Where were you during the 1990 Coup?

recession racer

Re: REMEMBER JULY 27th 1990.

Postby recession racer » July 27th, 2017, 2:16 pm

16 cycles wrote:we don't ever need a coup - the last one set us back and we still feeling the effects of it....

not something to joke about.

Excuse me cycles.. no disrespect.. no need to blast me etc however i would like to know how it has set as back etc.

Genuinely curious

Postby Redman » July 27th, 2017, 2:40 pm

In terms of country risk and the costs and willingness of international entities to do business here,lend money etc.

Costs associated of expats being housed -insurance etc

I spoke to some one that did that sort of thing after the last coup-in about 94.
she estimated that it cost 1B USD...if my memory serves me correctly...

made up in

Cancelled business post coup
Higher fees and interest rates for financing

Premiums added for Insurance contracts etc
Additional commercialization on whatever financing was being arranged.
Last edited by Redman on July 27th, 2017, 2:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby matr1x » July 27th, 2017, 2:41 pm

Bakr. ..27 years too long alive.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » July 27th, 2017, 2:57 pm

Did they listen to Robby though???
ANR.jpg
ANR.jpg (26.91 KiB) Viewed 4802 times

Postby hydroep » July 27th, 2017, 3:09 pm

From what I heard they prosecuted the case from a "bound to lose" position. They argued that the word of the President in granting amnesty to the insurgents was null and void because he was under duress. But the court found that to use that argument would mean that the word of the President is only "good" under favourable conditions and that didn't make sense.

As to whether or not that was done on purpose, well...that's another question. Suffice it to say...if I remember correctly...a post coup Abu Bakr appeared on a certain party's political platform and mentioned something about him being considered for the Minister of National Security. Then again, I could be wrong... :|

Postby Dizzy28 » July 27th, 2017, 3:37 pm

hydroep wrote:From what I heard they prosecuted the case from a "bound to lose" position. They argued that the word of the President in granting amnesty to the insurgents was null and void because he was under duress. But the court found that to use that argument would mean that the word of the President is only "good" under favourable conditions and that didn't make sense.

As to whether or not that was done on purpose, well...that's another question. Suffice it to say...if I remember correctly...a post coup Abu Bakr appeared on a certain party's political platform and mentioned something about him being considered for the Minister of National Security. Then again, I could be wrong... :|

The Government eventually won that the amnesty was null and void on appeal at the Privy Council.

Twenty-four people were killed in the coup attempt which lasted six days before Abu Bakr and the other insurgents surrendered to the armed forces.

They were tried for treason but the Court of Appeal upheld the amnesty offered to secure their surrender.

The Privy Council in London, England, later invalidated the amnesty but Abu Bakr and his followers were not rearrested....http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170327 ... t-abu-bakr

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » July 27th, 2017, 6:32 pm

matr1x wrote:And Bakr allowed to walk free. .......no justice

This. Every year I wonder how is it possible.

Postby matr1x » July 27th, 2017, 7:29 pm

2 members who used to work at registration at red house
They told me how they had guns to their heads.

Average

Postby Average » July 27th, 2017, 7:51 pm

ADONI wrote:Did they listen to Robby though???

You see this, as much as some ppl dislike him, God rest his soul, this was the most ballsy move ever.
This take win over ALL community leaders and gangsters we have today. That was MAN, that was BALLS.

Now we too occupied with small talk and stupidness.

Oh and yeah bakr should not have made it.

Postby pugboy » July 27th, 2017, 8:11 pm

The privy council eventually ruled in our favor but as usual they said too late to do anything,
Bunch of imps they are. So if so why do they bother to hear appeals ?

The biggest imp was justice clebert brooks who set abu free,
If he had any stones he woulda have him locked up and let him appeal instead all the way to the privy council and lose.
Our judges are a real bunch of idiots, no balls
No wonder the judiciary in the mess it is now.

