluminum Oxide
Rod is graphite composite

Penn Silverado reels were matched to Penn Pursuit and Slammer rods for great looking combos with varied applications. With silky smooth gears and drags, these combos are a great value. The smaller sized Silverados are paired with Penn’s Pursuit Inshore Rods, making an incredible combo for inshore and heavy freshwater fishing. The two larger sized Silverados are matched with Penn Pursuit Surf Rods, and are a great combo for weekend anglers. The Silverado/Slammer combos offer anglers a choice of three extremely durable combos in the 10-30lb class.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 27th, 2010, 11:30 am

francis1979, great combo dude...where ulyuh does be when i hav d friggin money...lol

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 27th, 2010, 11:40 am

francis1979, bess rod and reel...

Model: Pursuit Surf
Length: 9ft, 2 Piece
Line Class: 12-25 lb
EVA Foam Grips
Aluminum Oxide Guides

Nice rod for beginners

Postby X_Factor » February 27th, 2010, 12:51 pm

ne of u all use braided line to do normal surf/cast fishing?
if so, what colour?...because im hearing/reading that the braided line is more used for banking but because of its thickness vs strength and the fact that it does not stretch...im thinking about putting a 300-400yrds on a reel for normal casting!!

and how u all rate the Penn Captiva 5000?

and if anyone wants a diawa sweepfire 4000 reel
filled with trilene 20lb nylon
(never used)
offer something

wall

Postby wall » February 27th, 2010, 1:45 pm

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:wall, you need to get a rod that doesnt break down into pieces.. You need like a penn rod or shimano rod! It will be one straight rod, not more than 8ft long and well a good reel...
well im just going to use one of my trolling rods instead of buying a new rod so i just need a big surf caster spinning reel with a high line capacity ....any 1 have 1 for sale let me no asap.

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 27th, 2010, 5:42 pm

X_Factor, you could use the braided line but it could give some trouble while casting out! Give it a try! I use it once or twice and it worked ok but you are right it is more used for banking, jigging and most deep sea fishing....

and about the penn reel...it is a great spinning reel..

wall wrote:
HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:wall, you need to get a rod that doesnt break down into pieces.. You need like a penn rod or shimano rod! It will be one straight rod, not more than 8ft long and well a good reel...
well im just going to use one of my trolling rods instead of buying a new rod so i just need a big surf caster spinning reel with a high line capacity ....any 1 have 1 for sale let me no asap.

yeh u could do that... As i said i can supply most daiwa products and I sourced a Daiwa Emcast 6000 Sport Surf Spinning Reel ... I am ordering one for my self.... has very high line capacity.. its pretty big...

this is the biggest the have!
Model -ECS6000-LEFT/RIGHT-HAND
25 LB/320 YDS
30 LB/240 YDS
40 LB/190 YDS

From my knowing thats alot

heres a pic

Postby X_Factor » February 27th, 2010, 6:08 pm

what size hooks u all normally use?

1-02?

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 27th, 2010, 11:06 pm

X_Factor actually braided lone is technically supposed to be the better line for surf fishing since it has no stretch and greater strength vs. diameter when compared to mono. However, apparently not all reels can use braid. I recently ordered some braid and when looking at reels, all the major brands have reels that are designated as "braid ready".

I don't know what the difference in the reels are....but when i receive the reels i ordered i'll check to see what it is. Also, braided line supposedly does not give u the big belly that u get with mono when fishing in a lot of wind due to its smaller diameter.

wrt line colour i guess its your preference.....might just use a clear leader or sumting...i ordered de power pro hi vis yellow and moss green....i like to see where my line is, but there are a lot of colours to choose from

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH dais a reaaaaaal big spool dere.....and it full right to de brim...yuh line doesn't slip off de spool sometimes seeing it sooooo full?

Postby X_Factor » February 27th, 2010, 11:43 pm

http://www.amazon.com/SpiderWire-Stealt ... d_sbs_sg_1

was lookin at that braided line,...the 50lb test line

price is pretty decent as i saw spiderwire sellin for 300+ in some tackle shops
and in this
http://www.amazon.com/Storm-WildEye-Swi ... _sim_sg_12

which colour will u choose for our waters?....its 3 per pack so the price isnt bad at all!!

wall

Postby wall » February 28th, 2010, 1:48 pm

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:X_Factor, you could use the braided line but it could give some trouble while casting out! Give it a try! I use it once or twice and it worked ok but you are right it is more used for banking, jigging and most deep sea fishing....

wall wrote:

yeh u could do that... As i said i can supply most daiwa products and I sourced a Daiwa Emcast 6000 Sport Surf Spinning Reel ... I am ordering one for my self.... has very high line capacity.. its pretty big...

25 LB/320 YDS
30 LB/240 YDS
40 LB/190 YDS

heres a pic

how much for the Daiwa Emcast 6000 Sport Surf Spinning Reel?

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 28th, 2010, 6:40 pm

wall wrote:
HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:X_Factor, you could use the braided line but it could give some trouble while casting out! Give it a try! I use it once or twice and it worked ok but you are right it is more used for banking, jigging and most deep sea fishing....

wall wrote:[quote="HaRdCoRe_YoUtH"]wall, you need to get a rod that doesnt break down into pieces.. You need like a penn rod or shimano rod! It will be one straight rod, not more than 8ft long and well a good reel...

25 LB/320 YDS
30 LB/240 YDS
40 LB/190 YDS

heres a pic

how much for the Daiwa Emcast 6000 Sport Surf Spinning Reel?[/quote]

I will have to get a quote from my supplier.. I will let you know when he gives me any feedback.

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » February 28th, 2010, 7:25 pm

Southern Wholesale Stores Ltd are the dealer for Daiwa and Penn so most likely it will work out cheaper buying from them than shipping in them urself. Most tackle shops in tnt buy from them.

X_Factor, my uncle uses braided line for surf fishing and yea it might have its advantage.

1. allows casting further cus its light
2. its thinner so u get more line in ur reel.

disadvantage

1. u need to have something between ur finger and line for casting, cuz it can cut
2. if it gets bruise up on rocks ect it will burst easily
3. cost a lot

for me i dont care for it and will continue to use the normal nylon for surf fishing