Hydroponic enthusiasts (hobby/personal growers)

Re: Hydroponic enthusiasts (hobby/personal growers)

Postby rfari » February 3rd, 2013, 10:44 pm

Nice setup there man. Thats spinach with the lettuce?

mitsu_crazy

Postby mitsu_crazy » February 4th, 2013, 9:49 pm

was lettuce...that failed miserably...had broccoli and cauliflower

currently trying celery.

as i said...a bit of a learning curve.

Postby rfari » February 4th, 2013, 10:07 pm

Not bad for a first try. U can try chive and tomatoes. I had success with those. And i dont know whats the story with lettuce. I assumed that it was an easy crop but damn was i wrong.

mitsu_crazy

Postby mitsu_crazy » February 5th, 2013, 2:50 am

i had some teething issues with the pump and plumbing....got that sorted so i'm trying again.

trying to figure out if i am having an problem with my ph or just lacking iron in the system.

actually trying a sweet pepper plant now too....probably take some pics in the morning of whats there now.

Postby rfari » February 5th, 2013, 6:29 am

Ur system should be ph buffered naturally i believed (aquaponics)

mitsu_crazy

Postby mitsu_crazy » February 12th, 2013, 4:46 am

rfari wrote:Ur system should be ph buffered naturally i believed (aquaponics)

ph drops with the cycling process.

need to find a safer way to raise it.

also chelated iron

and potassium chloride

mitsu_crazy

Postby mitsu_crazy » February 18th, 2013, 1:52 am

Postby rfari » February 18th, 2013, 6:34 am

mitsu_crazy wrote:has anyone seen this locally?

http://www.amazon.com/Maxicrop-Seaweed- ... s=maxicrop

Not the exact brand but maybe a similar product. I have some flyers at home i'll check and get back to you

Postby bluesteel29 » February 18th, 2013, 12:35 pm

neptunes harvest seaweed 0-0-1...local substitute

chris600

Postby chris600 » February 25th, 2013, 6:50 pm

good people i finally get sumthin worth posting up
much thanks to Sharon for her help with the meters & ph control 8)

i did this mini project as test after seeing some of you guys here i just had to give it a try.
my stuff is pretty simple,
1/2 55 gal plastic barrel (recycled from mining fish)
pump with air hose nozzle attachment & air pump (also recycled from fish tank)

nutrients,coconut fiber & net pots got from Trac mac in central warehousing complex (i initially went to the actual company and wasted a bit of time...bummer)

green house plastic -from bhagwansingh's (excuse the shitty construction of the greenhouse it was just a test)this is all re useable since it's all held together with zipties :)

4" pvc got that home loads around my place
some old tyres to put the 'trough' on (free)

im using 7-11-27 (lettuce) but i still decided to try a mix of plants with that and see the results
lettuce,cabbage,sweet pepper,tomatoes & pakchoi. 2 of each

these are the results after roughly a week, i also have identical plants growing the regular way (soil) just a bit away from this setup...

cost just over 400 total..
the only pricey stuff was the EC & PH meters..price varies depending on what you order..

DSC00235 - Copy.JPG

DSC00236.JPG

DSC00237.JPG

DSC00238.JPG

DSC00239.JPG

stuff outside looking pretty miserable..dungrow? :lol:

geodude

Postby geodude » February 25th, 2013, 7:12 pm

dudes i am thinking about doing a half acre of Paw paw, does anyone have any info that might be useful,
eg, type of paw paw which is best suited to our climate,
type of paw paw that is most resistant to diseases,
type that will produce maximum yield,
soil type/conditions best suited for paw paw cultivation.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 26th, 2013, 5:03 am

anyone know where I can get some good frying bell peppers (capsicum annuum) seeds to buy

bujuization

Postby bujuization » March 4th, 2013, 5:06 pm

anyone know about vermiculite here and where i can find some or a substitute of some kind?

Postby bluesteel29 » March 4th, 2013, 5:11 pm

northbound side of the highway b4 aranguez turn off.....they have bags for $20-$30 cant remember the brand but its good vermiculite...kinda expensive if ur growing on a big scale

Postby rfari » March 4th, 2013, 5:15 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:anyone know where I can get some good frying bell peppers (capsicum annuum) seeds to buy

Any good agri shop should have in stock. If not, get someone to bring a few packets for u.

bujuization wrote:anyone know about vermiculite here and where i can find some or a substitute of some kind?