Postby matr1x » July 27th, 2017, 8:53 pm

We need to round up the muslimeen and handle them Trump style

Postby sMASH » July 27th, 2017, 9:23 pm

Birds of a feather... nobody ain't touching Bakr, least their own feathers be ruffled

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » July 27th, 2017, 9:28 pm

The_Honourable wrote:The economy is more in a stagnation, so things are not as bad as the late 1980s... as YET. If oil and gas prices drop again and we go to the IMF begging for help... round 2 for sure.

How bad was it back then with respect to the economy...

Postby The_Honourable » July 28th, 2017, 1:21 am

wtf wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:The economy is more in a stagnation, so things are not as bad as the late 1980s... as YET. If oil and gas prices drop again and we go to the IMF begging for help... round 2 for sure.

Oil prices which was $40US fell to $8US.

Unemployment began in the 1980's at 10% but by 1990, 22%.

Wages and salaries for the public sector was reduced. Approx 30,000 public sector jobs were lost. VTEP & VSEP packages offered to workers below 50 years old.

Social Expenditure dropped 47%.

Subsidies on basic food items were discontinued. Price controls removed meaning subject to inflation.

Emergency powers executed by Central Bank which resulted in the closure of a few financial institutions. Was able to salvage National Commercial Bank (NCB), the Trinidad Co-operative Bank (TCB), and the Workers' Bank which was eventually merged to be First Citizens Bank.

Most state assets were making losses such as the Iron and Steel Company of Trinidad and Tobago (ISCOTT) which was eventually purchased by Arcelor Mittal under Caribbean ISPAT.

Many state assets were privatized (full or partial) in the late 80's which continued into the mid 90's. Just a decade before in the 70's, we were in a boom and the government was on a nationalization spree which began racking up debt. Sounds Venezuela-ish?

Over 170 stores went into receivership or bankruptcy. Leading example was popular retail chain at the time Kirpalani's.

Central Bank imposed limited US currency distribution. Whoever leaves the country without declaring to Central Bank will end up with a fine or jail. Black market proliferated as a result.

Foreign exchange reserves was only 3 months import cover.

Valued Added Tax was introduced at 15%.

33% Devaluation of the dollar in Dec 1985 and then a further 15% in Aug 1988.

Crime especially murders increased. Narco trade began to flourish with powder cocaine and eventually crack cocaine.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 28th, 2017, 9:23 am

^^ Sauce??

Postby Gladiator » July 28th, 2017, 9:15 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
wtf wrote:

Wages and salaries for the public sector was reduced. Approx 30,000 public sector jobs were lost. VTEP & VSEP packages offered to workers below 50 years old.

Subsidies on basic food items were discontinued. Price controls removed meaning subject to inflation.

Emergency powers executed by Central Bank which resulted in the closure of a few financial institutions. Was able to salvage National Commercial Bank (NCB), the Trinidad Co-operative Bank (TCB), and the Workers' Bank which was eventually merged to be First Citizens Bank.

Most state assets were making losses such as the Iron and Steel Company of Trinidad and Tobago (ISCOTT) which was eventually purchased by Arcelor Mittal under Caribbean ISPAT.

Many state assets were privatized (full or partial) in the late 80's which continued into the mid 90's. Just a decade before in the 70's, we were in a boom and the government was on a nationalization spree which began racking up debt. Sounds Venezuela-ish?

Over 170 stores went into receivership or bankruptcy. Leading example was popular retail chain at the time Kirpalani's.

Central Bank imposed limited US currency distribution. Whoever leaves the country without declaring to Central Bank will end up with a fine or jail. Black market proliferated as a result.

Crime especially murders increased. Narco trade began to flourish with powder cocaine and eventually crack cocaine.

Current day events seem to be following that same trend there....

Postby The_Honourable » July 28th, 2017, 9:22 pm

Gladiator wrote:Current day events seem to be following that same trend there....

Agreed. We still "ok" but following that 1980s path, just we haven't hit the IMF doorstep as yet.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » July 28th, 2017, 9:48 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
wtf wrote:

And while all this was happening with Trinidad and Tobago, it was also at this time that the late Dr. Anthony Sabga did his most defining work in Trinidad..(buying companies under the ANSA McAl brand).

airuma

Postby airuma » July 28th, 2017, 10:18 pm

Average wrote:
ADONI wrote:Did they listen to Robby though???

You see this, as much as some ppl dislike him, God rest his soul, this was the most ballsy move ever.
This take win over ALL community leaders and gangsters we have today. That was MAN, that was BALLS.

Now we too occupied with small talk and stupidness.

Oh and yeah bakr should not have made it.

IMHO, this is probably when he started to develop "moral and spiritual values".
Wasn't it the NAR who introduced the Design, Build, Finance model for public projects? Did they even question where the money came from?

Postby The_Honourable » July 29th, 2017, 12:48 am

wtf wrote:And while all this was happening with Trinidad and Tobago, it was also at this time that the late Dr. Anthony Sabga did his most defining work in Trinidad...(buying companies under the ANSA McAl brand).

Well ah mean... stuff was on firesale prices so as a business man he was right to take advantage of that but amm... his or the family "defining work" was in something else.

Postby Redman » July 29th, 2017, 7:36 am

Many of the merchants received low interest financing for the rebuild.....termed out like mortgages

Average

Postby Average » July 29th, 2017, 8:30 am

So in essence, this coup helped the 5% or 1% then.

airuma

Postby airuma » July 29th, 2017, 10:27 am

The_Honourable wrote:
wtf wrote:And while all this was happening with Trinidad and Tobago, it was also at this time that the late Dr. Anthony Sabga did his most defining work in Trinidad...(buying companies under the ANSA McAl brand).

Well ah mean... stuff was on firesale prices so as a business man he was right to take advantage of that but amm... his or the family "defining work" was in something else.

Exactly! But I'm sure others had the money to purchase assets too.... but that was a risky thing to do, the economy was already in a terrible state an then we had a coup.
I'm guessing that for some, liquidity might have been more risky.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » July 29th, 2017, 1:22 pm

airuma wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

Exactly! But I'm sure others had the money to purchase assets too.... but that was a risky thing to do, the economy was already in a terrible state an then we had a coup.
I'm guessing that for some, liquidity might have been more risky.

Eroding middle class..

Postby redmanjp » July 31st, 2017, 2:43 pm

So where were you guys when this thing happened? I remember being in the car with my dad driving over Lady Young road and seeing fire in POS. Then the curfew was from about 9pm or so (although 1 night we were liming wit d neighbor just outside d garage gate) I think my dad left home around 9 or 10 for work so curfew might have been long hours.

Postby redmanjp » July 31st, 2017, 5:03 pm

redmanjp wrote:So where were you guys when this thing happened? I remember being in the car with my dad driving over Lady Young road and seeing fire in POS. Then the curfew was from about 9pm or so (although 1 night we were liming wit d neighbor just outside d garage gate) I think my dad left home around 9 or 10 for work on those mornings during the SOE so curfew might have been long hours.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 2nd, 2017, 8:26 am

I was 7 at the time, living in the country. All that happen by us was the army pass after the coup. I guess they went up in Ecclesville for some people...

Postby The_Honourable » July 25th, 2018, 9:25 pm

TTT not coming back in time for July 27th :cry:

Postby toyolink » July 26th, 2018, 6:28 pm

The nite of the coup was the nite when GOD was suddenly made important (talk about prayers on radio stations).
The next day humanity looting Hand Arnold, grabbing shoes in town(sometimes all left side etc.), and a set a fellas with ward-robe on their back fighting to go up Lady Young road.
Remember sitting in my charmant (pax555) and only shaking mi head in amazement.
BTW, the charmant referred to was stolen during the period of curfew whilst at the afternoon movie.

Postby The_Honourable » July 27th, 2018, 12:23 am

On the first night of the 1990 coup attempt in Port-of-Spain, the lead insurrectionist Imam Yasin Abu Bakr wasn't too happy with the manner in which I phrased the "messages" he'd directed me to announce on air.

Despite being under duress surrounded by gunmen, as a journalist, unable to verify the information he provided, I knew I had to attribute the source of the info to the hostage-taker. So I stated in the so-called 'news bulletin' that "the Imam Abu Bakr wants you to know...."

It made me a marked man during the six-day seige.

- Dominic Kalipersad