Never saw it sold locally. U can get raptor to import it for you. What do u plan to grow?

bujuization

Postby bujuization » March 4th, 2013, 5:37 pm

bujuization wrote:anyone know about vermiculite here and where i can find some or a substitute of some kind?

Never saw it sold locally. U can get raptor to import it for you. What do u plan to grow?[/quote]
wanted to start my own green house with tomatoes and flowers

mitsu_crazy

Postby mitsu_crazy » March 5th, 2013, 4:16 am

rfari wrote:Not bad for a first try. U can try chive and tomatoes. I had success with those. And i dont know whats the story with lettuce. I assumed that it was an easy crop but damn was i wrong.

pulled that bugger out saturday....parent used to give size comparison.

great taste.

have a few more coming along plus planted a few other stuff...

check back the album..
Last edited by mitsu_crazy on March 5th, 2013, 4:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

mitsu_crazy

Postby mitsu_crazy » March 5th, 2013, 4:18 am

bluesteel29 wrote:neptunes harvest seaweed 0-0-1...local substitute

where can i locate this?

mitsu_crazy

Postby mitsu_crazy » March 5th, 2013, 4:57 am

I did promise some pics
initial layout

drainage method. was a pain to get right.

aeration not really in use any more as of this week.

media guard and gravel going in

that was last year

a month ago
celery and lettuce

2 days later added the pvc pipes to experiment. water has to be filtered to use that. which i knew beforehand just did not know how bad it was. they are growing well just a lot of maintainence.

1 week in

2 weeks

3 weeks in

celery 3 weeks

at the end of the third week the lettuce in moms hands in the first pic.

thing is i planted 3 seedlings and the other two are now growing at the same rate as that one. might be taking them out in a week or sooner if they keep up the growth spurt.

Postby rfari » March 5th, 2013, 6:09 am

Boom! Thats a bess head of lettuce there:shock: 3 weeks u say unno?any issues with pests?

mitsu_crazy

Postby mitsu_crazy » March 5th, 2013, 10:06 am

rfari wrote:Boom! Thats a bess head of lettuce there:shock: 3 weeks u say unno?any issues with pests?

umm what u call those funny loooking leaf eating bastards....caterpillar....onlysaw then in the second and third week....

a bush bug try to make it home as well....

one ice water wash when we took it out and that was the end of that....

Postby Chimera » March 7th, 2013, 11:17 am

Tracmac Agricenter for chemicals is now in macoya - 645-4434

their hydro nutrients for lettuce are

7-11-27 15 KG- $330 a bag
Calcium Nitrate 25kg- $240 a bag

Postby bluesteel29 » March 7th, 2013, 3:42 pm

mitsu_crazy wrote:
bluesteel29 wrote:neptunes harvest seaweed 0-0-1...local substitute

where can i locate this?

674-7531
Agri-Flora Garden Centre
they stock most of the NH products....they also recently started selling superthrive.

mitsu_crazy

Postby mitsu_crazy » March 20th, 2013, 11:15 am

Sharon_S wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:sharon how is that greenhouse standing up to high breeze tho?

So far it holding out real good,it had a strong breeze about two days ago so that was a good test and it passed with flying colours.

I have a foot of steel in the ground and two feet out under each pvc post that you see,the wood laths are also holding them together and a 3/4 inch pvc is also run at the top to help keep it stabilized,I still have to attach the last two posts to the wall with some pvc clamps.

Sharon how is the green house holding up?

Postby Chimera » March 31st, 2013, 9:35 am

doo-bee-dan

Postby doo-bee-dan » June 4th, 2013, 5:36 pm

hey guys where can i get these locally?

a ph tester
dolomite limestone
perlite
vermiculite
ph plus or kompat...

Re: Hydroponic enthusiast (hobby/personal growers)

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 6th, 2013, 9:35 am

eurogirl wrote:I would loveeeeeeee to get into this ..

but i dunno where to start :| :cry:

I remember. :roll:

Postby Ted_v2 » June 6th, 2013, 9:40 am

mitsu_crazy daz some good work you did. End results look good meng

jsr

Postby jsr » June 7th, 2013, 6:53 am

Anyone interested in blue plastic barrels for your hydropnic projects. I will cut and deliver them free of charge for any trinituner members.

Exclay TT

Postby Exclay TT » June 26th, 2013, 6:53 am

Anybody interested in some expanded clay/LECA/HYDROTON?
Got some 50L bags @$350
Free delivery for a limited time.
Limited stock
Last edited by Exclay TT on February 25th, 2014, 4:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.